Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Laptop Kit)

SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Laptop Kit)

Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Laptop Kit)
Review 1 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I didn't realize what a bottleneck my old HD was.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 15, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: easy to install, improved system performance, price point realistic
Replaced existing 500G platter drive in 4-year-old laptop. The old drive was starting to exhibit signs of potential problems, so I took the SSD plunge.
Cloning existing drive was dead-simple. Install the app, and follow directions. The longest part of the app install was downloading the updated app, but no problem.
I let the clone process run overnight.
Installed the SSD. Required one prompted reboot after Windows discovered the SSD and performed necessary configuration.
Boot time (from power-on to "windows ready") decreased from about 2 minutes to about 15 seconds. Apps which had become very slow to load now load in less than a second. Photos load immediately instead of 5-second wait.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Home Run!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 5, 2014
from Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, awesome
You will not believe how fast your computer runs after replacing a mechanical hard drive with this SSD. First of all it is so light; kinda of like an over sized credit card. Install it and see how fast it is. My computer boots in about 12 seconds! Opening programs is almost instantaneous. The only thing I can advise is don't bother installing the software from the CD. Just grab the latest version from their website. Nice work Samsung!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The performace is great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 27, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: great performance
This drive installed with no problem, using the software to copy the existing drive and changed it in 30 minutes, windows boots in 6 seconds.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great upgrade

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 23, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: great speed
Cons: data migration tricky
I am very happy with the product and performance. The upgrade tool with the external USB did not work but when I placed it in an internal bay, it worked fine. The external data migration would run for over an hour and then at 99% would say that the external drive had been disconnected. So, fix that little problem and you have a very quick migration. Once I switched the drives, I had only one change to make. The magician was a great tool to optimize the performance settings for the SSD. I am very happy with the performance.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

NEEDS MORE SUPPORT FOR APPLE OSX

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 23, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: lack of osx support
I purchased based on the recommendation of the sales person and what I read online. The software installation CD had zero (none, nada, zilch) support for OSX. I had to use disk utility to format the drive, then use Carbon Copy Cloner to copy my hard drive to the new disk. That went well and now my Macbook Pro is wicked fast!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great ssd

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 22, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: none
as soon after cloning this ssd, it booted up so quickly. this is my third Samsung ssd.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2.5" SATA III Internal SSD Notebook kit

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 31, 2013
from SF Bay Area, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: minimal apple osx support
The SSD is fine, but the USB to SATA cable that comes with it does NOT work with my 2010 MacBook Pro.
Support for Apple products appears to be minimal or non existent. IN order to get my files transferred over to the Samsung SSD, I had to use a similar cable that came with a another driive.
My background is over 30 years in computing and 15 as an Apple developer.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SSD - perfect, but migration was poor

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 27, 2013
from Dnipropetrovsk, UA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
When I got my Samsung 840 EVO , everything seemed as impossible simple - unpack it , install "Data migration tool" from a disc, get newest update via internet, connect it via the USB<=>Sata cable from the kit , press the START button and the program will automatically migrate my system to the new SSD . But it was not so simple :) .
After four days of fighting with errors , search related information from net, the disk defragmenter and correction of bad sectors, I understood that the "Data migration tools" on what not do. I had to buy and use a third-party solution.
But when I finally migrate my system to the new SSD, it was amazing! Performance of the system has increased by 10 times! When I configure it (set the appropriate driver and changed the SATA MODE in the BIOS from ATA to AHCI), it increased even twice!
The conclusion is - Samsung still needs hardly work on his "Data migration tool", this does not waste your time - use a third-party solution. But about the work of the SSD - solid score "Excellent"!
p.s. Sorry for my poor english)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 500GB (Laptop Kit)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

These SSDs are great.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 29, 2013
from The cloud
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast, industry standard
I have two of these drives installed in an HP Envy 17 3D notebook running Windows 8.0 Pro. I usually try to buy the best products of this type whenever I upgrade. I hesitantly purchased the EVO instead of the higher rated PRO version only because Samsung had recently released them and used their 840 label. I couldn't believe they would take a chance with this product in such a hot market. I chose wisely. These drives are fast (Sata III) and work with my HP notebook perfectly - confirmed 6Gb. All of my testing software confirms this is one fast setup. It was the best upgrade I've done, I feel I've gotten another 3 years of life out of my 2 year old notebook.
I bought two of the 500Gb notebook SSD configurations. I thought that I probably did not need the second notebook version except for the spacer; I probably could have by with some kind of padding but I didn't want to have any problems. All I wound up using from the notebook kits was the spacers. It turned out that I couldn't use the USB3->sata adapter afterall since I decided to install the drives as a raid configuration. I had to do the installation the old-fashioned way... back up and then restore. That worked without an issue. I would have preferred seeing a full description of the 3 various SSD kits.
I only have one issue with the package, the Magician utility does not work with raid. I bought 2 500Gb drives and hooked them up as a raid 0 device. Everything else works fine, except their utility. I'm sure it is only a matter of time before they fully support raid (famous last words).
Good job Samsung, I would do it again!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.