Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Q430-JU01 Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Q430-JU01 Notebook

Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
27 out of 31(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Review 1 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

one of best's samsung's products

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 19, 2012
from Lima
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, design, good graphics quality
Cons: dont have bluetooth
This notebook is really amazing, the design is incredibly gorgeous, I definitely recommend it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung's Q430 is GREAT value for the cost!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 12, 2012
from Seattle, WA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, great value for the cost
Cons: minor graphic display issues
Beautiful display, fast performance, wifi as fast as direct ethernet, HDMI that actually works with just about any other device / brand, 100% compatibility for SD card types so far, 3 USB ports, and even additional video-out via a VGA connector. A really sweet unit all up!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid Laptop with Solid Performance

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 10, 2012
from Denver, CO
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: battery life, no bluetooth, sd card slot too shallow
I picked up this laptop in the summer of 2010. At the time, many of the other laptops around felt very flimsy, had a ton of soft plastic, and were filled with manufacture software that was unnecessary and over complicated the operating system. The Samsung Q430 stood apart. The aluminum keyboard plate and cover plate felt much more secure than the other laptops. The chicklet keyboard layout was much easier to use, and had a more sleek look and feel. The size was perfect, and was a nice balance between screen size and weight. It is not what I would consider a light laptop, but still considered portable. It would be nice though to have a way to toggle the wi-fi on and off with a physical button rather than through the operating system.
The operating system did not contain any frills or too many manufacture add-ons, which was a plus for me. The normal mode/speed mode/silent mode selector is a nice feature, though was poorly documented by samsung (It took me two months to figure out what each of the settings really was doing to the computer). Battery life was in the 2-3 hour range, but I would have expected more from a small laptop such as this. Graphics performance is good, nothing that will wow you, but streaming netflix in HD is very clear, and playing games like Minecraft push the system to it's limits, but is still functional. I have had few to no problems with the operating system crashing, and the system awakes from sleep mode more reliably than any other computer i've ever owned. Hard drive space is optimal, as well as ram (4Gb I believe).
As long as Samsung builds laptops this physically sturdy and simple, I will continue to buy from them.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing lappy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 13, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Had this laptop for a year now and WOW is it still amazing! everything still runs very smooth and I have no problem playing my games. I'm not talking about cod or battlefield but just plain-o counter strike. Love my laptop for school and fun!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 16, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, nice keyboard
Cons: loose battery
This is most definitely a great product. The keyboard resembles a Macbook Pro's feel and layout design so that's always a good thing. On top of this it's 2/3 metal encasing is very slick and protective.
The only problem I had with this product is how loose the battery pack is on the system, which at times can lead to it turning the laptop off when its not plugged into an outlet.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best bang for buck on a laptop!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 17, 2011
from North Carolina
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
its light, its powerfull, its sleek, its attractive, its.... one of my best investments ever. i am big on gaming laptops, and even though it was not designed to be a gaming rig nor bought as one it keeps up toe to toe in performance with my other lap top which is, in fact, a gaming rig.
everything about this laptop was well thought out, from the keyboard all the way to the build materials. my favorite thing about it is how i can play some cpu and graphics intensive games and not feel any heat. i could go on and on about how awesome it is, but the meat and potatoes in a review is not the good, but the bad.
unfortunately though the lack of a bluetooth is the only complaint i have. thats it. thats all i have, and truth be told, i only feel it because i have wireless headphones that i barely use. the average person would never even notice that some laptops have bluetooth to begin with.
one thing i cannot say is if it is easy to upgrade/repair physically, which is something i consider important. i never tried to open it to clean it out or upgrade to a ssd or more ram or whatnot. if i ever do though, i will be sure to hit up this review and update it.
if you are interested in this laptop, i can assure you from personal experience that you will be more than satisfied with it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 25, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Great computer. Works very well. Great for watching movies and everyday computing use.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Expectations Met

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 6, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, speed: this thing can run 3 different games at the, memory: this thing is packed with space. at first, looks great very clean and easy to clean.
Cons: it would be even more better if we can get back l, screen is very shinning.....and reflective. could, not as thin as it looks - a little bit heavy. 2.5, a little bit heavy. 2.5 pounds...
This laptop is GREAT. From design to it's performance, it is never unsatisfactory
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Series 9 Notebook
4 out of 5(113)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop for the price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 23, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, value
Cons: hard to open, no quick start
Overall, I'm very pleased with this purchase. I like the chiclet keyboard, the display and the aluminum cover.
A few cons: It can feel a bit sluggish at times. Also, I wish there was a way to start up when the screen opens like a sleep mode, and the screen is a bit tough to open up.
Besides that I am happy about my purchase and look forward to exploring it some more.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Q430 Notebook a winner

