Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch

Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Review 1 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for Everyone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjessieisit
onNovember 28, 2013
from Riverside,CA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy to use, great size
I purchased this Samsung Ultra book a few months ago and have loved it ever sense. It has absolutely everything you could possibly want, speed, great design, and amazing customer care from Samsung. I highly recommend it to students, as well as the average person and the up and comer new to computers.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first Ultrabook

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCJinMVNC
onApril 24, 2013
from Maggie Valley, North Carolina
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
Well built and small laptop. I can take it anywhere.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Ultrabook for my needs!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMRNWV
onApril 8, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
I love how light it is. I take it everywhere and use it as my personal computer at home. The screen is great, although I wish it were full HD. It is very fast and feels like a premium product.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Ultrabook at a Reasonable Price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGulfdiver
onFebruary 10, 2013
from Seminole, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, fast
Fast, lightweight with outstanding battery life. I use the Nook Application to read books. This is the best laptop I have ever owned! The screen brightness is excellent.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Ultra

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRobert4Korea
onJanuary 26, 2013
from Fort Belvoir, VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
I needed a touch screen laptop to replace my Netbook, and this one did a great job. Light weight, easy to use, and supports Windows 8.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Series 5 13.3” UltraTouch

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjbaileystudio
onDecember 27, 2012
from Lancaster, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, expandable memory
Awesome laptop for the price. Love the fact that the memory is upgradable as well!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Even better when upgraded!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjmc1982
onDecember 22, 2012
from Bay Area, Ca.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, stylish
Cons: none
I purchased this ultrabook a couple of days after it came out. Immediately I was impressed. Everything right out of the box is great, don't get me wrong, but a few upgrades made this one of the fastest laptops I have seen. I upgraded the HDD to the Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256 GB and added 4GB more of the Samsung DDR3 1600MHZ ram for a total of 8GB. (some sites claim the max memory is 4GB, this is NOT true).
With the SSD upgrade, not only is my boot time <9 sec, but it is absolutely SILENT! This is, in my opinion, one of the best laptop set-ups you can have, especially for the money.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features and design for the price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bygilo
onNovember 24, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, fast, thin, battery life
Cons: camera
For the price I paid, the computer is awesome. Thin, light, the touchscreen is capacitive, nice and bright too. Battery life is thankfully a good 6-7 hours. Fast, and Windows 8 works awesome on it. Keyboard's a dream to type on.
The camera isn't really that good of a quality but it's okay, and sometimes the screen wobbles if you tap it but that's to be expected from touchscreen laptops - hinges can't be too strong. All in all a great buy
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST LAPTOP I'VE HAD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDGuy
onNovember 20, 2012
from Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, touchscreen
Great laptop im able to connect and share my things with my Galaxy S3 and my xbox 360 very quickly its awesome and the touchscreen is very cool and very easy to use
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydbayhawk
onNovember 5, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I purchased this with the windows 8. Very happy with the quality and performance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice ultrabook

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bymbern37
onNovember 1, 2012
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: little pricey
Was looking to get rid of my bulky laptop and move into something smaller. This is the ideal size, weight and delivers everything I need in a PC. The new Windows 8 is smooth as well. If you already use apps on a smarthphone or tablet then migration to the new OS should be very easy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First impression

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySinjo
onOctober 30, 2012
from Madison wi
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: excessive heat
I bought this laptop on its release date and have only run into a couple small problems with windows 8 (incompatible programs caused a couple crashes, but this is expected with new releases of windows). The touchscreen is fantastic. The hardware is responsive, fast and efficient. . It runs a little hot which may cause problems with hardware going forward but that is probably something that will be mitigated with more efficient driver interaction and hardware control. Overall I would rate a 9.5/10.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Perfect for my daily needs

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTuggers
onJanuary 7, 2013
from MA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, good bat time.
I had a choice and this was it and I'm happy with it. Great bat. life, great portability, good speed, nice screen. A few laggs here and there but it seems to be installed software not Samsungs fault although there is some poorly implamented stuff preloaded but you can get around that. *** All and all it's a good choice.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Minor issues

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bymartyrmetal
onNovember 19, 2012
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, touchscreen
Cons: spotty wifi, no backlit keys
Windows 8 is becoming easier to work with. My only gripes about this laptop is the lack of backlit keys, wifi is pretty spotty (confirmed with other computers present), and some of the accessories can be a little tough to find. Looking for the
"Mini-Monitor" VGA adapter right now, which I use for work all the time. Overall, it should work well for what I plan to use it for though.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for Windows 8

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bytoomanycurls
onNovember 17, 2012
from Seattle, WA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: sharp edges
What would make this better:
-Option with more increased RAM and hard drive
-A microfiber cloth
-The lip of laptop is too sharp, it cuts into my skin after extended use
What makes it a good laptop:
-The touchscreen seems rather reliable
-Using it with Windows 8 is extra awesome
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung notebook np540u3c-a01ub

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGeneva2001
onNovember 16, 2012
from Geneva, Switzerland
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great little machine with Windows 8 and a touchscreen. Quick, efficient and easy to use. Love it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great features for an Ultrabook

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBobHWD
onNovember 4, 2012
from Hollywood
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Just purchased this ultrabook this past week. When I went to look at ultrabooks, I was more concerned about features, and price than brand name. I looked at various brands at the store and settled on Samsung, because it had all of the features I was looking for in an ultrabook, at the right price point. I've been playing with it for over a week, and so far, I have found very little not to like about it. I guess you could say that my one gripe if any is the learning curve for Windows 8. It requires, a bit of finesse to master.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Perfect as a concept/display unit.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByWestxtseW
onJuly 26, 2013
from Apple Valley, CA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations, flawed
The Laptop has it's flaws that can only be noticed under personal use. A ton of heat is expelled off this unit doing anything other than browsing the internet with temps at 58C to 69C. Intake & Exhaust ports are located between the hinge and body expelling heat towards the screen while the Screen, having a restricted lean angle that confines you to about a little over 45 degrees in freedom and if you close the screen it will prevent proper ventilation. When playing audio any louder than "quiet" I.E. over 45% on the volume control; loud and annoying reverberations begin to oscillate do to the palm surfaces aluminum design and can only be subsided by resting your hands on the metal surface (This should be no problem, if you constantly keep your hands on the warm laptop. Is probably what the design team for Samsung thought...)
All in all this would be a great laptop if it was released in 2010.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.