Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)

SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)

Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Review 1 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Zoomin'

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 13, 2014
from Golden, CO
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is my first SSD, and i figured I'd notice an improvement. Wow! I am blown away! I've only had it for a short time, so I can't speak to how hardy the unit might be, but it is surely the best thing I've done for my computer! It was easy to install, moving my OS and programs, etc. from the old drive was practically effortless with the included software. It's a bit pricy, but i would surely buy another given half a chance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Features - the best out there at this time

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 28, 2014
from Montgomery, AL, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, great price/value relationship
Cons: none
My first SSD - incorporated it into a new build - Have used WD VRaptors for years and really like the speed and reliability of them...................However, I'm still in "shock & awe" with the performance of this SSD.
Very easy to install - good instructions and great software.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ideal Upgrade for older Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 19, 2014
from Texas, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, fast, easy to install
Cons: pricey, did not include transfer cable
I have an older i7 Laptop. Installing the Samsung EVO 840 TB SSD improved system performance and the temperature of the system is also much much cooler. Samsung magician and copy software worked easily and only took a small bit of time to clone my original drive and upgrade to the new SSD. Excellent investment.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from San Antonio, TX, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Have used this product and love it nothing better than an SSD
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Is the leader in electronics

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 11, 2014
from Denver, CO, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, performance
Cons: price
The product is absolutely amazing. It's certainly ahead of everyone else. In every way specs and reliability. We all hope you guys can lower price so we can all enjoy the best SSD on the market today.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
This product by itself made my computer faster with such a visible diference
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best company to do bussines with

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Oroville, WA 98844, USA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Inexpensive
I have 5 ssds from Samsung, they are the only ssd I will use.. great support... great company, I have many products from Samsung..3 sound bars, 3 tvs, 3 blue ray players.. they are the first company I look for , for my products
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great option for Business Use

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from San Francisco
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, silent, fast
Cons: pricey
This drive is pricier than my favorite personal drive, the Crucial m500, but I use the EVO 840 for any serious business use. It utilizes SSD features and protections that the m500 doesn't. Plus, you get an extra 40GB over most SSD's which are 960GB. Highly recommended.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't forget your SSD Settings!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 28, 2014
from western Vermont
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, reliable
Cons: expensive
When you install your SSD, fire up the Samsung Magician program that comes with it. For those of us who want to get the most out of our solid state drive, and want to make sure our computer settings aren't at variance with its capability, Magician will help tweak the settings in the SSD's favor. For example, my Norton was optimizing my system, which meant defragging the drive, which is something you shouldn't do on an SSD.
Also, it's nice to start up your computer, and have it all ready to go in about 30 seconds.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

RAPID 1TB Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 10, 2014
from Earth
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Samsung 840 EVO makes yet another breakthrough from when the 840 PRO stomped around.
Even with TLC memory over MLC nand; on paper it looks pretty scary but in real world uses, in order to wear down TLC NAND a user would have to run the drive at 100% full load without stopping for 5 or 6 years straight which is near impossible unless the drive was being used in a server environment which will actually happen.
The drive over HM55 chipset was able to reach the expected and advertised SATA III speeds. However with RAPID mode turned on the drive exceeds expectation once again with speeds nearing 900MB/s read and just over 800MB/s writing which in turn mimics a RAID0 or PCI-E transfer speed.
Over Intel Z77 chipset yields even higher speeds mainly due to the bus speed and the caching that happens across the board as HM55 was a notebook used to test.
Overall this drive combines both shearing speeds and capacity into one package. Cost??? A drive that size, it's not bad as other drives of on the market do not reach 1TB and look like a 960GB type. I would recommend this to anyone that has a requirement of speed and storage in 1 package.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love This SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 3, 2014
from Washington DC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
The product has great Speed
i didn't use ssd before
this is on of my great investments i ever done for my gaming Laptop thx Samsung
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD Replacement

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 6, 2013
from FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
I replaced an old Kingston snv425 with the 840 EVO and even better performance, once I tried Rapid Mode and it exceeded its read & write specs.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Big 1TB SSD

