Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for RF711-S02 Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

RF711-S02 Notebook

Rating:
4.233 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
1
22 out of 26(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RF711-S02 Notebook
Review 1 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bang for your buck!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 17, 2012
from Minoa, NY
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, 2xsata ports
Cons: slow stock hdd at 5400 rpm
This machine just has it all. When I made a list of the features I had to have, this Samsung was at least 200 bucks below anything else that compared. When I bought this laptop I didn't even realize it had a second hdd bay until I opened up the box. This was an amazing surprise that prompted me to grab an ssd as my main drive and the other as storage/backup. Wasn't happy with the stock 5400 RPM HDD though so I also got a WD Black 750 GB 7200 RPM HDD and 8 GB of G.Skill RAM, and this thing is a beast.
Only cons are the stock hdd, and if you want to get to the processor or network/bluetooth card you literally have to dismantle the whole thing....
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 24, 2012
from Decatur, IL, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, additional hdd bay, easily upgradeable ram, hdmi output
Cons: should come with more ram, should have win 7 ult 64 pre-loaded
I use this for business / fun. The secondary Video processor has no problem running video intense games like Minecraft. The The secondary Nvidia video processor sucks the battery fast, but runs great. Finding RAM upgrades could be easier, though. I would recommend 8 GB RAM & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 for the best use of this product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop, good price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 3, 2012
from us
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Looked at all the major brands before choosing the samsung. Simply had the best video and graphics for the lowest price, Been almost a year now and it still works like new.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 21, 2012
from Midwest
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is a very large laptop, yet lightweight.
I have the RF510, and I was looking for a 17 in for my sister. I bought her this one, and it exceeded my expectations.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 19, 2012
from Idaho
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I bought this in September of 2011 and this is hands down the best system i have ever owned. The price was great for and i7, 4GB ram, 750Gb HDD, and a 17" screen. now for the minor issues i have, the exhaust vent for the gpu is located right below the power jack and i've seen in other systems of that jack being a weak point. other than that i have no issues what so ever
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 5, 2012
from Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I've owned this laptop since October and it really is awesome. I purchased the laptop as a desktop replacement for school, but so far its been able to handle any game I've thrown at it on high settings. The only thing I found lacking was the 5400 rpm hard drive instead of 7200 rpm and 4 gb of ram instead of 8 gb. Both are easy and inexpensive upgrades. Finding a case/sleeve that fits well has really been the only difficulty.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

RF-711 Samsung

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have owned this pc for about 2 months and am very happy both with the performance of the pc and the friendly customer service, I shopped very hard before making this decision and found the RF-711 to be a great buy when comparing other pc's in it's range, So far it has not disappointed.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An elegant, quiet, and sleek beast!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 29, 2011
from Springville, UT, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, two usb 3.0 ports, two usb 2.0 ports, whisper quiet
Cons: speakers are a bit weak
I haved loved this laptop; it has a great display, crisp graphics, a powerful processor, springy & fun keyboard, and it's whisper quiet. The laptop rarely gets hot, and the startup time is very fast.
I have noticed the battery can drain a little quickly (2-4 hours, depending on use), but I have to admit that I haven't adjusted the power profile options to find ways to save more juice. So to be fair, I would say the default settings on this laptop are awesome.
The only real downside I would mention is the weak speakers - however, there are many configuration settings in the audio manager to adjust your equalizer and configure your speaker settings to be the way you want. I don't want to blow my speakers, so I keep the master level down, so you can take a chance if you want to!
I use the laptop to run Visual Studio 2010, and it runs very smoothly and quickly.
I love it. You'll be happy with it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 1, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I trust the brand. Excellent laptop for college student.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Flash Memory Full HD Camcorder
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 24, 2011
from Olathe, KS
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, screen size
Cons: cd reader won't read discs sometimes, not 1080p
I got this laptop back in mid-May this year, and it's held up to my expectations so far. I wanted a high-end laptop that could handle a lot of the modern games out there now along with simply being fast enough for simple tasks. It's been plenty good for those things, but I have had some issue with the CD reader albeit that being a minor issue to me.
I'm thinking of upgrading the RAM to 8gb when I have some extra money so I can squeeze some more speed out of it for games and other media programs.
Would definitely recommend this laptop to a friend.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME laptop (only 2 minor cons)

