Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Laptop Kit)

SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Laptop Kit)

Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Laptop Kit)
Review 1 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

840 Evo 250GB in HP Notebook

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 22, 2014
from Hawaii, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, everything
Cons: none
Excellent product, super fast, great price. Increases battery life in my laptop. AWESOME!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is good!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Itu - São Paulo, Brazil
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
In my opinion, this product is very good, but de price is not good in Brazil.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extreme notebook performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 6, 2014
from Shelbyville, TN, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, good warranty
I bought this to replace a standard notebook hard drive. The new drive has sped up my laptop's performance tremendously.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Top Notch Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 22, 2014
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
So glad I decided to buy this drive. Everything on my Windows 7 machine is faster. It would work even faster if my motherboard supported 6Gbit instead of 3Gbit. But it is still way faster then before. Will buy more Samsung SSD's in the future
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy Clone using supplied software.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 18, 2014
from Gravesend, Kent, UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive
I installed this in a Samsung RF711 laptop (twin HDD) to replace the smaller third party SSD which was all I could afford when buying in 2012. The clone process for Windows 7 was painless and although a couple of functions, such as the Wi-Fi dropping out, were problematic at first, these were all restored after a few re-boots. If you have the luxury of a second drive then it doesn't hurt to copy everything on the original C: drive into a folder on D: before you start. That's where Windows found a couple of the drivers it needed to fully configure the cloned OS during the restore process.
If you should encounter the same problems as I did with functionality after installing your new drive, don't panic. Windows 7 will sort itself out, just reboot a few times and all will be well. Incidentally no calls to re-activate Windows were needed and all my accounts and preferences were maintained.
New SSD is 3 times the size of the original one and my Windows experience scores went through the roof afterwards. Its nice that the laptop is now all Samsung hardware again.
Samsung Magician (not required for the clone process) does encounter an error on my version of Windows but simply minimise the Retry/Close alert and you will find the program is actually working in behind this warning and will still do everything it should.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Performance and Features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 27, 2014
from Kansas City, MO, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Inexpensive
I researched several brands of SSD drives and after reading the reviews I decided on the 840 Evo. I must say that the reviewers were right, this drive delivers all that the sales pitches state and more. My drive is installed in a laptop and the performance increase is simply amazing. My computer will now boot to the Desktop in about 15 sec. and programs launch instantly. I did sacrifice storage space dropping from a 750GB 5400RPM HDD to this 250GB SSD but IMHO it was well worth it.
The software included made this upgrade painless. I went from cloning my existing drive to installing the Evo in under an hour, pretty sweet! To sum up, the Bang for the Buck can't be beat.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great hard drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 16, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This is a great hard drive that does all it promises
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Night and Day

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 8, 2013
Pros: Lightweight, worth the money
This SSD drive was like the difference between night and day. Everything on my laptop is faster, surfing, apps, boot up. I am amazed at the difference between the HDD and and this SSD.
The cloning software that came with the new SSD drive worked flawlessly in under a half hour I was up and running on the new SSD drive. Samsung you did great!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SSD for Macbook Pro

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 14, 2014
from Fort Myers, FL, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: no noise!, don't worry about losing your data in drops, fast!!!
Cons: no instruction for mac migration, no software for management on mac
I work for an IT and computer repair company. Samsung brand SSD's are the only drives we have not had any failures with, I bought one of these for myself and my father. Overall awesome performance, made my Macbook as fast as it should have been, migration wasn't as easy as it is with a PC because of Samsung's failure to give good and proper instruction. Do yourself a favor Mac users, search Youtube for a video. Its easier than Samsung implies it to be, the most difficult part will be opening up you notebook.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great hardware, but difficulties with my application

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 3, 2013
from Palo Alto, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast, easy to install
Cons: unstable with old computer
I'm probably a bit atypical in that I bought this SSD kit to replace the hard drive in a 6-year old Dell Latitude D620 laptop running Windows XP. I've had a lot of problems getting the new drive to work stably with my old computer. I did consult with Samsung's technical support, and got good advice quickly. With it, I've been able to experience how much faster this computer runs with the SSD. What was painfully slow before is now pleasantly fast now. However, the system is still unstable after I've redone the cloning several times. I'll probably have to reinstall the operating system and all the programs etc sometime soon.
The reason I went with the SSD was that I want to have a PC laptop (my other computer is a desktop Mac) but can't justify the funds for a new one. I figured that if this works out I can buy another refurbished D620 from eBay for less than $200 whenever I have a problem with this machine (other than with the drive). Of course, as Microsoft stops supporting Windows XP, I may have to move on to a new machine then. But I will do my best to take this drive to a new machine.
I really like the kit as it included a spacer to fit the drive exactly into the drive slot; and a cable with the right terminations to do the cloning. Maybe I could have saved a few dollars buying those items separately, but then I could have made a mistake in what I got.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Started off ok but.......

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 5, 2014
from NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, performance issues
Drive installed and ran ok for a few days until I decided to do a backup. Using W7 'create an image',
to a USB 3 attached drive, it did not complete. Windows said I/O errors. I have used this software for a few years with no issues. Restart back up but still failed. Tried another destination drive with no luck. Re installed original drive and all ok. Will see about sending drive to Samsung for repair.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.