Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)

SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)

Rating:
4.826 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 out of 43(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Review 1 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 4, 2014
from san diego , ca
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Fastest and affordable drive no match with others.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just installed this SSD

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 30, 2014
from Standish, ME
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Easy peasy. Took an hour to clone my HD. Back together with this Samsung drive. Turned it on and it booted up to windows in 14 seconds. I used to get 5-8 minutes wait on the spinner. I am happy. This is new life for my laptop.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely Performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 24, 2014
Pros: fast, reliable, good software
Cons: comparably expensive
This is the first Solid State Drive I have, I read too many reviews to take this decision and I'm pretty sure I took the right one purchasing this device.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very reliable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 6, 2014
from Bensalem, PA 19020, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, very fast, very reliable
This drive has been so fast and reliable that I have just purchased another for a RAID_0 array.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Smokin' Fast!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 13, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, super fast great software
I have been running an M4 Crucial CT256GB SSD as my primary drive on an Intel 2600k system with 16 GB PC1600 DDR3 RAM, an EVGA GeForce GTX 660Ti 2GB GPU, 3 SSDs and two 3TB SATA HDD in Raid 0. I thought it was pretty fast at on OC of 4.47 GHz.
I replaced my M4 CT256 Gb with the Samsung EVO 840 250 GB SSD and it is so much faster when running Adobe Illustrator and large projects and transferring large files from one SSD to another I am just amazed. Quite the unexpected speed bump :0)
Just, WOW, does not really cover it.
But, WOW.
WOW!
Added bonus is the Samsung Magician Software bundle. Just totally a cut above the rest.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good solid state drive with lots of software features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 3, 2014
Excellent performance, looks cool. No failures thus far
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super fast SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 29, 2014
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: super fast
Cons: bad software, poor instructions
The drive totally made my desktop computer run better than new. The only thing that was a disappointment was the installation disc. Completely useless. Downloaded Acronis cloning software to clone my drive in minutes. Also instructions were lacking at best. 3rd grade pictures were used instead of proper wording. Very disappointing for Samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid State Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from San Francisco, CA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy to install
My computer has sped-up significantly ever since I installed the SSD on my PC. I formerly had only a 1 Terabyte 7200RPM Hardrive installed and my PC was tremendously slow in comparison to how my system now operates. I am completely satisfied with the product and I would recommend it to others endeavoring to improve the speed of processing data. I use my PC to monitor my stocks daily on the TDAmeritrade website and the SSD significantly improved the speed of displaying graphs and pertinent data on my screen. Thanks to the SSD, I can now process stock data quickly in order to make quick decisions when necessary.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value, Great first SSD experience, need some bios/OS fiddling, does not update firmware

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
Pros: Lightweight, reliable, speed
Cons: firmware update
As a first SSD the speed is definitely noticeable. I cannot work on any OS without a SSD OS bootup. Very reliable. However it does require some google searching to know how to change to AHCI mode . You cannot rely on SSD magician that comes along with the SSD to do it for you. I do believe it is some what of a habit to get into since I suspect most SSDs will require this. The only problem I have ever had with this SSD is that it refuses to update firmware whether it is as a boot hard drive or a storage hard drive. 5 Year warranty and the number of cycles before failure is probably the best feature to a consumer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

RAPID makes this drive more than phenomenal

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
The EVO is already one of the best SSDs on the market. With RAPID enabled, performance virtually doubles in most fields, making the drive even faster. From pushing the power button on my computer to logging in is only about ten seconds. Fantastic product!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Speed

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from TX
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: speed
Cons: none
This SSD rocks. With the RAPID mode enabled, It is so fast. Great job Samsung. You also make the best phones!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