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 1, 2011
from San Diego, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, plays modern 3d games
Cons: Not high def, 5400 rpm hard drive, 4gb instead of 8gb ram
This is truly a "fully-loaded" laptop at an affordable price! It has a beautiful display (not Hi-Def but still looks good with any DVD or movie), a quiet/comfortable keyboard, and great sounding speakers (volume and mute button are great)!
Whether you want to work, play, or relax - this laptop has everything you need to make it happen! I'm so happy I bought it!
Under the hood, the i7 processor, dual graphics cards (one for regular use, on for games), and large hard drive culminate in a fast, capable machine that you can throw just about anything at.
I'm able to play all the modern 3D games I like (Crysis 2, Mass Effect 2, Fallout 3, Fallout New Vegas, and Team Fortress 2) with settings either maxed (or almost) - for hours on end -- with no problems. I will point out the unit does get a little hot if you game for long periods (takes the lap out of laptop). Disabling anti-aliasing makes a huge difference in performance!
My only 2 "cons" that are easily corrected with about $150:
- Only comes with 4GB of RAM (recommend you upgrade to 8 GB immediately upon purchase)
- 5400 RPM hard drive comes standard. Why not a much faster 7200 RPM drive Samsung?
For performance enthusiasts - the BIOS supports AHCI (for TRIM capable SSDs). Put 8G of RAM and an SSD in this thing (mine is Patriot PYRO 120G) with the i7 processor and this little box FLYS! I boot in 4 seconds!
Overall - this laptop (especially if upgraded) is a TRUE DESKTOP replacement!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is Big bang for your money

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 27, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: good gaming laptop for the money, fast processor, graphics management is good
Cons: no windows sp 1 pre-installed, fingerprint magnet
"Great Gaming Laptop, Nice Design
Best deal on a laptop I could find.
Nice overall design overall.
Core i7 2 ND gen.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 20, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This is a great Laptop for most needs. The only problem I've had is running Microsoft Flight Sim X. I figured the guts if this thing could handle the program on modest settings....Nope.
I've tried a few different tricks and none of them worked. I do understand FSX is a resource hog, but a 1 gig graphics card, 4gb memory, 750gb drive, and a quad core processor should handle it. Needles to say I get random crash while running FSX or low memory warnings. I know I know, most gamers use a desk top, but not everyone has the luxury.
All in all, this laptop is a beast and will handle most everything thrown at it. Would I recommend this to a video editor, you betcha. Now recommendations to a gamer, well that just depends on what you are playing.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So far this has been the best laptop I have ever owned. Out of the 5 others.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 7, 2011
from Northwest Indiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Best laptop available for the price. It performs better than expected and was very reasonably priced
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great computer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 29, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I got this computer knowing that it would be fantastic because of it being made by Samsung. So far, it has lived up to my expectations.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Value, Value, Value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 14, 2011
from Racine, WI
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, performance, graphics capability
Cons: 5400 rpm hard drive
I did a great deal of research before purchasing and this was by far the best performance/value laptop that I evaluated! Once I updated the 540's video drivers it performed flawlessly for both graphics and gaming.
I am absolutely ecstatic with my purchase and its performance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it so far!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 25, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: speakers are not that great.
I did a bit of research and checked out several models and am very pleased with this laptop. I primarily do photo editing on my system, so was interested in a good graphics card, lots of storage, and speed. I upgraded from an 8 year old Dell and am THRILLED. The laptop is light, especially with an 17" screen, and has surpassed my expectations.
My only criticism is that I bought this from Sears online, and they shipped it in the flimsy retail box rather than packing it inside of a heavier shipping box. I was relieved that, in spite of the box being torn and taped, that it arrived intact.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Built To Last