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 31, 2011
from Pacific
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Display is very attractive and quite readable with vibrant colors.
Processor speed is quite fast given the i5 processor.
Hard Disk is not the fastest around but does remarkably well for what I want (Word Proc. Spreadsheet and Databases)
Overall build quality is very good and the metallic (aluminum?) top doesn't retain fingerprints like other laptops I've used.
Compared to other backup systems I've used the included Samsung Backup process is relatively painless.
Overll excellent quality for price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 23, 2011
from Irvine, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Just great, so good that can't use words to describe! Avalible to do all the works that I wish it to do!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 10, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I bought this laptop because I was in need of a new one, I previously had a macbook, now I did love my macbook but I've had it 4 years and it just slowly was dying on me. So, I started the process of trying to find something similar in quality to a new macbook pro, I'd looked at a few other computers and managed to find this one, the specs were the same if not better than the new macbook pros. I couldn't beat an i5 processor 4gb of ram 500gb hd for the price that I got it on newegg.
Fantastic computer, runs quickly, does exactly the job that I need it to do as a college student.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Captivate™ Android Smartphone
4.1 out of 5(1,985)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Laptop You Can Find !!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 15, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This computer is one of the best Samsung has to offer. I love everything about this computer the keyboard, screen, battery life and the best thing is the style I’m a the type of person that loves stuff that really looks nice and let me tell you this computer is it I personally think is one of the Greatest looking computers out there. Samsung is stepping up their game. 1 out 10 I’ll give this computer a 10.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 29, 2011
from Raleigh, North Carolina
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I've had this laptop for about 6 months now and I really love it. The graphics card is what sold it for me, since I do like to do some gaming. It doesn't overheat (which is a problem with alot of laptops that have decent graphics cards) and the battery life is decent, though I must admit I keep it plugged in most of the time. I have mine set up with another screen on my desk and it will run games, the internet, and other programs simultaneously without a glitch. The web cam in it is also very nice. I use it to skype with my sister who is in college. Overall, it's totally worth every penny! Love it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid laptop in design and performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 23, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Good looking laptop with aluminum finish. The screen doesn't seem like glass but it is edge-to-edge, adding another stylish finish to the laptop. The Core i5 processor provides plenty of power and the nVidia graphics can handle anything you can throw at it (except for some games, but this isn't really a gaming laptop). The keyboard has good tactile feedback and is responsive. The touchpad area could be bigger, but it has no problem tracking your finger. Temperatures are cool, so you don't have to worry about it overheating and cutting its lifespan short.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Notebook!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 12, 2011
from FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: battery life
The Samsung Q430 has all the power of a notebook in a netbook! Originally I wanted a mac, but Samsung offers almost the same performance at a better cost. The design is sleek and compact, which is my favorite part about this laptop because in the world of electronics size really does matter. The only con is battery life; however, laptops with great performance and strong battery life are few and far between. Not to mention they are very costly. So far I am 100% satisfied with my buy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 29, 2010
from St. Marys, GA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, amazing value, fast processor, good multi-tasking
Cons: speakers
I've had this computer for a few months now and could't be happier with it. I didn't even know that Samsung made computers prior to going to the store. I compared it's features with the others and decided to go with it. The display is one of the best I've seen and the size and weight make it easy to take without the sacrifices inherent in netbooks. It also didn't come with as much preloaded offers and software as most new computers speeding up your startup. The only downside I noticed is that the speakers could be a bit better.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
WEP490 Bluetooth Headset Kit, Black
4 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
LN40A530
4.6 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Seriously beautiful

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2010
from Columbia, Md
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: high pitched speakers short battery life
I love this computer so much...
I had previously bought the Q430-11 but one of the keys were sticking so I went to exchange it for the same model at Best Buy. Turns out they sold out, and in turn sold me a QX410. I was happy with its performance, but it was much too big and the screen size was too small in comparison to its computer body. I absolutely missed by Q430.
I managed to return the QX410 back to the retail store and ordered this laptop via internet.
And I loved this thing to pieces the moment it arrived. I won't reiterate the specifications.
Design is just beautiful, its small and compact, its fast and strong, runs all kinds of games. Though the speaker could have used a little more work; I can't hear the bass. Battery could have used a little more work too. I can only sap about 2~3 hours of battery life at full charge.
Overall: Love it. YOu should buy it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

if you are on the fence you can't go wrong

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 25, 2010
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, super awesome
I went to Best Buy to look at Apples, but I saw this machine and compared price, features, and proformance and I think that I made the right choice and saved money for Christmas. When I got home my wife asked where hers was. This is a solid computer and I recommend it to anyone!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing product at a good price point

