Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 3 11.6" Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 3 11.6" Notebook

Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Review 1 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Notebook

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 28, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: speakerssound
I've owned this notebook for over a year and this little computer is awesome. I connect a monitor and wireless keyboard at the office and at home with ease. The speed is great, runs programs no problem. I have multiple websites, pdf's and programs running simultaneously and it is just super reliable. It's light enough for me to take around and has a great screen. With multiple inputs I can leave my mouse plugged in and have room for other things. The only con is the speakers could be louder.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this is a great computer for school

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 30, 2012
from dayton,ohio
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: low hard drive space, battery and no extened battery sold
love the design and how portable it is. the only thing i would and i did change is the hard drive space cause i use adobe photoshop and illustrator and it takes up a lot of memory and it makes the computer run slow but other than that i would recommend this to everyone who is on the go.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is perfect for working on the go!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 21, 2012
from NJ
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, speakers could be better
Great machine for the price. Very light and portable.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I was looking for

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 14, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This little Samsung ultra-portable notebook is just what I was looking for. I liked it from the first time I saw it on my retailer's table of notebook computers. It was small like a netbook, but it performs on a par with a desktop PC. The keyboard is comfortable to use, the display is bright and sharp, it has the full complement of I/O ports (including HDMI). I use it for web browsing, writing and photo viewing/editing. I was somewhat disappointed at the relatively short battery life -- and that Samsung doesn't appear to offer a more robust replacement for purchase. My only complaint was with the touchpad, which had a forward/back gesture assigned, and which I had much grief disabling. Finally, a new driver, and then enabling and disabling the gesture made it stop. Now that the system is behaving itself, we get along great! It's just what I was looking for in a notebook.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little laptop!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 30, 2012
from Nashville, TN
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
The size of a netbook and the power of an i3. Love it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Why get a MBA

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 12, 2012
from Bismarck, ND
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is as good as a Mac Book Air. I put a Samsung 830 SSD in and this thing became super charged. Very happy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Susprising light and easy to carry around!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 6, 2012
from Loma Linda, California
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, very well made.
Cons: keyboard is not for large hands.
I received this Samsung 11.6 inch "Princeton" NP300U1A laptop as a Christmas present from my wife. I have only had the laptop for two weeks, but here are my initial impressions.
Having been trained as an electrical engineer, I was impressed with it build-quality. The keyboard is sturdy and firm, unlike most other laptops made today. The keyboard does not give way or flex with you are banging away at the keys, so that if you actually have to "type" on this keyboard for a long time, you won't feel like you a bouncing on a trampoline, but rather your typing will feel secure and firm, as if you are still abiding on "terra firma". Mind you, the keyboard is not as comfortable as the keyboard on an IBM T42 laptop that I used to own (my favorite laptop keyboard by far), but the Samsung keyboard is still sturdy and uncommonly well made, especially for such a small ultralight laptop. The keyboard is a tiny bit small for my medium-large hands, but I think I will get used to the keyboard's key-spacing in time.
My favorite feature on this Samsung is the trackpad; it is the only "Tap-to-Click" trackpad that I have every enjoyed using. In comparison, the trackpad on my Apple MacBook Pro is overly sensitive; if I simply move my fingers across the Apple's trackpad, it will often improperly register a false "click", ... which has proven to be very awkward a few times when I am bidding on eBay.
But not so with the Samsung trackpad; it seems to clearly discern between simple movement and a "tap-to-click" motion, so that this is the first trackpad that I feel safe using when there is a risk involved from the wrong motion.
This Samsung 11.6" laptop is surprisingly quick for such a little laptop, and it is certainly faster, and just as stable as my Dell D630 laptop. I would have to say that both this stock Samsung Princeton, and the my highly-tuned Dell D630 are quick out of the blocks, and rock-solid in the long haul. So far the Samsung Princeton has never crashed.
So far, here is my recommendation: if you need an light weight, very easy to carry laptop that is fast and rock-solid, then the Samsung Series 3 Princeton is a great laptop. If you have medium to small hands, you won't be disappointed. If you have large hands, you might be better off with a 14" or larger laptop, but for those of us with medium to small hands, the 11.6" Samsung Princeton is an especially well-made, stable, and surprising pleasant little laptop, that is great for writing and takes notes. The keyboard may be a bit small for some, but it is still faster and more fluid to type on this Samsung 11.6" laptop than on an Apple iPad, at least for me. This Samsung is one of the few laptops, of the dozen or more I have owned, that has earned my respect and admiration. Its a great tool for someone on the go, ... or for someone who does not want to carry around a 6 pound "brick" of a laptop. When you fly, it is best to fly light, and this Samsung laptop is about as light as they come.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this is my first laptop.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 5, 2012
from Indiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, camera and microphone, hdmi port
Cons: no cons at this time, wish it had a car charger.
I bought this machine to take with us on trips for e-mail etc. My wife and I had looked at net books with the 10.1 screen but felt the 11.6 screen would be nicer for older eyes.
It does not have a DVD drive but I had planned to use flash drives to store information. I may buy a USB DVD burner later.
We plan to video stream TV shows and movies when we are home using the HDMI port and WIFI . The software was a pleasant surprise. I am happy with this machine.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for travel

