Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for R480 Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

R480 Notebook

Rating:
4.452 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
35 out of 39(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for R480 Notebook
Review 1 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Owned & LOVED this laptop for almost 3 years!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 8, 2013
from Florida
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, hdmi, blu-ray, led, pretty
Cons: no cons!
This has been a no-fail, reliable laptop.
Knock on wood - absolutely zero problems for just about three years (purchased March 2010).
Yes, the glossy surfaces get fingerprints but it's easily cleaned.
Would I purchase this again? In a heartbeat!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great notebook for Students

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 20, 2012
from Guthrie, Oklahoma
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
I bought this for my son for high school graduation. No problems and that's saying a lot for a laptop or any computer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great design

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 26, 2012
from tacoma, wa
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
nice color and great features, HD lcd screen, blu ray
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sexy Design Laptop!! :D

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 9, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: n o graphic card
The artistic design of this feature seduced me to buy it.
And I did.
Then the Blu-ray Rom and LED display, all specifications of this laptop made me love it more.
Only problem is the fingerprints are left on the surface. but easily cleanable.
And it doesn't have a graphic card. so if you are a gamer, I won't recommend this. But if you are video-watcher, this will be great since it has HDMI port, Blu-ray disk rom
The battery life is about 1.5 hours after using so much.
good enough to bring it to class
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy Note (AT&T), Ceramic White
4.8 out of 5(283)
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 10.1" (Wi-Fi Only) – 16GB Metallic Gray
4.6 out of 5(689)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Computer

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 18, 2012
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Simply amazing!! I love this computer! I have had it it for two years, and not even the slightest problem...
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I use this laptop every day

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2011
from Las Vegas, NV
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
i use this laptop every day for everything i do, checking emails, watching blu rays, things around the office, homework, etc. and it has never let me down.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great pc

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 8, 2011
from oklahoma
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, fast works great
Cons: speakers on bottom, mouse pad touchy
The only thing I have found that I dont like is the speakers
are on the bottom of the unit..but other than that it is perfect.......
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2011
from annapolis, MD
this is best notebook i ever had for under $500. had no problem for years now
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1 year without problem

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 2, 2011
from Baton Rouge, LA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, blu-ray player
I have been using this laptop for 1 year now. Nice laptop with Blu-Ray player. :)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Product Capability with Cost Effectiveness

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 18, 2011
from Modesto, CA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, 3 in 1 multi-card slot
Cons: no numeric keypad
I have had my 480I for 3 months now and I LOVE it!!! I especially like how quickly it awakens from sleep mode, the raised keyboard, the 3 in 1 multi-card slot, the excellent visual resolution, and WOW the blue-ray player AND burner too! The one thing I do not like about it is that there is no numeric keypad (I am a bookkeeper). So many extras for a price much less than anticipated and far below their competitors has made me a true Samsung fan!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 16, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is a really nice laptop. It's fast, a great size, reliable, loaded with good software and pleasing to the eye.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

USER FRIENDLY

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 2, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
one of the best computer i ever have.... and always going to recomend samsung products bcs they have good futures and exelent price and dont forget very good quality
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 30, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: heavy-ish, shows fingerprints, no lightscribe
I have to be honest, the biggest reason I chose this red Samsung laptop was because it matched my red Samsung phone! I wasn't looking for much in the way of specifics (mostly web browsing and word processing), so I really didn't have a reason to look too far into its specs. Fortunately it has worked great for me! No complaints at all! My mom has an Acer, and it seems like she's had a few issues with it. I had a few issues with the HP I had before this one too, but its been smooth sailing so far with this one! I just wish it had Lightscribe (I think that's what it's called), which I wasn't aware of when I purchased it, but probably wouldn't have changed my decision anyway.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

need a laptop that works? then get this one.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 23, 2011
from colorado
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, gorgoeus
never had a problem with this laptop. i have had to send back other laptops back, at least once, in the time frame i have had this one. very durable and easy to use. the specs alone make it an easy decision. probably the best value for the money when it comes to a laptop. it plays games like it was made just for them. the fact that it has a blu-ray player i was sold. besides, just take a look at this laptop...its gorgeous.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