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 25, 2010
from Chesapeake, Virginia
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This laptop is perfect for anyone looking for above average performance. It is perfect for everyday use and everything beyond. I play graphic intensive games and run program development programs all without any hiccups. This laptop always runs smoothly and quickly. You will not be waiting for anything to load anymore. I highly recommended this laptop to anyone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't beat this laptop!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 9, 2010
from Norman, OK
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, fairly thin, attractive design, reasonable price for so many features
I've always loved Samsung products, from my mobile phone ( I love my Vibrant!) to t.v.'s. Until I actually went shopping for my first laptop, I didn't even know Samsung made laptop computers. I tried it out at the store and found the form factor much more visually appealing and comfortable than most of the other computers. The screen is gorgeous, and the brightness is very easily adjustable. Blacks show up darker and whites are much brighter, not to mention any other colors just seem to pop! There are also many options for customization with Windows 7. Great wallpapers, screensavers, widgets, etc. The main thing that stands out about this computer is it's processor performance. The i5 processor very easily stands up to anything I throw it's way. Running several data intensive programs at a time is a breeze. I'd recommend this laptop to absolutely everyone. I couldn't be happier with it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Vibrant™ Android Smartphone
4.2 out of 5(560)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good replacement laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 9, 2012
Overall I am happy with this product. It is fast with expandable memory up to 8gb and even over time the amount of lag it experiences is minimal.
The only minor thing I didn't like but have gotten used to is changing the volume using the keyboard. Other Samsung models have the extra volume keys above the normal keyboard but this uses the Fn keys.
Not sure how long this will last in the long run but its doing okay now. Samsung is sure to only go up in quality, right? ;)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An excellent choice

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 31, 2011
from KC, MO
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, design!, good processor, disk reader/writer
I bought this laptop as a refurb. For the money I spent, I am MORE than satisfied. The computer in only its design is amazing. A very appealing metal finish all over, with an excellent keyboard. As for the innards of this laptop, I'm very satisfied as well. The intel i5 processor is good, and when complemented with the 4GB of memory, it is very efficient with about any task. Toss in the 500GB of hard drive and the dedicated, albeit, lower end graphics card, and you have a very solid deal...especially for the price I paid. As a refurb I could not tell anything was even used before on my computer, it appeared as if it was brand new. No scratches, of any size, along with no smears, bumps, etc. It came loaded with minimum bloatware, which I was able to take care of in a matter of 1-2 hours, and that's not being generous, which means it probably was less. The only reason why I gave it a 4 star over a 5 star was simply due to the fact that it is not an all inclusive PC, it doesn't have the best processor, although what it has is great enough for me, along with not the best graphics card, which by the way handles anything below games like CoD & Crisis pretty fine, especially the likes of Civ V and WoW. I am one happy customer...
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but could have been great

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 22, 2011
from Long Island, NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: low battery life, no back-lit keyboard, tiny trackpad
I got this laptop as a budget replacement to my previous gaming laptop. The build quality is good overall and the brushed metal lid looks very nice. There is a slight jiggle with the battery and it does not seem to be firmly fixed to the laptop base. Love the chiclet keyboard but a backlit one would have been better. My biggest gripe with this laptop is its dismal battery life. Even at its lowest setting I am able to squeeze only about 3-3.5 hrs of battery life out of this machine. Its got a tiny trackpad but I don't believe there is a single Windows laptop with a well sized trackpad. As I said, its a good laptop that could have been great with small enhancements and a better battery life.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 13, 2011
from Portsmouth, NH
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, quiet
Cons: hard to find information such max. ram allowed
If you want an overall nice little laptop with some good horsepower, functionality, quality, and just a really nice package, this is it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop, Battery Life could improve

