Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 5 14.0” Ultra

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 5 14.0” Ultra

Rating:
4.323 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
24 out of 26(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Review 1 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Something new on the market

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByRicky365
onApril 10, 2013
from Boston ,MA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: not at this time, 1600 x 900 would be nice not 1366 x 768
Very well designed laptop with cooling exhaust on the back and very powerful with lower consumption processor and long battery life. I would recommend all 14 " Samsung 5 series comparing design price and features.Hopefully the quality is the same as most of the Samsung products - the time will tell.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Small, light and powerful

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDJRumbero
onJanuary 18, 2013
from Katy, TX
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: none
I bought this ultrabook about six months ago and loved it since the first day I got it and that has not changed. I use it mainly for work because I am always driving visiting customers and I need to have all my files with me. I do not have anything negative to say about this laptop. I upgraded it to windows 8Pro and it is even better.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice looking easy to use

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByNHGolfnut100
onDecember 3, 2012
from Laconia, NH
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
A very nice computer for the price! Light weight and very quick.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Samsung Ultrabook

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BydSteve
onNovember 30, 2012
from San Antonio, TX
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, great battery lifetime
I've had this device since May 2012 and to this day it performs as good as the day I bought it. The start-up and wake times are super fast. It light, perfect size, and very user friendly. This is the smallest device I found on the market with a DVD player. I highly recommend. Plus the battery life is one of the best I have ever experienced.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Series 5 14.0” Ultra

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAsklepij
onOctober 22, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Very high performance for this size! Strongly recommended!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByWPinAK
onOctober 7, 2012
from Anchorage, AK
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
1st Samsung product we've had in years. We knew what we were buying and were in no way disappointed. i5, 4GB ram, it's light, and the fan doesn't run all the time (unlike my macbook pro).
Strictly business and Facebook games. We travel a lot and telecommute whenever possible. Did I mention that it's light?
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My ULTRA great Ultra book

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJoleigh0877
onSeptember 18, 2012
from Spring Hill, FL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love this laptop, it is so light weight , it has great features and I use it all the time I have several laptops. I had another laptop, which I still have and love but I find myself picking this one up first now out of habit. The light weight durable design and the keyboard I absolutely love. I will keep on buying my Sammy's as I jokingly call them.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Trendy and Powerful

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByMarvelboy
onSeptember 6, 2012
from Castine, ME
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight, comfortable to use
Cons: Not high def
This computer is very usable in many situations, it has great speakers for music, fast processing and a comfortable keyboard. Not only is it a workhorse, but it is also one of the most stylish laptops I've seen. I love it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Ultrabook!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMom2four
onJuly 1, 2012
from Colleyville, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Lightweight
Great product w/ DVD - runs like a dream - highly recommend this product!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast and Easy

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMay 27, 2012
from Lawrence, KS
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
While I have only recently purchased this product, the ease of setup, quickness, and design have already made it a big favorite at our house.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tons of features in a mobile product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAtl92
onMay 9, 2012
from Atlanta, GA
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
I chose the Series 5 ultrabook because it was a great balance between the super compact ultra books with no optical drive and the larger traditional laptops on the market. It has the quick start, long battery life, and a sleek design while still carrying the larger hard drive and optical drive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGowri
onMay 7, 2012
from Warsaw, IN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This laptop satisfies all your needs, slim, fast, elegant very soft. This design is unique and attracts by look.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

incredible

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytonyjd
onApril 30, 2012
from PA
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
it does everything you would expect and so much more.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop for a road warrior

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySeniorWrights
onApril 27, 2012
from The Villages, Florida
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
This product has all of the features that any working who spends time on the go would find most welcome. It is light, full featured and very attractive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For the Advisor on the go

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByYourAdvisorConcierge
onApril 21, 2012
from Denver, CO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Lightweight
I have my own financial planning practice, and I needed a highly portable, high powered laptop. The NP530U4BI is a solid performer, and has great battery life to boot.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLollyta
onApril 20, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I just bought this thing for myself but already love it! I really like the perfomance, memory is enough for everything I need + with Core i5 Processor it works great.
And I really like that it does have this DVD-ROM. Thank you for this product!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Series 7 11.6" Slate
4.4 out of 5(67)
 
 
 
Series 7 11.6" Slate
4.6 out of 5(39)
 
 
 
 
 
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Light, powerful, portable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMaxtech
onOctober 30, 2013
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Small, light, powerful. This machine last hours on a full battery. I have never had any horsepower issues. Great machine
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I don't know about this one

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bycatmeow734
onJuly 24, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I really love Samsung but the Ultra just needs a little more to it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great all-in-one ultrabook

