Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)

Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Review 1 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

awesome ssd

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 22, 2012
from Ankeny, IA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
samsung ssd 's are the best and the 840 is no exception.
However I am a little mad cause I just built an awesome gaming rig with windows 8 installed and samsungs magician software would not install on this OS. Maybe I am complaining prematurely, I shall search for an update.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not the fastest SSD, but still a lot better than HDD

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 11, 2012
from Chicago
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Decent price per GB(relative to SSD) and decent speeds. The write speed should be faster, similar to the 830. Other than this, I'm happy.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Buy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 15, 2012
from Henderson, Nevada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I bought my 250 GB SSD 840 off an online seller. The install was striaght forward. I registered the product found the software downloaded the cloning software. Cloning went fast and easy. I unplugged the old drive and rebooted it. It booted much faster and with no problems. Games load faster. I couldn't be happier. Price and features make it a great buy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 17, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
this is a good product for a new install and an update too.
But hight price of SSD cards is still to high. and thank you.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ssd 840 250 gb

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 21, 2012
from Illinios
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Eeasy to follow instalation and easy to migrate the software was easy to use now if it lasts great deal.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 3, 2013
from Sacramento, CA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is the 2nd SSD that I got from Samsung. Both are 840 Series. Work really good and transfer rate is fast
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No Linux support at all !

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 5, 2013
from Milan
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no linux support
It is a shame that there is no software tools for Linux users or either some suggestions about how install it.
How much it would had cost to Samsung to provide it ?
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works great!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 5, 2013
from Charlottesville, VA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: fast
I replaced my notebook platter hard drive with this SSD and did a fresh install of Windows 8, Office 2010 and several other programs. Installation was incredibly fast and when working with programs almost everything is instantaneous. I should have done this a long time ago.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for a start ssd

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This is my first SSD, I decided to invest in one after my old 5200rpm hard drive started to present some problems, I couldn't be any happier! I know this one isn't as fast as the 840 PRO but for a starting SSD It's really fast and impressive! I recommend it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Drive is faster than a speeding bullet LOL

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 10, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, perfect for playing games on!
Cons: none so far
Got this bad boy hooked up into an HTPC and I love it, perfect drive for an HTPC build! Talk about a fast drive WoooHooo!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast and light ssd

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 13, 2013
The migration took ten minutes and was hassle free when you use norton ghost. Awsome performance.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A nice one from Sammy.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 20, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: expensive
A tad too expensive for my taste. Otherwise, it's quite fast and reliable thus far.
Poor info from Sammy on feature activation/status, e.g. TRIM, etc.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good speed - may need other clone software

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 21, 2013
from Bellevue WA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
have 2 these. In my newer machine clone was very easy. In my older machine (Intel DP35DP Q6600) Samsung migration clone tool would not work (did not want to reload many programs by doing fresh win7 install). many tries and hours later later, third party commercial clone software did the trick (Ac____s). Would have saved money to buy the Samsung kit that includes Ghost.
Once installed, boot and program/data load and write speeds are great. silent. cool. 5 star for drive, 3 star for my clone problem.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Snappy Little SSD's

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 24, 2013
from Jacksonville, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: software
I love these drives, I have 2 in a RAID 0 configuration and a 1 TB Data drive. My write times are 1129 MB Read and 461 Write. The write speed on these is a little slower than some other brands and models, but for the price and the Samsung Quality, these can't be beat.
I have tried a few other SSD's and none compare to the quality and durability as these.
My only con is the bundled Magician Software doesn't support RAID.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good one

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 25, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
really nice working hard drive. there is no issue so far.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great SSD

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, fast
I've had this SSD in my tower now for about 2 weeks using it as my OS drive, and love it. Windows Experience gave it a 7.6. I'm not really sure what else to say it's an SSD, VERY FAST, Small, and makes my tower so much faster then my friends.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 20, 2013
from Atlanta, GA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast!
bought this to upgrade the speed of my laptop.
Made booting Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit under 15sec
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bang for buck

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 15, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Inexpensive
Finally and affordable SSD with enough size to be useful from a quality manufacturer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easiest and most cost-effective upgrade ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 19, 2013
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Thought about adding more memory to a 4-yr old desktop for a much needed performance boost, but memory was not widely available or cheap.
The data transfer from the old mechanical HDD to the new SSD couldn't have been easier! Just make sure to get the kit (Samsung part numbers ending in "KW"). It has everything you need for a painless installation and data transfer.
The old desktop is now much faster and quieter, probably good for another year or so before I'll treat the SSD to a new motherboard and processor!
You'll be hard pressed to find a more cost-effective way to breathe new life into an older machine.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This SSD is like a rocket!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 6, 2013
from Cleveland, OH
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, lightning fast!
Take any older PC, it could be as old as an Intel Core 2 Duo-based machine and install this SSD into it. Sit back and watch the computer take off like a rocket!
Obviously, this SSD is going to have the most benefits for a notebook PC since notebook hard drives seem to scrape the bottom of the barrel when it comes to performance numbers. But it will most certainly help improve the performance of your desktop as well.
The biggest bottleneck in today's PCs isn't the CPU or the RAM, it's the hard drive. They simply can't keep up with the Input/Output demands that we are putting on them.
I have the 250 GB version of this SSD. I have Windows 7 and a mess load of programs that I use often installed on the SSD as well. Why? Because this SSD makes everything lightning fast.
Boot-ups are fast, program launches are fast, everything is fast! This SSD is like a rocket!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

lots of bang for the buck

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 12, 2013
from Oregon
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
It just works, a simple way to speed up your computer and get rid of constant hum/noise of the spinning disk drive.
The current version of the magician s/w has some minor problems with the fonts (bottom of some displayed characters are truncated), not sure why.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Like buying a new machine

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 15, 2013
from Georgia
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: fast
Five years ago I bought the top of the line, most expensive and fastest machine on the market. By todays standards it is slow. I really like the machine and never had any issues and decide to give it a new life. Just during boot up of Windows 8 ( I know, Ugh!) I instantly could tell the difference. I write a lot of software. The software applications load in a snap instead of sitting there watching an hourglass. Couldn't be more pleased.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Works Great, Super Fast but can't boot Windows 7

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 16, 2013
from USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: super fast, quiet, increased battery life
Cons: not a bootable drive
I love this drive. It is really fast. Loads Photoshop really quickly. This drive has been working well for 5 months except that I can't find anyone who has been able to boot Windows 7 from it. The solution has been to seldom shut the machine down. When rebooting I insert the system disc into the DVD player and boot from the disc. The speed and energy efficiency of the drive is well worth the minor inconvenience of not being able to boot up. Also, the SSD uses less electricity so the battery lasts a lot longer. I wish Samsung had disclosed that this drive cannot be used as a bootable drive before I purchased it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Day & night difference

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 24, 2013
from Louisiana
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Lightweight, fast, saves laptop battery
Cons: price a little high, drive erase doesnt work right
Really fast, saves laptop battery life, faster start up and shut down, nice software
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for SSD 840 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow - startup speeds like a laptop should have

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 15, 2013
from VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Replaced a 7200 RPM laptop drive with this. Wow, the startup time for windows 7 was cut by more than half. Less then 27 sec from power button to login. So fast the little Windows chimes aren't even played all the way through before getting cut off. Only weird thing is when I used the Magician software I had to do it twice. It failed just at the very end. Restarted the process and it worked. I also had this problem with the 120G version I bought of this drive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.