When it comes to electronic purchases, Samsung gets an A+

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 30, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
When it came time for me to purchase a new laptop computer, I didn't know at the time Samsung even had their own product line. Past experience with their cell phones( I'm on my 2nd Samsung cell phone in the past 6 years), and High Definition Televisions was a strong influence on my decision to go with the NP-R480 model. I have been using this computer now for about 3 quarters of a year and it still operates with the same efficiency as the day I bought it, and I have yet to have a single problem with it. The price performance on value for this product is excellent. 500 gigs of hard drive space is highly adequate for storing all of my music, photos, videos, and documents. The 4 gigs of DDR3 RAM, and the ability to upgrade to 8 gigs is fantastic, I have had upwards of 5 programs running simultaneously( internet browser w/ multiple tabs, poker application, foreign exchange trading application, spreadsheet & word processor application, and music playing application) and experience no lagging issues. The graphics quality are great, especially when watching movies/DVDs on it ( I don't have any Blu-Ray discs, however it has the playback capabilities). The disc drive is outstanding; CD player/ burner, DVD player/ burner, and Blu-Ray Disc player. Lastly, the battery power is excellent when running off of it alone. There are numerous options to choose from when selecting between performance and battery life. I was personally stunned at how long the battery lasts when you output the monitor to a different device, like a HD television through a HDMI cable; it was somewhere between 4 & 6 hours with a fully charged battery. Overall, Samsung is a excellent choice in my opinion when it comes to selecting any electronics device. I would recommend their entire product line to all of my family and friends.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
 
32" Class (31.5" Diag.) 530 Series 1080p LCD HDTV (2010 model)
4.4 out of 5(44)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best laptop for your $$$

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 25, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: fingerprint magnet
Wonderful laptop, the i3 processor with 4gb ram is great for everyday multi-taking and can handle web-browsing, downloads, watching a movie or listening to music, and word processing very easily. The 500gb hard drive offers plenty of storage space and I love the display. Battery life is a bit short (I get about 3 hours on minimal-performance settings and dimmed display) but that was expected. My only complaint is that although the design is beautiful, this laptop is a fingerprint MAGNET. I travel with this laptop a lot so I am constantly handling it and having to wipe it with a micro-fiber cloth. Overall though, I love it and my favorite part is actually the "chiclet" style keyboard.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Computer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 12, 2011
from ABQ
I have used this product for:6-12 months
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I have had this computer around 10 months and it is great. It runs Photoshop perfectly and has had absolutely no problems. I don't know too much concerning laptops, but close family members do. I use it for school and personal use. The battery holds a good charge, there are a lot of personalization options, and the touch mouse thing is all I use and it still works great. The computer has good durability and does not scratch easily. It runs very quickly all the time. Basically, this computer is great for everyone for everyday/basic use!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love Samsung, and I love this computer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 3, 2011
from Peyton, CO
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, fast
I love this computer! It runs fast, never over-heats, and is the best laptop I've ever owned.
Being a graphic designer, I needed something that could run the type of programs that I use, and this fit the bill.
Definitely get it, it's so worth it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 27, 2010
from USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, great design, blu-ray
Cons: none so far
I am very satisfied with this purchase, I got it for a great price and it does everthing I have tried with it. It looks great, the keyboard is perfect for fast and accurate typing, everything runs so smooth...very well done machine. It is not for a serious gamer, but for watching videos and surfing the web it is great. Unless your looking for a dedicated gaming machine you will not be disappointed, I love it!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall its great

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 10, 2010
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, extremely portable
Cons: no drivers for windows xp
the only bad thing about this product is that there are no drivers for Windows XP or Windows VIsta and no im not saying that Windows Vista is great because its one of the worst operating systems that Microsoft Inc. ever came out with.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Products are the BEST!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 10, 2010
from New York
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I honestly did a lot of research on many laptops and found this SAMSUNG laptop to trump all others. I decided to buy this specific laptop because of it's features and design. The price was just a bonus! What's even better is that the laptop's memory can be upgraded to 8 GB of ram. I can honestly say this laptop was an awesome choice, Kudos to Samsung. The laptop is also built to maximize the user experience. If you're like me and do not like loud fans. This laptop is perfect, the fan is SO quiet!! I absolutely love it. It's also asthetically beautiful. The only thing about the encasing is that you see finger prints all over it, but that can be cleaned right? Yes it can!! Do yourself a favor, if you're looking to purchase a new laptop, choose a Samsung Laptop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Vibrant™ Android Smartphone
4.2 out of 5(560)
 
