Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for R540-JA06 Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

R540-JA06 Notebook

Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
6 out of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for R540-JA06 Notebook
Review 1 for R540-JA06 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop for the price!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bypainterman53
onSeptember 30, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is my first laptop and I love it. It is very durable, I was at the airport going through security and I dropped it. Everyone sighed and said "Oh no there goes your laptop". As soon as I was through security I turned it on to access the damage. To my surprise there was no damage to it. I could have lost everything. Great job Samsung!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for R540-JA06 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKOPA
onSeptember 4, 2011
from GRAND RAPIDS, MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: none
DESIGN, QUALITY,SOFTVARE,HARDVARE,NEW INOVATION,ALLREADY PREPARED FOR QUICK AND EASY SET UP,I'M NOT TRAINED MUCH WITH COMPUTERS BUT AFTER COUPLE MINUTES MY NEW LAPTOP WAS READY TO USE,RIGHT NOW IM USING IT FOR THIS REVIEW...
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
60" Class (60.0" Diag.) LED 6400 Series Smart TV
4.7 out of 5(26)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for R540-JA06 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fine product for my uses

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySeacraft20
onAugust 21, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: a little heavey
I am a home user. You know email, Google and few internet sites that I follow. So far so good. I do believe I made the wrong chiose when I selected the operating system in the beginning. I selected Windows 7-64. I wasn't used to it and am having trouble getting around it. I think I would have been better off with XP as I am more fimiliar with that. Live and learn.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for R540-JA06 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great quality product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysnugglebug
onJune 4, 2011
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is the first laptop that I've owned. I've done tons of research on several different models and brands. The Samsung came out on top. The setup and connection to my home network was simple as well as the ease of use of the laptop itself. Samsung brands have yet to fail me in satisfaction. Their products are all high quality including the R540 JA06US Notebook.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for R540-JA06 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Decent lap top for the price.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHaywood
onAugust 24, 2011
from Fairport, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
It has a quad core processor and a ton of memory so that makes it pretty fast. The picture is great. Has HDMI port. I like the color of it. One thing I notice it runs very cool. You can hardly feel any heat coming from the bottom of, Even if you have the charger plugged in. The only thing I can't stand about the laptop is the dvd palyer feels cheap. WHen you pick up the laptop on the sides you actually have to grab the dvd player. sometimes it will pop open. The speakers are pretty weak also. The sound is good but the volumn doesn't get very loud.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for R540-JA06 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this product has a great feature

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byboblan
onMay 9, 2011
from los angeles
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive
Cons: Not high def
fast reliable and good design. one of which is samsung's trademark.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for R540-JA06 Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Worst product I ever purchased

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bydiamondperidot
onSeptember 6, 2011
from NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
This laptop came without charger and has to do a lot of work on that, the looks aren't great I won't recommend this to anybody. Didn't like the slow performance, I bouoght it brand new but looks are not so appealing and neither the functon. As it didn't come with the charger so I have to stick back to my desktop.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for R540-JA06 Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

okay but has many flaws

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byjman55
onJuly 19, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, keyboard is cheap
i bought this for my self a few weeks ago and i am very dispointed so far some of the keys have broke and there not under warranty. Also the design feels very cheaply made and can brake any second. also it is like a dust magnetite thats just collects it. the only thing i find good about this is the speakers get reasonably loud compared to other laptops. though overall iam very dissatisfied with this product and i wish i could get a different one .
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for R540-JA06 Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

yes its beautiful however,

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByRubfernandez
onJune 30, 2011
from Miami, Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality
yes its beautiful however I've have mine for 3 months and I've already had to restore it twice, after which it really didn't restore like it was when I first
got it. My next laptop will not be a samsung
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for R540-JA06 Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This is the worst laptop I've ever purchsed

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bydurali
onFebruary 8, 2012
from san diego
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
the battery died after just 7 month purchased.
the laptop can't handle running some older games, and it keep shutting down.
the only good thing about this laptop is just the display. other things are poor performance and less storage
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.