Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 5 15.6" Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 5 15.6" Notebook

Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
14 out of 16(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Review 1 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Had this for a while and still runs fantastic.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByEpberry9
onSeptember 29, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I bought this laptop for college and was looking for a good value. I've loaded up the computer with 100s of programs and it has yet to lag up or freeze. Great laptop for the price.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Incredible

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHonestDaveReviews
onAugust 8, 2013
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, incredible speed
Cons: Not high def, not high def camera
I have had this laptop for close to a year now, just nearing the warranty date. Having had this laptop for so long, it's had it's fair share of being moved about. This laptop scored a 4/5 on design, not because the design itself is cheap, but I feel that Samsung skimped on the materials of production. The laptop creaks and cracks like a house settling whenever I pick it up, and the screen can bend slightly,so it definitely is not the most durable laptop out there. To add to that, this PC is extremely hard to keep clean: fingerprints never seem to come off the top of it (back of screen) so I gave up on cleaning it. The mesh that covers the speakers as well as the keyboard are magnets for any small particles. The only reason this PC scored a 4/5 on performance is that I have noticed it slowing down lately. Which, I suppose, is to be expected as the warranty date approaches. It's also somewhat heavy, at least for my liking. Those are basically my only complaints about this laptop: it's hard to clean. The speed it offers is incredible, I don't use much of the memory, the repair service is quick (it was an accident, not Samsung's fault), and I simply cannot believe that the price is this low on a PC that has served so well. I realize that I've focused mainly on the negative aspects of this laptop, but those aspects are, in retrospect, trivial. If you're searching to purchase a laptop, this is the one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent PC

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydkjohn
onFebruary 26, 2013
from Michigan
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, best features for the money
The best best value for the money by far. Best features for the money.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Good Laptop for a Reasonable Price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKimFromPA
onFebruary 23, 2013
from Mount Union, PA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: haven't found one yet!
This laptop is very functional. I use it for my job, for gaming, for surfing the net among other things. I have not found any problem with it at all. With Win 8 it is great, even being the first time I was exposed to the OS.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No Regrets!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bylv2gvbhpy
onJanuary 13, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, anti glare screen
I did a lot of research... was looking at gaming laptops.. after all the frustrations with pc's-sound not able to keep up with videos and then eventually freezing, I was convinced you have to pay more! I've replaced the video card, more ram, updated drivers professionally and both of my computers still don't work! I've been wanting a portable pc of some type and I found it at a very reasonable price! I love the anti glare screen, it wasn't mentioned in the specs! Also, F5 locks the touchpad if you use a mouse! I am very happy with the keyboard and I needed ten key! This Notebook is not too small, lightweight, not bulky and beautiful! It has everything and it's fast! Do not look any further... I can't imagine needing any other features! Determined to learn all about Win 8! Thank you Samsung!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It works quite well thank you!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByJonathanA
onDecember 12, 2012
from Hillsboro, OR, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color, non reflective screen, keyboard and trackpad layout
Cons: windows 8 (i'm a linux guy)
The fact that this laptop didn't come with alot of bloatware was something I truly appreciated. No complaints and everything runs far more smoothly than my last laptop and desktop. Bravo zulu Samsung you got this one right.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent PC

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMTAudley
onNovember 1, 2012
from Orlando, Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Completely excellent PC. Never would have thought that I would get so much out of this computer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GREAt laptop at GREAT Price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytomyum
onJune 25, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
This is a great machine which boots up fast. I had to do a Windows 8 fresh install to get rid of any bloat ware. I do this for all of my machines. Samsung site was great for downloading all the drivers. Customer service was polite and very helpful.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Satisfied

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByNCC1701SEAN
onMay 18, 2013
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Been using this laptop for 7 months now and am very impressed considering the price.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I'm very Happy!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBigblack
onMarch 19, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: screen could be clearer
This product is excellent and I must say the build quality and look are a nice add-on. The price was right. The only thing is I wish the memory was bigger to allow 16GB and the hard drive I feel should have been 1TB in this market where others are putting it in standard. Still I'm very happy with the product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great laptop for the price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByUnimagined1
onFebruary 3, 2013
from Greenville, SC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: unresponsive touchpad
This laptop feels very well built and the design looks great. Only flaw is an occasional unresponsive touchpad, which can be frustrating at times. The keyboard is easy to use and having the number pad beside the keyboard is a big plus.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

almost there

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byzeropi
onFebruary 1, 2013
from ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: video cards could have been better
This laptop has been just great for me. There are very few complaints about the hardware besides the video card, which could have been much better considering the year we are in now. Ram, cpu, and even the speakers are absolutely top of the market(for the price range that they are), there are really no complains from my part aside from the aforementioned video card that could at least sport more than 32 mb of dedicated memory.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A best buy for features @ the price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTexan1
onJanuary 30, 2013
from AZ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Was easy to setup and is very user friendly. Good online support
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

love it

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bystach099
onDecember 27, 2012
from ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
love it all. fast, good price, still learning windows 8 but getting used to that.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not my best laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByDOS4Evr
onMay 28, 2013
from NC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, slow performance, intermittent touchpad
I'm disappointed in the very slow performance. I'm not sure if this is criticism of the laptop or Win8. This is my first Win8 experience, and I find I seldom use its features. I find I go to "desktop" for most everything. On hardware, the display is difficult to view in a well lit room - not reflections. The touchpad is hit or miss as to whether or not it will work. I recommend adding a mouse or some other external input device. I find the keyboard awkward to use, and I'm not sure why. It just does not feel right. Overall, I would not buy it if I needed a second laptop. It's good enough to keep for casual use, but I would take it back if I required it for work.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Samsung NP550P5C-A01UB Touchpad Issues

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bysingtuu
onJanuary 18, 2013
from Baltimore
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor touchpad response
This would be a great machine if not for the touchpad issues. The touchpad randomly stops responding. It's very frustrating. Other than that, the machine is comfortable, and had the best sound quality of any laptop I've tried. JBL speakers make this exceptional for listening to music. Unfortunately, the touchpad issue is making the decision to keep it almost nil. That much frustration makes this laptop useless to me.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.