Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for R540-JA02 Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

R540-JA02 Notebook

Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 out of 12(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for R540-JA02 Notebook
Review 1 for R540-JA02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good one

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bygeethan
onJanuary 10, 2013
from India
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display
i like it very much, only key board is very poor but otherwise overall nice
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for R540-JA02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykaglione
onDecember 1, 2011
from RI
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
This is a great laptop. The display is as nice as Samsungs LED TV screens. I love the keyboard too!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for R540-JA02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Explosive!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByChikonaut22
onAugust 3, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, handy, glass like style
I have been using this product for only a month but still I am enjoying it's features..High quality pictures and fast browsing when connected to a WiFi..
but I have something to ask, my R540 is in hebrew fonts display I can't understand almost all of the text written because it is in Hebrew, can you please tell me what to do with it?
The windows 7 installed in there is in Hebrew text, the seller already changed it's Hebrew text before but when I used the Samsung Recovery Restore to fix some of my computers problem, the Restoration have brought back all the features in Hebrew....
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for R540-JA02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of a KIND

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAmerwaleed
onFebruary 23, 2011
from High Point, NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, confortable, just amazing!
Cons: couldnt be any
This is my first laptop, but no my first laptop experience. So far I have had it for a month. Speed.. Excellent. Resolution.. BRILLIANT. I went to youtube, and did the 1080p test, and incredibly, it looked LIKE A DREAM. The keyboard on this is awesome. Some people write a bad review about this, but honestly its the best. You just need time to get used to it but its awesome! The only thing that i thought was bad was that... I ordered two of these, one had all the protectors on it, like the screen, mouse pad and all, but mine didnt. But it was brand new. Im the type of person that likes to keep them on till they naturally come off. The palm place is a very nice place to put your hands. I have had this on my lap for more than 5 hours, and still felt no heat coming out. Incredible! Low watt speakers tho, but not a biggy!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for R540-JA02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybriley1207
onJanuary 21, 2011
from Kentucky
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I bought this for school it has done everything I have asked of it. The speed is good for all programs we have tried. Have enjoyed it so far
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for R540-JA02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByEddiev627
onSeptember 9, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Too big
Love it. it works great for me. it does everything i need it to do.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for R540-JA02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A must have for the price and quality

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytekks2
onOctober 15, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: touch pad too sensitive. needed adjustment
Super machine for the value. Serves its purpose for everyday computing. Lightweight is a definite plus.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 6050 Series Smart TV
4.7 out of 5(21)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for R540-JA02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

540 has good features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDjshopping4fun
onDecember 28, 2010
from md
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, finish looks great, good speed
Cons: Not high def, some trouble with start button
this notebook meet all my expectation speed is better than I thought display is super clear very light-weight, even the speakers sounds ok with noise around you..great product for the price
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for R540-JA02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quality build

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bygreendragon29
onDecember 10, 2010
from CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Never considered a Samsung laptop, since they only started to delve into notebooks only this year. But have read their reputation for building high quality netbooks and notebooks from CNET. It was either an HP, Toshiba or Samsung. I decided on the Samsung because of their rep for quality and reliability. HP's tend to be of inferior quality build compared to the higher end mfrs. Toshiba ... OK. Thought I'd give Samsung a try. So far not disappointed.
Powerful Intel i3 makes everything fast.
Nice classy, sturdy build. Glossy reflective gun metal case makes laptop look very classsy ... fingerprint magnet though.
Keyboard is wonderful. More precise feedback when typing fast, helps avoid mis-typed chars when your finger happens to accidentally rest on another key.
Independent numpad very useful.
Has HDMI, SD card reader.
Good clear, sharp resolution on a glossy screen.
Very little bloatware.
Overall, good laptop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for R540-JA02 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Spend a little more and get a true Sammy

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByMarsh511
onAugust 27, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, very inconsistent keys (some sticky some w no fb)
This proves that you get what you pay for. This 15.6" was definitely at the low-end of the scale price-wise, and I should've shelled out about $200 more and gotten an i5 or better with a much better keyboard. My main complaint on this unit is the keyboard.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for R540-JA02 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fix the battery and this is a very good computer.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByMcGicWorks
onMay 12, 2011
from Florida
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, up to date software, advanced hardware, smart
Cons: too short battery life.
The battery died after 3 weeks of service, and that is not cool!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for R540-JA02 Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Get what you pay for I guess

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByNotASamsungFanYet
onDecember 23, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
The sound is super weak and you can't hear it unless it is turned all the way up (and then it is too loud). We haven't had it longer than a year and the battery is already shot (have to keep it plugged to use it now). We are thinking we should've gotten a tablet instead for the same amount of money.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.