Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)

SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)

Rating:
4.774 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 29(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Review 1 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellect SSD for your money

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 24, 2014
from NYC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: value and quality
Great $/GB value. I used to speed up a laptop that was a few years old and there is a notable difference. Highly recommended.
I ran performance diagnostics and they were exactly as stated or higher!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very fast drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 29, 2014
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
gave a very good improvement to my HP Z1 Workstation the computer was very fast but now it is supper fast thanks Samsung
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliability

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 10, 2014
from Bensalem, PA 19020, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Solid and reliable for almost a year without a single problem. ATTO benchmark results were
555 Read and 540 Write.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Low Dollar large capacity drive.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 29, 2014
from California, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Inexpensive
For games or media playback, this is an excellent secondary system drive.
Great for loading up games quickly, or playing back large hi-def movies.
As long as you aren't using this drive as a high disk write drive, then it will do you a fine service, otherwise for those high write requirements for the sake of lifespan, I would suggest the 850 Pro model.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This SSD rocks!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 13, 2014
from Wayne, NJ, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, fast!, did i mention fast?, low power, quiet
Cons: no mac software on dvd
I have now installed three (3) of these drives in laptops (all Macbook Pros) and all I can say is WOW! Love the quiet, the coolness, the power savings and most of all - the SPEED! Per my own benchmarks, cold boot-to-on time went from 105 seconds to 17 seconds and full reboot-to-on time went from 106 seconds to 39 seconds! Every programs loads in 1/2 to 1/3 the time and it really has added noticeable life to my battery. The only minor beef I had is that there is zero software on the included DVD for Macs - it is all for Windows (are you listening Samsung?).
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brand name at a great value!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from Chicago, IL, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
I have been looking for a SSD drive for a while but any drive over 128GB was just overpriced. Until I found the Samsung SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB, and what a value and an excellent product. Great design, quick installation and it comes with software that allowed me to quickly clone my system and data in less than 30 minutes. The drive also includes Samsung’s Magician app that is very helpful to keep your drive optimized. Over all I am very happy with my purchase.
-Omar
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best thing to happen to my MBP 2011

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 7, 2014
from Midway City, CA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: capacity
Have had my M~BP for over 3 years and cannot believe how it feels. FASTER than when i got it brand new.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super fast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 22, 2014
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, extremely fast, easy to setup, easy to clone your exixting drive
I already owned a 240 GB Samsung SSD Drive for my Windows 7 PC which performed extremely well, so I was not surprised when I ordered a second 500 GB drive to replace my C drive on my second Windows 81. Pro box. The Samsung Magician software makes it very easy to setup and allows even more performance options for tuning your PC as well as the SSD drive. If you haven't tried a SSD Drive you need to. It will make you computer boot up lightning fast and make sure to put your temp directory on it for even better performance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome SSD, love it.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Portland, OR
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Lightweight
Always loved samsung product, never had any problem or issue with anything.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Doesn't Disappoint

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Pavilion, NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is my second Samsung SSD. I have an 830 that I bought for my desktop computer, and an 840 EVO that I recently purchased for my laptop. Both are very fast and reliable. I considered buying a cheaper brand, but then I decided that it was worth it to spend a little more for a quality product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from New Mexico, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
The Samsung EVO 840 has many more features than the older models. It is very fast and reliable so far.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best bang for the buck

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 16, 2014
from New Hampshire, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
IMO you can't beat the Samsung Evo drives for performance per dollar, I own 3 of these and they crank the laptop to the max.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Like a new computer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 15, 2014
from CT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
The very last time I time my MacBook Pro mid 2012 model booting took 3. 48 mins., before the installing this drive. Now it does it in less than 30 secs. Apps. run faster, it was like buying a new computer. There may be faster models out there but value wise and ease of installation. I have no complaints.
Its a no brainer. Do it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bang for the Buck

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 16, 2014
from Lynn, MA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Does whats stated. Value for price paided. Transferred software is top shelf.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Performance - Easy Transfer

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 26, 2014
from Washington DC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
All worked as advertised. I was overly cautious because I just couldn't believe that the transfer of data would be that easy. Well, it was, and the drive worked flawlessly out of the box. I just wish i had bout a larger drive.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very fast drive!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 25, 2014
from Eureka, CA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast!!!!!
Cons: mirror software didn't work
Boots Windows very fast. I'm amazed how fast games and applications load. BF4 loads in a fraction of the time. One issue save yourself time don't bother with mirror software tried it could have backed up my files and did a clean install faster. It took over an hour just to mirror and had many
Issues after files wouldn't load or missing ended up doing fresh install anyway. Install was very quick, completed and updated in less than an hour.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like it.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 17, 2014
from -
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: it is light and quiet., faster then old hdd., looks nice...
Cons: performance claims didn't come close on test.
Seems to do almost everything people claim it will.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PS4 Speed Demon

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 23, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: compatible with ps4
Cons: expensive
Loaded this one up on my PS4 and installation of games are blazingly fast!
Installed Killzone 4 in 37 seconds as compared to the original HDD which took around 5 minutes.
It boots in 15 seconds as compared to half a minute on HDD!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung SSD - lightning fast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 17, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Installed two SSDs in my desktop in a RAID and one in my laptop computer. Works great. Significantly faster than the Hard Drives I replaced.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow what a difference on my MacBook Pro!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: fast, easy to install, low power consumption
Cons: software will not run on mac
I know there are many people saying this drive is not compatible, or does not run fast when installed on a Mac. I can assure you that this WILL run on a mac, and it runs FAST! This drive brought my early 2011 macbook pro back to life. The boot time went from 1.5 minutes to around 15 seconds. unbelievable... As of right now I highly recommend this drive; it is like night and day when compared to a standard platter based drive. And the price is right too!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best value available

