Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 750GB (Basic)

SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 750GB (Basic)

Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 750GB (Basic)
Review 1 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 750GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast and relatively easy to upgrade firmware

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 6, 2014
from Puerto Rico
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Like how fast make my 2011 Macbook Pro 15''
Reliable but a little pricy than other brands.
Still made a good purchase
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 750GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This SSD is great.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 30, 2014
Pros: large enough ssd
Cons: a little expensive
The thing that won me over was the software download to help in migration and setting up my computer for the SSD.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 750GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product, I will buy more.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 7, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: price/performance
Cons: none really
The product itself is great and functions perfectly. One of the many reasons I purchased Samsung was the fact that they built and designed the hardware and the software, not the case with other SSD's. I did have a problem with the Samsung Data Migration software it was quite simple to use and said it completed and everything was OK. The problem was Windows would not work. I did find another program that worked and everything is working flawlessly and I will purchase another Samsung SSD down the road. I did run into one additional problem with the Samsung SSD Magician software, I use Symantec System Recovery 2013 as my backup program and it does not like to have the SSD Magician software running when it does it's scheduled backups. Not a big problem I just make sure that I quit the Magician software prior to the scheduled backup running. Do not let these minor problems dissuade you from your purchase because the price/performance far outweigh these.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 750GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Stuff

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 1, 2014
from Lusby, MD, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, compact
Wonderful package combined with robust but easy to use software make this product great for the novice and expert alike.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 750GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very fast Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: 750gb is the perfect size
So far so good, made my Mac Pro works much faster.
Definitely does what it's supposed to do.
Thank you
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 750GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Laptop Replacement

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 22, 2014
from Stone Mountain, Georgia 30087, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: expensive
Great speed and storage space. Doubled OEM storage and sped up boot time tremendously
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 750GB (Basic)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Bad software

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 2, 2014
from Hudson, WI, USA
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality
I have installed two Samsung SSD's in the past year. In neither computer did the data migration software work. On the first one, the Samsung Magician also refused to recognize the drive as installed.
Both computers used AMD chips, which I suspect is the problem. However, a quick scan of on-line support rooms indicate that the Samsung provided software does not often work.
Poor, poor support for such a good SSD.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 750GB (Basic)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Computer starts up MUCH slower than before!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onMarch 19, 2014
from Virginia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight, fast application performance
Cons: extremely slow startup time on os x (mavericks)
The good news and the bad news: The good news is that once my Macbook Pro finally boots up, the applications and data load super fast. Working with apps is a real delight.
The bad news: It now takes my Macbook FIVE MINUTES to boot up! :( This is more than twice as long as was required with my 500 gig SATA original equipment drive. I cannot for the life of me figure out why. I've been to all sorts of support forums, but without achieving any improvement.
Clearly, there is something in the initialization of this drive when it starts up that requires so much time. I'm hoping that Samsung will come up with a fix for it. Until then, I really can't recommend this drive as a boot drive. Use one for holding extra files, but not OS X.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.