Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)

SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)

Rating:
4.826 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Review 1 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect investment

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByArcomFeni
onApril 15, 2014
from New York, NY, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, easy to install, relatively inexpensive
Cons: cables and caddy not included
Wow!! I have a laptop 5 years old, it was responsive, I always had good care of it, but I heard a lot about performance improvements installing the OS in a SSD, so I tried, I installed the drive, cloned my system, deleted the old system in my old drive keeping it as a second drive.... I am really amazed by the improvement, I don't care how long it takes to start up or shut down, of course it starts up in 4 to 6 seconds, but the difference on how the programs run is important to me, and they run faster than a brand new computer I use in my job (with the best processor and video card). That is more than enough for me :) Thank you very much. (
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

There's a reason this one is getting good reviews

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAmateurBuilder
onApril 10, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: samsung software
The only problem I had with this product was the accompanying software. You have to wonder when tech support suggests the possibility of using a different freeware to accomplish the same task. Other than that, the hardware works great 2 weeks in.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome upgrade!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCPO365
onMarch 27, 2014
from San Diego, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I thought my computer was fast before the SSD upgrade and now I cannot believe how much faster it is. Boot times are almost instantaneous... Program and file access times are non-existent. Very happy with purchase and will soon be buying another for my wife's computer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works Great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByIMFred
onMarch 12, 2014
from Ky
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Best upgrade I ever did for my computer
the drive was the lowest rating on windows. Now at 7.7
This is great
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byherkules2012
onFebruary 24, 2014
from Fort Lauderdale,FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight
Excellent quality and very fast. Easy to install and can use in Desktops and Laptops.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent SSD and the only brand I use

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAntB81
onFebruary 20, 2014
from Valley Stream, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, quality components, high dram
Cons: for the price should include adapters/cables
Excellent, Reliable, and easy to use and configure. I have installed one EVO SSD and three 840 series drives and they are reliable and fast transfer rates are unbelievable. Excellent drive for the money but is a bit pricey compared to others. I hope they never sacrifice quality to make it cheaper, I don't mind paying for the SSD's Samsung makes because of the top quality of the product. With all that said I will buy this drive again and again to retrofit or upgrade many computers.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast SSD

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bybddusa
onFebruary 8, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast ssd
Easy to install. Fast and reliable. You won't be disappointed!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast, reliable design

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bycyberwasp
onFebruary 6, 2014
from FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, fast
Cons: migration software needs work
I put this Samsung 840 evo 256gb drive in my 3 year old aging desktop. I thought it was fast when I bought the pc until I installed the EVO. Now it boots to the desktop in under 15 seconds.
I was first wondering how long it would last but according to a few utilities I ran it levelled out to about 8 years.
I'd recommend this drive or the larger capacity ones to anyone wanting a boost in there system.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product, great price!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybjh7
onFebruary 1, 2014
I've had it for nearly a month, now. Satisfied. Does what was promised.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW what speed

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjcoffee
onJanuary 27, 2014
from Pocono Mountains
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: none
My boot time went from 90sec to 22sec my photos load in a blink of an eye.What else can you ask for? I used the Samsung magician software to move my data and windows 7 to the SSD and that worked great.I have to figure what to do with the old drive but I'll think of something. Truly a great drive with a lot of speed and enough room for my use,
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD 840 EVO 250 GB

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bymishu235
onJanuary 18, 2014
from Romania
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Very good product, after optimization and rapid mode enable the sequential read/write is more then Samsung specifications.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung EVO 250GB

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byht380
onJanuary 15, 2014
from SGP
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Wow, great SDD and super fast on my Thinkpad W510. The Samsung Magician program is a great tools to manage your SDD.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another excellent product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFuddly
onJanuary 6, 2014
from Long Island, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Installation in the case was a breeze, drive was recognized by the bios and accepted the installation of the OS with no issues. Load times are phenomenal !!!! Durability...well...check back in a few years and I will let you know.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Significant Performance Increase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykyittech
onJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, performance
After migrating desktop traditional hard-drive to a new SSD hard-drive, the overall performance has been significantly increased. Plus, the Samsung Magician software assists in tuning Windows operating system settings for maximum performance as well.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great cloning feature

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bydk03
onDecember 28, 2013
from san jose, ca
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
no issue with cloning.
This is fast, from the power button on to the windows ready to use less than 30 seconds (including two pass words, one for SSD and another for Windows).
Great product A+
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung 840 EVO 2.5" SATA III

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By3fees
onDecember 27, 2013
from Sacramento, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Got it today , used Samsung Clone Software to transfer operating system from HDD to SSD , used a USB 2.0 drive enclosure for the 840 EVO took 30 minutes, replaced HDD with SSD and booted right up much faster. I got this SSD for my new windows 8 laptop from HP, a nice edition..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bysnappertac
onDecember 4, 2013
from Utah
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: none so far
bought this ssd samsung evo drive for my late 2011 macbook pro, installed and had my laptop running in less than an hour, love this drive, its fast and all my programs load up in seconds, my macbook pro start time was about 1min 30 secs, not it start in about 20 sec. i would recommend getting this ssd drive from samsung to anyone....
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent SSD drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByjonnyGA
onNovember 30, 2013
from Savannah GA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
This is an excellent drive. The migration using Magician was fast and easy.
Fast move from HDD to SSD and startups less than 10 seconds into Windows 7.
I will be purchasing more of these drives for my desktop systems.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

perfect

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCristi90
onSeptember 10, 2013
from Bucharest, Romania
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Thiis is the perfect media storage for all.
It's small, and light
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well priced SSD

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByGolphor
onJanuary 24, 2014
from Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Software did not preform as expected. Had to use a completely different procedure to get the SSD to work.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product meets standards

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bymadlazykid
onDecember 16, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
best reliable ssd harddrive! have no problem or issues
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid State Disk- software needs work.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByDavidPL
onNovember 16, 2013
from Cypress, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, fast
Cons: software has problems.
The first is - replace your main hard drive with a solid state disk. The Samsung 840 is a good choice. If you need huge amounts of storage, add a large standard hard drive as well.
The accompanying Samsung software did not work as well. I bought a 840 for my laptop and 840 for my tower, and in both case, the transfer software failed to successfully transfer the contents of the drive. It did not recognize the drive with the laptop and a third party usb to Sata interface, and was not able to make a bootable drive with my tower. The Magician software requires permission to make changes every time my laptop boots, and has never recognized the drive on my tower.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exelent product for fair price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykizolini
onNovember 14, 2013
from Belgrade, Serbia
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Inexpensive, easy to manage and configure, fast, exelent support
Cons: poor package
Top product for a fair price.
" Must have " for professionals.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.