Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Notebooks
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for R580 Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

R580 Notebook

Rating:
4.378 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 90 reviews
5 stars
55
4 stars
24
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
4
73 out of 83(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for R580 Notebook
Review 1 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

its a great laptop but the charger port stopped working within the first 2 months

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byangelbaby61379
onJanuary 19, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color
its a great laptop but the charger port stopped working within the first 2 months
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the most durable laptop ever!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJCHarris
onDecember 26, 2012
from Alabama
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
This was my first laptop and it is now over 2 years old. I used it for school and recreational use. I'm not a serious gamer by any means but it has and still is continuing to meet my needs. The only thing I have had to replace is the power cord. I dropped this computer from my school desk 3 feet to the hard linoleum floor, at the time I was in the middle of writing an 8 page paper. I watched in horror as it hit the floor and the screen went black. I simply picked it up and closed it. After sitting through the rest of class with a sick feeling and sympathetic and quiet looks from my classmates, I promptly went outside and called into work to deal with the situation. After I made the call I inspected the computer for damage, seeing none, I took the battery out, popped it back in and turned it on. Everything booted right back up where I left off, and had no issues since.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this product!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byohbabynessa
onNovember 11, 2012
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, blue ray player
Great quality! I absolutely adore my laptop. The color of the display is great with so much detail and its very bright. The screen is big. It's very durable. I even dropped it once or twice and it didnt break or leave a scratch! And it's not too heavy like most laptops. I really enjoy using it. It's just overall a great product. I've had issues with other laptops being very slow after a year or two and I bought this one 2 years ago and I've never needed any repairs or anything. Excellent (:
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to use

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byfabulous3177
onSeptember 16, 2012
from New York
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, awesome clour
Cons: Too big, very heavy
I bought this laptop almost 2 years now and I am loving it!!!! I love the fact that it has a blu-ray player so I can watch blu-ray movies on the go. Its super cool and easy to use. The key board is great and I love the blue lights around the mouse.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
Samsung Galaxy Note (AT&T), Ceramic White
4.8 out of 5(283)
 
 
 
55" Class (54.6" Diag.) LED 7000 Series Smart TV
4.6 out of 5(474)
 
 
 
 
 
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop for the price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrcaine
onAugust 14, 2012
from Hoover, AL
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
This is a very impressive laptop for the price. The one addition that would make it even better is a reader for memory cards.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

R580 Notebook is reliable

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKabookie
onAugust 5, 2012
from Denison, TX
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Samsung R580 notebook
with Intel CORE I5 TURBO 2.53 GHz and 4GB DDR3 RAM,
BLU-RAY DISC PLAYER,
NViDIA GeForce 310M graphics card,
built in wireless adapter, web cam and a beautiful display.
This notebook can be business or pleasure and make it easy to do either.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, Fast Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDrakenWolf
onJune 23, 2012
from Harrisburg, PA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, dedicated video, blu-ray player
Cons: flimsy case, lousy sound quality
The Samsung R580-JSB1US Is a great investment. I bought it about a year ago and its been a workhouse. The features of a 500GB HD with SATA II is nice and fast. with the Intel Core i5 Processor and a NVidia Graphics card with dedicated 512MB Video RAM is quite nice with the CD(RW)/DVD(RW)/Blu-Ray player. And with the 802.11B/G/N Network card this is a great buy!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great all around

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjjturcheck
onMay 17, 2012
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, blu-ray
Cons: gloss finish
I got this computer just about 2 years ago and it runs like brand new. Most of my other laptops of other brands slow down after a year or so. Well not this one. Its running hard still. As far as design goes I do like it. I think the gloss is a nice touch but hard to keep clean looking. Maybe matte would have been a better finish. I see myself having this computer for a few more years at least. Even when I do get a new one (which will be Samsung again) I will hold on to this one as my back up.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymech1
onMay 4, 2012
from Fruita, CO
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I have had this for awhile. I have it linked to my home network and it works great. It has all the features I need. I'm not a gamer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymlrsdavid
onFebruary 16, 2012
from wisconsin
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
best specs for the money by far! also love to color and style matches my TOC TV. BluRay, i5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byduracell
onFebruary 3, 2012
from usa
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: the nvidia graphics cip
the only downfall for this computer the the nvidia graphics chip crashes but like everyone else says u dont loose any thing and comes back and the mouse pad sometimes is slow and doesnt work right away
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Happy:)