 
 
DualView TL225 12.2 Megapixel Digital Camera
3.9 out of 5(29)
 
 
 
 
 
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 4, 2010
from Orlando, FL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, built-in web cam
Cons: short battery life
My family comes from a background of only using HP and Dell. (They all seem to have issues after a year). I refuse to buy HP after they merged with Compaq. I have had bad experiences with both HP and Compaq, and was tired of the constant issues with Dell. I decided to look into Samsung since my LCD TV, digital camera, and home theater are Samsung brand. All three products are at least 3 years old and still work as if new. I have never had an issue with Samsung thus far. This pc rocks! Works great with Windows 7. As an IT major with extensive knowledge of computers, this pc is great for your everyday needs. Only con is battery does not last long if its not plugged in.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 27, 2010
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: bad graphics card for online gaming
It's great. The only problems so far:
1. I can't play games online with current graphics card
2. I hate the 2 partitions
3. The speakers aren't very loud, but they are adequate. With headphones, the sound is much better.
The blu-ray is great. The video looks good.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My First Samsung Laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 21, 2010
from Huntersville, NC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: short battery life
I gave my Toshiba Satellite to my grandchildren and replaced it with this laptop. I liked what I saw for the feature list and the price was in the range of what I was looking to spend. I have been pleasantly surprised by the performance and love the size, bright screen, i3 processor and the blue-ray player. The only two things I could wish for are the eSATA and data port slot. Otherwise this little laptop is perfect for me.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 20, 2010
from Cedar Park, Texas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Overall a very good laptop for its price. Its very fast and is very physically attractive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 22, 2010
from Valparaiso, IN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This laptop packs a huge punch. The ability to watch Blu Ray players while stuck at airports makes this an excellent laptop. Some may say the screen size is a bit small but the way I see it, if you go much bigger you begin to compromise portability and that wasn't an option for me. The only thing it might be missing is a dedicated graphics card but unless you are planning on playing very demanding video games on it then it is a feature you won't miss. Battery life is a respectable 4 hours (if watching a movie the BluRay drive does sap some power and will probably require you to plug it in to watch a movie in its entirety depending on the length). This is the perfect machine for me.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 23, 2010
from Monterey Park, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I had researched on popular brands, and I found this laptop. I like the specs, good for my use. No need to be tech savvy, but put you in the path of the future. I really love the color and the finishing of the laptop. Good speed, very clear screen. Very good product.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Laptop for the money

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 9, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I got this laptop well over a year ago, I have been very please with it to date. It is ideal for web browsing and video watching, the included blu-ray player is a big plus.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost perfect

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 8, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
You can read other people's five star reviews because I'd similar experience with them(I've been using this computer for more than one year). I would give this 5 Stars also if not for two major inconveniences. 1. A couple of times it fail to go into auto hibernation and start to heat up really bad; I had to always remember to shut it down or put it to hibernate manually. 2. Sometimes when I tried to start it up, it'll hang on the Windows screen.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great laptop for the price.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 4, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
It has blueray and it comes with an extra HDMI port.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty & well-equipped.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 29, 2011
from Washington
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: finish shows grime/prints easily
With a Blu-ray player, more storage than my last 2 laptops combined, Windows 7, etc, I love my R480.
My only complaint so far is that the finish picks up fingerprints something awful.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Never Stops Working

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 28, 2011
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, good for somewhat intense gaming, built in under and overclock program
Cons: speakers too quiet
I use my computer quite a bit. Sometimes for many hours a day. I use it to its fullest capabilities. I game, as well as use multiple browsers, listen to music, play HD videos and chat all at the same time. I do this without any lag or problems.
I have never had an issue playing any games and run with a decent FPS on normal graphics. This computer has never stopped working. It maintains a decent battery life which is helped by the ability to under and overclock it with easy speedup manager.
One problem I have with it is the speakers just are not loud enough. As well, sometime the computer beeps and makes a clicking noise, im not sure what that is, but it has never cause a problem.
All in all, great value, great for somewhat intense gaming, bad sound quality.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Product (very few cosmetic downsides)