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 17, 2011
from Walnut Creek, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, 2 usb 3.0 ports, core i7 quad-core sandy bridge processor, nvidia geforce gt540m, 750gb hard drive, chiclet keyboard keys, chargeable usb port, design
Cons: only 4gb ram, only 5400 rpm hard drive
Pros: Intel Core i7, Sandy Bridge, Quad Core, Powerful, BlueTooth, Chargeable USB port, NVIDIA GeForce GT540M, 750GB Hard Drive, Chiclet Keyboard Keys, 1600x900 Resolution, Quality Display, USB 3.0 x2, Fast, Comfortable Keyboard, Number Keypad
Best Uses : Gaming, Music, Web Browsing, Graphics, Video and Photo Editing
Samsung's design - It really is a beautiful computer. The shell case has a signature spiral design. The keyboard is spaced out nicely that each chiclet key has a sturdy feel under your fingertips. There is a number keypad at the right. The overall design of the laptop is chic, giving the casing a metal, cool feel. There's also 2 USB 2.0 and 2 USB 3.0. Not only is the computer designed to be compatible for today's accessories, but it is also looking forward to the new generation of USB 3.0 accessories that offer faster and higher quality results.
This laptop is both aesthetically and internally pleasing. It's a beauty.
Cons: Only 5400 rpm hard drive, Only 4GB RAM, No Blu-Ray player
There aren't many reviews of this product, and frankly, I'm surprised by that. I was in the market for a decent multimedia gaming computer and my top two choices were this Samsung RF711 and Dell XPS 15. I wanted a computer that could handle games and multiple applications like photo or video editing software with ease. This meant an Intel Core i7 with a quad core (sandy bridge) and a NVIDIA GeForce GT540M Graphics Card at the very least.
My two options fit the requirements, different mostly in these aspects: The Samsung had 750GB with a 5400 RPM SATA Hard Drive while the Dell had 500-750 GB (extra costs for upgrades) with 7200 RPM SATA Hard Drive; The Samsung had 4GB RAM while the Dell had 4GB-8GB RAM (extra cost for upgrades); The Samsung had a 1600x900 resolution 17'' screen while the Dell had 1920x1080 resolution 17'' screen (extra cost for upgrades).
The deciding factor: Cost and Samsung's design.
My Samsung RF711 has almost the same horsepower as a much (MUCH!) more expensive Dell XPS 15.
The RAM and Hard Drive can easily be upgraded if needed at low costs. The only sacrifice was the 1920x1080 resolution screen Dell offered. But I figure, if I really wanted a screen with such rich color, I'd rather invest in a PC desktop or external monitor. This laptop is for light, portability purposes while serving as a desktop replacement. I don't need a 1920x1080 resolution screen if the horsepower is what I am really paying for.
Accessories I Recommend:
Additional 2 to 4 GB of RAM
Optional second hard drive
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SAMSUNG HAS A HIT WITH THIS NOTEBOOK FOR ASPIRING GAMERS

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 3, 2011
from CINCINNATI, OHIO
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, graphics and memory for any gamer, no nonsense inclusion of accessories
This is the perfect blend of graphics, GeForce, with an overclocked processor, enough memory to keep any genius company, and a sleek design without going overboard with color like Dell always does )
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Ultra Lightweight Rechargeable 3D Glasses for Samsung 2011 3D TVs
4.7 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
22" LCD 3D-Ready Monitor
4.3 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
2011 Wireless Charging Hub
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best PC I have ever owned.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 9, 2012
from Miami
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I do a lot of DJing and audio production. So I need to upgrade my laptop to something faster, and stable. I really wanted something that would give me good audio play back. After a recommendation I picked it up. The Audio was good although I thought the low end was so so, but you can EQ it out. I get very good quality on videos with very decent frame rates. The "back up" feature is a mess though. Backing up every week and storing them in the D Drive partition taking up more space every week. This is a Windows issue more than any thing else tho. I kind of wish that the there was a external media controller either on the keyboard or as a remote control.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

