Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 5 14" Ultrabook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 5 14" Ultrabook

Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 12(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 5 14" Ultrabook
Review 1 for Series 5 14" Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Investment

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byguitarguy434
onApril 15, 2013
from Anderson, IN
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I bought this version of the series 5 after trying out some other laptops and ultrabooks from various companies as I was starting college. I had numerous problems that required upgrades and new parts so I kept looking and I found this one which was cheaper than buying the new parts. This ultrabook has met all of my needs as a student, a gamer, and for just casual usage.
Two very attractive features of this version of the series 5 in my opinion were the dimensions/weight and the battery life. While I'm lugging around heavy books for various classes, my ultrabook adds very little weight and fits very nicely in my bag. I think it's great that I can get about 6 and a half hours of battery life on the right energy settings. This has been a real life saver on the occasions that I have left my charger at home. The 4 gigs of ram and the 750 gigs of hard drive space was nice for facilitating some of the games I play as well as various other media files I have from previous computers. Granted, this is not a product for hardcore gamers by any means, but it runs games I play (Minecraft, Fallout, Elder Scrolls, WoW) pretty well. I have upgraded my ram another 4 gigs to help things run smoother, but I plan to get an NVIDIA card to help out even more. I also use my ultrabook to listen to and edit music. The speakers are not the greatest in the world, but I appreciated the fact that they have a customizable equalizer. Many of the other laptops and ultrabooks I had previously tried out did not.
I have had this ultrabook for about 7 months now and I have had zero problems and zero complaints. I would definitely say that I got my money's worth and it has both met and exceeded my expectations.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
4GB DDR3 Laptop SDRAM (1333MHz PC3-10600)
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 5 14" Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTygerUpperCut
onJanuary 1, 2013
from CA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This Ultrabook loads fast and due to its light weight design and size, it is highly mobile.
Granted you aren't going to be doing some serious graphics work or pwning all the newbs in Starcraft II, but it's a fantastic device for students and for professionals.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 5 14" Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best computer i ever had

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjr37high
onNovember 16, 2012
from clearwater,FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
very easy to use,very light weight and priced was good
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 5 14" Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Still the best so bought a second one

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByITSDirector
onNovember 2, 2012
from Cincinnati
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
These days it's tough to steer your kids away from Mac Books with limited specs,proprietary connectors and high prices for just a status symbol. Thankfully mine grew up.
Here is the net of this Ultra-book:
As thin as a Mac
Faster than a Mac
More features and compatibility than a Mac
Less expensive than a Mac and better built
So the Pros:
Easy to set up and creates a restore image during initial setup on the drive. It actually stores TWO. One is stored as factor reset and the other is how it was right after you initialized and registered it. Both are available. Samsung will also mail you a restore DVD free if you request it.
750GB - 7200rpm Hard Drive with 32Gb cache plus this PC has 24GB ExpressCache™ Technology which is just like an mini SSD. It boots fast (under 20 seconds) and awakes from sleep mode in under 2 seconds.
Screen is not a glossy glare but still maintains its fingerprint free matte with bright and vivid colors.
Does not get hot while using
So thin with a built in super multi-drive is so nice!
Realistic 7 hours of battery life
4GB ram upgrade is a very minimal investment and did so on both immediately
Touch-pad is incredible. Better than the dozens I have used to date with multi-swipe, multi-zoom, back, forward, quick scroll, etc.
So what are the Cons?:
The power cord sticks out perpendicular to the Ultra-book at the left side which makes it easy on your lap to put pressure on it. Break or bend, and there goes your motherboard. So take care
Battery is not user replaceable just like another manufactures toys which is disappointing. However this battery is built to last for more charges and longer life than typical laptop batteries. Guess we will see but 6 months on the first one bought and not any degradation so far and it gets charged everyday
Finally, no back-lit keys. I'm not the critical party on this, my daughters are but they overlooked it quickly when they got this in their hands
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 5 14" Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Light Laptop with a built in DVD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByCarolG8511
onSeptember 16, 2012
from Hawaii
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: a little expensive
Needed a laptop that was light with a built in DVD player for a deployment. This was the only one I could find that met all my needs. Does a great job, but was a little pricey in relation to those that didn't have the DVD player.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 5 14" Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydtembe
onAugust 27, 2012
from Dallas, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, raw computing power
Purchased it yesterday. Spent some time removing the Samsung bloatware. Couple of tweaks to the settings. Used Ninite to install all my daily use programs. Its ready to go. I am using it as a test lab to run virtual servers showing network computing. I already feel the need to upgrade the RAM from 4 gigs to 8 gigs, but the VMs are running like a champ including a MS Server 2012 Std. VM. Very pleased with this purchase. Will recommend this to any power users. Love the keyboard and the display too.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 5 14" Ultrabook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice slim line fast action computer. Weak Battery Life

