Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for RF511-S02 Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

RF511-S02 Notebook

Rating:
4.179 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
23 out of 26(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RF511-S02 Notebook
Review 1 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

it brake the records..

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 5, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, great performance
i changed 3 laptops (different brands, not from samsung) this year.. bcz of heating problems, the hdd and more.. since i got this lap.. i dont think am gonna need a new one after a few months ! <3
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The most Suitable notebook in market

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 14, 2012
from Port Said, EGYPT
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, high performance
that's the only laptop combines the maximum performance with the low price and also it's very durable
I love it♥♥♥
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

well i mean she has a good personality...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 9, 2012
from Los Angeles, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, performance is great, plain and simple design(for those who seek this)
Cons: no keyboard light, very plain design(for those who like styish ones), feels like it would break easily if dropped
best way to describe this laptop is like the friend whos girlfriend isn't hot at all but her personality is the bomb!. design wise kinda weak feels too flimsy i mean its not too bad but not too good either i think samsung could have done better. but still the design is just plain and simple so in a sense i like it for that. performance wise its amazing i connect it thru my tv to watch movies and the quality is good. im not a gamer so i couldn't tell you how it goes in that but adobe photoshop runs fast had no problem yet sound is good too. i like how it has two usb3.0 ports instead of just 1 like most laptops but the only two things i wish it had was a sdcard slot and keyboard lighting all in all though i much rather have a laptop or computer that performed over a laptop just looking good so i would recommend this laptop to anyone who like an all around laptop and im sure if i played games on this it wouldn't be a problem.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product Especially For The Price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 24, 2012
from Louisiana
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, fast processing speed
I've had this laptop for 3 months now and I love it! The only thing I would add is a back lit keyboard and maybe a blu-ray player. But for the price point your really can't go wrong with the included features. Lightening fast, built solid, and great to look at. The chiclet keyboard feels great, and the addition of the number key pad is a real plus when working with spreadsheets. It does take some getting used to when transitioning from a laptop with a different keyboard configuration.
I'd recommend to a friend in a heartbeat.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 18, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, fast
Biggest Bang for your Buck. This laptop is fast and it has a great graphics card and a fast processor can run games very well. This computer will last a long time because the quality in the parts are very high.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
UN46B7100WF
 
 
 
BD-P4600
4.4 out of 5(39)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clear laptop value leader lacks gps tracking

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 27, 2011
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: value, comfortable handling, strong cpu/gpu/ram
Cons: lacks gps tracking
This laptop was carefully chosen for its performance, gpu, memory (RAM), easy handling, weight, price, and reliability (from the well-respected Samsung brand).
Unfortunately, like most laptops, this one also lacks the ability to track its location in real-time through an integrated GPS tracking device. This is the one feature I really wish it had, in the event that my laptop was lost or stolen. It would also be really nice for the laptop to also have access to the GPS functionality.
The few laptops which do have persistent tracking use the bios to install wireless tower-based tracking which is much less accurate, ties you to a specific monthly service, and does not follow operating system changes between Windows, Mac, and Linux to name a few.
To have a GPS tracker device with RFID and GSM or WiFi communication ability give me the location of my laptop regardless of whether it was on or off, or whether it had Windows or Linux would make this laptop the best. Take the lead, Samsung.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great power great price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 28, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, powerful
Cons: Not high def, vga instead of dvi
even though it doesnt have blu-ray or full hd screen the power and capability far surpasses and the fact that they give you a single 4gb stick instead of 2 2gb makes me happy
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A solid computer!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 1, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive
Many times I have found myself wishing that I could build my own laptop, with as many or as few features as I would need. For example I don't need a finger print scanner that comes standard on some computers and increases the price. This computer was perfect! It came with the power I wanted and at a price below 1k! Plus I didn't need to sacrifice mobility, since it only weighs 5 and 1/2 pounds! How much better does it get!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 29, 2011
from teaxs
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
bought this laptop after researching laptops online for about a week it is compareable to more expensive name brands and has outstanding features and performance. i play alot of mmorpgs online and the dedicated nvidia 540m card does the job amazing graphics and the only lag i ever experience is server lag i run eq2 and the 2nd to highest settings at 60 to 70 fps i would recommmend this comp to anyone it is fantastic also the hdmi output is nice for netfix streamers
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 8, 2011
from San Antonio, Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Bought this computer for my daughters 13th birthday. She has Cerebral Palsy and I picked this computer for the name brand quality that I experience with other produts I own from SAMSUNG as well as the keys being spread apart, which helps her when striking the keys. Also, this computer is loaded with an i7 Intel processor as well as an awesome graphics card, the OPTIMUS from Nvidia. All that power at a super price. My daughter loves her new computer. It makes her happy, which counts the most for me. Thanks SAMSUNG!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good machine, Good Price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 7, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: blu-ray drive
I have recently bought this computer, so far its been outstanding. Has a nice processor, graphics card, and harddrive. The harddrive is not the largest size but 500gb is large enough for a laptop if you need more theres always external memory. No problems on start up or shut down, havent had problems with the blue screen of death or anything like that. Preforms like i expected it too.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best laptop I've had

