Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)

SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)

Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Review 1 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bang for the Buck

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bycyberwise
onApril 16, 2014
from Lynn, MA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Does whats stated. Value for price paided. Transferred software is top shelf.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Performance - Easy Transfer

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bycharleyc3
onMarch 26, 2014
from Washington DC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
All worked as advertised. I was overly cautious because I just couldn't believe that the transfer of data would be that easy. Well, it was, and the drive worked flawlessly out of the box. I just wish i had bout a larger drive.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very fast drive!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjeremy95503
onMarch 25, 2014
from Eureka, CA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast!!!!!
Cons: mirror software didn't work
Boots Windows very fast. I'm amazed how fast games and applications load. BF4 loads in a fraction of the time. One issue save yourself time don't bother with mirror software tried it could have backed up my files and did a clean install faster. It took over an hour just to mirror and had many
Issues after files wouldn't load or missing ended up doing fresh install anyway. Install was very quick, completed and updated in less than an hour.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like it.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bydie74801
onMarch 17, 2014
from -
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: it is light and quiet., faster then old hdd., looks nice...
Cons: performance claims didn't come close on test.
Seems to do almost everything people claim it will.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PS4 Speed Demon

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySpeedster4006
onJanuary 23, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: compatible with ps4
Cons: expensive
Loaded this one up on my PS4 and installation of games are blazingly fast!
Installed Killzone 4 in 37 seconds as compared to the original HDD which took around 5 minutes.
It boots in 15 seconds as compared to half a minute on HDD!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung SSD - lightning fast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPeter324
onJanuary 17, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Installed two SSDs in my desktop in a RAID and one in my laptop computer. Works great. Significantly faster than the Hard Drives I replaced.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow what a difference on my MacBook Pro!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byemcga
onJanuary 1, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: fast, easy to install, low power consumption
Cons: software will not run on mac
I know there are many people saying this drive is not compatible, or does not run fast when installed on a Mac. I can assure you that this WILL run on a mac, and it runs FAST! This drive brought my early 2011 macbook pro back to life. The boot time went from 1.5 minutes to around 15 seconds. unbelievable... As of right now I highly recommend this drive; it is like night and day when compared to a standard platter based drive. And the price is right too!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best value available

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By924John
onDecember 7, 2013
from buffalo, ny
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: no osx version of magician software
This seems to me to be the best SSD out there.
-Performance is great with innovative features like Turbowrite.
-Samsung has done their homework & out of the box, this just works!
-Install was simple
People seem overly worried about SSD longevity in general & specifically TLC nand. EVERYTHING I've read on the subject indicates these solid state drives will easily outlast a rotating platter "standard" drive - do your research, you'll find these to be a fantastic upgrade for your computer!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review of Samsung SSD 500GB

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySailorDrT
onDecember 6, 2013
from Milwaukee, WI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros. The drive performs very well. Large capacity. Fast booting. Fast file saving and retrieving. I replaced an Intel SSD 256GB with the Samsung.
My only complaint is that the USB2 interface is painfully slow when transferring the old drive info to the new one. The transfer software should be updated to support other communication protocols (e.g. eSata).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great choice for the budget-minded

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFlyStudio
onNovember 27, 2013
from New Orleans, La.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, low power consumption, great price, large capacity models available
Cons: casing is plastic
I have 3 SSD's from three different manufacturers. This one is as fast as my other 'souped-up' SSD and uses a lot less power, which is great for mobile solutions.
True, it doesn't have the 5 year warranty the Pro version has and the case seems cheap, but don't let that put you off. The EVO is an excellent solution for those on a budget and those who need a high capacity SSD.
Also, no problem updating FW or re-partitioning without data loss.
My happiest SSD purchase so far!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to install, improved my laptop performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByAVKO
onOctober 26, 2013
from Atlanta, GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast, reasonably priced for what you get
The included software made this SSD easy to install into my laptop (Dell L702X). It cloned the OS partition on my HDD, and after I swapped the drives ( I replaced both seeded HDDs at the same time), the laptop booted up from the SSD without issues and very fast.
I mainly bought these because I'm running VMs on my laptop, and they were causing a lot of I/O, slowing the VM down, so I'm expecting this to increase their performance
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Impressed

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKillshot23
onOctober 18, 2013
from Mesa, AZ.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This SSD does any system justice!
Samsung hit a grand slam with this baby.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but the software doesn't work

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByGBGBGB
onApril 3, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: much faster more stable
Cons: software didn't really work
The drive is good, and was easy to install. My pc is now faster. But the software that came with it did not work and I had to find a different way to copy the data from my old drive.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great SSD but pitiful software

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byobtrunco
onDecember 14, 2013
from miami, fl.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: fast
Cons: bad software
The SSD is fast but it causes certain features on my motherboard from not being detected. My MB is an NVIDIA chipset so not only does Samsung's Magician not detect its own drive but causes NVIDIA's control panel not display the configurable BIOS settings from the OS. Therefore the famous Turbo Cache that attracted me so much about this drive is useless and I can't take advantage of it.
I am dual booting Windows 7 Ultimate on the EVO and on a RAID Velociraptor. On the RAID system the NVIDIA control panel displays all the features but in the SSD it doesn't even though all the drivers have been installed. The reason I dual boot on the EVO is to have a clean copy of the OS and no other unnecessary programs in the background running except for the video editing software which is the only purpose for this OS.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Outstanding product, pitiful software and documentation

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byitmhq1
onSeptember 13, 2013
from CT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: amazingly fast, quiet, low power consumption
Cons: poor documentation, migration software doesn't work
The drive is amazing. Took boot time on my HP notebook (Win 7 Pro, Intel i7 processor, 16 GB RAM) from 10 minutes to 45 seconds. At the same time it extends battery life and runs much cooler and quieter.
On the other hand, the installation instructions are wrong, and the migration software doesn't work. You must connect, activate and format the drive BEFORE you install the software. The instructions don't mention initialize or format, and tell you to install before you connect the drive. You are also much better off using a third party clone software (Samsung tech support can recommend some free programs that work perfectly). After spending 10 hours trying to install and run Samsung Data Migration with no success, the freeware ran perfectly first time and the drive came right up.
The other software that comes with the drive, Samsung Magician, does work very well. It optimizes the OS, RAM and drive settings -- taking it from very fast to screaming blow you away fast.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.