RF711 - High Performance Mobile Computing Powerhouse!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 27, 2012
from Frazier Park, CA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, rocket sled fast, good battery life, superb wifi reception, nice keyboard, included apps super easy to use, onboard gpu, usb 3.0
Cons: dodgy external hi-resolution monitor interface
With 29+ years of Information Technology experience, my expectation of performance for personal computing is VERY high.
Please allow me to start this review by giving a HUGE shout out to Samsung and the RF711!
From the materials used, to the look and feel of the laptop, to the performance - there is little to complain about the RF711.
Having modified the RF711, let me document these changes.
1. Added a Solid State Primary Drive.
2. Added 4 gigabytes of memory for 8 gigabytes total.
Running this configuration, performance is nothing short of a revelation. The speed of boot up is outstanding, launching applications is more than fast - its closer to instantaneous.
USB 3.0 is another feature proven to be valuable for use in video editing and storage. As a producer of HD action sports videos, transferring files across the USB 3.0 interface at more than 150 Mbs makes editing a pleasurable experience.
An onboard GPU with its shader cores off-loading processing of HD videos is yet another awesome feature in the toolbox that is the RF711.
Lack of a current digital video out interface for high resolution computer monitors is one aspect of the RF711 that should be addressed in future Samsung laptops. This reason alone accounts for the loss of a star in my review
After experiencing the RF711, it is rare for me to not recommend Samsung to anyone when discussing high performance mobile personal computing.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This laptop overall get the job done.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 21, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display
I'm happy that I purchased this laptop. It gets the job done. The performance has improved since I was able to keep the original hard drive for a data drive and upgrade the operating system drive to a solid state and maxed out the RAM to 8GB. The laptop is very speedy now. The battery life is OK. With the extra drive and a dim display the battery lasts about 2 hours. So far the laptop has been problem free. I really like the keyboard keys and layout.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Pc

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 3, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, not for gaming
This is a really good laptop, especially for the price. The fact that you can extend your hard drive is great seeing that this model only comes with on that is 5200rpm. Everything is great except if you actually want to game. This will not let you run the newest games on full spec mode. I haven't tried the 3d features yet but that is a great option. so, for movies and everything else it is great but just not for gaming.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I like it

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 19, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
My only complaint is there is no light so when you use the webcam so you have to make sure the room is well lit
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lightweight, Huge Bright Screen.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 4, 2011
from Kansas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love the size and form of this laptop. The screen is superbright and I love it. But I'm having some memory/display driver issues. It struggles when the display powers off....something is hogging memory and preventing the display from powering back on. I've only installed sugarsync, MSOffice, and syncing.net. 3 programs I've run on all my PC's for years with no problems. So I don't know what is causing the issues yet.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Rating Breakdown

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onMay 21, 2012
from Marion, MI
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, battery length to short, dvd drive fail, cost too much
Battery less than 2.5 hours per charge
DVD Drive Fail
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good and BAD things

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onNovember 7, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, bad speakers, problems
At first when i got the laptop, i liked it because it had about everything accept an ultra graphics card, but now, after 4 months using it, there are problems with this machine!
First i heared that there was a problem with the left speaker, then i burned a CD and there were 2 songs that didn't play till the end, i have tried differend software, differend cd's, all the same problem. Now the batterie goes suddenly from 30 percent or from 70, or ... to 8 percent! I'd not recommend this laptop to anyone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

poor, cheap case design

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onAugust 11, 2011
from tx
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
my less than 3 months old, already crack near hinge due to daily open up and close down.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not as good as I expected

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 6, 2011
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations, software problems
Expensive for what i got. I expected more for what i paid. the display is great,
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for RF711-S02 Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not sure I would buy again it will depend

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 2, 2011
from Raleigh
I purchased my laptop 1 week ago and when I run the laptop for a period of time it suddenly and unexpectedly scrambles the video and hangs. I have to reboot the machine and then it doesn't boot it says the system did not shutdown correctly and I must choose to start normally. It startes fine but shutsdown immediately. Hope the store I purchased this from is a good customer driven organization or that Samsung is and stands behind their prosucts. We will see and I will update this as we go along.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.