Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)

Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Review 1 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDarkhorse1183
onSeptember 24, 2013
from Rock Island, Illinois
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This thing blows my old 7400 rpm job away ..quick fast and very efficient..only one issue..I didn't get the larger model!!..:)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best For The Price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAlSol
onJuly 18, 2013
from Russia, Volgograd
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, high overall performance
Cons: no high write speed
+ AMD970 (mb GA-970A-DS3): ATTO – sequential read speed up to 556 MB/s, sequential write speed up to 141 MB/s; AS SSD score - overall 654, read 308, write 198, seq. read speed 506 MB/s.
For SATA 1,5Gb/s (Acer Aspire AOA110 with Intel Atom+945GM chipset) is good too: Windows 7 score 7.0, reboot time is in 3-4 times better then with HDD.
Real weight 0.114 lb (50 g).
7mm form factor.
Useful Samsung Magician Software ver.4.1.
- Write speed is not for professionals (seq. 140 MB/s, rand. 80-90 MB/s)
For SATA 3 Gb/s is not so good, Windows 7 score 7,7 (not 7,8).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply the best

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByJonesmadruga
onMay 24, 2013
from Brasilia, Brazil
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast and cheap
120GB 2.5-inch SSD 840 Series did transform my notebook.
It´s now faster, and less battery consum .
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Performance

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByStillmatic
onMarch 5, 2013
from Rochester, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Went from a 7200rpm HDD to this bad boy and the difference is day and night. Windows score jumped from 5.9 to 7.7 and almost all online game studder is gone,
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super fast and Super Reliable!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDragonkal8000
onFebruary 28, 2013
from New York
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, fast, easy to install
This is my second SSD and this beats out my first by a longshot. I recently built a new rig with this as my boot device and now I enjoy literally 7 second boots. Installation was a breeze, made sure that I bought a 2.5 inch bracket to place in the 3.5 inch hard drive bay. Definitely a must get for anyone looking to build a new pc or to swap out their laptop hard drive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stunning!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByPCPRO
onJanuary 17, 2013
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: super fast
Cons: a bit costly, relatively low storage space
The Samsung SSD has had a remarkable performance in speed over HDD's. Even though there is only 100 GB storage it is well worth getting if you can afford it and can manage the storage capacity.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByGordyman
onJanuary 5, 2013
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Just what i needed good Samsung quality and FAST!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This SSD is fast.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDarenK
onJanuary 1, 2013
from Utah
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
I bought this drive after using the Samsung 830 SSD on my MacBook Pro. That drive was fast and super reliable, hopefully the streak will continue with this one. On typical day to day operations, I don't really notice a difference between the two. Benchmarks using Black Magic Speed Tests show the following:
Samsung 830 (256GB):
Read: 468 MB/sec
Write: 389 MB/sec
Samsung 840 Pro (256GB):
Read: 512 MB/sec
Write: 451 MB/sec
If you are thinking about upgrading from an existing SSD, depending on your usage, it may not be worth it. But if you are going from a traditional HDD, go for it. You won't regret it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD 840 series

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bylogalex
onNovember 25, 2012
from Bucharest
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Is just a great product. I install this SSD on a MacBoock Pro 7.1 and on optical bay I put old HDD with special caddy. Works flawless.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not as good as the 250G version

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BygManRocks
onOctober 15, 2013
from VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I first tried this in my laptop replacing the 7200RPM drive. I saw some improvement but the write speeds were slower than expected. Hibernates actually took longer with this drive than the original HDD. I switched to the 250G version which has slightly better read speed but way better write speeds. This would probably be a good upgrade to a 5400RPM HDD and without doing hibernation.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quick boot, but no cables and fitting plate in the box.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySenhorBaby
onDecember 23, 2012
from Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brasil
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, good speed.
Cons: customer needs to search and to buy basic parts.
Windows 7 Ultimate is loaded in few seconds.
However, there is not the other basic items in the box.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Decent SSD for the price, Write speeds could be better.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byjlobb2
onDecember 11, 2012
from Chicago
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Why the slow write speeds? Kind of a step back from the 830 model.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

really nice product !

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykumar99
onDecember 3, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
i got 840 120GB advertise 530MB/s read & 130MB/s write got 510MB/s read 136MB/s write and this is without running anything
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

POJ

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByDawgedAgain
onJune 8, 2013
from Toms River, NJ
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Raid o read write slow compared to Intel 520 Cherryville on Marvell 91xxx
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.