Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Notebooks
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for R530 Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

R530 Notebook

Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for R530 Notebook
Review 1 for R530 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Durability

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymadatdog
onOctober 30, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
My wife and I both use the r530 laptop. Thanks to our German Shepard and his crazy tail a glass of apple cider made its way onto my wifes laptop. Grabbing the laptop flipping it over and hitting it with some compressed air the laptop went total black with cider coming out of the cooling ports.... I set it upside down and let sit overnight next morning it fired right up like nothing had happened... cudos to this machine...
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for R530 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMynewlaptop
onSeptember 6, 2011
So far, I love this computer except for one thing and that is disabling the touchpad while I have my mouse plugged in. Otherwise, it is the best laptop I have ever used! I would recommend it to anyone!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for R530 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Value Out There

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMktgConsultant
onMarch 31, 2011
from Fresno, CA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This laptop does everything I need with ease, from handling the entire Adobe Suite to video production and streaming. The screen is excellent and the 10 key on the side is a nice feature that I've not seen on 15" models before.
Only downside is that the speakers aren't very dynamic, but headphones solve that issue.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for R530 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SHARP CLEAR DISPLAY, EASY TO USE

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByWORLDTRAVEL
onDecember 9, 2010
from COLORADO
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
ALL FEATURES WORK AS LISTED, HAVE HAD NO ISSUES WITH THIS LAPTOP. THE BEST LAPTOP I HAVE EVER USED.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for R530 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works great!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTizz
onNovember 21, 2010
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
I've bought this some two months ago, mostly for school and home use...and it works great! Application response is good, game quality and performance are also good, and i love the colors and quality of movies, as well as the HDMI output port (i also own a LCD TV, which i sometimes use to watch movies from my laptop). I'd recommend this to anyone anytime.
However, as a con, i'd go against the 32bit Windows 7 Home Premium it came equipped with. I would've loved having a 64bit version, but it does well with 32bit too.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for R530 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJartell
onAugust 9, 2010
Sleek design and fast response in any application I may be using. Quick start and responsive in every way. I have had this computer for about two months plus and I never tripped on any glitch. Windows 7 is great. It simply works! The only thing I don't like very much is the shiny material in the cover. It looks good but it seems kind of fragile. Otherwise, it is an excellent computer. I might not be a technical expert but I recognize quality when I see it and this is the good stuff.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for R530 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Nice Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysmdshack
onApril 20, 2010
from Maryland
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I rate PCs or laptops by their speed. This latop is very fast. The display is very clear with excellent color. I'd definately recommend buying a Samsung to a friend.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for R530 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop - Just One Complaint

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjasynxxiii
onDecember 10, 2011
from Dallas, TX
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, fast processing and browsing experience
Cons: cheap plastic feel to keyboard
Not too much to say other than an overall positive experience. A little too much Bloatware on the PC, but we livein an age where that's unavoidable. My only complaint is that the keyboard feels flimsy at times. Perfect example? I've had to go back and edit 6 or 7 words in this post since the space bar doesn't seem to recognize a soft touch.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Droid Charge Smartphone
3.8 out of 5(594)
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 (Verizon 4G LTE) – 32GB Metallic Gray
4.5 out of 5(51)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for R530 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

To new to review, or the Jury is still out pending support service.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFunnyfarmwest
onNovember 12, 2010
from Redding, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, screen size
Cons: no memory card slot, durability
I haven't had a chance to get it completely operationa for what I want to do with it. In particular I haven't been able to get it connected to my wireless network. Although it has been working fine plugged into the wireless router. And before you ask yes I am going to contact customer support about this issue. I was some what dissapointed that it doesn't have a memory card slot for pulling pictures off my digital camera. I mean with all the other features on this unit that this one little amenity could not cost that much more. I am also supprised at how flimsy the Screen Case feels when you open and close the unit. Luckily I will not be using the Laptop away from home to often.
Compared to my old laptop, this is a top of the line laptop and very happy so far. Ask me again in a year or so. (Yes, unless the unit falls apart I will still have it in a year of so, my old laptop lasted 12 years before it died.)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
LN40A650
4.9 out of 5(18)
 
 
 
BD-P3600
4.2 out of 5(100)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for R530 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sam R530 Fi RED

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByRQue
onApril 9, 2010
from TENNESSEE
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
At first glance the SamR530 wows U. It is a beautiful device. Slender and sleek - it fits perfectly into my messenger bag - so... no need in trying to find a stylish enough laptop case to accommodate( we do not like those big bulky suitcases). The keyboard has to be the reason for my increased keystroke timing, it is fluid with its raised design. The 10key addition is wonderful, as I always feel awkward using the standard number keys. Functionality is good with efficient battery life and warning well enough in advanced to keep you on your "usuage toes". I would have liked for it to have lightscribe technology but the multi function DVD/CD drive does suffice. The screen is well lit with multiple adjustments to compliment any viewing choices. The sound? Well.... it leaves a lot to be desired. I would like to see more than two standard speakers on laptops, perhaps two in the upper lid (like left right) and four on the inner base (two above keyboard and two at the bottom at each side of the mouse pad)<<<I would like credit for this suggestion Samsung!!! I mean a nice surrond sound laptop - shut up, that would nice. Yes it would eliminate laptop speakers, but that may be the point. Overall, the R530 is an above average device and well worth the purchase for media and intermediate usage. I give it 4 stars.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.