changed my life

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Before installing the ssd I started the computer and was going to drink a water.
it took about 2-3 minutes to be able to start using now are 20 seconds to be browsing on the internet.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As soon as I can, I'll buy more.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Kent, WA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, speed speed and more speed and then more speed.
Cons: a con? only that i can't buy more right now. (, wife has cut off my allowance, wife won't advance my birthday presents to 2022.
I was fortunate enough to acquire a 250 GB version of the 840 EVO SSD and I can't tell you how happy I am that I did. Before the transition from my 500GB HDD I typically experienced a 2.5 minute cold boot load times. Shutdown-restarts were very very ugly. Game load times, in my case. for Infestation:Survival Stories and Battlefield 4 were cut down significantly which are now tolerable. A concern for me was to get all of my most frequently used programs onto the SSD for speed but I was very apprehensive about attempting it. As it turned out, I was able to get all of my most commonly used programs onto the 250 but, not 'all' of my programs and data. I'm happy with what was accomplished but I want more speed for all of my programs and applications. A 500GB is on my horizon and this 250 will go into my notebook. Can't wait for the battery life extension this will accomplish for me. In a 'one word' description, I'd have to say "get one now, you won't be disappointed!'
Tkay, Kent, WA.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I wish all my drives were this good!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Seattle, WA, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, 1 evo is faster than my vertex 3s in raid 0, competitive price, faultless reliability
Cons: must allow samsung magician to run on startup
Amazing speed, perfect reliability, it's just amazing. Samsung magician helps to keep the drive performing better for longer.
The only problem I have is that I have to allow the awesomeSamsung Magician software to run every time I start my computer. This is nothing more than a minor annoyance, and doesn't detract from the EVO.
Keep up the great work, Samsung!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Converted my Laptop to a superfast machine

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Mechanicsburg, PA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: a bit expensive
Performance of this HDD is too good for daily usage. Its quiet and cool as compared to my previous 5400 rpm drive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Kansas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Loving this SSD. Very fast boot time on Windows 8.1 pro. Plan to get another one and put them in Raid 0 for even faster speeds.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from DeLand, FL, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, fast
Great product for a great price. I purchased 2 of these and could not be happier. Start up times have been reduced and they perform better than I expected at the price I paid.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super Fast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Boston
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Excellent performance allows my OS to boot in seconds.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 4, 2014
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight
Keep all my most important programs, games I play most often, and my OS on this SSD and everything boots up in no time. Couldn't ask for better!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 2, 2014
from Brazil
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable
I bought my MAC MID 2009 and works perfectly. was very slow with the original HD and now is a rocket, even not having a SATA3 controller.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect investment

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 15, 2014
from New York, NY, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, easy to install, relatively inexpensive
Cons: cables and caddy not included
Wow!! I have a laptop 5 years old, it was responsive, I always had good care of it, but I heard a lot about performance improvements installing the OS in a SSD, so I tried, I installed the drive, cloned my system, deleted the old system in my old drive keeping it as a second drive.... I am really amazed by the improvement, I don't care how long it takes to start up or shut down, of course it starts up in 4 to 6 seconds, but the difference on how the programs run is important to me, and they run faster than a brand new computer I use in my job (with the best processor and video card). That is more than enough for me :) Thank you very much. (
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

There's a reason this one is getting good reviews

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 10, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: samsung software
The only problem I had with this product was the accompanying software. You have to wonder when tech support suggests the possibility of using a different freeware to accomplish the same task. Other than that, the hardware works great 2 weeks in.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome upgrade!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 27, 2014
from San Diego, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I thought my computer was fast before the SSD upgrade and now I cannot believe how much faster it is. Boot times are almost instantaneous... Program and file access times are non-existent. Very happy with purchase and will soon be buying another for my wife's computer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works Great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 12, 2014
from Ky
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Best upgrade I ever did for my computer
the drive was the lowest rating on windows. Now at 7.7
This is great
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 24, 2014
from Fort Lauderdale,FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight
Excellent quality and very fast. Easy to install and can use in Desktops and Laptops.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent SSD and the only brand I use

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 20, 2014
from Valley Stream, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, quality components, high dram
Cons: for the price should include adapters/cables
Excellent, Reliable, and easy to use and configure. I have installed one EVO SSD and three 840 series drives and they are reliable and fast transfer rates are unbelievable. Excellent drive for the money but is a bit pricey compared to others. I hope they never sacrifice quality to make it cheaper, I don't mind paying for the SSD's Samsung makes because of the top quality of the product. With all that said I will buy this drive again and again to retrofit or upgrade many computers.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast SSD

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 8, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast ssd
Easy to install. Fast and reliable. You won't be disappointed!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast, reliable design