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 23, 2011
from Gilbert, AZ
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
Cons: average quality cosmetic details
After a little over a year of using this laptop I must admit that I am still utterly in love with it. It runs fast and the red shell color is a unique attribute. There are a few downsides that I felt I should share with other consumers. I use my laptop a lot. I am on the computer about 85% of my day. With this excessive usage I have noticed a few issues with the laptop (cosmetic issues):
1. The mouse pad's raised detail seems to be fading in the center.
2. The keys attract oil and are now extra shiny in the places which I hit each key.
3. The mouse button sticks sometimes.
Though there are these cosmetic issues/downsides with this product, it still functions perfectly. I have not seen any change in the functioning capability over this last year or so, and the screen definition is still brilliant. The battery life is also still the same as it was when I originally purchased this product. Like I said earlier I am in love with this product and would recommend it to everyone.
Hope this helps :)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Value!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 7, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, good battery life
Cons: quiet speakers, unresponsive track pad
Overall this is an excellent computer for the money. The Windows 7 operating system is smooth and easy to use. The screen broadcasts in excellent high quality color. The integrated webcam is perfect for Skype. The lightweight build makes this perfect for me to take to and from work. The keyboard is excellent for typing. The hard drive is plenty large and the processing speed is fast enough for anything except for the most high-tech gaming experience.
Some cons are that the speakers are located beneath the computer and muffle the sound; they aren't very loud to begin with. Also, the trackpad is relatively unresponsive, yet is overly sensitive when attempting he two-finger scroll feature. Additionally, to use the Blu-ray drive you must purchase additional software; I have not yet been able to find any software online for free to access this feature.
Overall this computer is solidly built and is a fantastic value. I would recommend this to any home internet user, student, or workplace professional
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very nice features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 19, 2010
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: short battery life
Great value for price. Knew what I was getting for the price. There are things that would like to have extra with this. However, it would also bring up the price. Only downside is that the battery life could be better.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for the Money

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 4, 2010
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no back-lit keyboard, windows 7 home, factory partitions
I use my laptop to dual boot, both Windows 7 and Ubuntu. I do however wish the factory hard drive partitians made more sense. (100GB C and 300GB D) But simply changing that before your start using your computer and you shouldn't have any headaches regarding this. Otherwise I love my R480 and would defiantly get another SAMSUNG the next time I consider getting a new computer in a few years.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great laptop in a smaller package

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 21, 2010
from colorado
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display
This laptop has excellent graphics and with the hdmi port I use it for watching tv shows off the net.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My best laptop by a longshot!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 31, 2010
from San Rafael, Ca.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This is a new laptop, granted the last laptop I had was a Fujitsu life book, but I have seen and tried a lot of them. This thing is portable, clean and pretty,and very functional, It's my new wife.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointing Battery Life

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 1, 2011
from CA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
When I first bought this laptop, I thought it was a great value, and I am still pleased with its features. The display is great and it performs relatively well, plus the HDMI input and Blue Ray player is a definite bonus. My main problem with this notebook is the poor battery life. I started noticing a drop almost immediately and it never, even on day one, deliverd on its 3-4 hour promise. Now after only 9 months, my battery will not hold a charge for even 30 mins, and needs to be replaced.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It's not bad.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onFebruary 20, 2011
from IL
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
The Samsung R-480 isn't bad. However it could be better. I've had mine since May and I'm having problems with the E: drive not reading anything. It looks nice, The speakers are okay. Wish they would sound just a little better. So much treble, not a lot of bass. But personally I don't think this is the best computer out there. It's good, but there are just a few minor changes that could be made to make it better.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Horrible computer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 5, 2011
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, breaks down easily
This laptop hardly met any of my expectations. It's broken twice now, and it takes 25 minutes for me to get it to work. Sometimes it just randomly shuts down. It can't hold a battery charge either. I bought this computer to type essays on, but sometimes, right in the middle of me typing something important, it shuts down. The period key and the left arrow key are broken, which is incredibly annoying, so I use the on screen keyboard. Anyways, I would NOT recomend this to anybody, especially someone who types a lot.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for R480 Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

junk

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 25, 2011
from Canton Michigan
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality
I bought two of these laptops two months apart, within 1 month of each other the hard drives crashed on both of them. both were less than a year old. lost everything twice.Obviously built tobe disposable in less than a year. I'm switching to MACs.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.