Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 3 17.3" Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 3 17.3" Notebook

Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 3 17.3" Notebook
Review 1 for Series 3 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great device!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 23, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: can not relax my hands while typing due to mouse
I was in need of a laptop that could handle my hectic workload. With the Samsung I can quickly review different files, input numbers on excel, and write a report. I don't have any problems with the laptop. The wide screen is great! The only thing is when I type I accidently move the cursor on the mouse pad since its located directly under the space bar. I had to get use to positioning my hands differently.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 3 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid laptop for work

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 24, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
Pros: Inexpensive
I upgraded the operating system after buying. Plenty of disk space, memory, processing speed to support multiple virtual platforms for software development. No Pause/Break key so had to install hot key utility. Windows 8 does not support gadgets or recent document lists like Windows 7 but I found substitutes in Windows 8 apps.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 3 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No Issues

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 10, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, storage
Cons: speakers, lighted keyboard, plastic
I've had this for 2 months and no issues with my choice of product. It is a powerful and fast notebook with a great screen. I agree with not having a lighted keyboard and not the best sound, but simply buy external speakers will resolve the sound issue. Lighted keyboard, buy a lamp to see the keyboard better! Heard so many people complain about windows 8 and I actually find the format of 8 to be better than past window systems. If you are used to tablets and touch screens 8 should not be a issue even if this screen is not touch I find it easy just using a mouse. You can go from desktop to app page with one click, so don't understand others issue with windows 8. I recommend this notebook for using as a desktop replacement because of the power, storage, looks, and convenience.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 3 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I think I am going to like this computer a lot

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 5, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
It's still too soon to tell for sure but so far I really like what I have seen so far. I hate when they ask for opinions when you haven't had something long enough to have an opinion yet.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 3 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great all around

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 22, 2013
This laptop works great for what I use it for. Internet browsing, listing to music, and graphical design programs and 3D modeling programs. It is a bit large and heavy to be carrying around but, makes up for it in the speed of the computer. My only complaint is about how the speakers lose a lot of quality when the volume is turned up, but overall I am very satisfied.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 3 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The display is terrific

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 11, 2013
from New York
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
The display and ease of functions is terrific, only thing is speakers are a little tinny. but otherwise a great notebook.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 3 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Value for the money just Audio Speakers weak when playing

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 15, 2013
from Orange County, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: audio speakers weak
Excellent Value for the money just Audio Speakers weak when playing
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 3 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for quality use, but terrible speakers

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 22, 2013
from Provo, UT
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: poor speakers
I'm a college student and have owned this laptop for a few months now. Overall, I really like it. It's a little bulky, but that's what I wanted, so I'm okay with that. That also means it's a little heavy, but again, I'm okay with that. I feel like it could perform much better with a solid state drive, particularly for restarting which I have to do often, but the ordinary user might not mind the reasonable startup time. The battery life is reasonable, although I'd imagine a smaller laptop could outlive mine. The worst thing is the speakers. They're extremely quiet. I've explored all the settings, and they simply won't go louder. You might think you don't need it that loud, but I'm serious! They're really quiet. My roommates and I tried to watch a movie, and had to quit because none of us could hear it. I now use headphones or the speakers on my desk, but still a little disappointed. Also, Samsung does not offer recovery disks. I'm told, you can just use the product key on the sticker to install Windows, but I don't know for sure.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 3 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the computer, not Windows 8

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 9, 2013
from CT
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: windows 8
I've been buying Samsung ever since my first boom-box in the '80's.
This computer is lovely, the numerical key pad fantastic and the size of the screen is excellent. It's very stylish and sleek in design. The buttons feel very robust and strong, which is great because my last computer (another brand) was losing buttons within 13 months of purchasing it.
HOWEVER I am STILL, after 3 months, struggling with Windows 8. Windows 8 is not as user friendly as I thought it would be, plus it's incompatible with my Wifi router, so I have to use a cable - which defeats the whole purpose of buying a laptop altogether.
I'd definitely recommend the computer, but give yourself a LOT of time, energy and chocolate to get used to the software that comes with it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 3 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Decent laptop

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 3, 2013
from Kansas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: no kybd illumination
This machine seems to have plenty of power and RAM. It has all of the external connections I expected. The only hardware change I would have liked to see is an illuminated keyboard. I can't fathom why with the ultra-low cost in both material and power that there would be no keyboard illumination built in.
There were a few software problems that were more annoying than anything.
1. The users guide was non-functioning. I didn't attempt to access it before installing Adobe Acrobat Reader but that shouldn't have caused the failure.
2. There is a "Your Feedback is Important" icon...which takes you to an outdated surveymonkey website that doesn't have this model number on it and the purchase date only goes to 2012.
The biggest complaint I have is the operating system.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 3 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good...not great

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 10, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: shared graphics memory, 5400 rpm hard drive, 6-cell battery, so-so speakers
Speakers could have been better but the biggest complaint is that it only came with Windows 8 (supposedly "fixes" are planned for release in August 2013). Samsung missed the mark by not making this a laptop that could allow users to switch easily to Windows 7 (like when some manufacturers put XP on their Vista machines). Too bad Samsung couldn't offer this option via a download or disk "fix" of their own...especially since they know what an "annoyance" Windows 8 is! Also, an 8-cell battery, 7200rpm hard drive and dedicated graphics memory would have made this a much better laptop.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 3 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good performer, but has some serious drawbacks

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 27, 2013
from Phoenix, AZ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations, horrible speakers
When I received mine the wifi card didn't work, so it immediately went back to for repairs. About three 3 weeks later I got it back. I wish the touchpad was centered more instead of being offset to the left. I find typing on the keyboard not as easy as other brands. Lack of a caps lock light indicator is annoying too. I will say the computer boots up extremely fast. I wish the power cord attachment was on the right side instead of the left. My biggest complaint overall is with the keys on the keyboard. They require too much pressure to type and are quite slippery. I think other computers are more user friendly. The wrist rest area plastic feels cheap and thin too. Both buttons on the touchpad fit too flush with the computer so I find them hard to find quickly. I think they should be raised something like 1/16" so they are more easily found. I don't like Windows 8, but that's not Samsung's fault am I'm not allowing that to effect my thoughts on this computer. I have Samsung TVs and cell phone and have been very happy with those products, but I am a bit disappointed with the ergo dynamics of this computer. The speakers are absolutely terrible. They sound like a small handheld 1970's AM radio. With a little tweaking ,this computer could be absolutely stellar due to the speed of its electronics. But overall receiving it not functioning 100%, slow repair and poor overall feel, I would not but this again.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
50" Class 550 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Series 3 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Had to Replace within 10 days

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 26, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Problem was either motherboard or hard drive. Replaced with new laptop without problem. Husband has had exact same computer for over 2 months without problem.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.