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGrayGoose
onJanuary 2, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I have had the R580 for quite a time now and it has been a pleasure to work with. I like its feel, the numeric key-pad, and the easy on the eyes display.The only problem I have had with my R580 has been the nVidia Graphics Chip. It stops working at times and the computer shuts down, although it begins working again after recovery without any loss of data.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bygoodguyonsamsung
onDecember 30, 2011
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Great laptop notebook. Durable with kids and for traveling.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Laptop I have Owned

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMarylandSamsungUser
onDecember 27, 2011
from Maryland USA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: samsung support
The Samsung R580 is the best laptop I have owned over the past 15 years. It is a high performer - with more than adequate speed for a variety of work and entertainment purposes. My favorite features are the recovery options and Samsung's unique batter management options that have really prolonged the life of the battery. Samsung would do well to use this model as a standard for future development of mid-priced laptops. Only drawback is lack of dedicated support or support information at the Samsung web site.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nVidia Chip Is a Problem

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByREOlsen
onDecember 10, 2011
from Washington, DC
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The only problem I have had with my Samsung R580 laptop has been the nVidia Graphics Chip. It stops working frequently, and the computer effectively shuts down, although eventually the computer begins working again without loss of data.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Win

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCakeLiar
onDecember 8, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Phenomenal, simply phenomenal. Samsung's standard of quality amazes me time after time. I will definitely be a long-time customer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDiabolicByson
onNovember 3, 2011
from Johnstown PA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, blueray!
This laptop was my first outing with a Samsung product. I remember seeing it at Best Buy steaming a movie from netflix onto a a 32" Samsung LCD TV with the HDMI port. I went to Best Buy with the intention of buying a cheap laptop for college and left with one h*!! of a media center!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ready for everything

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRubio
onNovember 3, 2011
from Brazil - São Paulo
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, nice design
Cons: Not high def, bad battery life, poor 3d video accelerator
Excelent piece of hardware, for an incredibly affordable price. Good software package, Blu-ray, Nvidia 3D 310M graphics, Intel Core i5, island keyboard and bright 15" lcd screen. Ready for almost any kind of activity, being it business or pleasure. The only main drawback here is the really poor battery duration which won't las more than one hour. At the end it has became an excelent substitute for my previous desktop, with the bonus of the mobility a notebook can give you. Recommended.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice design

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydkreddy
onOctober 31, 2011
from SALT LAKE,UT
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, cool color
Cons: battery life
I have been using this laptop for more than an year and I liked it so much.
Only issue I see now is w/ battery, it heats up very fast.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This notebook

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onOctober 14, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
I am a freelance graphic designer and it has the power I need to run all the adobe programs, sometimes a few at once when I need it to. It has last me about a year now and it is still going good, the battery gave out, the power chord got a little messed up and the speakers are really quiet but those are my only complaints and they are all repairable. It was way good for the money!!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't Beat this Laptop Deal

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGadgetLvr
onOctober 9, 2011
from Philadelphia, PA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Saw it on a Consumer Reports review and looked at additional reviews on Cnet and PC Mag. This is a perfect desktop replacement...couldn't be happier with this purchase.
I recommended it to my impossible to please brother-in-law and he will second my rave review.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

General overview- Great overall! Wonderful Support.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByZerglin9000
onSeptember 27, 2011
from Whittier, NC
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, dedicated graphics card, good value, great support, warranty, user friendly
My experience with samsung has been dedicated to nothing but excellence. I have been more than satisfied with this model of computer and would definately reccomend this product if not other samsung products to all of my etended friends and family.
The quality of this product exceeds all standards I have for a portable PC. It is durable, asthetically pleasing, preforms wonderfully, and has great features. A must have for any tech-savvy consumer.
Having a dedicated graphics card from NVidia really makes the Samsung line of laptops ideal for doing anything you demand of your computer. While this model is not a real gaming-intensive model, it still runs a vast majority of modern graphics intensive games.
The Samsung support and warranty is a must have. Having a complementary troubleshooter to assist you and an extended warranty has really saved not only my life as a student but also my wallet. When my computer broke down, I thought the rest of the semester was going to be a struggle to get by, but Samsung support and the extended warranty had me covered in less that a week. It was truly AMAZING!
I was pleased with having the capability to take my gaming on the go and get my homework done. The entire Samsung line outshines the competition, taking care of buisness, whatever that may be. This model does it all for me, and that's my Samsung story.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Buyer beware!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTheSaint
onSeptember 9, 2011
This is a great product, but beware, If you drop your laptop or If it gets hit and destroys the hard drive, samsung will not give you all the software back. You will not get some of the systems like blu ray player, or some of the other software that came with it. The blu ray player will not work, along with a few other functions. Make sure you do a full hard drive backup because they do not give you a recovery disk.
Dissapointed
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMERnittanygirl
onSeptember 5, 2011
from South Jersey, NJ
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I have been using this laptop for over a year and it has performed wonderfully. It is reliable, fast and responsive. The screen definition is great and the sound quality good. I would purchase another Samsung laptop or product in the future. I am very pleased with my choice.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Happy, with my laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTribbles
onAugust 27, 2011
from Tx
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I travel a lot, and my laptop is my most effective link to my family and friends. My Samsung has traveled from state to state and from one country to another and each time I hit the power button it boots right up. I love being able to play Blu-Rays and the picture is sharp, crisp, and bright. I continue to be very pleased with the consistent reliability and performance. Thank you Samsung!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByShopsalot
onJuly 24, 2011
from Riverdale, Georgia
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is such a great notebook that I decided to purchase another one for my son.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One year and still going strong

