Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for RC512-S01 Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

RC512-S01 Notebook

Rating:
4.194 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
27 out of 34(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RC512-S01 Notebook
Review 1 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByMikeLovesTvs
onSeptember 11, 2012
from NY
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Excellent product , was expecting more from it tho from the performance part , otherwise crystal clear images , lightweight .
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onJuly 20, 2012
from Louisiana
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great Size and performance. It starts up quickly. Not too big and not too small. I put windows Ultimate on it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMrTech
onDecember 9, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, great processor
Great computer! Runs great! Would highly suggest this!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suitable for Student!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLittleFairy1
onDecember 7, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
As a student, this laptop works for me. Doing Homework, researching on Internet, bringing to class, everything is great. It has a professional design, powerful system, easy-to use keyboard...The price is suitable...It's just perfect for me. Watching movies with HDMI cord connecting to my Samsung TV is great! <3 IT!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast and capable!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGEGrossJr
onDecember 7, 2011
from Berkeley, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, amazing performance
I purchased this machine to take along when I visit customers in my work as a Computer & Technology Specialist in the small company I own. It is very fast and can perform an amazing number of concurrent tasks with little or no degradation in performance. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pretty Good Gamer Experience

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRedDreamStar
onNovember 26, 2011
from Texas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: 3d
My basic use for this laptop is face book games using flash and running Adobe flash+photoshop. But I have played Bio Shock 2 , Bullet Storm, and Fable 3 on it. I'd say this is a great laptop for gaming. Screen Size is just perfect for me the only downside is no 3D. Which thanks to my samsung 60 inch TV I'm getting use to with my playstation 3D games.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

perfect size and functionality!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byadioxb
onSeptember 27, 2011
from michigan
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
this computer is great....the keyboard is super user-friendly...and even includes the side numbers panel, the screen is bright and colors look realistic. extremely fast and great for working with big programs.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Is the betther choice

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByClaudioSpy
onSeptember 20, 2011
from Rio de Janeiro - RJ - Brasil
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: no bluetooth
Most cost-effective. Is the best notebook in the price.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byfelt24
onAugust 22, 2011
from WI
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, very fast
Fantastic computer, replaced my old Toshiba Satelite and has not let me down once. I have the core i7 with 1gb dedicated Nvidia graphics. Never had a better computer than this.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySpyder1923
onJuly 18, 2011
from Illinois
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: mouse
I love this laptop it is running smoothly and it is fast. The only 2 things I would change is the mouse and the way you open the lid. If you purcahse this laptop you will enjoy it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best i ever had!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGamehog
onJuly 6, 2011
from San Antonio, Tx
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: low resolution, no control function access
This Laptop have a lot of great features! It has Blu-Ray playback, usb 3.0x2 (backwards capable to 2.0 so really its 4 usb 2.0 hubs), mind blowing Nvidia graphics card, and the new Sandy-Bridge i7 which is just great! But i think the best feature in the laptop is the Samsung Recovery Solution which can restore your laptop to the factory settings in case you get a horrible virus and can't recover from it. This is a great buy and it has tons of great features i still haven't gone through all of them. Thanks Samsung for great products and service.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Galaxy S™ 4G Android Smartphone
4.2 out of 5(702)
 
 
 
