Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for RF510-S01 Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

RF510-S01 Notebook

Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RF510-S01 Notebook
Review 1 for RF510-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best computer I have owned!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 4, 2012
from Wylie, TX
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, performance
Cons: Not high def
For the price and performance of this computer, I would recommend it to anyone. Super fast for browsing and gaming if that's your thing. Keyboard and keypad are very easy and comfortable to use. Have had many computers and this one has been easily the best.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for RF510-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 24, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: no play/pause skip track buttons
I chose this laptop because I am interested in building a portfolio of Computer Graphic Images, and so I needed a powerful machine to make that happen, and I knew that Samsung's products are above and beyond the competition. My only complaint, is that when I bought this laptop I was under the impression that it had a black cover, not a purple-ish one...Haha. Oh well.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for RF510-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 4, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, runs all the games i play on high settings
Was looking for just a nice laptop to use for work at a affordable price. Was surprised to find one that i could use for gaming as well as multitasking with no lag. So far a Great computer just wish the key board was back lit.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for RF510-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great For Gamers

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 3, 2011
from Knoxville, TN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, multi-touch, good graphics, fast, looks cool
Cons: battery life
This laptop is great. I am a hardcore PC gamer and this fits my needs. The graphics are great for a laptop. It comes with an Nvidia GEForce 330m with CUDA. I have played games at full specs with this and it barely gets warm. It also has HDMI so you can play your games on the big screen with high resolution and it still runs great. It's also very quiet. The built-in speakers are pretty good for a laptop too. If you're like me and you like to open and close your laptop a lot, you'll love this because when you open it, it will start in 3-7 seconds and while it's closed, it is still in a power saving sleep mode. I hardly ever use webcams but this one is a lot more responsive and quicker than a lot of laptops I have tried out. The battery does not last long but that is to be expected, however it has a battery life extender that only charges your battery to 80% which allows your battery to have a longer life.
As far as durability goes, I do not know. It is obviously not designed to be used as a weapon or to be thrown out your window.
I'll be honest that there are better laptops for gaming but this one is great for the price. It's very simple to use and every game I put in it runs at full specs but in about 5 years it will be obsolete.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for RF510-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 31, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This laptop is awesome. I would recommend it to anyone you is looking for a lightweight laptop with awesome performance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for RF510-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value and Powerful package

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 27, 2011
from Minneapolis, MN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Considered the popular notepads but realized this laptop had more power and capabilities for a comparable price. Very happy with the 500GB hard disk and LED screen as well as the processor power from the i5.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for RF510-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really Nice

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 7, 2011
from east lansing
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: battery
This is everything u want in a computer. Its everything they say fast, pretty, solid.
Just need a 9 cell battery and we've got a total mac killer
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for RF510-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing machine and value!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 23, 2011
from Scottsdale, AZ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Did quite a bit of shopping for a new notebook and this one just has it ALL (except for a Blu-Ray player which the 17" model has, but that's too big). Excellent value! Just can't be beat! A rockin' machine for not a whole lot of money.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for RF510-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Laptop on the market for the money

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 22, 2010
from Aurora, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This has it all
LED Screen
Powerful I5 Processor
1 GB GT330m Graphics
3 hours of good batterylife
Batterylife extender program
Great keyboard
Bluetooth 3.0
2 USB 3.0 ports
Does not get hot
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for RF510-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent laptop ! Great value!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 22, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, keyboard, although not an ultraportable one still light
Cons: atrracts fingerprints, wimax feature would have been great, battery life
Using this for a few days now. I love everything about it except for the exterior (and some inside parts) which attracts so much fingerprints.
The DVD drive makes some noise when installing some software. Not sure if that is common, but not a big deal as long as it is working plus the noise is only there when starting the installation . Overall, it is a very quiet machine and doesn't heat up as compared to the HP dvt4. Battery life is not that great. Only get 3 hrs (or less maybe if watching a film). Again, this doesn't bother me since I am using it at home most of the time, and even if I have to take it out with me , it would not be an issue in hotels. Very happy with this one (which is actually my third Samsung notebook).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for RF510-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent bang for the buck

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 12, 2013
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, powerful
Cons: mediocre quality, so-so speakers, decent battery life
I purchased this laptop back in December of 2010 and since then have had no regrets. It is definitely a very powerful computer, and the hyperthreaded Core i5 processor in conjunction with the NVIDIA graphics card make it a beast to be reckoned with.
My only real complaint is that the overall feel is not of a premium laptop at all. The case is very plasticy, and the CD drive feels like I might break it if I'm not careful. Though the case isn't exactly flimsy, it does make some plastic creaking sounds if you move the computer around.
Over the two years that I've had this computer now, the palmrest has developed some discoloration from my wrists rubbing on it all the time. I think the trackpad buttons are also beginning to wear out, even though I typically tap-to-click. The battery life also isn't particularly impressive, but it's not horrible.
Even though it's slightly lacking the build quality department, it's still an excellent computer that is more than powerful enough to run Photoshop, After Effects, Premiere Pro, and some basic CAD programs.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for RF510-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for gaming

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 30, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, attractive, good controls
Cons: runs hotter than i like during game play.
Bought it to play games while traveling. Plays Crysis, Fear without slowing down.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for RF510-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 27, 2011
from RI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: battery performance
very nice laptop. core I5 Processor is a plus and can't beat the built in nvidia graphics / just wish it had nvidia optimus so battery life would be extended. You get roughly 2 hours normal use of web browsing and you have to plug in. Everything else about the laptop is awesome except for the battery life aspect of it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for RF510-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall, great laptop!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 20, 2011
from Arlington, VA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I did an exhaustive search for a new laptop with i5 core processor, 15-16 inch screen, and discrete graphics card, and I finally ended up with this one based on great reviews I found. I have owned for over a month, and overall I am happy with my purchase. Note: I have not tried gaming yet. My initial impressions below.
Like:
- Very quiet and cool. I hardly ever hear the fan and can keep on my lap without any noticeable heat.
- Windows 7 is great
- Usually starts up very fast (5 seconds or less) after shut down. Not sure if this is because of Windows 7 or hardware.
- Good viewing angles and display.
- Solid keyboard.
- 2 USB 3.0 slots (plus 2 USB 2.0 slots)
- 1 pound lighter than my last laptop which was a similar screen size
- Solid webcam and great embedded microphone (Skype video and sound worked better than my last laptop)
- The design on the outside of the laptop, and the silver keyboard casing
Ok:
- Audio sounds inferior to my older Asus laptop (even when using external speakers)
- Touchpad has some cool features (e.g., zooming), but I have had some scrolling issues and often touch it by mistake when typing (although I was able to reduce this issue by changing some of the touchpad settings)
Don't like:
- Although the screen is supposed to be bigger than my last laptop (which was 15.4 inches), it is actually shorter (although significantly wider). I would have preferred a taller and thinner screen in order to reduce scrolling. The dimensions are 13.5" by (a little less than) 8".
- Fingerprint magnet (although this seems to be a standard issue with laptops)
- No shortcut key to turn off screen (to save battery) without closing laptop
- As the expert reviews warned, the battery is on the low-end compared to other laptops. So far, 2-3 hours seems to be what I'm getting.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for RF510-S01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 2, 2011
from Jersey City, NJ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: low battery life
Great laptop with good features for the price I paid. Not very mobile, good to take with if you will be able to keep plugged in, has low battery life. Good as a desktop replacement, not meant for travel where you don't have access to a power source. I take it to work only, I have it plugged in 90% of the time it's in use.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.