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysomething123
onJune 10, 2011
from Colorado
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: short battery life
I've had this laptop for over a year now, and it's probably the best thing I bought. I mainly got it because of the i5 processor and the graphics card, blu-ray was a plus (though I haven't taken advantage of it yet). Mostly I use the laptop for basic word documents, surfing the internet. It does well with the PC games and photoshop as well. (not the BEST but who wants to spend loads of money on a laptop? It works fine.) My least favorite thing is the short battery life, but that can be fixed by staying near a laptop.
The design looks cool... but it is a finger-print magnet.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Laptop, Pure Ownage

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMay 24, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, good for gaming
Cons: blue ray is choppy
I graduated from high school in 2010 and I got a laptop for a graduation present. The laptop I recieved just so happened to be the Samsung r580. This laptop is amazing. It runs my favorite game Starcraft 2 with flying colors and it never skipped a beat this year with college. Although this laptop is amazing there is one feature I am disapointed with, The blueray player. I tried to run Avatar on it but it just could not keep up. I am not sure why though. Good thing I am a DVD and not a Blue Ray fan. I would reccomend this laptop to anyone at all shopping for the right one for them.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

samsung lover

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjartman18
onMay 20, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: low resolution cam
SAMSUNG PRODUCTS REALLY LIKE ME, SPECIALLY MI LAPTOP, I HAVE A PERFECT OPINION FOR THIS, JUST IF I COULD CHANGE ONE THING IN THE DEVICE, MMM DEFINETLY I WOULD CHANGE THE WEBCAM, BESIDE ITS PERFECT.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHappyhere
onApril 19, 2011
from SC
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Great machine for a good price. As good as my last desktop!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung wins again.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAranS
onMarch 24, 2011
from Pittsburgh, PA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I must confess, I usually balk at buying Samsung due to price (I'm cheap, what can I say.) but last year on a whim I ended up buying a Samsung refrigerator.. and then a phone... and then before I knew it I ended up with the Samsung R580.
This laptop and I have become inseparable since then. I don't know what life was like before it.
There hasn't been a single thing I've thrown at it that hasn't been handled like a champion.
My only regret is not holding out for an R780.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
Samsung Omnia™ Touchscreen Smartphone
3.9 out of 5(71)
 
 
 
Samsung Reality™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
3.3 out of 5(111)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

99% Awesome except for ...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMimi3791
onMarch 22, 2011
from Pennsylvania
Pros: attractive design, fast and reliable
Cons: touchpad too sensitive, battery life not very good
I have had this laptop for 8 months. I work from home and spend at least 8 hours a day on it. It's awesome. Very fast and reliable. Big screen allows me to see two docs at once easily. Keyboard is very comfortable, even after 8 hours. It is a perfect desktop replacement. Drawbacks are 1) keyboard is off-centered due to the number pad, so you have to pay attention where you set your fingers; 2) battery life is weaker than most laptops of this class; 3) absolutely the worst thing about this is its touchpad. I have set the sensitivity to as low as possible for touch and palm check, and still many times a day, the cursor bounces to another part of the screen. this is not only irritating, but could wreak havoc on whatever you're working on if you're a fast typer like me.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast as lightning