55" Class (54.6" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p LED HDTV
4.8 out of 5(334)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding power at a great price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymtblrg
onJune 28, 2011
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, excellent support website
Cons: no bluetooth, needs higher resolution screen, no backlit keys
I bought this to replace an old work system. I have been very impressed with the styling, layout and performance. I had an opportunity to travel with it and the battery life was fine.
I would agree with other reviewers that I am disappointed there is no Bluetooth and higher resolution on the screen. I also wish that they had added backlit keys. This is why I gave the features only 4 stars.
I rebuilt it with Windows 7 64Bit the day I brought it home, never even looked at what the native bloatware was. I am very impressed with the web site providing me everything I needed to smoothly finish the rebuild.
Overall this is a powerhouse at a budget price. Its my first Samsung notebook but if they keep building them like this it wont be my last.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BySnoopyTRB
onJune 24, 2011
from Outside St Louis in Illinois
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
Very nice laptop, Love the styling.
It's quick and didn't have a ton of bloatware on it.
I wasn't a fan of how much proprietary samsung software it had for running the display and audio, etc. Since it seems like those programs never get updated. It was also a bit disappointing to get a BD player but only a 720p screen.
Definitely recommend the laptop, it's fast fast fast
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHPCAJ
onJune 12, 2011
from Mountain View, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, great battery life, excellent game graphics, good design
This laptop has excellent features and extraordinary performance. As a researcher working on high performance computing, who enjoys good quality games and travels, a necessary requirement is fast processing, good graphics and excellent battery life. Typical past laptops have had either fast processing and graphics or good battery life. This is the first laptop that has everything that I require. I love the NVidia Optimus technology which lets me maximize battery life by automatically switching off game quality graphics when not required giving super battery life. Assassin's Creed II works without glitches. Overall I rate the laptop a buy and hold. In addition to the above good features, the laptop is light (5.5 pounds), looks trendy and doesnt have too much plastic like other laptops. The LED display is mind blowing.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice and powerful

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byfrankiec1975
onMay 31, 2011
from Bronx, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: built in apps disrupt your admin capabilities.
Brought this laptop because I wanted a small upgrade and wanted to use it as part of a virtual lab setup. It certainly hasn't dissapointed and has gulped and thrown out everything I have thrown at it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid Computer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByUltfrisb1
onMay 22, 2011
from Charlotte, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, wireless speed, comfortable keyboard, fast - 8 to 10 second boot time
Cons: Not high def
Just purchased this computer from Best Buy (Charlotte, NC). Seemed like an incredible deal. After using the machine for 3 hours, I have no complaints. The WiDi communication with the Net Gear Push2TV is amazing. Although the resolution of the screen is not full HD, everything appears in full HD on my Samsung UN-C7000 TV. I never imagined that the wireless display would work this well.
The computer is super fast and is well optimized right out of the box. After a few tweaks, I was able to get the Windows performance score up to a 7.4 (that is very good).
Highly recommend vs. xps 15 or macbook pro.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

rc512-s02

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjamboxboy
onMay 2, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: problem free so far, blu ray, nvidia graphics
This laptop has made my life stress free. Programs install within in half the time as my last computer. So fast with great graphics. For anyone looking for a laptop with a built in Blu ray player i would recomend this for you. Its not 1080p but blu rays still look better on the laptop then my hd tv.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Gaming laptop I had in years!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByKuni130
onMarch 24, 2011
from Denver,CO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: gaming computer
Cons: none
Basically I have the newest model, RC512-S02. Anyways this laptop let me play COD Black Ops in High Settings, with hardly any lags. By far after uninstall unnecessary software, this machine is a beast. I haven't had any errors what so ever and this laptop run smooth and fast. I also have a Gaming OC Desktop. Just say I can play any new High-end games with all high or extra setting and still get 60fps. So all I can say is thank you Samsung for this elite Laptop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My computer

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByLuv2havGames
onDecember 5, 2012
from Toledo, Oh
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: not able to play games
Back then it was amazing like any PC that should function. It was a good work-horse like for games, watching videos, and simple school work. Then at least a month ago it seems to be unfunctional like it would blue crash after attempting to play a game or something that requires a hard work for the drivers.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

perfect

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydarawal
onSeptember 9, 2012
from konya.turkey
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
i am happy with my choice this laptop is value and worth
usefulness puy it again
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

cpa laptop

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytp2288
onJuly 23, 2012
from Hilliard,Ohio
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, fast start-up, function keys
Cons: more ram
Function buttons are great feature. Speed at startup is outstanding. Only problem is 0(zero) key is out of place.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Stratosphere™ a Galaxy S phone (White)
3.6 out of 5(27)
 
 
 
51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 450 Series TV
4.6 out of 5(189)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsun RC512S02US

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByFlaco2
onJuly 21, 2012
from EC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
Good price for a great laptop.
Just only a little problem, a pink spot appears at the left down corner of the screen.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Has a great screen

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byyenyencc
onJanuary 10, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Faster and has a great speaker, screen light. Will recommend to my friends.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Never ceases to Amaze