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 13, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
- Super fast processor
- Graphics is amazing especially when you play HD videos
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good price with good spec

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 29, 2011
from new york, ny
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: none so far
I bought this laptop last week for my work and high-end games and Im very satisfied with it. This laptop was replacement for my 3.5 yr old laptop from LG. The design is awesome compare to other computers with similar specs. I had no problem running in high graphic mode on mmorpg games such as WoW, AoC, and Aion. I bought laptop cooler to cool down laptop cuz these days laptops come with high specs and as usual theres space limit for additional cooler inside laptop.
I wish this one, 15.6 inch model, had additional HDD drive space. The laptop had no problem such as blue screen of death or other hardware problems.
Finally, the price/performance wise, I guess it is one of the top choices one can make. By the way, although I use external speakers, I tried the integrated speakers and they were high quality
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great buy for a college gamer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 12, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, performance
Cons: Too big
This laptop can really do everything i ask of it. My only problem i have had is the plastic case is not the sturdiest. But with a warranty it should be an easy fix.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 26, 2011
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, great graphics card
Cons: pretty heavy when in the backpack with charger.
I got this laptop a couple months ago for a 3d animation class. It does the work smoothly, and never crashes. I can actually play Skyrim on ultra, I thought that was insane. I definitely recommend this laptop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great performance for the price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 8, 2011
from Provo, UT
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: trackpad can be weird.
I researched comparable notebooks and the Samsung is simply better. The internal workings of this notebook are efficient and powerful, which is incredible considering the price. The keyboard (including the ten-key) is great and so is the screen. It easily handles what I throw at it (extensive spread sheet work, some Photoshop, and intense multitasking). The trackpad can be a bit weird at times though. Sometimes when I am trying to just scroll down a page it zooms me in or out. Other than that, no complaints.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This laptop has great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 24, 2011
from Cypress, TX.
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Not high def, low battery life
Samsung has always had great products and they do not dissapoint with their lines of laptops. Since the first time I started working with my new Windows laptop I immediately notice how great and ease of use it felt. The keyboard is well placed and very responsive.The mouse pad works great with its new Multi-finger technology, it felt as if it was doing the work all by itself without putting a lot of effort.The features are great with everything you need,from USB 2.0 and USB 3.0, HDMI out, multidisk playback, headphone jack, DVI, ethernet, incorporated microphone, built-in speakers, and Wi-Fi.The NVIDIA OPTIMUS technology provides great battery life and not to mention the 3D graphics you get when visiting websites with lots of flash-playing backgrounds. I got the one with the 2nd generation INTEL CORE i7 which performs like nothing I ever experience. You can be working on a letter or an Exel project while at the same time be surfing the web downloading music on one tab, watching your favorite video on another open tab or looking up the days weather on another open tab, all in real time and at the same time with no slow downs. If you are looking for a great overall performance laptop with all the neccesities on the go, go with Samsung laptops.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

RF 511

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 7, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, processor, video adapter, usb 3, bluetooth, one free ram slot to maximize ram to 8gb
Cons: Poor quality
It is full of great features. Good processor, good video card, good battery life. It has USB 3, bluetooth. Only complaint is quality, it could have been better. Maybe aluminum case. One major complaint is the design of the power cord, seems like mosot laptop manufacturers cant come up with a better compact design for the connector that hooks up to the laptop. Its heavy and its separating the case itself.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hot One

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 16, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: heat
I have only had this laptop for a few hours. So far I like it, but when playing a game it gets VERY hot and the fans are humming. Not an issue if it was sitting on a desk but on your lap it is very uncomfortable.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Nice