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 21, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: fast, large capacity
Cons: very expensive
Have been using this big bad boy for about 1.5 weeks and it is the fastest drive I have used. Everything is fast: bootup, opening files, opening programs, etc. Would recommend it more if it wasn't so expensive!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best SSD for the price per GB

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 16, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
It's fast, it's 1TB so I can put all my games and software on one dry, which is convenient. I was getting tired of having to divide everything over multiple drives and this drive solves that issue. I couldn't be happier with this drive, great price, and from what I can see RAPID mode is great.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reliable and Fast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Raleigh, NC, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: performance boost, quiet
Cons: not as fast as i expected in some situations.
I've been using the Samsung 1TB SSD for about 4 months. For most of my work, I have seen a significant performance increase. Occasionally, I experience performance that appears slower than my 1 TB hard drive -- especially on a large volume of random reads. I also lost the ability to put my laptop to sleep and/or hibernate with the SSD. I'm not sure why I ran into this problem. All I know is after I installed the SSD, sleep/hibernate worked for about a month but has since stopped working. It tries to start-up after sleep/hibernate but then hangs so I have to reboot.
Overall, I am satisfied with the unit since I do believe it has made me more productive, reducing the amount of time I was waiting on the hard drive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Snappy Drive that may need refreshing

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from The Villages, FL, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, mostly all samsung, good reviews
Cons: had a portion go bad - but fixable
On initial install, this drive worked exceptionally well and even better in Rapid Mode. It was very close to the optimum ratings in Samsung Magician.
After 5 months and 3500 hours in my primary Desktop Machine, I had occasion to repeat a more detailed scan of the drive using HD Tune Pro 5.5 Benchmark - a test had also used when I first mounted the drive and it passed with flying colors. One of the tests (Benchmark) scans the entire drive for sequential transfer speed. Unfortunately I now found that the first 150GB of the EVO was either 350 or 150 MBps, and most of the time at 150 MBps. The rest of the drive was at 350 MBps. That part was almost all unused. HD Tach 3.0.4.0, an old but still good drive test tool gave the exact same readings as HD Tune Pro - multiple times for each.
The sad thing is that Samsung Magician did not catch this and still told me "the drive" was good. I believe that is because Samsung Magician does not test the entire drive - perhaps something that should be added to it.
Updating the firmware, Optimizing the EVO and OS and turning Rapid Mode on/off made no difference.
THE GOOD NEWS is that Using SECURE ERASE in Samsung Magician restored the drive to as new performance. It is somewhat of a bother, as I had to migrate all the software on the drive to another drive and then back again after using Secure Erase - but I got an AS NEW drive when I was done as confirmed by Samsung Magician, HD Tune Pro and HD Tach.
The attached pictures show the drive transfer rate across all 1 GB after doing Secure Erase and before Secure Erase when the drops down to 150 MBps occurred.
If it had not been for this glitch, I would have given the EVO all 5 stars.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 1TB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hardward - Excellent / Software Included Doesn't work with AMD

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 8, 2013
from NM
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: excellent 1tb ssd hardware
Cons: bad supporting software
Purchased the 1TB SSD 840 EVO and tried to use the Migration software included. After 3 - 2hr attempts to migrate I called support. I was referred to a 3rd party free migration tool to use. This worked the first time and I replaced my hard disk and that also works Great. The Magician / Optimization Soft that comes with the Samsung SSD does not recognize the Samsung SSD drive. What support tells me now is that AMD SATA controllers are not supported by Samsung Drives. This includes all HP Pavillion Laptops like mine. So I'm glad to have the SSD Drive (which works fine with the AMD Controller) but have to deal with Samsung's in-ability to work with AMD to resolve Samsung SOFTWARE support issues ??? OH-Well .... If it weren't for Samsung's software I would have rated the SSD drive itself EXCELLENT!! Be aware HP users... with AMD SATA Controllers work fine it is just Samsung's support software that doesn't, where free downloadable software will....
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.