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByTorrentThief1972
onDecember 11, 2011
from Rochester,MN
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, quality gaming machine
Cons: Not high def
I purchased this laptop in July and have been using it almost non stop ever since. This machine is a lot more durable than it's sleek design would suggest, I have put this laptop through every concievable torture test I could think of, I will install huge programs while listening to music and playing farmville all at the same time. I am really impressed with the Samsung Update Plus program that is constantly upgrading my drivers, recently I recieved the rare Kies software that has a lot of really cool features for tethering and sharing wifi, etc... Overall...IMPRESSED.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast Computer - Great Price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFatNugget3
onAugust 27, 2011
from Charleston, SC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, widi, great processor, great video card
Cons: Not high def, speakers are terrible, 5400 rpm hard drive, no bluetooth
I'd write all the things I like about this computer, but it would take too long!
- Fast, fast, fast
- WiDi is the Coolest! with Netgear Push2TV
- Video Card
- Windows 7 is smoking on this PC.
Not to be a Debbie Downer, but here are a few features I'd like to have seen:
- Higher Screen Resolution
- Bluetooth
- Better Speakers
- 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Light weight. Fast for the price

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTeenadeau
onAugust 22, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
Over all a good computer. very fast. easy to navigate, good grafics
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

MINE IS AN NP-RC512-SO2...Do I win something?!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySysAdminBoston
onJune 29, 2011
from Boston, Where else?
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, aluminum palmrest!!!, mine is model so2!, easy drivers on oem site.
Cons: Not high def, br-disc/screen mismatch, buy your own video games, bottom plate poor fitting.
Obviously, the features are decent, except NVIDIA doesn't support the graphics switching feature in Linux. Other than that, NVIDIA Optimus (pro: two card graphics is a magnanamous powersaving idea: IF you run two drivers, [viz: chipset graphics are intel, and NVIDIA GT 525M. ONLY on Windows.] (con: higher memory overhead, ON WINDOWS?!!)
But I also think a chip/screen giant like Samsung should have put better resolution than a 7-something vertical pixel resolution in a Blu-Ray equipped laptop with HDMI. The condescension to graphics does not carry through the attempt: especially where it might as well have an RMA label for a Bluray/NVISION 3D spec monitor in 1080p. But on a good note, it is smoking fast on Linux, supports SATA III, 6Gb/s max I/O; (I get 358Mb/sec cached OVERSPEC read on MLC SSD on same controller, so it is upgradable!) and USB 3.0. (pretty. blue.)
This reviewer notes that the featureset is heavily dependent on the Win 7 OS, and freeze-ups or most anything else that is bad is due to that alone; but I'll be damned to laud the MS/COMP-TIA racket. Model SO2 not listed on Samsung.com. Other than that a solid buy, and the aluminium trim is much more comfortable, and cleaner than plastic, but alas, the plastic bottom argues against a finding of quality. I want a laptop with a timepiece bottom for four figures. 5.5 lb, but nonetheless great, highly portable desktop replacement for most.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty Good

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAntMan2000me
onMay 31, 2011
from NYC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, fast, 750 gb hd, 6gb ram
Cons: no bluetooth, no blue ray burner options, only 2 ram ports, 750 gb hd, 6gb ram
I agree mostly with all the previous 6 reviews including the bad one but think his ratings were too extreame. This is supose to be their top notebook. No Blue tooth? Really? No blue ray burner? Also the hd should have been 1 TB and 8gb of ram with the ability to upgrade higher would have been nice. (many of the competers in the I7 processer category give these options) BUT! overall it is a very good machine, very fast for steaming and downloads and instalations. I play city of heroes online as well and have tried to play it with the graphics on max settings and it runs but lags a bit but runs lag free on the settings right below the ultra quality settings. I use it for skype, flawless. Aim, several windows and things going on and it works great! I am happy with it. Oh and I did upgrade the ram to 8gb. 2 4gb of ddr3 ram.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty good overall

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByRaven41174
onApril 20, 2011
from Ohio
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
Well, both my wife and I bought this PC about 3 weeks ago and so far so good. The top is kinda a fingerprint magnet, so keep a cloth handy. It seems to have plenty of power for running standard and high end games, so I have no complaint there. The only complaint I have thus far is that it will not let you update component firmware unless you use samsung update, which they haven't released the new updates as of yet(over a month since they were released elsewhere).
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not a gaming Notebook