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 7, 2013
from buffalo, ny
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: no osx version of magician software
This seems to me to be the best SSD out there.
-Performance is great with innovative features like Turbowrite.
-Samsung has done their homework & out of the box, this just works!
-Install was simple
People seem overly worried about SSD longevity in general & specifically TLC nand. EVERYTHING I've read on the subject indicates these solid state drives will easily outlast a rotating platter "standard" drive - do your research, you'll find these to be a fantastic upgrade for your computer!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review of Samsung SSD 500GB

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 6, 2013
from Milwaukee, WI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros. The drive performs very well. Large capacity. Fast booting. Fast file saving and retrieving. I replaced an Intel SSD 256GB with the Samsung.
My only complaint is that the USB2 interface is painfully slow when transferring the old drive info to the new one. The transfer software should be updated to support other communication protocols (e.g. eSata).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great choice for the budget-minded

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 27, 2013
from New Orleans, La.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, low power consumption, great price, large capacity models available
Cons: casing is plastic
I have 3 SSD's from three different manufacturers. This one is as fast as my other 'souped-up' SSD and uses a lot less power, which is great for mobile solutions.
True, it doesn't have the 5 year warranty the Pro version has and the case seems cheap, but don't let that put you off. The EVO is an excellent solution for those on a budget and those who need a high capacity SSD.
Also, no problem updating FW or re-partitioning without data loss.
My happiest SSD purchase so far!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to install, improved my laptop performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 26, 2013
from Atlanta, GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast, reasonably priced for what you get
The included software made this SSD easy to install into my laptop (Dell L702X). It cloned the OS partition on my HDD, and after I swapped the drives ( I replaced both seeded HDDs at the same time), the laptop booted up from the SSD without issues and very fast.
I mainly bought these because I'm running VMs on my laptop, and they were causing a lot of I/O, slowing the VM down, so I'm expecting this to increase their performance
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Impressed

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 18, 2013
from Mesa, AZ.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This SSD does any system justice!
Samsung hit a grand slam with this baby.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It could be better...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Roseville, CA, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: magician software
Software does not always work... I have had problems with the accelerator section of the software and the Magician does not load properly on Windows 7 Ultimate so I stopped using the Magician.
When I have time I will call tech support and spend time with them.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Outstanding SSD for blazingly fast PCs

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Western Montana
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, stone cold reliable., extremely fast in read and write., all software was useful & very easy for neophytes., almost plug & play install.
Cons: still expensive but prices have dropped since.
This is my 9th home-build. 4th one with SSD primary drive. It meets Samsung's speed test data, & a few times has exceeded those. Has been bullet proof for the last 8 months. Not one hick-up. I use CCleaner & the Samsung TRIM software, only. Reboots no longer have to be dreaded. I do lots of video work, editing, converting etc. That has become a pleasure. 4 other family members have them in their PCs and are even more enthusiastic than I. Oh, this unit is 40% faster in all aspects of computer use than several other SSDs that I have used in my other PCs. The set-up was easy & the software made it simple to transfer my HDD data to my SSD. Almost plug-and-play. Buy one. You'll not be disappointed except that you waited so long.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but the software doesn't work

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 3, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: much faster more stable
Cons: software didn't really work
The drive is good, and was easy to install. My pc is now faster. But the software that came with it did not work and I had to find a different way to copy the data from my old drive.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great SSD but pitiful software

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 14, 2013
from miami, fl.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: fast
Cons: bad software
The SSD is fast but it causes certain features on my motherboard from not being detected. My MB is an NVIDIA chipset so not only does Samsung's Magician not detect its own drive but causes NVIDIA's control panel not display the configurable BIOS settings from the OS. Therefore the famous Turbo Cache that attracted me so much about this drive is useless and I can't take advantage of it.
I am dual booting Windows 7 Ultimate on the EVO and on a RAID Velociraptor. On the RAID system the NVIDIA control panel displays all the features but in the SSD it doesn't even though all the drivers have been installed. The reason I dual boot on the EVO is to have a clean copy of the OS and no other unnecessary programs in the background running except for the video editing software which is the only purpose for this OS.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Outstanding product, pitiful software and documentation

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 13, 2013
from CT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: amazingly fast, quiet, low power consumption
Cons: poor documentation, migration software doesn't work
The drive is amazing. Took boot time on my HP notebook (Win 7 Pro, Intel i7 processor, 16 GB RAM) from 10 minutes to 45 seconds. At the same time it extends battery life and runs much cooler and quieter.
On the other hand, the installation instructions are wrong, and the migration software doesn't work. You must connect, activate and format the drive BEFORE you install the software. The instructions don't mention initialize or format, and tell you to install before you connect the drive. You are also much better off using a third party clone software (Samsung tech support can recommend some free programs that work perfectly). After spending 10 hours trying to install and run Samsung Data Migration with no success, the freeware ran perfectly first time and the drive came right up.
The other software that comes with the drive, Samsung Magician, does work very well. It optimizes the OS, RAM and drive settings -- taking it from very fast to screaming blow you away fast.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Replacement works

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from Portland, OR, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: needed to be replaced immediately
Product did not work upon initial purchase. After a very quick and relatively painless return process, I am now satisfied with my product.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.