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 13, 2011
from Lake Mary, FL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, keyboard
Cons: battery life
I purchased this laptop thinking that I have a Samsung TV, DVR, BlueRay and even washer and dryer and had no issues. Samsung did not let me down with this product. The price point for this laptop is great for the features it offers. The lack of "bloatware" this system comes with is also great. This laptop has just the right number of ports that I need. I love the display. It is clean and crisp. I use this machine on the go and have yet to run into issues. The sound quality is great and hard to believe it all comes from the little speakers on it. I absolutely love the keyboard, which at first I was not sure if I would or not.
I only have two cons. The major con is the battery life. It says 7 hours, however I am not sure how anyone can achieve that. The more realistic battery life is around 2.5 hours. That is with moderate usage. I get around this by keeping the power cable near. I have not been able to find a larger battery for this model. The other con is a minor one, however I would love to see a docking station for this product. I have a home office and would love to snap this into a docking station rather than plug in a bunch of wires.
Other than those two cons, I must say this is a great product. I will be buying another Samsung laptop this year for my wife as her older laptop is about to go.
What I use this laptop for: Graphic Design, Web Design, Web Development, Movie Streaming (Connected to TV via HDMI cable), Internet Surfing and Business Administration.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
46" Class (45.9" Diag.) 630 Series 1080p LCD HDTV (2010 model)
4.5 out of 5(242)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 6, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This laptop design is excellent. This laptop looks much better than the photo's shown in the web site. Battery life is average at 3 to 4 hours when set the screen brightness to 3 bars.
Pros: Runs cool and faster, nice keyboard layout, no issues so far with wi-fi or any other aspects of hardware. Looks nice in real time than the photos shown in the web site
Cons: Poor virtical viewing angles on the LCD display, Battery latches does not lock properly.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great notebook

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 8, 2010
from new jersey
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
quick start up, great designed, This laptop always runs smoothly and quickly
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Satisfation

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onFebruary 1, 2012
from Kenya
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This kind of product doesn't dissappoint, sometimes I think Samsung gives more value for your money.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at T-Mobile (Titanium)
4.7 out of 5(1,051)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 25, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, sub-par speakers, processor looses power over time, wireless card frequently has connectivity problems
Poor battery life on power saver (maybe 2 hours with just Word running). Speakers began crackling after 6 months. Processor started slowing down and programs would freeze starting about 1 year. Wireless card has had problems for the whole 1.5 years I've had the laptop. Has a hard time connecting to home network, or drops connection randomly.
Looks nice, but I've had a lot of problems performance wise.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Many Many Problems ... But A Good Value

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 16, 2011
from San Jose, CA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Have had to return it for service twice now in the first 3 months...First time the unit arrived wit ha dead keyboard. So I lost a week and a half of productivity. Then, for no reason at all my computer does not charge,start, or respond at all for no reason..DEAD. The screen is pretty bad quality, it has a white hue to it and bad viewing angles. The I5 runs smooth though..and it looks nice.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Mediocre, quickly-pushed-through-development product.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onFebruary 21, 2011
from USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: excellent battery life
Cons: Poor quality, malfunctioning keyboard, hard-to-view display, cd tray eject too touchy, no resume-on-lid-open feature, poor wifi radio sensitivity., only two usb ports
I got this laptop for work as a field biologist. Therefore, I needed a laptop that had excellent battery life and was light so I could easily take it into the field.
First the positives:
1. Excellent battery life
2. Easy control of screen brightness and sound
3. Nice keyboard
4. Very lightweight.
5. Webcam functions well for network meetings.
Now the negatives:
1. There is a persistant malfunction with the design of the keyboard. While typing, if you press 'N' and Spacebar simultaneously (like anyone does while typing a sentence), the cursor goes up one line, and you end up typing the rest of your sentence in the middle of the line above.
2. The CD door on the right side pops open way too easily. Every time you pick the computer up by the sides, and you bump the button on the door, it comes open. It should have been designed with a 2 second delay so that just bumping it doesn't keep causing the CD tray to shoot out.
3. The computer doesn't have the ability to WAKE UP UPON LID OPENING. Every other laptop I have ever owned does this, but the Samsung Q430 doesn't - you have to physically press the power button every time you open the lid and want the machine to resume.
4. Why would a laptop be designed with a MIRROR-LIKE screen filter covering the LCD screen?? I cannot stand this screen - it reflects everything around you like a mirror while using it in a brightly-lit room or outside - you can't see the screen! A GLARE-REDUCING screen cover should have been used like any other laptop, not (of all things) a MIRRORED one!
5.WiFI sensitivity is very poor. I had to buy an external USB WiFi adapter to get a decent signal. If I use the built-in WiFi receiver, even with all signal bars up, Windows will indicate that it is 'unable to connect' with poor signal being the reason.
6. Only 2 USB ports. I have 17 different USB devices, but can only use a maximum of two at a time.
Overall, I am very disappointed in my purchase. I did not buy this based on cost, but on capability.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
2of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not my best Samsung purchase

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onAugust 3, 2011
from NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, software screws the hardware
After 4 months the laptop just died after getting an update from Microsoft for Windows 7. Had to do a complete restore and still many bugs even after disabling the auto update feature :(
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Q430-JU01 Notebook
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.