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By1sttimeAndroidowner
onJuly 16, 2013
from USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: battery life
I find the computer runs pretty fast and I don't have any major malfunctions or crashes. The software runs nicely.
I am finding that after less than a year the battery life is diminishing very quickly. I used to get six hours out of a full charge with normal use not including watching movies and such. Now I seem to get four hours out of a charge.
This is a big deal to me because part of the reason I went with a ultra-book style computer was for the longer battery life. I don't think you can take the battery out of this so if I am traveling I am playing the "search for power" game. And Yes I optimize my battery life by utilizing all the settings available.
I recommend this computer but I also suggest you get a computer you can remove the battery for either a back-up or replacement.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 5 14" Ultrabook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

QUALITY AND VALUE BUNDLED TOGETHER

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByQuadophile
onNovember 17, 2012
from Sugar Land, Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: lack of keypad illumination
This is great laptop which does full justice to portability and functionality. I particularly liked the idea of an ultrabook with the optical drive. It sort of completes the package for those on the go.
It is an ideal travel companion for those who use it for business. it even has the vga connector even though it is obsolete by todays standard but one can use it for older projectors and even monitors.
The speed of the laptop in high performance mode is excellent in case one needs it. The Samsung optimised mode is the for general purpose computing.
The screen is gorgeous to look at if you are using it to view HD content. The screen size is a great balancing act between portability and luxury of a desktop.
The only gripe was that the keypad is not illuminated, I have in the past 15 years always used an illuminated keypad and miss it sorely, however this is not a deal breaker for me.
All in all a great product which will appeal to those who want to get the job done.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 5 14" Ultrabook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Series 5 Rocks

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bykyani1
onOctober 31, 2012
from Salt Lake City, UT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, dvd drive, full size hdmi
I have a tec background and do a lot of presentation with a projector for my marketing business. I have been looking for a laptop that has the perfect balance of power and weight. I don't need a gaming machine but show a lot of video. The series 5 is perfect. Ultra book size and weight with the features of a bigger unit (like the DVD drive). Looking forward to many road trips with this unit.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 5 14" Ultrabook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"Clicky"Buttons

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByShinergise
onOctober 27, 2012
from Dollar, Scotland, UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: noisy buttons
My only one complaint is the noisiness of the clickable buttons on the touchpad, they are too LOUD and this is very off-putting if you are on a plane next to someone who is sleeping!
The upgrade to Windows 8 has NOT been smooth, think that both Samsung and Microsoft could provide better instructions.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
28 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
 
 
 
UN46C6400RH
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 5 14" Ultrabook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So far, so good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByWillinNC
onOctober 23, 2012
from Charlotte NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Had this laptop for a couple of days, so far I like it. Light weight and nice features. Downloaded updates have affected performance and stability, but what are you gonna do?
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 5 14" Ultrabook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

could be better

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byesteenj
onJanuary 24, 2013
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Pros: Nice combo of weight, battery, storage, etc.
Cons: infant death of motherboard, no compatible USB docking stations (that I can find), trouble finding the right additional A/C adapters, low quality help from the Samsung web site.
Bottom line: Could be great...but it isn't
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.