Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)

SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)

Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)
Review 1 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent quality.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bybddusa
onFebruary 8, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast ssd
Easy to install. Fast and reliable. You won't be disappointed!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Boy is it fast!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBigHandsBro
onJanuary 9, 2014
from Dyer, IN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, super fast, quiet
Cons: i wish it came in 1tb, i wish i had done it earlier
My Macbook pro started to slow down, especially when I used Windows in Vmware. Evening the boot process just got too slow that I have to wait up to a minute before I could start using the computer woken up from sleep mode.
I got a great deal on the SSD and install it with ease. There has been a world of a difference in the computer booting up from sleep/shutdown and I could not be happier. I can now work in Vmware with windows with great ease. Even the Windows 7 boots up so much more faster in the virtual environment and I can work in both environments comfortable.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best of the Best

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bysvtdraker
onDecember 31, 2013
from Grand Rapids, MI
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight, fast
This is my second SSD I ever got and it is everything and more. I got this unit because of reviews and it was top of the line it had the write and read speeds with the best IOPS also the 5 year warranty.
Use the Samsung software so it can receive firmware updates and OS optimization.
I have written over 1.7 TB worth of data on it and the drive works great.
One thing I like with this unit it can tell you when the drive runs out of useable read and writes.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Holy Speed

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByLoopy
onNovember 8, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, extremely fast
This is my very first SSD that I've ever installed into any computer. I put this in my Samsung NP700Z7C-S01-US running Windows 7 Home Premium, Intel quad-core i7 3615QM processor with hyperthreading, 8GB of RAM, and a 1TB 5200RPM HDD. I have nothing but good things to say about it. When I first opened the box, I couldn't believe how unbelievably light it was. It weighed 1/3 of my HDD! I was totally shocked!
The speed difference was night and day. My computer went from starting up in 1 minute to about 10 seconds! Having a nice processor and some decent RAM really helps the drive! This drive is just blazing fast and I'm VERY satisfied with this upgrade! Glad I did it! I would highly recommend this drive to anyone who is looking into an SSD upgrade. I know it's a bit pricey, but you won't regret it. I promise.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByKaspars
onOctober 31, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
As it is my first SSD drive, I can not say anything bad about it. Get it for my laptop. Perhaps should be a bit cheaper, but that's about everything :)
Cloning software worked like charm.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Accessory I've Ever Bought for My PC

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByProudSouthernSupporter
onJune 23, 2013
from Thomasville, NC, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: lightning fast, great supporting software
Cons: way expensive vs. hdd
FORGET upgrading to the newest OS or processor. THIS baby made my PC sprout wings and fly! No joke.....my PC boot time went from 45 seconds to a minute (to load all startup programs) to about 15 seconds! Transfers of any kind gained speed that is truly hard to believe. The invent of the SSD is the best thing to happen to computers since the invention of the internet, and Samsung is at the forefront. Even though you nearly have to take out a second mortgage to buy one, I still say it's worth it. The gains are unbelievable. You'll be happy you bought this item!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ssd drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjbergy
onApril 12, 2013
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
man my fist solid state drive and im loving it super fast
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
 
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OMG Its full of stars

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRokDrummer
onMarch 30, 2013
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
Pros: uber fast
Ive waited a long time for prices to come down on SSDs so I could get a large 512GB SSD for use as my primary drive. Im not a PC game I work with computers doing web development, graphics, animations, 3d Modeling and sound production. On my latest upgrade (a year ago) of my machine I upgraded my ram 2 DDR3 1600Mhz and put a whopping 32GB I also grabbed an FX8150 8 core AMD processor and a very nice Gigabyte board however at the time I couldnt afford the SSD I wanted, the Cadilac of all SSDs the Samsung 840 Series Pro 512 GB. fast? Oh my yes... easy to install? very easy. Its small, very small looks almost toy like in its simplicity of design. Ive also paired it up with 3 1TB Velociraptor drives so my computer has no bottlenecks to any of my production workflows all thanks to this lovely monster of a drive well done Samsung Well done!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Good SSD For Raid

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByVBOVBO
onMarch 21, 2013
from Switzerland
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: compatibility, performance
Cons: price
I use 3x SSD 840 Pro 512Go in Raid5.
Very good performance and smart info compatible with HP Smart Array.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByRinji07
onFebruary 7, 2013
from Columbus, Ohio.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, fast, easy installation
Cons: costly
You get what you pay for and this SSD does not disappoint in the slightest. I see constant read and write speeds well over 500/mbs. I upgraded from a OCZ 256GB Vertex 4. I have included 2 screenshots both of this SSD benchmark.(Samsung 840 Pro 512GB)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply amazing !!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjrherbold
onJanuary 6, 2013
from Sacramento, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I love the SSD's (I have sampled SSD's from 4 different manufacturers) , but the Samsung out clases all of the rest.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good performance so far

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byiowapipe
onNovember 20, 2012
from Iowa City, IA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
I have only used it for a day in my Macbook Pro - and have no complaints. Installed easily.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast drive, issues with installation

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByGFisher
onNovember 7, 2013
from Bismarck ND
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, fast
Cons: support time limited
Like the performance of the drive. Getting it installed came with challenges. System was running RAID1, broke the raid set, made the system drive non-RAID before cloning, but the clone still was not good and resulted in a large number of Windows stop errors. After many attempts at fixes, finally did a fresh Windows install and all seems to be better. Would recommend doing a fresh Windows install in the first place with a RAID system. May not be an issue on a non-RAID system.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 512GB (Basic)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Product... when it works

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByXUZX
onMay 15, 2013
from Houston
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
bought this drive a little over 3 months ago, since then I've had to reinstall windows 7 twice. at first I thought it was just a windows problem until my computer when into an infinite loop of restarting and unsuccessful booting. I put in the windows disk again to reinstall and I got a message from the system saying the device is unable to format due to corrupt data. I bought this drive as it was highly recommended by tomshardware. aside from these technical difficulties the product itself works really well. I just wished it had the reliability of my Intel x25m which I replaced with this product.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.