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBigJancu
onMarch 22, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, picture quality
Cons: weak speakers, not 1080p
I love this computer. its super fast and efficient. my only beefs are i wish its resolution was 1080p for blu ray watching, but the picture quality is still amazing. also the speakers are kind of weak. if you really wanna enjoy movies and music, hook it up to an external speaker/sub-woofer system.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product, Great Features, Excellent Price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCH1975
onMarch 5, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I've had this laptop for nearly a year and have been completely satisfied. Please keep in mind I'm not a power-user or a big time gamer. I use this mostly for office work (Word, Excel, etc), email, banking, and watching movies. For the price, this is hands down the best laptop I've owned. It's fast, beautiful, and has a great number of features for the money. The only critique is that the shiny red case shows all fingerprints. I highly recommend this laptop. In fact my dad just purchased the version with the i3 processor.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing performance and value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDenverGuy
onFebruary 15, 2011
from Denver, CO
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: lacks a backlit keyboard
I do not usually submit reviews for stuff, but I feel compelled to submit one for my outstanding laptop. I am a (very) longtime Dell and Lenovo user, and I took a chance on a Samsung after some research and reading some reviews. I must say, I am constantly impressed with the quality of this laptop, even after a year of extensive travel. I play a popular online game (WoW) as well as other PC games and they have always run extremely smoothly on here. Another benefit is the numerous compliments I have received on how gorgeous this laptop is; the color is beautiful and modern. I have recommended this laptop to several of my friends and will absolutely continue to use Samsung laptops.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality and Affordability

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySamsungnite
onFebruary 4, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
as long as Samsung keeps making laptops like this I will keep buying them.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this computer never crash, It so Good

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByWaltico
onJanuary 21, 2011
from San antonio Texas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
this computer is excelent in all ways, I am really impress, it never crash on me no matter what I do, excelent picture. I love it!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybrimaddie
onJanuary 11, 2011
from wilmington nc
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: battery life
Features are very good, only downfall is battery life. I will have to purchase a back up battery.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Have been very pleased

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLovinIt
onDecember 17, 2010
Bought this back in April to be my all purpose machine. I have not been disppointed. I can run the services I need for my work and still play graphic intense games without a hitch. The Blu-Ray is a nice addition and served me well when I traveled. The height of the screen could be better, web pages seem to lack a bit of vertical real estate. I run 2 screens at home, which the graphics card has no trouble with at all. Overall I'd have to say that I made a solid purchase here at a great value, have received many compliments about it, and have already reccomended it to others.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect laptop for any use

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bylubemeplease
onDecember 3, 2010
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: speakers not too loud
Has everything that i need, that's why i am writing this review because i really liked it. The only problem that i had is that i didn't created the recovery this and now a i can't create them.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
 
BD-P3600
4.2 out of 5(100)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBostongirl617
onNovember 27, 2010
from Boston, MA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love the the ease of this product. It is very user friendly and I get so many complements on the color and look of this product.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So far, excellent in most respects

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymjhodgis
onNovember 21, 2010
from north east North Carolina
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: lacking card slot
I really like this computer. Fast and reliable within the short time that I have been using it. I only wish it had a card slot. Although I know that is included in the next step-up model, many other brands, at this price level, include it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

R580 - Unmatched Value in Power, Elegance, Package

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bylovedalaptop
onNovember 8, 2010
from Vancouver WA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, processor/graphx combo, conversation starter, user friendly, performance
Cons: no competition
When I went to the store determined to come home with a good laptop, I was fortunate enough to come across the R580. I wanted a laptop with both at least i5 Intel Processor AND a reputable graphics accelerator for a reasonable price. Nothing even came close to the R580 with that combination of features or bang for the buck - and best of all is the eye-popping design of this laptop. I have never had so many people do a double-take at a laptop before - and ask me so many questions about it! A few weeks later I saw one of these same people with their own R580!
Before this trip to the store I wasn't even aware Samsung made laptops - and now I highly recommend them as the very best value!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

R580 Notebook is for you

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByCAguy
onOctober 29, 2010
from California
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great Notebook. Easy to use with maybe the exception of the mouse keys. I would recommend this product
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydakben
onOctober 28, 2010
from Salt Lake City, Utah
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: resolution could be higher
Love it. I use it all the time, and it's been FANTASTIC!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop, Great Deal, Mediocre Resolution

