Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for RF511-S03 Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

RF511-S03 Notebook

Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RF511-S03 Notebook
Review 1 for RF511-S03 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByNYChester
onDecember 22, 2012
from NY
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: fingerprints
I bought this as a refurbished model for low price a year ago. Absolutely no issues. I can run Lotro and Diablo III with high settings. I have found nothing else that offers this value at the price I paid.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for RF511-S03 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByInfinitekCEO
onAugust 29, 2012
from Coral Springs, Fl
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I am a system administrator and I can tell you that this laptop is worth every penny. It has a studry construction and the configuration is super powerful. I run 4 virtual machines for a test environment off of this laptop. I has great multimedia and multitasking capabilities. Display is super bright and crystal clear.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
46" Class (45.9" Diag.) LED 6420 Series Smart TV
4.7 out of 5(99)
 
 
 
60" Class (60.0" Diag.) LED 6450 Series Smart TV
4.7 out of 5(32)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for RF511-S03 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDacha
onOctober 21, 2011
from Salt Lake City, UT
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no ssd
I got this laptop as a replacement for my 4 year old Sony Vaio and I can say I am not disappointed.
The value for the money is very good compared to other laptops. This laptop is very light and has a very good design as well.
The Core i5 processor is more than enough for daily use and even for gaming. A lot of people believe that they need a i7 processor for gaming but that is not true at all. Do your research before you buy.
The Nvidia GT 540M i a very capable video card. It is not the top of the but i can play all of the games with high settings with no issues at all.
The batter life is very good in my opinion. I get between 6-8 hour with one charge. I have also upgraded the hard drive to SSD. That will also add some extra battery life.
There are two things i do not like about the laptop by they are not a deal breaker.
The glossy finis is a finger print magnet.
There is no option buy it with an SSD so i upgraded it.
A few tips.
An SSD will make this run 3 to 4 times faster than the OEM drive. If you want the most performance upgrade it.
Windows boots in 12 seconds with a SSD.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for RF511-S03 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value for the money

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByWidowerguy
onOctober 10, 2011
from Billings, Montana
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, great keyboard
Cons: none
I was pleased with the laptop from the beginning. When I had a problem, I was able to communicate with a person that spoke english and was helpful. Thank you for that.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for RF511-S03 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByNjall
onAugust 23, 2011
from Monument, CO USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: no dock
This is a great laptop for both on-the-go and office workers. It has enough power to run some intense office applications and enough power to play intense games such as Left 4 Dead 2, and Call of Duty 4. The keyboard is actually good with decent tactile feedback for touch typists.
The HDMI output works very well with my 23" HD LCD display and there is enough audio power to drive my Logitech speakers.
And if you are careful enough with the power settings the battery will last at least 4 hours or longer.
My only problem is that the RF511 doesn't have a docking capability.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for RF511-S03 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByColrouge
onJuly 12, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: low battery life, not the greatest graphics
I got this laptop about a month ago and I love it, it has a ton of power. The only problem is that the Nividia graphics chip isn't much better than the built in i5 graphics chip.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for RF511-S03 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ALL FINE BUT ...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bylumen18
onMay 2, 2012
from Poland
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def
After 4 Months left hinge of screen is partly broken with normal use. It starts crack and collapse So because additional screen is main reason that i bought this Notebook, i`m disappointed of this laptop.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for RF511-S03 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good price and quality relation

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bygeduxazz
onNovember 18, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Good design, comfortable keyboard, bright screen. Just good respons
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for RF511-S03 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop For The $$$

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFPS3000
onOctober 31, 2011
from Seattle, WA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, good performance
Cons: poor battery life, a few mild things i can't remember
I've been searching for a gaming laptop for many months. I had found some great ones, but the problem was that they were way to expensive. This Samsung one caught my eye while shopping one day. After using it thoroughly for the last three months, I'm sure I can provide a clear and complete review of this laptop, which, I believe is a good choice for the money despite a few disappointments.
FIRST IMPRESSIONS: Wow, this thing is really shiny. It looks like it is made well. The box included everything you need to get started.
...three months go by...
Well, now let me jump into the real review...
PERFORMANCE: This was the biggest thing I was looking for. I play a lot of games, and I need good performance. At first, I was skeptical about having a dual-core processor. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Web pages load very quickly, and other programs work without flaws. I've also ran Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and Call Of Duty: World At War. They run like a dream, with all setting turned up to the max and flawless performance. Now, though both of those games are several years old, I've also run a Call Of Duty: Black Ops demo and a Homefront demo, as well as a Total War: Shogun 2 demo. With all settings turned up to the max, they still run amazingly well. Now, I have a wishlist for the new games coming out: Call Of Duty: MW3, Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, LOTR War In The North, NFS: The Run, and Batman Arkham City. These games have high system specs, so I'll update this review as I try them out. Also note that most games today require 2-4 GB of memory; this laptop boasts 6 GB (expandable to 8 GB). I've noticed while playing the demos that the extra 2 GB helps a lot. Now on to the GPU. The computer runs two video cards, but they cannot run all at once. The first GPU is an Intel HD video card, and it is built straight into the processor. This card is good for surfing the web, writing documents, and playing some simple games. The second is a NVIDIA GeForce GT540M (1 GB memory). This is used when playing games with high requirements. I've noticed that this card gives great performance and is of a decent size, at least for now.
DISPLAY: I love the display. The screen measures 15.6" (diagonal). It is a 300 nit LCD, which means it is very bright and glossy. However, it is very hard to keep clean.
CD/DVD DRIVE: Blu-Ray=great! I haven't bought any Blu-Ray DVDs yet, but I'm sure they will be great (will update later).
DESIGN: This is where I have a few issues. The construction is decent, but I think that is where you get what you pay for. The touch pad is nice, but I've noticed it seems to be caving in just slightly on the left side (I don't beat on it either). Also, the CD/DVD drive seems a little flimsy (just be careful with it). Finally, the lid of the laptop is cool, but it scratches and smears so easily.
BATTERY: I must say I'm disappointed. I played Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare for 45 minutes on a full charge before it ran out. Major con.
WINDOWS: I have to say: I enjoy Windows 7. This laptop comes with Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit. It runs very well and I haven't had any problems so far.
SUMMARY: Well, you've reached the end. I hope my review has helped you in your decision. My summary:
Performance: 10/10
LCD: 9/10
CD/DVD Drive: 9/10
Design: 8/10
Battery: 5/10
Windows: 9/10
Total: 8.3/10
Thanks for reading!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for RF511-S03 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good deal

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytweeve
onAugust 20, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Not high def
Good Laptop, USB3 is a great option nice fast CPU and the Nvidia optimus technology is great. The Nvidia card can play most all my games at native resolution and with full graphics.
This laptop is a great deal, my only complaint is that the screen is a little small on the resolution. 1366x768 is an odd size and I wish it was a little better but for the price it is a good deal.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for RF511-S03 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

has value for price i paid

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byrajkroy
onJanuary 6, 2012
from USA
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, webcam loosely assembled had to go to service cent
I got it manufactured refurbished and i think for the amount i paid i got it pretty well. this product is good at the same time i also own a macbook pro 13.3 but i bought this as windows laptop and bigger size as some time i work remotely in that case bigger screen is good .
pros : value for price i paid , screen resolution , processor , sound quality , weight with respect to other same category laptop
cons : as it was my new laptop but webcam was having loose connection that was disappointing ,however i got it fixed by service center within a day that was very quick.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.