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 12, 2011
from texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Great features and value...well put together and overall very nice.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 20, 2011
from so cal
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: no blueray player
This laptop has everything but a blueray player. I looked at the 17" and is does have a blueray player, however it was just too big for me to haul around. I didn't play close enough attention to the fact that it wasn't the same as the 17". Otherwise I love the keyboard and the speed of the i7. I would recommend this laptop to anyone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

the performance blew me away!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 14, 2011
from na
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, usb 3.0
Cons: speakers not loud enough
-Excellent Preformance
-runs smoothly
-looks simple yet alot of features
Now what can i say, its the ultimate machine for a laptop this size!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SAMSUNG PROVING THEY KNOW LAPTOPS

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 10, 2011
from Miramar, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, usb3.0, nvidia graphics, stylish +++
Cons: touch pad too sensitive
As this is my first SAMSUNG laptop and not to much experience with there market of laptop so far there are no complaints. The laptop is packed with many features that only high end laptops have USB 3.0, INTEL I7, NVIDIA graphics... the list goes on. It is very stylish almost feels and looks like the APPLE minus the bland silver color that they use. I like that they are offering major support. I don't like the touch pad not sure if its the settings but right now its too jumpy. I guess I have to looked into it. Like the little mike on the side but not sure if it will be blocked when typing and speaking on to it at the same time. I will see how productive I will with this.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great features but design is lacking

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 30, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
After looking at the rf510 for a while I decided to go with this computer instead and was a little disappointed at the finishes that they choose to use on this laptop. This laptop looks cheap. The touch pad feels like it's gonna break soon. The back cover does not look good in black. I've seen it in silver and it looks amazing.
But aside from the aesthetics, this computer is really powerful and can do almost anything you throw at it. I love the spacing on the keyboard and the sound quality is the best I've heard on a laptop.
On a last note, I put this laptop's screen right next to a Mac Pro and the Mac screen is far more superior.
Overall, I would recommend this laptop for anyone wanting to buy an affordable i7 who doesn't want to break the bank.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice specs, sleek design, no Linux support.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 24, 2011
from IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I recently purchased this laptop as an upgrade to my previous HP system. Overall, I'm so far satisfied with the product. Aside from the lack of LInux support for this machine it is a nice latop for day to day activities.
Summary: If you have no plans to run Linux and are looking for a moderately power machine at a decent price this is the one to buy.
Pros:
-This laptop was one of the first on the market aside from customizable options such as Dell that offered a 2nd generation Intel processor.
-medium range graphic card, 540M is a decent option for multimedia and games.
-very quiet
-good battery life despite a small six cell battery
-very little shovelware installed by manufacturer, most PC's come with a ton of shovelware that has to be uninstalled.
-Sleek and durable design
-4 usb ports (2 3.0)
-Full keyboard
Cons:
- When I first received it the minus key (-) was defective, had to create an exchange, the new one is working fine.
- Optimus technology by Nvidia does NOT support LINUX. The only way to have Linux working is to run using the IGP. During this time the Nvidia card is turned on and grains battery life without being used. Still contacting Samsung Support to find if there is a way to turn on / off the discreet graphics (Nvidia 540M) although very unlikely. This makes it a horrible system to run Linux on. Nvidia has no plans to support Optimus on Linux at this time.
-No blu-ray which is disappointing as this is marketed as a multimedia laptop. Not a bg deal but would be nice.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I GOT A LEMON

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 5, 2013
from Chandler, AZ
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Too big, Did not meet expectations, constant harddrive issues, software only available by disc
My computer has spent 6 of the last 11 months I've owned it in the Best Buy Geek Squad room for repairs. I'm not happy, and since they lost my disc I don't have ANY of the original programs or options useable on my computer, that were the only reason I bought this computer over a Dell. Since they always seem to find a temporary fix and have replaced the harddrive in store it's not eligible for a swap out so I'm stuck with this expensive coffee table decor Samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I can not recommend this product

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 27, 2011
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, other
This product is not one that can be recommended. Do through research before deciding which Laptop to purchase.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-29points
1of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for RF511-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Blue Screen of Death

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 16, 2011
from Silicon Valley, California
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, desktop performance, fast, powerful
Cons: blue screen of death, bad video driver
One star, shipped with bad video driver, perpetual blue screen of death errors out of the box. I noticed store models kept rebooting also. Not ready for market. ANd this is the S02 fixed Sandy Bridge version. Would be an incredible laptop with great features. Only other concern is the small hard drive considering this is a possible desktop replacement, disappointing considering the tother high end features. I would highly recommend it IF IT WORKED. It doesn't. Maybe in a few months (by which time we'll be on Ivy Bridge and this initally troubled chipset will be obsoleted.) Pity.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
12of 34voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.