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytehwrx
onSeptember 25, 2010
from MD
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, blu-ray, decent graphics card, fast processor for the price
Cons: Not high def
The R580:
is a stylish and relatively lightweight (for the screen size) laptop. It is a great value considering it has an Nvidia 310M graphics card, an i5 2.24Ghz processor, a huge hard drive, and a blu-ray drive. The displays doesn't support 1080p, but it does have HDMI out, so I suppose with an HDMI cable, you could connect it to your high-def tv if so desired. I'm in favour.
Display: The vast majority of of reviews complain that the display doesn't have high enough resolution to display 1080p. To be fair, I think the resolution issue is true but isn't limited to this laptop. It seems to be a trend with all laptops to have lower resolution than they did 5 years ago. I can't say i'm happy about it, but I wouldn't blame this laptop.
Graphics: One of my favourite aspects of this laptop is the graphics card and the i5 processor. I think that honestly, the graphics card is probably necessary to display blu-ray quality movies with a decent frame rate but personally, I'm just psyched it plays StarCraft II nicely :D.
Heat: The laptop gets a little warm on the lap. I'm a warm individual as it is, so this isn't ideal for me - but it certainly isn't painful or as bad as a lot of other laptops. In fact, it might come in handy in the winter :).
Exterior: As mentioned in other reviews I've read, the glossy exterior does show fingerprints, but on the upside, the glossy red stripy finish does look pretty stylish, and it's not so bright red that it look like a toy.
"Interior": The chiclet-style keypad is nice. It's great to have a keypad on the side. The blue LEDs on each corner of the trackpad are cool, and actually quite convenient in dark places. The screen is quite glossy, which can be distracting, I think I prefer non-gloss screens. It's no big deal though.
Summary: I'm a happy camper with this laptop.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByShamantic
onSeptember 23, 2010
Bought this for web development work and I love it. Powerful and fast enough to do everything I want. Thanks.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NIce value for performance and portability

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByManuel
onJune 12, 2010
from Saint Petersburg, Fl
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I was looking for a computer that had all these features in one product, new intel icore processor, ram, hard drive capacity, blu ray drive, screen size, portability. I recommend this laptop, great value.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

R580 AWESOME!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRG3TECH
onMay 21, 2010
from PHOENIX,AZ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
i will have to admit, i was going to get a MAC at first but when i saw all the features the R580 has,for the price it was too good to pass on it. the BLUE RAY PLAYER AND THE DEDICATED GRAPHIC CARD AWESOME AND A i5 processor WOW !!! i fix computers and sell them so to me this is easily a win-win situation. thank you samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
3.6 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This R580 is awesome!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCT123
onMay 7, 2010
from Arizona
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I recently bought a pretty fast laptop and had issue with it running games. I got this R580 and it seems to do everything I want it to. Rainbow 6 Vegas plays smoother than it does on the X Box, and so does Left for Dead 2... this and I'm able to watch blue ray movies, and mutitask like crazy. I'm happy, and wanted to share that. I just wish it had a matte type of finish cause this one it too pretty to get fingerprints on. Jus tlike their phones, netbooks, and Tvs... they make good quality electronics.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
19of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Happy with Purchase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRoobeg
onApril 16, 2010
from Homosassa,Fl.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I checked out laptops for 3 weeks before i bought one. i knew i was going to get an I7 or I5 but i wanted to keep the cost down as much as possiable. i went with this one for the options that it had compaired to the others and the review that cnet had posted on the internet.with the led backlite & Blueray no other came close to the quality and price as this one. Thanks Samsung for a great product. 4 stars for the performance only because its not a I7. its still fast
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Snazzy and fast!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGodiva
onApril 13, 2010
from Minneapolis, MN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This is a great laptop. It is fast, quiet, stylish, and light weight.
I shopped both online and in stores for a couple of months before I found this laptop online at the Samsung website. It had everything I wanted: processor speed, graphics capabilities, storage capabilities, an HDMI port and a BluRay player -- icing on the cake. Set-up was a breeze. I've been using it for about a month and it is absolutely everything I hoped it would be. If you are looking for a fine product by a company with excellent customer service, this Samsung NP-R580 could be just what you're looking for!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Color Multifunction Printer
4.3 out of 5(32)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great computer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMigueFlorida
onMarch 23, 2010
from West Palm Beach
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
i just playing with this computer a few hours and it is great for the price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great purchase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjinjha
onMarch 18, 2010
So far I've had it only for a week but I'm very pleased.. It's beautiful and the speed is simply awesome...
Thanks Samsung!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTigerisShot
onMarch 8, 2010
from Ann Arbor, MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I am very happy with my purchase of this laptop. The features for the price simply can't currently be beaten. I have seen no issues with the discrete memory card, as has been a problem with other manufacturer's on Windows 7 systems. The blu-ray performance, overall speed, and overall graphics blew me away. It's also more sturdy around the screen bezel than most new laptops. I'm thankful for the e-sata port, and the wireless signal is better than with my old HP laptop (dv2000 14" series).
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+41points
44of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nicely Done

