Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SF510-A01 Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

SF510-A01 Notebook

Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 14(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SF510-A01 Notebook
Review 1 for SF510-A01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrtimi
onJune 1, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Ever since I got this device there hasn't been any hiccups what so ever, runs smooth and fast start began with this PC line 2 years ago and I love it. Can't wait to get the series 9 15"
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SF510-A01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT DESIGN EXCELLENT PERFORMANCE

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byismacm
onFebruary 23, 2012
from San Juan, PR
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
Cons: casing color fading
I am a industrial design student and I have been using this laptop for a year. It is working very good no problems of any kind so far. My only observation is that the white casing material is turning a bit yellow. Overall is a great buy!!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SF510-A01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bynikabear
onJanuary 12, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, design
Cons: touch pad
This laptop is great!!! I Iove the design and it has a nice speaker a lot louder than my old laptop. The battery life is great because i take it to school with me and dont have to worry about getting a seat next to an outlet. The only thing that i dont like about it is the touchpad when you are typing, your hand always touches it and it jumps back and starts typing in a spot that you already typed in
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SF510-A01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByGenncol1
onMay 8, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Too big
The size, and the design are perfect. Also is a pretty fast computer. Working online is very easy because its speed and safeness system.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SF510-A01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byweathermanbaby
onMay 2, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
great product,, love my new laptop, i recommend this product to any student, really easy to use.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SF510-A01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HOT AND SEXY

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySAMRULES
onFebruary 20, 2011
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
EXCELLENT PIECE...LIKE IT..REALLY REALLY WORTH IT..GUYZ HANG ON TO THIS PRODUCT AND U WON'T DISSAPPOINT
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SF510-A01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the sleek look.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onFebruary 8, 2011
from Louisville, Kentucky
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love the new sleek look. The battery life is one of the main reasons I choose this laptop!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SF510-A01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality overall

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPedro02
onJanuary 16, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: unique design
Cons: not bluetooth capability, limited
This laptop is an excellent product, not only for the outstanding performance, but also the beauty of the exterior design.
This unique design drags the attention of all Samsung fan and others that are looking for a laptop. I know it can be more powerful, performance speaking, but it suits right for they who only want to use Windows features in a normal way and for social networking. Samsung should open for us the possibility to build our own laptop, the CONFIGURE-TO-ORDER option.
That way we consumers can have our ideal laptop, the perfect combination that satisfy our need.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 7.0" (AT&T)
4.2 out of 5(102)
 
 
 
HM1000 Bluetooth Headset Kit, White
 
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SF510-A01 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first laptop...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByViri
onJanuary 14, 2011
from Arizona
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I've always had desktops and my last HP and Gateway gave up on me and with some changes in life I needed a laptop. It was between a Sony VAIO or this Samsung and I decided to give Samsung a try. I don't actually use it for much I work from home and run some programs that do take up some memory while processing but with the I3 I haven't had any issues I haven't seen any issues that would make me doubt this laptop I've only had it for two months now. As far as the mouse being sensitive that's something that can be easily fixed in your mouse settings type in mouse in the search and fix it, I needed to move it one line down. I really like my new laptop it's sleek design and all the functionality really works for me.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SF510-A01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

samsung laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bylonghairpyro
onAugust 16, 2012
from decatur, IA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I bought a samsung laptop a few years ago cause i had a samsung 52 inch flat screen, i love everything about my computer except a USB on the right side quit working because the whole inside usb connection fell out of the computer, and i have never dropped my machine. also the space bar quit working so i had to go out and get a new wireless keyboard and mouse so that i could type. other than that I love everything about it I've never had a computer even close to this nice i always had to build my computers from scrap parts that the college close by gave me (outdated equipment).
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SF510-A01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

almost perfect

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysumsang
onJanuary 29, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, battery life, nice to look at
Cons: mouse/touch pad, lack of back-lit keyboard
I am a teacher and a grad student. I also use this computer to watch movies and tv on line. It works great for all of these purposes. The battery life may not really be 7 hours, but is still far superior to most full size models. Overall, I am very pleased. I do wish that it had a back-lit keyboard.
Major con is the mouse/touch pad. AWFUL. The texture is uncomfortable but more devastating is the sensitivity. THE CURSOR JUMPS ALL OVER THE PLACE AND I AM ALWAYS GETTING TRIPPED UP WHEN TYPING. It can be truly infuriating. However, there may be a fix for this that I have not come across yet. I am planning to call and speak with a tech person when I have the time to see if the problem can be addressed.
Otherwise, this is beautiful, functional, and more than adequate for my needs.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SF510-A01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a Great i3 model

