Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)

SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)

Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 out of 21(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Review 1 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

why i love my galaxy s4 active phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 17, 2014
from Arkansas, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
it works great every time I use it, I wouldn't leave home without it! I cannot wait for it to wear out before getting another Samsung phone. :0)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from Arizona, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: fast
Fast, fast, fast! I use this drive for my OS (Win8.1) and couldn't be happier with its performance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Software

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 8, 2014
from Ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive
This is the first HDD I installed using the Data Migration software. It took only 4 minutes to transfer the OS and files from the drive I was using (60GB SSD) to my new Samsung 120 GB SSD.
This used to take 3-4 hours. Thanks Samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Performance

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from Wisconsin, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: speed
Cons: capacity
Purchased this memory to breath new life into an aging laptop. It's now running Windows 8.1 and is like new! Fantastic performance over the OEM hard drive. I purchased a Samsung memory because I trusted Samsung based on experience with several other Samsung products. I have never regretted it!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD 840

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from PA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Works as advertised. Basically just for operating system, sure reduces srartup time, just what I was looking for.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung SSD Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from California, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I have had this for a few month's now and now all I want to use is SSD drive's such a fast boot and easy to install.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 7, 2014
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Shockingly this SSD easy to install easy to transer my OS over as well WORKS GREAT and for the price A MUST HAVE
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung 840 Evo

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 1, 2014
from Texas
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, reliable
Cons: no mounting brackets or usb connector or converte
If you are like me you don't like waiting and i don't,Ihave a Sabertooth FX 990 Mother board it takes 3 times as long as bios to complete takes 6 seconds from bios post then to get to desktop that i like Plus my Browsing is Much faster,down loads and uploads no change Uggg lol..Read the Pdf files here it is worth it..The Evo ssd what i have read over the Internet runs about a 99 percent approval rating so what does that tell you about the 840 series
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 10, 2014
from Portland, OR, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Really great performance for the price, as well as decent enough capacity to use as a primary drive. I have also tried it in a Playstation 3 and it worked very well in it as well.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delivers...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 31, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
... what it promises to do, best value for money so far.+++
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive
I have owned this product for a few months now, and so far it has worked great. I have had no problems at all with this drive, and it is as quick today as it was the first day I received it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New Life

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 17, 2014
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive
This SSD breathed new life into an older Laptop! Installation tools worked well. All-in-all, a great product and package. I chose it over many other choices because of prior Samsung experience with other devices, and because the specs were better than other options.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best SSD in the World!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 4, 2014
from Linden, NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, state of the art
I have to be truthful. I bought this drive by mistake. I already own a Samsung 830 that has performed FLAWLESSLY for years. About a month ago I noticed all of a sudden my computer was taking longer than normal to boot. I thought maybe I had wornout the 830 so I bought an 840 EVO and installed it and still had the same problem. Then, all of a sudden I remembered I had left the Micro SD card adapter in the memory card slot of my computer and forgot to take it out all the time the computer was taking a long time to boot. So I took it out and IMMEDIATELY discovered back to 10 second boot up time with my Samsung SSD. Now I have a spare Samsung SSD 830 BUT my conclusion on 830 vs 840 EVO? The 840 EVO does everything I bought the 830 for, except it does it 1 or 2 seconds faster. Thanks Samsung! Happy New Year!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great addition to an aging laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 31, 2013
from Smithfield, VA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, fast, convenient, major performance boost
My 2010 model Dell Studio 1747 is still a well-made, solid machine but I had begun to consider replacing it with a 4th generation (Haswell) Intel Core i7 quad-core machine that was lighter and thinner. However, I chose instead to upgrade what was still upgradable to get more performance from my current machine; this drive was one of those purchases. I had recently experienced a disappointing issue with a Samsung tablet that led to a serious breach in customer service, almost turning me away from my loyalty from Samsung altogether. However, excellent reviews on many websites convinced me to stick with the brand for this drive and I am very glad I did. The migration of data from my old drive was fast and simple and I cannot hardly find words for the improvement this addition has made to my machine's performance. Boot times are almost nonexistent, and apps launch so much faster that I find myself wondering why I waited so long to make this move. I highly recommend buying this drive to replace your existing hard drive (I kept my old hard drive in my laptop's secondary drive slot and now use it for all of my media) and see for yourself how much faster and more responsive your machine can be. :-)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fasted SSD I own

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 30, 2013
from Texarkana Texas 75503
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: reliable and fast.
I have four (4) SSD drives. Two Samsung 830 120 Gig drives, one Samsung 840 Evo 120 Gig drive, and one M4 120 Gig drive. The 840 Evo 120 Gig drive is by far the fastest of the four drives. On the Evo drive I am currently using Linux Mint 15 Cinnamon as my operating system, One of the 830 drives has Ubuntu 13.10, and the other Windows 7. The M4 ihas Linux Mint 15 Cinnamon. I have been pleased with all of the Samsung SSD drives I own. I highly recommend the Samsung SSD product line if you are considering purchasing an SSD.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Crazy Fast!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 19, 2013
from Alabama
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast, quiet, software
I love this thing! Makes my PC startup faster and my games load faster. The software that comes with it is very nice also.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung EVO SSD Great OS Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 4, 2013
from Oregon
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable
Great Product at a Great Value. Using as my OS Drive. Going to pickup another to use as a Program Drive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung 840 EVO 120gb Magician Rapid Mode

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 1, 2013
from Long Beach, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Like the rapid mode, I have a none EVO 840 and real life seems the same but benchmarks tell another story...Faster and much faster in Rapid Mode because Samsung does not offer you to enable Rapid Mode on the none EVO Drives. They both boot up super fast, about the same. The magician software is nice.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Video(s)
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has great features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 24, 2014
fast and powerful .............................................................................
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

money well spent

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from Toronto, ON, Canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I installed a Samsung SSD drive to replace a hard drive that crashed in an core duo laptop. Drive was simple to install, and with the software on CD, was able to quickly configure the drive. Bootup from shutdown was a quick 30 seconds - instead of over a minute with the older drive. Being spoiled with this drive and gave life to an old laptop. So instead of buying a new laptop, I saved the money for the SSD.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good ssd drive for a good price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Bought two drives few months ago. Good drive for the price. Haven't had any issue on both computers.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 120GB (Basic)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Back up before you use it!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onSeptember 15, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, not compatable
The cloning tool did not clone all partitions, so no recovery sector was not copied. Good luck trying to reboot from the OS failure this will create.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
-10points
0of 10voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.