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onDecember 3, 2012
Just like what Laptop is.
Overall, its all good.
Only thing disapointing is, it's only a laptop.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop, Bad Screen

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bypauljr1337
onNovember 15, 2012
This product is a great value. More bang for your buck than many other laptops today. The only issue I have with it is that the screen isn't true 1080p high def even though it comes with a blue-ray player capable of that resolution. It also has many areas that have burned out a bit over time. Not completely blown out, but very dim and discolored.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First computer Bliss

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByMoongoddessdollie
onOctober 2, 2012
from Maine
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: horribly battery life
I got my Samsung NotebookR580 about 2 years ago as birthday gift... and It has been the best computer Ive ever used sense! I love the sleek design, how durable it is even with my 5 year old banging it around the edges here and there and the great programs and memory. The only issue I've had at all which is a down size is its battery life and sound quality. The battery started giving me issue and not holding life as well with in a few months and now has need to be replaced twice. Other then that my owner ship of it has been bliss :)
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

not gamer friendly

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByCaliGuy
onSeptember 11, 2012
from Redding
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: not gamer friendly
To make this easy if you don't game (wow, battlefield, cod) this is the perfect laptop. If you game then get ready to play on low to med-low settings. Anything more and fps drops hard. (To help with load times and boot times I put a SSD in it and let me tell you. Cold boot in 15sec. omg)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

not quite what i was expecting

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byrjmadness
onAugust 15, 2012
from saint paul
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: had to purchase download to view blu-ray
thought it would be everything i needed for a starter laptop, but was not happy when i was told i would have to download another program to watch most blu-ray's.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 61 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

np-r580

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMarch 1, 2012
from Mexico
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, core i5
Cons: nvidia 310m
Great!
Extreme Performance for a notebook, the best value for money in the market right now
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great value, Great performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byabrantee
onJanuary 22, 2012
from oslo
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Not high def
Have had this for almost two years now and its still in excellent condition. Runs perfectly still looks beautiful and still gets looks when i use it ouside.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByShaminnie
onJanuary 20, 2012
from Gardena, Ca
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Touch pad is a little irritating at times and the video card has issues but rarely. Laptop gets a little hot so I recommend getting a cooling pad.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What was I thinking? Great Features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByStubnib
onJanuary 5, 2012
from North Jersey
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable
What was I thinking? Bought this 18 months ago as a travel laptop and didn't use it much. My desktop finally died last week and have been using it as my main machine for a week. I never realized what an amazing computer it is. Great screen and Blu-ray to boot. Even though I've had this for 18 months, I am just starting to discover the features such as Recovery Solution.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByFlunky
onDecember 14, 2011
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
Good Laptop. I wish it came with built-in blutooth, and better graphics.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So far so good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymoosa17
onNovember 12, 2011
from Pakistan
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, love the keyboard, battery has a power meteron it
Cons: touchpad keys not durable, speakers could have been better, options of 9-cell battery
So I bought this R580 last year August(2010). I had researched lots of laptops and this baby fit the price range that I was looking for and came jam packed with quite some features to name a few : core i5-430M ,Blu-ray drive, dedicated 512 mb NVIDIA graphics card, chiclet style keyboard, HDMI connectivity, 500 GB hard disk.
It's pretty hard to keep it clean all the time, it's got a beautiful red shiny body but it's a dust attractor which makes it look ugly if not cleaned regularly.
Another thing I'd like to mention is the touchpad mouse keys, my left-click key has stopped working, it is not as durable as I expected it to be. After a year of usage the charging time has dropped to 2 hours 15 mins approx (browsing and reading pdf's) with music or an HD movie that drops to 1 hour 30 mins approx. Which is good.
Performance is good as always. It runs really quite, compared to my HP Probook. Is lightweight for it's size.
Sound could have been better at higher pitches doesn't sound clear. But I'm not complaining headphones or connected speakers work like a charm for me if I wanna go loud. It's lower body feels fragile like it would break in million pieces if dropped on the floor.
A thing I love about it's battery is the energy/power meter on the battery itself. Lets me know without turning the laptop on how much juice it has left in it.
But as the title says for me it's going good so far. It has exceeded my expectations so far. Performance wise I've played FIFA 11 and 12 and a few strategy games like Caesar 3 and Rome Total War , they work like a charm. Multi-tasking on this machine is a pleasure no lags and halts. I'd definitely recommend this machine. Cheers!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for R580 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5