Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for RF710-S02 Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

RF710-S02 Notebook

Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 19(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RF710-S02 Notebook
Review 1 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best computer I have ever owned!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bylexlaten
onMay 22, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Great value for my dollar, great look and feel and amazing performance. Samsung just keeps doing it all right!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytheguy
onFebruary 23, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, Bright display
great overall laptop plays starcraft 2 with no problems and i watch alot of movies best laptop ive ever owned
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superior Computer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bywbiermannjr
onDecember 12, 2011
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Every few years, I purchase a new computer that is more up to date then my previous ones. I search for weeks to find the best one I can get and I gotta say that this is it. The perks are the 3 second startup from sleep and the USB 3.0 ports. I have owned mine for a year now and when I bought it, I didnt know that USB 3.0 was even out yet. This was the only computer I found with it. Even after a year of use, this computer still runs very fast with the 4GB RAM installed and the Quad Core i7 processor. Even though some would say it may have been over-priced, I still felt it was a good deal for what I paid. I really couldnt ask for better and if this computer continues to run like it does after the first year, I wont need to purchase another for 4 years at least.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byxlopez
onAugust 24, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, great for gaming
Cons: expensive
Excellent Laptop. I've owned and serviced several laptops from various brands and this by far is the best
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCadDesigner
onJuly 22, 2011
from Prospect Heights, IL
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: none
So glad I chose this computer. It's fast, reliable and I could not be more pleased with my purchase.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my RF710

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byirmitack
onMay 18, 2011
from miami
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color, Lightweight, excellent definition
Cons: short battery live
Love it!!!!!!!!!!!! its really blow my expectations. Excellent product, With big space, god memory card, u should try it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome laptop!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjohn1183
onMay 5, 2011
from Delray Beach, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, fast!, dependable
Love this laptop. Works great with all my Adobe programs for graphic design. Great value.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"the best of the best"

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByWells911
onApril 28, 2011
from Miami Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
One of the best performances so far on a laptop...I do work on pictures files and is fast reliable and the i7 core is super..not only that,it is light,quiet,good looking,oh, I mentioned that is "Fast" and it plays cool Blu rays...overall NICE to have.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Galaxy S i897 Screen Protectors
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
Galaxy S™ 4G Android Smartphone
4.2 out of 5(702)
 
 
 
Galaxy S i897 Silicone Gel Case, Black
3.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOTS OF POWER

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytennismj
onFebruary 8, 2011
from Central Florida
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
This big laptop is replacing a dell desktop. What a difference. I am not a power user, but I appreciate the speed and quick turn on.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onJanuary 17, 2011
from Boston, MA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This model has a lot of high-power features at a relatively low cost. I have a good sized library of games stored on it, and they all run very smoothly. It is wide, but thin and light. The wide, high definition screen and blu-ray player are great for current gen games and movies. I play games, do work and homework, watch movies, listen to music, and just about everything in between with this machine. It may not be for the all-holds-barred type gamer, but it is ideal for nearly everyone else.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST bang for your buck in today's market!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byseanz23
onJanuary 14, 2011
from Wilmington, NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
After extensive online research, I found that the RF710 was the best Desktop Replacement PC on the market for the price, when you factor in its Blu-Ray reading drive and 720p res. screen, among others (island-style keyboard, HDMI port, etc).
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great replacement of desktop and more

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByWinux
onJanuary 12, 2011
from Forest, VA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, allowing two hard drives
Cons: web cam is just 0.3m, not 8gb ram, not 7200 rpm hard drive
Samsung RF710 is simply great. I've updated it to a system with 8GB RAM and two 7200 RPM hard drives.
The most brilliant feature I love is the possibility to install two hard drives.
First, if you just want to run MS Windows, you can configure the paging file to stay on a different drive from the one on which you install Windows system, which will dramatically improve the performance of the system.
Secondly, you can make the laptop a wonderful hackintosh if you need an Apple Mac platform. No additional software is required. You (GUID) partition the second drive (into two partitions - in reality, three - with one for Mac OS X and the other for Windows paging file and/or any other use) and install Mac OS X on it.
There is one problem Samsung had better provide a solution. The laptop must have taken a very different design in the hard drive system. If you run MS Windows, you will not have the problem. But when I run various live Linux distributions to do imaging/reimaging with the utility, partimage, the reading/writing speed of 7200 RPM hard drive of this Intel quad-core CPU laptop is FAR slower than 5400 RPM hard drive of my Intel duo-core CPU laptop. I am waiting for Samsung to release Linux driver.
In brief, I would give Samsung RF710 4.5 stars out of five stars.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I have really come to love this machine