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByDealman
onNovember 12, 2012
Laptop maintains ultrabook status with a dvd drive,
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So far, so good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByWillinNC
onOctober 23, 2012
from Charlotte NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Had this for a couple of days, like it so far. Downloaded updates have affected performance and stability, shocker!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Series 5 14" Ultra

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKennon
onOctober 12, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Good stuff. Great price! Use this as my day-to-day personal box.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Galaxy Nexus™ (Verizon) Android Smartphone
4.4 out of 5(650)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybygremlin
onJuly 25, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
very good value for the price. i5 cpu and 500gb hhd.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

its slim wish i could customize my case with airbrushing or something

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bycasdub7
onJuly 20, 2012
Pros: Lightweight
its really thin i like it. the screen is a perfect size. i couldnt ask for anything more i guess until another ones comes out
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for travel

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By2CVLady
onJuly 15, 2012
from Chicago
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: screen freezes
This is lightweight enough to travel but has a DVD drive and 3 USB ports. My major problem is that it tends to freeze up for apparently no reason and cannot be rebooted -- you have to shut off the power. Otherwise it is pretty fast to start and load web pages (I don't do any gaming and rarely watch videos).
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byprasnick
onMay 29, 2012
from tenali
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Too big, led back lit keyboard
This product almost delivers the conditions what you are looking for and unlike all ultrabooks it has discrete graphics performance but the battery life is not good as promised and over all performance is good...!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By6907samsung
onMay 5, 2012
from CA
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight, gorgeous
So I actually am a very frugal buyer.
I did not expect myself to buy such an high priced laptop, but the beauty of this just had me spend the money.
I think it is a good laptop. It is so beautiful.
I plan to get linux installed on here. That would provide a good web surfing OS.
It is a good laptop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is stylish with great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bycompfan
onApril 2, 2012
from Jacksonville, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: poor viewing angles
I love this ultra book! It is stylish and has great features without overloading the system with too much junk programs. My only complaint is that the screen viewing angles for getting the best image are somewhat limited.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAmbitiousSTEFF
onMarch 11, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, portability
Cons: camera quality is solid could be better.
Samsung is known for their high-end products and that is exactly what this laptop is, High-End. Only con I have is the camera. Could be better for the amount of $$$ spent.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good For Business

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByRamanSpec
onFebruary 8, 2012
from Windber, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, connectivity
Cons: slower than expected
I am not an expert but I do not see much difference in this computer's performance than any other. I will say it does boot up just like my wife's Mac Book Pro but I have already had a unexpected shut down of Word. Not sure if that is the computer fault, but is inconvenient when working on important documents. I am happy with the functionality of the computer compared to is size. I did not want the ultra-book that lost most of its ports. I use this for business and being able to connect to a projector or external monitor without an adapter is nice. The fewer cables you travel with the fewer times you get stopped by TSA. The screen is clear and during my battery test I got almost 7 hours out of it. I will perform a few more tests to confirm. The value is ok but not the best, however it is competitive since it has so much more memory than other ultra-books. Overall I would recommend this to others.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Will be replacing this piece of junk very soon

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByDisappointedEngineer
onDecember 1, 2013
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, freezes, power plug broke, mouse button sticks
I bought this laptop in April 2012 for my wife to use in grad school. I liked the idea of an ultrabook for its thinner, lightweight design and energy efficient processor. The specs on this laptop were exactly what I was looking for. However, this laptop has been nothing but trouble. It worked well at first but then started randomly freezing. It was impossible to predict when it would occur or how long it would last - not exactly helpful when you are using the laptop for school and taking notes... I sent it into Samsung and it was returned with nothing changed. I reinstalled Windows back to the factory settings, and nothing changed. I have now done a completely fresh install of Windows 7 to remove all the junk Samsung software, so we will see how that goes.
As I am typing this review, many of my keystrokes are not registering. Also, the left mouse button apparently sticks now.
Also, the build quality i very cheap. The screen is very floppy. The plastic housing around the power plug on the side broke off which caused the plug to come unattached from the motherboard. I had to take the laptop apart and solder the power plug back to the motherboard to allow the battery to charge.
I have had this laptop for 20 months. As soon as my wife finished grad school, we will be throwing this piece of junk away and getting something useful.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Big Mistake

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byevanbw
onJune 25, 2012
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I bought this product because I've had good experiences with their TV's. Now I know to stick to their TV's. I don't know much about computers, I just want them to work. This crashes all the time, and sometimes won't wake up from sleep mode. I wish I would have bought the cheapest model out their instead of this.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.