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BymrTOE
onJanuary 17, 2011
from PEnnSauken, New JEersey
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight, long battery
Cons: need to update driver for mouse pad, dvd/cd player drive; not reading?
This SF-510 is a pretty good model in my eyes. it has many awesome feature, such as, the 3 sec start up from sleep mode, USB port charger while ON sleep mode, LONG battery life(3.5hours to 4hours; only on 80% charge), option to fill only up to 80% of battery to extend the OVER ALL life of the battery was a GREAT PLUS FOR US! And all other connector port on the side, like, DVI, Ethernet, Power, and Headphone/Mic ports. Buttons are keep to the minimum, Volume up, Down, and Mute a long with the Almost Full keyboard. I esp. love the number Pad that Samsung has given us in this design. the only thing i can see a downfall with this keyboard layout is the smaller "Shift" key on your right hand side.
Another thing i like about this model is that Samsung did not short us on the Windows, Come with the "Windows 7 Professional," It is not the greatest nor the worst, it is right in the middle.
Now into the design. This was The white was a nice color to choose, it stand out in the crowed of laptops, along with the Chrome around the edges, it makes it even nicer looking. Inside color was a nice touch because when a first time user would open this up, they got another color to look at, and people sometime said WOW.
At First, the mouse pad was almost the destroyer of this laptop but before purchasing this laptop, Samsung already had released an update on the driver for it, and I will tell you what, that driver made a Night/Day differences!
Another thing is the CD/DVD hardware, I am not sure if it is the physical player or the Software, but most of the time, the DVD player would not work on first, second, third, fourth try, and it would sometime not even show there was a DVD player there at all, in the " My computer section. A couple days ago, the "Samsung Update Plus," the updater program, downloaded a new driver for the CD player and it has not been a trouble since.
So far, this computer intention was meant to be a elegant, looking one and i believe this Aced it. and even though this model had its' problem, Samsung is taking Steps into fixing it, so their customers are happy unlike another brand that keeps making new models with different names but still has the same old problems.
In the end, this computer is doing wonders for us, as long as that DVD/CD player does not fail again.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SF510-A01 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful design

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByUSB1DEN
onJanuary 11, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: mouse pad
The mouse pad is really bad. Super sensitive and hard to control. Other than that, this machine is increadibly beautiful and funtional. Please fix the mouse pad.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SF510-A01 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Looks and feels good but the charger port breaks

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByDrRedd
onJanuary 23, 2014
from Raleigh, NC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: charger port breaks/comes loose
I actually love this laptop; however, there is a common flaw with this model. The charger port (I'm not a techie) doesn't work. I have had my SF510 for a little over one year and the charger port started acting up about five months after purchase. After running into this problem a few times I did a google search and found that it is a very common problem among this model. Which I had done that search before I fell in love with it. Whomp Whomp...
It's a super fast, sexy, and sleek laptop; nevertheless, the fact that you have to either play with the charger cable until it decides to work or completely replace some piece inside the laptop (even though you technically have a new laptop) kinda blows.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SF510-A01 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byscottyk76
onOctober 28, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
First my speaker on right side failed, now I have problems with the built in mouse.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SF510-A01 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sleek appearance, horrible mous-pad design

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByRizoss16
onJanuary 4, 2011
from CT
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor battery life, horrible mouse-pad
I like this laptop, don't get me wrong. I am a computer tech and have repaired and used thousands of laptops. I really like the Samsung brand, they seam to always have premium laptops and TVs. The appearance of the laptop is amazing. I have had a macbook and a macbook pro before purchasing this laptop, and switching to this was a big downgrade. I like the style and the light-weight but there are downfalls to this. The laptop is literally flimsy. If it is sitting flat on the table, you can lift the corner and literally see the whole case flex. The batter life is NOT 7 hours. My battery is fully charged and has been conditioned. I unplug it and there is about 3 hours of battery life max with basic internet browsing, mainly facebook. And this is with the samsung optimized battery settings. The trackpad is way too sensitive. It is a nightmare trying to type an essay without accidentally hitting the trackpad with your palm. Even basic webrowsing, you will start to type in google and end up clicking on a bookmark. If the trackpad was better designed and the battery life was longer, this would be a perfect 5 star computer (for an i3 and 5400rpm HD). I use a wireless mouse, but the problem is when you type anything, its almost impossible to not hit the mousepad.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.