Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 5 13.3” Ultra

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 5 13.3” Ultra

Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 5 13.3” Ultra
Review 1 for Series 5 13.3” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 12, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, massive hdd hard drive, super fast boot due to ssd, sleek and sexy, boos up in no time, hd webacm, usb 3
Cons: Not high def, battery life is short for the category, would have preffered glossy screen
For the past 20 years I have owned nothing but laptops. This is a great product, all the specs u need and more. On performance i give it 4 stars, for lack of graphics card, and on features 4 as the screen is only 1366x768. That detailed of higher resolution offered by another company had me thinking for a few days which product to buy. At the end, the price/value factor added to the fact that i am very happy with my other 5+ samsung products, made me buy this product. If u r in the market for an ultrabook, this is one a KEEPER :)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at AT&T
4.7 out of 5(750)
 
 
 
 
23" LCD Monitor
4.5 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 5 13.3” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Size and looks

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 31, 2012
from Cypress, Tx
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
when i first saw it i loved the way it looked nice ans sleek thin lightweight no competition!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 5 13.3” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best PC I ever had

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 15, 2012
from Sao Paulo, Brasil
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, excelent performance
Cons: you could allow deactivate some of the samsung sof
This Ultrabook with SSD and HDD is the best and most intelligent solution balancing costs with convenience and performance. You showed us that you have brain. I need to thank you for this product. Congrats!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 5 13.3” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

so amazing

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 30, 2012
from PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
this is one purchase you will always love. This laptop does it all, easily. YOU JUST HAVE TO TRY IT TO SEE HOW GREAT IT IS !!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 5 13.3” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 15, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I loved it all. The sd drive is great but a little small
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 5 13.3” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Gift

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 13, 2012
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
I bought this as a gift for my preteen and she is luving every moment she on it. Its fast and I really like the sleek chrome finish.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 5 13.3” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great little Ultrabook for any cases!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 27, 2013
from RW, BW
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight, ultrathin
Cons: hard to open display, casing doesnt feel durable
I bought the Ubook some time ago and still like it like the first day. Yet there is a little problem with the opening of the display - which is a lil hard to get used to ---> a two hand opener. Recently I had a problem with the expresscache but also got rid of that, too. So overall great product for the lowest price availabe! Thanks Samsung!!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 5 13.3” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome for Daily Use and Portability

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 7, 2013
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, long battery life, stylish
So the Ultrabook trend is just that, a trend. And some people latched on to Intel's movement blindly. Samsung didn't seem to do that with their Series 5. They took from Intel's spec what they felt was necessary for the general public, and mixed it up a bit. For example, I got the Series 5 13.3" with the hard drive. Yes, flash drives are more efficient, quieter and what-not, but I didn't have the money and I wanted space. So this has become my primary laptop and it really does get quite a few hours out of its battery with the right settings (don't be afraid to dim your screen or tweak the battery settings, you can get a great deal out of it even with the traditional HD). And it's small and light so it fits and travels well with my camera gear.
I use it primarily for photography editing. It's got a beautiful screen, though a bit on the small side...but I got this for portability. For real edits, I hook up an external screen or use my other laptop. But it's not all about business. I have played quite a few games on it: Lord of the Rings Online is a good test of what it can do. It won't handle the latest games perfectly well because it doesn't have a dedicated video card, but it is pretty good considering it's package.
Only minor concern is that you don't have much control over the track pad. The track pad is very nice, but I do have some accidental palm clicks from time to time. And on other occasions, I think it's palm check (locking the pad when keyboard is on) is too aggressive. If I had access to tweak some of those settings, I'd be much happier. But for everyday use, these aren't issues that even arise.
Great value for the price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 5 13.3” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great little machine..

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 16, 2012
from Winston-Salem, NC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: trackpad
I've been using this laptop for a while now and I'm very satisfied with this machine. It's fast, light, sexy and easy to carry. The only issue I have - Trackpad. t's sometimes very sensitive and sometimes doesn't respond.
Samsung recommends Windows 8 but not its drivers.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 5 13.3” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great build! Super slim and light.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 15, 2012
from Portland, OR
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Lightweight, touch screen, design, large harddrive
Cons: processor, software issues, no tablet option, no extended battery
I love everything about this laptop, it would be nice if it could also convert to tablet mode. The build of this thing just feels sturdy and looks amazing! The edges of it are a little to crisp but the look the crisp edge gives is worth it. I am however having issues with the start up. My last laptop booted up quicker. And for some reason it keeps making programs close out. I think this is just a programming issue, hopefully a release will be out soon. Overall, I would still highly recommend this laptop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 5 13.3” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ANALYZED: SAMSUNG SERIES 5 ULTRA

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 28, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: could have better resolution
Samsung hasn't exactly been known for their laptops. But considering their success in the electronics division it was only a matter of time before they got their feet wet in the laptop department. They have been around for a while, but it looks like their design philosophy from the smartphone/TV division has finally spilled over on to their notebooks as well.
We tested out the 13.3" Samsung Series 5 ULTRA (there is also a 14" version) and it was pretty loaded for an Ultrabook. Our version came with a 1.6GHz Intel i5 processor, 1TB storage (the most we have seen in an ultrabook) with 16GB ExpressCache (for those ultra fast boot times), 1GB AMD Radeon graphics card, 1.3MP webcam, optical disc drive and 6GB RAM (upgradable to 8GB) in a package that weighs under 4lbs. You also get 3 USB ports, 1 VGA port, 1 HDMI port and a 4 in 1 multi card slot for your memory cards. Not bad if you ask us. From a looks perspective, as with all the Samsung products in the market, the Series 5 ULTRA is sleek and well packaged. The sophisticatedly simple and refined exterior is a cool metallic aluminum, while the underside is made with fiber glass that’s light but resistant to wear and damage.
We felt the display resolution could have been better. Despite having a dedicated 1GB AM Radeon graphics card, the maximum resolution is pegged at 1366 x 768 pixels. We watched a couple of HD movies on the laptop and were impressed with the darkness of the black colors and how vivid the other colors looked on screen. The same held true for a couple of games we tested out on the Series 5. Using the Mac style trackpad is also easy and we didn't notice any trailing issues that we have noticed with other brands of Ultrabooks. Multi-tasking doesn't choke the machine too much considering the amount of RAM that is included, but we did notice significant slowdown in the performance while trying to do some rendering in Photoshop and other activities at the same time. Not surprising considering how much RAM gets used up when trying to render. The chiclet styled keyboard is very easy to use and is water proof as well (which we love - we've ruined more than one keyboard before by spilling drinks on them... by mistake of course)!
One of the best features of the Samsung Series 5 ULTRA is its price. It is definitely the lowest priced Ultrabooks around these parts. For what you get for the price, we think the Samsung Series 5 ULTRA is a steal!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy Note (AT&T), Carbon Blue
4.7 out of 5(443)
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at Sprint (Black)
4.7 out of 5(1,143)
 
 
 
46'' Class (45.9" Diag.) LED 7900 Series Smart TV
4.9 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
 
 
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 5 13.3” Ultra
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappoints

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 6, 2013
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, aesthetics of design
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, ill-conceived features, some hardware non-functional to some extent
My Samsung laptop has been disappointing. It is slow, its fan is noisy (and needed repair only months after purchase), and its Samsung software/hardware features are either ill-conceived and useless, or don't work very well. Most annoying,perhaps: the security and power management with lid function etc., is awful. I have addressed this with a re-install but it has not helped. Therefore I would say it puts the security of my information at risk if I step away or inadvertently leave it. If it is truly to be an "ultra" book it has quite a ways to go--especially in comparison with the original (MB Air).
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.