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 6, 2014
from FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, fast
Cons: migration software needs work
I put this Samsung 840 evo 256gb drive in my 3 year old aging desktop. I thought it was fast when I bought the pc until I installed the EVO. Now it boots to the desktop in under 15 seconds.
I was first wondering how long it would last but according to a few utilities I ran it levelled out to about 8 years.
I'd recommend this drive or the larger capacity ones to anyone wanting a boost in there system.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product, great price!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 1, 2014
I've had it for nearly a month, now. Satisfied. Does what was promised.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW what speed

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 27, 2014
from Pocono Mountains
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: none
My boot time went from 90sec to 22sec my photos load in a blink of an eye.What else can you ask for? I used the Samsung magician software to move my data and windows 7 to the SSD and that worked great.I have to figure what to do with the old drive but I'll think of something. Truly a great drive with a lot of speed and enough room for my use,
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD 840 EVO 250 GB

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 18, 2014
from Romania
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Very good product, after optimization and rapid mode enable the sequential read/write is more then Samsung specifications.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung EVO 250GB

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 15, 2014
from SGP
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Wow, great SDD and super fast on my Thinkpad W510. The Samsung Magician program is a great tools to manage your SDD.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another excellent product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 6, 2014
from Long Island, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Installation in the case was a breeze, drive was recognized by the bios and accepted the installation of the OS with no issues. Load times are phenomenal !!!! Durability...well...check back in a few years and I will let you know.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Significant Performance Increase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, performance
After migrating desktop traditional hard-drive to a new SSD hard-drive, the overall performance has been significantly increased. Plus, the Samsung Magician software assists in tuning Windows operating system settings for maximum performance as well.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great cloning feature

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 28, 2013
from san jose, ca
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
no issue with cloning.
This is fast, from the power button on to the windows ready to use less than 30 seconds (including two pass words, one for SSD and another for Windows).
Great product A+
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung 840 EVO 2.5" SATA III

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2013
from Sacramento, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Got it today , used Samsung Clone Software to transfer operating system from HDD to SSD , used a USB 2.0 drive enclosure for the 840 EVO took 30 minutes, replaced HDD with SSD and booted right up much faster. I got this SSD for my new windows 8 laptop from HP, a nice edition..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 4, 2013
from Utah
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: none so far
bought this ssd samsung evo drive for my late 2011 macbook pro, installed and had my laptop running in less than an hour, love this drive, its fast and all my programs load up in seconds, my macbook pro start time was about 1min 30 secs, not it start in about 20 sec. i would recommend getting this ssd drive from samsung to anyone....
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent SSD drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 30, 2013
from Savannah GA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
This is an excellent drive. The migration using Magician was fast and easy.
Fast move from HDD to SSD and startups less than 10 seconds into Windows 7.
I will be purchasing more of these drives for my desktop systems.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

perfect

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 10, 2013
from Bucharest, Romania
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Thiis is the perfect media storage for all.
It's small, and light
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

light weight

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 2, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Works as expected, speed is good, not readily recognized by windows,las second drive, software easy to use and intuitive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid State Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Guatemala City, Guatemala
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: expensive
Very good performance, but the tecnology is expensive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well priced SSD

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 24, 2014
from Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Software did not preform as expected. Had to use a completely different procedure to get the SSD to work.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product meets standards

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 16, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
best reliable ssd harddrive! have no problem or issues
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid State Disk- software needs work.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 16, 2013
from Cypress, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, fast
Cons: software has problems.
The first is - replace your main hard drive with a solid state disk. The Samsung 840 is a good choice. If you need huge amounts of storage, add a large standard hard drive as well.
The accompanying Samsung software did not work as well. I bought a 840 for my laptop and 840 for my tower, and in both case, the transfer software failed to successfully transfer the contents of the drive. It did not recognize the drive with the laptop and a third party usb to Sata interface, and was not able to make a bootable drive with my tower. The Magician software requires permission to make changes every time my laptop boots, and has never recognized the drive on my tower.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exelent product for fair price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 14, 2013
from Belgrade, Serbia
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Inexpensive, easy to manage and configure, fast, exelent support
Cons: poor package
Top product for a fair price.
" Must have " for professionals.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Basic)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Drive died in less then 6 months...

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 18, 2014
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: good value for performance
Cons: unreliable
I cannot recommend a device which is crucial component of the computer, and it might crash within a few months from the date of purchase.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.