Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 5 15.6” Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 5 15.6” Notebook

Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 5 15.6” Notebook
Review 1 for Series 5 15.6” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for work

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 12, 2013
from Philadelphia, PA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, reasonably priced
I needed a computer to work from home and this handles my workload perfectly.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 5 15.6” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 3, 2013
from tacoma
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
this has got to be my favorite every day accessory. simple and very easy to use for anyone. love the layout and is great for everything I need to do like check social networks to writing 10 page essays. I strongly recommend checking this out.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 5 15.6” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice thin laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 17, 2013
from North Las Vegas, NV
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I really am not a fan of Windows 8 so I made mine dual boot so it has Windows 8, Windows 7 professional and XPMode. Works great. I am a network engineer and I can use all of my applications no problem. I use my computer for work mainly and am very pleased with it. I am a big fan of Samsung Electronics. I have used their products for over 15 years and have always found them to do a great job and out perform many of the products that were supposed to be superior at the time.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 5 15.6” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has features and a great design.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 1, 2013
from St. Louis, MO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
I have owned my Series 5 Laptop for about six weeks now. Getting use to Windows 8 was not as hard as I thought it would be. Purchased a separate DVD external drive. Adding and deleting software is easy. Only issue is the #/3 key doesn't print sometimes and it sticks down sometimes. Will have to ship it off to have a new keyboard installed.
Other then that I love the new laptop and the other Samsung products I own.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 5 15.6” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great buy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 23, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I gott his laptop for my girlfriend and she LOVES it... I got to play with it the other day and its fast and easy to use. Samsung makes a great product
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 5 15.6” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product stands up to the standard I've come to expect

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 13, 2013
from NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Another great Samsung product,I have come to expect outstanding quality and this product holds up.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 5 15.6” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

UltraNice

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 12, 2013
from Alabama
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great Computer - if you haven't taken a look at it you need to.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 5 15.6” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nicely Designed reliable laptop

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 18, 2014
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
This laptop has been pretty reliable for me whether I'm streaming movies or doing some light 3d modeling work.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 5 15.6” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A nice product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 3, 2013
from New hampshire
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, nice finish looks great
A good laptop with all the essential features, compatible for home or business use. I like it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 5 15.6” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very nice laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: no cd/dvd drivr
I think this is a nice laptop. It is very easy to use, is lightweight and overall good product.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 5 15.6” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid & Sleek

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 1, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, matte display, latest core i5, metal top & palmrest, stylish, quality, no useless cd-rom, terrific sound
Cons: body bends slightly, front indicators are too bright, display not as good as i expected, poor viewing angles, slow harddrive, some bloatware
Overall I really like that sleek lappy, and I think It's pretty awesome for the price, it works well and has a solid build quality. My main reasons for choosing that model were - partially metal body (metal really makes it feel better), matte display, and finally - latest Core i5 processor. It is used as an business/entertainment machine, so gaming is not a priority.
Below I'll outline few things that could be better:
The main performance bottleneck it has - is a slow harddrive. I would pay same money to have at least 128GB SSD there, as I don't need tons of space. But good news harddrive is easily upgradable.
Next thing - display - it's slightly better than average glossy 1366x768 ones, but still suffers from same problems as glossy ones - like poor view angles. I remember standard LCDs from 5-7 years ago had much better angles and image quality. Though color seems to be better and brighter, then glossy ones.
Then, really a non-issue for me, but something I feel could be different. Since it is so slim and lightweight, but not fully metallic the whole construction will bend slightly when pressed in the middle of the keyboard, not too much to be a real problem though. I would prefer it to be solid and non-bendable to feel even better - e.g. having a metal skeleton inside, or fully made of metal.
Lastly, somewhat bright LED indicators at front are slightly annoying when watching movies. I would prefer them to be on the side of laptop, and not as bright, or even better - all white colored instead of orange and blue.
But in the end, compared to competition, this laptop is just outstanding - looks beautiful, slimmer than MacBook Pro, lightweight and affordable. Believe me it's hard to find Core i5 equipped device for the same price, especially with matte display!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 5 15.6” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good product but could be better

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 31, 2013
from NJ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
the addition of a ssd drive or even a Seagate hybrid drive greatly increases the speed and efficiency of the product. Also a slightly faster processor would benefit it as well. However, for the price overall and the quality of the product, I definitely would recommend it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Series 5 15.6” Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

almost perfect

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 8, 2013
from tx
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: wifi
this device would be perfect if it could hold an ip address. other than that, the laptop is perfect.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Series 5 15.6” Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good While it Lasted

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onFebruary 1, 2014
from Tulsa, OK
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Laptop worked great for sometime. However I'm not sure if it was because it hardly got turned off, it went to sleep mode, but not powered off. The processor went out after only 8 months of use.
This was my first Laptop that did not have a optical drive and also does not have a removable battery. When diagnosing the problem became a little frustrating to reset battery.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.