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 4, 2012
from Kansas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Wanted a small computer for travel and this one fills
the bill admirably. Very lightweight but still has everything
I need. The main feature that sold me was the matte
screen. I find the glossy displays useless if you are trying
to use the machine in your car or out of doors. Plenty
of ram and even full version of Microsoft Home and Student installed at no extra charge. I am very happy
with my purchase.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung NP300U1A Laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 16, 2011
from Vero Beach, Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, small portable design
Great Laptop for the price. Better than an iPad. Fully functioning computer with an i3 processor. Full access to the web including adobe flash websites, which are not accessable with an iPad. Powerful computing in a package not much bigger than an iPad.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Epitomy of Samsung

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 30, 2012
from Arlington,TX
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great screen, decent battery life, decent performance. Overall, a good value buy.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost perfect

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 15, 2012
from Cincinnati, Ohio
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I would have loved to give this computer a perfect score; it is fast, very reliable, light as a feather, yet no sense of it being in a netbook, in scale or performance. Only one problem, which has occurred not just once, but twice: the adapter originally broke and was replaced. The second adapter works, yet falls out often; several times a day as I move computer from bedside table to lap. Not a terrible nuisance, yet a sturdy, rotating and snug fitting adapter would be yes, perfect.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Generally a Good product but some disappointments

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 4, 2012
from Los Angeles, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: poor battery life, small cursor keys, no dedicated pg up dn home end, no usb v 3.0 ports, no optional bigger battery
I enjoy the small size, light weight, bright screen and decent performance. However some things I do not like. I do not like not having dedicated Pg Up Pg Dn Home & End keys. Or, at the least they should have made the arrow / direction keys bigger. It would have been nice to have at least one of the 3 usb ports be USB v 3.0. The biggest disappointment is the poor battery life, and the fact that I cannot order a bigger battery from Samsung.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good laptop but could be even better

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 29, 2012
from Chapel Hill, NC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, office 2010
Cons: battery, ergonomics - leds
I really like this laptop. It is lightweight but powerful enough with the Core i3 to do most productivity and Internet tasks. I applaud Samsung's use of anti-glare LCD which you typically only see on business class laptops. The inclusion of Office 2010 is value-add. There are two areas that could be improved: battery only lasts a couple of hours and the power and charging LED indicators are not visible when the cover is closed. Still recommended!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent computer, but the battery life too short

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 13, 2012
from Southern NH
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, 4 gb standard memory
Cons: battery life
This computer meets my needs as a second home PC. I have been looking at netbooks for quite awhile, but have not been impressed with the O/S on them - WIN 7 Starter. Also the processor upgrade and 4 Gb of memory std. I'm a ham radio operator and use it for recording contacts and operating my radio with integrated software.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great school laptop

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 17, 2012
from salt lake city
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Because of the Staples offering on sale we purchsed this to allow a family member to have a school laptop for their school work.
It does not compete with the more expensive faster laptops but it is not meant to.
GREAT for school.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Series 3 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Terrible trackpad makes computer difficult to use

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onFebruary 3, 2012
from Albany, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
The trackpad on this computer is so sensitive, that it jumps back and forth between web pages. Updating the driver for the trackpad did not help, and there is no information on Samsung's website that helps.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Captivate™ Android Smartphone
4.1 out of 5(1,985)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.