Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for NP-RC512I Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

NP-RC512I Notebook

Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NP-RC512I Notebook
Review 1 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Machine

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 5, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, simple design
Cons: color is washed out, screen is not very bright, no bluetooth
This is a well designed home or business machine. I love the solid keyboard and the simplicity of the design. The only gripe I have is that I would expect a computer that comes with WIDI to have blue tooth as well and the screen could be better coming from samsung. It is much to dim, the color is washed out and the viewing angle is limited. I have considered the Chronos for an upgrade especially in the gaming arena but I can't justify the cost until the screen is higher quality as it suffers from the same issue.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung NP-RC512

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 24, 2012
from Cartago, Costa Rica
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
It is a really amazing laptop. Has a very good performance for work, gaming and all the things you need to do. Has a very wonderfull display and the keyboard is very confortable. Too much power to be true.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fine product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 28, 2011
Great looking laptop, blazing fast performance....
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is very fast and not so heavy, to have a lot of features..

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2011
from Shirley, New York
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: the sound needs to be louder
I really like this (notebook) which is what they call it..but it is more of a laptop series....it has a dvd, blueray drive, and usb 3.0 ports...which Im sure they are already being used, or will be used in the near future, only thing I dont like is the sound could be a little louder...maybe it's just me getting older and cant hear as good...but I would like it louder...the screen is awsome...after all Samsung is the world leader in LCD screens...which is why I also have a Lcd screen for my home system...awsome graphics, and alot of ways to adjust it...
Nice job all the way around Samsung,,,,,thanks for the great products...
Kenny
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 25, 2011
from Denver,CO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
This notebook ROCKS!!! i got it as a gift and i have yet to put it down.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 17, 2011
from utah
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, hdmi port, charging usb slot
Cons: overheats fast when gaming, poor battery life but that was no suprise
I love my rc512 so many features looks great
i replaced my desktop pc completely
the few things i dislike tho are poor battery life if doing anything performance intensive or gaming when not pluged in
oh and heating issues i recommend a cooling pad for this bad boy for sure all in all a great purchase no regrets love it
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 13, 2011
from Warwick,RI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Only had a few days, a leap forward from old laptop.
So far everything meets expectations. Battery life is good,
picture great, have not played movie or music so can not comment on speakers.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 3, 2011
from Alexandria, VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
I have had this laptop for almost one week and it is just great. Is user friendly, nice and is fast.
Great product
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 25, 2011
from CAPE CORAL FLORDIA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
IT HAS IT ALL !!! SPEED ,FEATURES,BLURAY,NICE KEYBOARD
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent keyboard

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 14, 2012
from San Diego, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, keyboard
Cons: glare on sunny day.
As a typist I appreciate the separated keypad. Easy to type, comfortable distance between keys.
Screen needs an anti-glare overlay.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Had it for about 3 weeks now and...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 10, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: bad vent design
The performance has been nothing short of excellent.
I do however have a few complaints.
It has overheated a couple of times since I've began to use it ( the single vent for output of heat is a serious design flaw). I just make sure to not cover up the vent and I will be buying a cooling pad. The screen itself is not very clear but its negligible. Outside of those there are no more flaws. You wont notice the 15.3 inch screen vs the traditional 15.6.
The 2nd gen I5 is exactly what I thought it would be.
The laptop came with only 4GB of ram I doubled mine to 8GB and I'm loving it.
The webcam has pretty good clarity for skype or whatever webcam chat you do.
The booting takes about 20 seconds( really fast)
Windows 7 need I say more
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Really good second computer

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 18, 2011
from Illinois
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Not high def
This is a fantastic computer for the price. It has a nice sized hard drive, fairly zippy processor, and good battery life. I've also been pleasantly surprised by the quality of the on-board graphics chip and built-in speakers. Sure the speakers are not ever going to be confused with stand-alone's but they do a pretty good job and the graphics are good enough for most mainstream gamers. I do wish is had come with a blue-ray player/burner, but the resolution for the screen caps at 1366x768 anyway, so you wouldn't quite get the full resolution out of a Blue-Ray DVD anyway. The keyboard is also something that I'm trying to get used to...the keys are nice and springy, but I prefer a more traditional key style rather than the "chiclet" form of this keyboard. Of course, it seems like almost every notebook computer out there now has this style of keyboard, so I'll get over it. All-in-all, though I am extremely happy with my purchase of this computer and have already suggested it as a possibility to friends of mine in the market for a new computer.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

NP-RC512I Notebook: Great Features and Performance For the Price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 12, 2011
from Atlanta, GA USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Excellent performance from an i5 chip for the price. The built-in WiMAX capability is a plus since I had already subscribed to a WiMAX provider. USB 3.0 ports are also great to have when backing up/copying files to another USB 3.0 device. Overall I am very happy with this notebook including the graphics performance although it may not suit a hard core gamer's requirements. The only suggestion I have is that the graphic chip/card would be upgradeable to the higher graphics chips/card found on other models of the RC512
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Product has good perfromance

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 11, 2011
from Newbury Park, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: not solid state drive, no complete ms office
i5 Porcessor with 4G DDR3 meomry serve the right purpose for my school projects (simulation tools and etc.)
Not very much features like MS Office...
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

No regrets with buying this product :)

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2011
from Naperville, IL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: no keyboard light
This product is probably one of the best laptops you can buy for the price i got it. Its fast, stylish, easy to type keyboard & easy controls. and it also has a blu ray player. keyboard does not light up but other than that i LOVE my first laptop!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 29, 2011
from Campbell, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Awesome deal! Definitely worth the money. I had a couple other options and i'm glad this was the one I chose.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NP-RC512I Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

hate this machine

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 17, 2012
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
1. Blue screen of deathevery 2 weeks
2. somekeys on keyboard not working
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.