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykellye
onJanuary 5, 2011
from Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Too big
It is a powerhouse. It is easily portable and processes information quicker than any machine I have ever had. I would buy this for my kids and recommend it for anyone needing another computer. I have been impressed. If a con exists I would say the size is a little cumbersome. But i love it as well. I will adapt.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hands down the BEST laptop I have ever had.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByShadowRider
onDecember 29, 2010
from Utah
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, size (17.3) is perfect for my work, quick starting feature works excellently, 3.0 usb is extra nice feature built-in, samsung recovery solution backup works wonderful, sound of audio/video is clear and strong, quality is excellent cost was low, warranty is worth the extra cost (just in case), too good to describe you must own one, turbo boost technology gives me great performance
Cons: wish it had a 7200 hdd, wish it came with 8gb ram at time of purchase, wish a tv tuner was built in to it 8-)
With out a doubt the best laptop I have ever owned. Over the years I have had many different brands of laptops, all high end. The RF710-S02 out shines them all.
I can tell that this one will be great now and down the line.
I can't wait to convince my wife I need another two of these, then life will be even greater.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a Machine!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMarkinProsper
onDecember 15, 2010
from Prosper, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: performance
Cons: no docking station, no lightscribe
My old machine wasn't that old... less than three years. It was a Core 2 Duo with Vista. That was an unstable platform. I don't know if it was the hardware or Vista, but it was a bad combo.
I compared the RF710 to models from ASUS, Toshiba, Sony, HP and Dell. All Core i7 machines and after careful research I chose the Samsung. After 3 weeks I am still in love with this machine. That may not seem like a long time, but you learn a lot in the first 3 weeks.
I had it upgraded to 8GB (memory is so cheap these days). Performance is lightning fast on everything I've tried. I am amazed at how fast this thing boots up, too. And that's not utilizing the Samsung fast start (3 seconds).
I was particularly impressed with the high-speed interfaces. USB 3.0 and Bluetooth 3.0.
The only things I have found so far to complain about is the fact that Samsung does not make a docking station for this model. Other Samsung models, yes... but not this model. The material that came in the box included a brochure on Samsung accessories. It showed a docking station. Just not for this model. The other thing is that it does not have a Lightscribe drive. Lightscribe is slow and I don't use it very often, but I like the ability to professionally label discs after I write them.
These are small annoyances that do not take away from the fact that I thoroughly enjoy this machine.
Solid Performance, Great Value.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very nice unit

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByWondering2
onMarch 9, 2012
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
This laptop is a great unit. There does seem to be an issue with the touch mouse pad. As when you are moving the house and you don't lift your finger it will some times act as you have clicked on something. That is the only complaint I have.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByNrdyGrl
onApril 24, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, keyboard layout with dedicated number panel, plenty of usb ports
Cons: graphics driver troubles
This is a fantastic laptop. However, I've been having issues lately with my graphics driver failing on me even though the driver is supposedly up-to-date. I'm researching ways to resolve this issue.
Even with this hiccup, I still believe this laptop to be a solid product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

purchased this to replace an old MacBook

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byyahrdme
onFebruary 10, 2011
from Memphis, TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, amazing range of features for the price, core i7 processor, overall design of the laptop is very nice
Cons: the lid is a fingerprint magnet (not a big deal), direction pad and number pad merge too closely
I purchased this to replace a 2008 model Black MacBook. There was nothing wrong with my MacBook, but I wanted something with a bigger screen and more features (HDMI, USB 3.0, dedicated graphics, etc). I'm very satisfied with the overall performance of this computer, especially since I replaced the original hard drive with a Corsair Nova Series 64GB SSD. Windows 7 Pro 64-bit boots extremely fast with the SSD and application installs are blazing fast.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByblueGEAR
onDecember 31, 2010
from Shermans Dale, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great laptop! Spent more than this on my last computer and this blows it away! Faste processor , beautyfull screen, speakers will surprize you with crispness and loudness! Over all great features! Hands down best bang for your buck!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for RF710-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lots of features, if it works

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onFebruary 18, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, good mouse action, hdmi output
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, needed repair twice now
I bought this laptop with the high performance in mind. So far, the intregal webcam was bad when I first bought it. Now the whole thing has crashed. Luckily, I bought an extended warranty. Don't leave the store without it!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.