Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 5 14" Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 5 14" Notebook

Rating:
3.964 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
19 out of 26(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 5 14" Notebook
Review 1 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeds my expectations.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 25, 2013
from Hollywood, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This laptop is very thin and light, powerful and features a very nice display. The keypad is very comfortable and the touch pad is very soothing. It took me just few minutes to get used to the new gestures - scrolling, switching etc.
Processor is lightning fast and in overall the laptop is quite cheap as compared with the features and very thin also.
I'm extremely happy with it. The Samsung laptops are nice.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely light, powerful, nice display and very handy

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 8, 2013
from NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
The machine is very light, powerful and possess a nice display. The isolated keypad is very comfortable for typing and the touch pas is very soothing. The predefined gestures helps a lot in scrolling, switching etc.
Further it has got nice computing power. The best thing is that it is quite cheap as compared with the features.
Its very thin also.
I recommend to purchase it. The samsung laptops are nice.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

reasonable price with good features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 25, 2013
from Rosemead
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Overall, I bought it for the reasonable price, I don't really need a power laptop, just one which can support me in study and society network is fine!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing quality

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 7, 2013
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Everything I own samsung never lets me down! Its the best quality electronics money can buy, pricing is excellent, I recomend samsung to all my friends and customers.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 5, 2013
from PR
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Awesome Notebook! I Love It! i use it for everything, i am really glad i buy it :) GOOD JOB! SAMSUNG! :)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Total Awesomeness in one ultrabook!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 20, 2013
from Corpus Christi, Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, web camera, apps
I love my samsung series 5 ultra book its everything i need and more! I use it a lot for home use I have access to everything on here. All my emails and even a little down time on social networks :). I like the battery life i can listen to music and be writing back emails and everything. It also syncs really well with my Note 2 which I am also very much connected too! Overall a great Notebook size, price and screen and i can still listen to old cds with the disk drive :). Great job Samsung:)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best laptop out of many

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 23, 2013
from Indiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight, fast, large hard drive
As a researcher by trade and a long-time business owner, I have researched and owned many, many laptops before. This is the best one yet! I had bought a higher end laptop just before, but it was heavy and the fan was loud. This computer is light, quiet, and has tons of storage. It fits easily in my bag and I can pull it out wherever to get some work done!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NICE

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 16, 2013
from Hazleton Pa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight, fast
I bought this to trim the travel weight! It does this very well, at only 4 lbs. It is very fast and the screen is great. One of the few Ultra books with a CD/DVD drive. The battery life is amazing over 6 hours.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice and Slick

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 15, 2013
from PR
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Nice and Slick notebook, with ulttra hight performance
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best computer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 10, 2013
from South Carolina
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, memory, processor, energy efficient, back-up, camera
I purchased this laptop because of the price, the processor, and the hard drive. I have had issues in the past with different computers in using my 'Real-Time' dictionary. I finally realized that what I really needed was a "gamer" computer in order for my dictionary to work.
I am so glad I bought this computer. This is the best computer that I have ever purchased. Windows 8 was a little difficult to use at first, but with the help of the Samsung 'support center', I easily mastered it. I truly love my Samsung laptop, and I don't like sharing my computer with any of my family members.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was the most ram advailable for the price point

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 24, 2012
from Tucson, AZ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, samsung innovation, great ram
Cons: none
This is the Most innovative Machine with most features I found within the Price Point.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeds expecations...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 23, 2012
from NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, usb 3.0+8gb ram+hd display+i5 3rd gen
Ho Guys, When I was searching for the laptop, I was looking for a loptop with 3rd gen i5 processor, with HD display, 6GB+ ram , USB3.0, DVD drive, High resolution display (game sometime) and last but not least light weight. After doing huge reasearch I stumbled upon this laptop, having no reviews on the model initially made me skeptic., However as I have too many gadgets from samsung (TV and fridge in india) , Tab, S III, Wave 533 in USA and have never faced any issues with any of the product so far, so I thought to move ahead. When I received laptop it seem to meet my expetation right from start. I have recommended this laptop to 2-3 of my friends who are looking forward to buy
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Little Power House

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 1, 2012
from Alabama
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great lightweight laptop with all the features of a regular sized one. Clear screen, perfect placement of keys, DVD drive. One of the best little computers!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a little gem

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 31, 2012
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is my first Samsung notebook. What drew me to samsung was their reputation. I've had plenty of samsung mobile devices but this is my first notebook. I'm extremely satisfied so far with my experience
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Get the wifi driver download

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 10, 2013
from Minneapolis
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: wifi
This is a great laptop. Of course anything this good needs at least one major flaw. Once you get the machine, plug it into a lan connection and download the updated wifi driver and you won't have problems with the wifi.
After that the biggest drawback is the windows 8 platform.
Now the good stuff, fast, very fast, light weight, great battery life and HDMI connectivity. Wow!
Yes, I would recommend this as a great laptop. Small, light, easy to travel with and Samsung's great design.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Product for Great Price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 16, 2013
from Temple,TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
I will make it simple ,
Pro : Design , weight , price
Cons : No removable battery , no expresscache as advertised
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Machine - Does NOT have ExpressCache

