Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 5 13.3" Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 5 13.3" Notebook

Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 5 13.3" Notebook
Review 1 for Series 5 13.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Ultra book

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 9, 2012
from Denver, Co
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Fast, light, quiet and great looking. Keyboard is very nice as well. Great value for such a powerful machine.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 5 13.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works perfect

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 15, 2012
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
I read that some Samsung products had some problems with the WiFi connections and I was a little worried about the performance. This computer is excellent. The computer has the Intel Centrino Advanced N6235 card. The speed test measured a download of 14.79 Mbps and an upload of 5.44 Mbps with Verizon (15/5) using a 802.11g connection at home. The connection is very fast. I am very happy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 5 13.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, highly portable laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 28, 2012
from Denton, TX, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: limited open angle for display, hot underside
I am very satisfied with this laptop, and for a number of reasons. First, the display is beautiful -- very vivid and clear, with a matte screen and better-than-average-viewing angles. Even on the battery optimizing dimmed mode, the screen looks great, with very accurate color representation. Second, I love the touchpad. At first, I was a bit disappointed with the noisiness of the included buttons, but after getting used to the touchpad, I realize I don't even need the buttons at all -- and the touchpad itself is very responsive. Third, I love the form factor of this laptop. It's perfectly portable, and very stylish. It looks like a very high-end laptop, even though the cost is very reasonable. I also really like the audio capability of this laptop. Very good quality sound from a very slim machine.
The only real negatives I have with this computer are the limited range of motion of the display (every now and again I find myself in a position where I can't seem to get the laptop open wide enough to allow decent viewing. This has happened maybe twice in the two weeks I've had the machine) and the temperature of the laptop's underside. If I'm charging the laptop and using it at the same time, the underside becomes almost too warm to rest on my lap.
Overall, I'm very excited by this laptop. I'd recommend it to a friend without any hesitation.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 5 13.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung series 5 with 3rd gen intel

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 11, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight, battery life
Cons: no backlit keyboard, need stronger processor, no dedicated graphics
Laptop is nice and thin and lightweight. It is very cheap for an ultra book. Wish the processor was a bit more powerful but I guess its all right because the battery life is incredible. about 5 hours actually doing stuff. probably 6 or 7 on just word processing. wish the keyboard was back lit. that would have been nice feature.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 5 13.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Ultrabook!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 10, 2012
from Chicago, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is a great ultrabook with the new 3rd Gen Intel low-volt chipset installed. Fast booting and browsing, amazing battery life and the cost compared to other ultrabooks with the same specs. is excellent!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 5 13.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the screen, not sure about the battery

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 8, 2013
from Salt Lake city
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, upgradeable
Cons: poor wifi reception, battery life not as expected, screen does not open too wide
Bright, matte and clear - this screen is viewable in bright sun, dark rooms ... This screen puts others to shame and best of all, I don't see my reflection in it, I see the computer contents. Keep up the Matte work!
Quite speedy even with a ULV cpu.
RAM and hard drive are easily accessible and upgradeable, unlike many ultrabooks.
The keyboard is easy to use and responds well.
Now the bad:
The wifi reception is not very good. Other laptops get better signal in the same place.
Battery life is not as long as I had hoped.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 5 13.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome 13.3" Ultrabook.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 1, 2012
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Good, solid quality product. Full of features at an unbelievably affordable price. Super Lightweight , Super Fast. I simply love its sleek design.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
LCD Monitor
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 5 13.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Replacement PC

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 25, 2012
from San Antonio, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Bought this to replace an aging desktop PC and work laptop. Great PC without the bloatware. Thumbs up Samsung. Thin, doesn't overheat, buttons are nice with some space between them for fat fingers, gesture touch pad.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 5 13.3" Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great laptop overall but a few concerns

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 11, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, ethernet port
Cons: screen does not go back far enough, mirror image of letters on screen
I got this laptop a few weeks ago. Generally really happy but I would have to say I would call it more like a desktop rather than a laptop - not because of its size (it is super slim and light) but because I am 6 ft tall and I cannot use it whilst resting it on my 'lap'. The hinge does not allow the screen to go back far enough and I can't see the screen from where I am all 6 ft of me up here. However, when I place the machine on a platform on my desk it works fine! Not so sure my wrists will be too happy after a while though what with it up so high on a platform!
Something else very unusual is happening too - there is now a mirror image of all the letters from the keyboard on my screen! I think it is either the print coming off the keys of else perhaps residue coming off my fingers that is sticking to the slightly raised letter print, and then when the laptop lid is closed it transfers back onto the screen! (I guess a downside of how slim it is - the keys touch off the screen when it is closed).
Having said that the screen is otherwise amazing (when I can see it and after I have cleaned it). I love the matte effect and it is the perfect size.
Everything else with this laptop is spot on. It's quick enough to boot up - and wake from sleep (but still not as quick as another computer I have running a different operating system). Trackpad needs some refining too.
The charger is very lightweight but the jack could be angled to reduce risk of damage.
A lot of slim ultrabooks forfeit the ethernet port but I love the way the ethernet port on this machine flips out.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.