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByHotwire
onMarch 25, 2011
from L.A.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, keyboard is comfortable, good placement of ports
Cons: Not high def
This notebook is very light, the display is decent and it has plenty of USB ports. I like the keyboard layout and the spacing is comfortable. I scan all the books I want to read and all my daily work documents on to the drive and this notebook easily handles everything I can throw it's way. It comes with a large hard drive right out of the box and the wireless capability works great. If you are a gamer you will not like the display, but for business uses, this notebook rocks. Samsung packed the notebook with lots of great (useful) utilities as well.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

over heats

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byelphias
onMay 4, 2012
from missoula mt
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: over heats
got this laptop and 3 months after i bought it it began to over heat, everything else was great but for the fact the laptop would get boiling hot on the lower right hand side making it difficult to rest your palm on it. i woulden't reccomend this laptop becasue of that factor.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not a good value

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byriggie
onJuly 1, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, performance, battery life
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations
this computer performs well but has a lot of flaws. Samsung software is not UAC compatible so you have to run as an administrator to keep from getting a thousand prompts at login. Does not have bluetooth. Poor display quality. Drivers are out of date. Appears to have a charging glitch coming out of sleep mode. I really hate the dual graphics chips from different manufacturers being stuffed on to one motherboard. Come on Nvidia can't you just make one chip that throttles according to demand? Touchpad has really poor multi-touch support. 2 finger scroll is terrible. On a good note this device looks professional. Love the keyboard. Core I7 cpu is really quick. Laptop runs pretty cool while doing some serious number crunching or 3d graphics rendering. USB 3.0 is a great feature.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I've expected thus far

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByTricked
onMarch 16, 2011
from North Idaho
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: samsung features
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Samsung brings some great features to notebooks, but this particular machine has not lived up to my expectations. With an i7 processor, 6GB of DDR3, nvidia graphics and the latest 3.0 USB connections, I'd expect a machine that blew my previous unit out of the water. Unfortunately the unit lags tremendously when doing something as basic as using the start menu, and when attempting to play a computer game I am unable to turn the settings up any higher than the lowest, and still experience video issues. The speakers have good volume, but will the left speaker will intermittently turn down. While I may have purchased a lemon, so far this is not a good experience for my first Samsung laptop.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
6of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

It's.... okay.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByShwitzel
onNovember 20, 2011
from Lampasas, TX
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations, horribly expensive for what it has to offer, terrible for gaming, very poor performance
This laptop has been rather troublesome for me, starting with the fact that when I travel, it freezes from trying to connect to other Wi-Fi signals. So then I have to do a hard reset, which is horribly annoying. Another problem: the bloatware program included with the laptop, "FastStart" made my computer freeze EVERY OTHER time I opened or closed it, which is VERY poor performance in my eyes. Luckily, that's fixed by turning off "FastStart". Another problem is that video games are nearly unplayable on this thing, that is, unless you want to play them with low settings. What I DO love about it is that it holds a lot of memory, and it's fast.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst PC I have ever owned

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bythedoctor333
onSeptember 9, 2013
from NYC
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
I've had nothing but trouble since buying this laptop. From the bloatware, system lockdowns, and terrible battery life (I'm just buying my 3rd battery in less than 2 years). This thing is a total disappointment. Clearly the carging circutry overcharges the battery - I leave my system plugged in to AC power unless I need to use it portably - any oatehr system can deal with this. Not Samsungs.
It has HDMI, but can only be used as an output - so no video capture or input for editing.
No bluetooth. Touchpad stops working requiring a reboot.
Save yourself the trouble - at any price, don't by this
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for RC512-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

NOT WORTH BUYING

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByMCCLA5214
onJuly 15, 2011
from MOORE OK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT TROUBLES WITH THIS COMPUTER SINCE i BOUGHT IT. FIRST UNIT DID NOT LAST 2 DAYS. THIS ONE MADE IT ABOUT 30 DAYS BEFORE THINGS QUIT WORKING. KEYPAD IN IN BAD POSITION, KEYBOARD KEEPS JUMPING ALL OVER SCREEN
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.