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 27, 2013
from Wasatch Mountains
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: no expresscache as advertised
I bought this NP520U4C after doing a ton of research. It looks thing and beautiful and performs great. It had the best specs for the price hands down versus anything out there. I only have one hang up - it does not have ExpressCache as advertised here on the Samsung website. The store I purchased from did not advertise that it does. I checked in the system and was unable to find any sign that it had expresscache. After I was 99% certain it did not, I purchased the NP530 and it does have expresscache - says so on the box and once you turn the computer on it shows up in the system and there are setting for the expresscache. Unfortunately, the NP530 is quite a bit more expensive and has a slower processor and only 4GB of RAM. With that said, performance seems to be very similar to me. Startup times are WAY faster with the NP530 however. I hope this puts an end to the endless online questioning and debate about whether this model actually has expresscache. If it is priced too good to be true, it usually is.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Series 5 Laptop

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 28, 2012
from Norwalk, CT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Perfect size and functions for small business and personal use. Not a fan of Windows 8 however...
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, but could have been better.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 19, 2012
from Minneapolis, MN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, Built-in speakers, Bright display
Cons: Not high def
I have to say that computer as a whole is quite nice and I am satisfied with it. I do have to say that there are a few things that fall short. One being the display...the fact that any company let alone samsung is making displays with less then 1920x1080 resolution is disappointing to me since even that is a cut down from the 1920x1200 it should be. Two-Storage...Just because there is the express cache doesn't mean cheap out the entire storage interface, it should at least be SATA III interface and I didn't think that they even made 5400 rpm HDs anymore. Three-USB... Why bother with the USB 2.0 port? USB 3.0 is backwards compatible so why even have the legacy port...it is just annoying. I would have paid a few hundred more if all of these prior issues were addressed.
Otherwise, it meets expectations and I haven't had one problem with it. Build quality is very nice and it is a workhorse.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great laptop, needs better drivers

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 4, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
I purchased this laptop a few days ago and I've really liked the ultrabook form factor. After reinstalling a vanilla copy of Windows 8, I had trouble with the Wireless network adapter drivers provided by Samsung. I downloaded new drivers from the Intel website and everything seems to be working well.
Overall this was the best package for the price. I spent several weeks researching ultrabooks. There aren't a lot of ultrabooks with 8 gb RAM and 14 inch screens at this price point, so when I saw this in the store on sale I picked it up right away.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Expected more out of Samsung

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 12, 2012
from Chicago
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I like the design, weight and tech specs.
I do not like the:
Windows 8
Wi-Fi is disconnecting.
Windows 7 not supported.
I will return this laptop and get one with Windows 7.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Laptop IF YOU DOWNGRADE TO WINDOWS 7

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onFebruary 16, 2013
from California
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight, intel core 5, decent batery life
Cons: windows 8
I purchased this laptop at Best Buy in November. If you have Windows 8 and experienced these problems: freeze on restart, spotty wifi, slow performance especially with web browsers, touchpad features work randomly, poor battey life, etc - then the solution is VERY SIMPLE. I finally gave in and downgraded to Windows 7. This machine, and its drivers are NOT meant to operate in a
Windows 8 environment.
I have been running on Windows 7 Pro for 1 month without any problems. Performance is much better, my wifi problems have disappeared, and all my software loads properly.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good machine but don´t work with Windows 7

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 23, 2012
from Sao Paulo - Brazil
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: don´t have windows 7 drivers
This computer is beautiful, good performance, but don´t work with Windows 7.
The Samsung don´t have a drive to LAn and WiFi. is a deception.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A Bit Awkward to Use

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor wireless reception, sharp edges awkward to use, mousepad is terrible
My wife got this for me as a Christmas gift. It's just okay. The sleek design is nice, but the wireless card has a problem picking up my router signal, which my previous larger Toshiba laptop did not at all. Sound on this machine is great, and a lot of RAM for the price paid. I'm keeping it and giving my larger Toshiba to my mom, but overall I'd say this is just fair, nothing better.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Networking issues

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 12, 2012
from Purdue University
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, horrible network card
This product would be a great product if it wasn't for the constant network problem. If Samsung would take the time to do its job and actually solve this issue without wasting our time with pointless links to Microsoft sites that treats us as if we were 5 year olds who didn't know what a keyboard was, than maybe they would get better reviews and actually sell. Out of 10 customers review at least 5 complains about the networking issue. I guess I have only myself to blame for not reading the customer reviews.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't buy this trash

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 6, 2013
from Mexico
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, wifi connection, windows 8, sound speakers
My first impression of this notebook was great. I have a lot of expectations but troubles started as soon as I used it.
Samsung forces us to use windows 8 although you don't want it! So, who is paying for its products?
Few things I remark: Size, weight and battery life.
The general performance (with windows 8 and despite of its 8GB RAM) is simply disappointing.
I feel so frustrated, I'll never buy another Samsung Laptop or Notebook.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

so disappointed

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 28, 2012
Cons: Poor quality, wifi
We bought this for our high school student for Christmas. I am typing this review from MY computer because this Samsung will not keep the wifi connection long enough to type a review and send it! I have changed settings, downloaded driver updates and tried as many fixes as I can think of. This is our only Samsung and it looks like I will need to return it. What a pain!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Series 5 14" Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No Wi-Fi

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 11, 2012
from Rio de Janeiro
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Windows 8 keeps shotting down the wi-fi. Already downloaded the last drive versions and problem still on.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.