Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Desktop Kit)

SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Desktop Kit)

Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
3 out of 6(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Desktop Kit)
Review 1 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Desktop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Desktop Kit)

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 10, 2014
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This was a new build ssd very happy with product. speed is holding up so far ssd holding up good.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Desktop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

★★★★★ Great value for the money

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 4, 2014
from Chicago
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Theses drives work great, i use them all the time. I do tons of computer work-upgrades-repairs and go through at least 15-20 or so a year. I have never had a bad Samsung SSD. I just bought 4 today for my personnel laptop. I bought 3 msata and 1 sata, i expect my speeds will be about 1800+ mbps as i get over 500 R one 1 sata unit
Came here to try and find a discount but that didn't happen.
My computers all fully support the SATA 3 speed and these drives can utilize it.
If you have an old junky 7 year old SATA 2 only computer like the reviewer(s) below you should buy a new pc not a drive that wont run at full speed. Stop trying to milk a horse and buy a newer SATA 3 computer that can actually use fast drives.
I loaded the software once it was no-go, did not detect my drive. I dont know whats on the disc but i am pretty sure it not something that i would use anyway.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Desktop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lightning Fast Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 31, 2014
from Ft Worth, Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
I recently installed this drive in my PC. Installation was easy if one follows the instruction to the letter.
I was quite impressed that instead of the usual 75 secs boot time to my desktop after entering my password at the boot screen using Win 7 OS and 16Gb ram, it was booted up and to the desktop in 3 secs!
I did a "cold boot" 4 times just to relieve the excitement of the event and consistently it boots in about 3-4 seconds every time.
Launching programs is also delivering similar impressive results as does file transfer speed and any other intensive processing chore.
I would highly recommend this drive and the SSD drive type to anyone who wants to see real speed performance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Desktop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Migration

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 12, 2014
from Pennsylvania
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: perfect replacement for sata drive.
Cons: none
Your migration software worked pefectly everything was like it came from factory, after removing old drive, and plugging in ssd, I crossed my figures and hit the start button and wow, it was just like my old drive was there but faster a lot.
Best hardware I ever bought. Plus you web sight support is awesome.
Thanks
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Desktop Kit)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice packaging that's all I can say!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onApril 6, 2014
from Miramar, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, magician software needs help
I thought I had done my homework before purchasing but I failed, should have read these reviews and not reviews by e-stores, since they might be fake. Didn't feel like purchasing a new MB or new hardware wanted to upgrade my rig with this SSD and WIN 7. After installing the SSD and WIN 7 also installed the MAGICIAN 4.3 software which now does not even recognize the SSD, Does not display SYSTEM INFORMATION? Finally uninstalled it and after several times of WIN 7 DL 142 updates and re-starting like at least 20 times...seriously it works. But once again I installed the MAGICIAN thinking it was WIN and not the SSD software but once again after re-starting an error message appears that doesn't recognize it. SAMSUNG needs to improve this ASAP.
Running an ASUS P5N-E SLI,
LGA 775 INTEL CORE 2 DUO 2.4,
CORSAIR 6 GB of RAM DDR2,
XFX DUAL NVDIA SLI 512 MB VIDEO CARDS
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Desktop Kit)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

windows failed to boot

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onAugust 14, 2014
from Texas
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: wont boot
Loaded the software.. Cloned the drive.. Installed the ssd replacing hdd.. Windows will not boot.. Had to put hdd back in to get pc to boot up.. Will try support to see if they can help but right now VERY disappointed..
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Desktop Kit)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This SSD is benchmarking less than half the rated speeds.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onFebruary 14, 2014
from Metro Detroit, MI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations, slow.
This SSD is benchmarking less than half the rated speeds. It comes with "magician" software which doesn't work. I wonder if thats why the speeds are so slow. I didn't expect to need software aside from the usual drivers to get the performance I was looking forward to. I guess they do not like Nvidia chipsets and do not support them... is the excuse. They should state that on the box.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Desktop Kit)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Simply not ready for sale

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onAugust 23, 2013
from Eden Prairie, MN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, does not work with software, not fast
This SSD just does not work very well. The performance is not any faster than the 830, and the magician software even after update does not recognize this as a Samsung drive so it won't run on it.
Very disappointing product. Wait until the next version to buy.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.