Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 5 14.0” Ultra

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 5 14.0” Ultra

Rating:
4.053 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
14 out of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Review 1 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid computer

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 27, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Great product, but looking at the new computers coming out with windows 8, it already seems a little old. I guess that is the downfall of committing on any computer though; within months it will be out of date.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 5, 2012
from Long Island
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, runs very cool, great performance.
I bought this laptop with little bit of hesitation. I did not think this laptop will perform very well. I am very happy with this laptop performance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Ultrabook truly is ULTRA AWESOME

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 30, 2012
from Spring Hill, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is a light weght ,very fast, and excellent performing computer. I have had it for a week and I don't like to read directions ,I like to discover for my self and I like what I have discovered.I discovered a GREAT LIGHT WEIGHT COMPUTER, PERFECT TO WORK WITH!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy Tab® 2 7.0 (Wi-Fi), 8GB
4.5 out of 5(1,043)
 
 
 
 
 
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I wanted, along with a burrito..

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 28, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This seems to be the bad boy that I'm going to need to hook up to my TV when I get my whole system set up.. I might never leave home again, I'm retired so that wouldn't be a bad thing.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great product and great performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 12, 2012
from South Louisiana
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
inexpensive and beats my expectations fror performance and reliability
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at AT&T
4.7 out of 5(750)
 
 
 
 
 
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 3, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: speakers not loud enough
I did a lot of shopping around and online research before making this purchase. I've also used a lot of my friend's laptops prior to buying this. I made the best choice for the money. Built in speakers are little to quiet but one could add better speakers etc. It's got everything I need and then some. Holds a charge longer than what I thought it would.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

cool laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 25, 2012
from BROWNSVILLE, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
i think is this Samsung's best laptop ever i like every aspect of it from its design to its over all performace
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Series 7 Desktop Replacement

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 10, 2012
from Pittsburgh
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
Cons: heavy
Very solid and well made machine. Took out the 1Tb HD and installed a SSD and this machine is lightening fast. Needed to reinstall Samsung utilities to enable the function features. Pros: fast, excellent screen, wake up in a blink, boots in 15 sec. Cons: 4.5 pounds , should be offered with an SSD, battery life is 3 to 4 hours.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Good, but could be better

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 12, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Love the non-reflective screen. The "Microsoft Signature" set of programs, without a bunch of junkie trial-ware, is wonderful.
One design flaw that makes me wonder if anyone used one of these units during development was the 'edge' where one's palm naturally rests, right beneath the track pad. It was almost cutting into the palm, so I took a nail file and smoothed it down, something that should not have been in production.
This unit is quick, probably due to the 16GB SSD. A joy to use, although I should have held out for a lighted keyboard.
Pretty small and light, with all the ports you need along with a DVD.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This laptop is a great product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 24, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: battery loses life quickly
In all, it performs very well, it is light which is good for me, (being a college student) it is simple, fast, and small. The only complaint that i have about this ultrabook is that I have had it for about a month and the battery has already gone from six hours of power to 3, and I have been very careful trying not to ruin the battery life.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Keyboard Sensitivity

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 23, 2012
from Las Vegas, Nevada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, needs louder volume
Cons: sensitive key board
Has a very senitive keyboard. Other wise...very good laptop!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Series 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 18, 2012
from Lahore, Pakistan
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: less processor speed
Samsung Series 5 really is an awesome series. All the features are cool and it's my first look at Series 5. Though liked it but Series 5 Ultra Processor speed ie 1.6 is much much less. This should be more than 2. Overall, a great laptop.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 13, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
A huge upgrade over my old laptop that I was using. Fast, sleek, and quiet.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 6, 2012
from alb n.m
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Not high def
just what i need for my work me and my family share it son and daughter like it
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
23" LED 3D Capable Monitor
5 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Ultrabook

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 19, 2012
from California
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, loud speakers, extremely good display, core i5 can handle a lot!, ssd express cache, zippy, hd webcam, keyboard is good
Cons: cd drive is fragile but that's with all laptops, power button is awkward but useable, hardware/body gets too cold
This Laptop is fantastic, it will last you a good 3 to 4 years with proper care and use.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Series 5 14.0” Ultra
4.3 out of 5(31)
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at T-Mobile (Titanium)
4.7 out of 5(1,051)
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy Note (AT&T), Ceramic White
4.8 out of 5(283)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great notebook but falls short

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onFebruary 29, 2012
from Prescott, AZ
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
In general a great notebook but it falls short for several reasons.
1) No USB 3 support
2) Need 15" screen offering
3) Need screen resolution of 1920x1080
4) Need screen with anti-glare, LED backlight
5) Need backlit keyboard
6) Need SSD support along with HD
7) Need more USB ports
8) VGA/HDMI port should be on the back of the unit not the side.
9) On the right side the USB port is too close to the front of the unit. When something is plugged in the wire interferes with paperwork laying next to the unit.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
24" LED Monitor
4.6 out of 5(25)
 
 
 
 
 
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great Product!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This laptop has very good features. It has so many shortcut functions. Its light, easy to carry around. The fan is very quiet. It boots up really fast. The graphics are good and doesn't hang.
SO...what makes me want to grade it poor in performance?
It's the fact that my unit automatically closes(note, I didnt use shutdown, because it doesn't even show that, it just turns OFF) every once in a while...say...3 hours of continuous typing/surfing/watching or 2 hours of soft detailed gaming, or 1 hour of medium well graphics game, or 15 minutes of 1 great graphics game plus an open folder/browser. And when I mean OR, yes, I mean, OR. I had experienced the laptop closing down with just 5 minutes of booted game.
I sent my product to the repairshop just 2 weeks of using it and Ive had a total of 5 check-ups. Been wasting my time bringing it to the repairshop with the repairman saying a lot of different defects each time. He probably just want to appease my anger.
Was it just my unit? I don't think so. This laptop is just made for those who wants to spend a little time on their laptops. This is definitely not for game nerds, nor is it advised for people who doesn't want their hands to get burnt. Its funny how hot the unit goes in a few hours. My left hand gets really hot even when the aircon and fans are on while my right hand is cold. Besides, the battery can't be removed so you have no choice but to bear with the heat.
Overall, as I said. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT if you're looking for a gaming/use it all day/use it most of the time/use it as your primary laptop kind. This is just for those people who don't really even need one and just wants to show off their laptops. Very bad performance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good but not

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onSeptember 1, 2012
from bedford.IN
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, small
Cons: Did not meet expectations
It is small and easy take places. I use it all the time for work, but i always have a problem with maxing out the CPU while only having two applications open. Its a good little ultrabook if the only things you are going to do are surf the web and do word documents.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Series 5 14.0” Ultra
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Faulty parts - not recommended at all

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 3, 2013
from Cambridge, MA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
When I first bought this laptop, it looked great with a sleek design, light weight and great performance. However in 9 months of buying it the laptop had some problem or other at least 4 times. The hinge is very delicate and my screen almost got separated from keyboard once while laptop was just 3 months. Next the half of the keyboard keys stopped working. When samsung repaired the keyboard fault, they injected another problem and now the microphone doesn't work when I plugin headphones into the system. Apart from all this every now and then the system starts showing blue screen error and shuts off without giving any warning. Recently the laptop has started to shut off immediately as soon as I unplug the charger. This laptop has number of problems which appear to be manufacturer's default. I do not recommend this system to anyone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.