Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 5 15.6" Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 5 15.6" Notebook

Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Review 1 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 25, 2013
from Dallas Tx
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I am fascinated by my computer and I need to learn more
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my new Samsung laptop!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 7, 2013
from Jacksonville FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, superfast screen transitions, sleek & modern design, proprietary software
Cons: electrical cord could be slightly longer, cd open button can get in the way of lifting
I purchased the Series 5 15.6" last April, my 1st new computer purchase since 2005, so I have to say, just having 4GB of RAM instead of 1GB has been a huge step up for me. I didn't have a separate 10-key before either, only a "Num Lock" for numbers subscripted on similarly placed letter keys, and now that I'm hoping to go into a career in finance, and even just for household calculations, the separate 10-key on the Samsung will be much more convenient if not essential. Another lovely feature that is fairly unique among laptops, is that there are two speakers, and they are on the top of the keyboard surface, not one or two on the sides away from your ears as on most laptops. I love that it must weigh 1-2 lbs less than my old computer, and I love that the keys are flat and nearly flush with the surface, and large, with very little opening around them exposing the interior to dust & other debris. I also love the look and feel of the slightly burnished & slightly textured silver exterior. Samsung has included some fantastic software called "SW Update", which automatically searches in the background for updates to all the pre-installed software and drivers, alerts you when there are updates, and gives you the option to download & install the updates directly from the software. Wow, did that ever used to be a pain to have to search for so many driver & software websites individually, especially when the computer world is rife with ownership changes. If I keep going on like the laptop is perfect, no one will believe anything I say, so I'll add that another foot or two on the electrical cord would be nice, and it took some practice to learn to pick up the laptop by the sides without accidentally opening the CD player every time lol.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

enjoying!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 15, 2013
from reading, pa
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: no blueray player
So far I am enjoying my Samsung NP550P5C-A02UB immensely! It seems to be a well built machine, with Bluetooth 4.0 and 5 ghz as well as 2.4 ghz Wi-Fi it has all the modern connections. It’s core i3 has more spunk than I thought it would, and it’s graphics while not up to hard core gaming are up to most tasks..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 14, 2013
from Denver, CO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Solid design with nice hardware. Good price for school or work.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 7, 2013
from Diamondhead, MS, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love it. Very fast. Super durable and toddler proof. LoL
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 25, 2013
from SC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I received this as a gift for my birthday from my husband. I was completely put off by windows 8 (I've used vista for years on my old laptop) After playing with it and learning the new OS I love it's ease! The OS reminds me of my phone with it's easy app's and sliding into a new screen. The anti- glare screen is wonderful! I haven't figured out all the bells and whistles and really wish I could get my old pic view back. It took some getting used to the touchy mouse pad. And the keys are slightly smaller than I was used too but again after playing with it and using it for a few days I became comfortable with it. The screen is wonderful for editing my photo's (I'm a Photographer) the right size and ease into other apps with the slide of the finger is great. The sleek design is a wonderful breath of fresh air and the 10 key is absolutely wonderful! I would recommend this to anyone. The only thing I don't like is the lack of accessories for this model. I really like making sure my electronics are well cased and protected. And they aren't out there yet.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great overall laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 14, 2013
from SLC, Ut
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
I was very impressed with this laptop. I bought just for casual use. The sound on it is amazing. It easily has the best speakers i have ever heard on a laptop. It's nice you can watch movies on it and sit back on still hear the audio fine. It works great for what i bought it for.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 5 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Deceptively Sleek/Very well built

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 2, 2013
from Vancouver, Wa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: little bit on the heavier side
This is a sexy computer for still being on the bigger side of the laptop world. That being said, it is very sleek looking and almost looks thinner than it really is. The build quality is top notch, from the gorgeous metal casing to the snug fit of all the ports.
As far as the performance goes, I could not be more satisfied with the i3 processor. The computer flies for only sporting what is basically Intel's mid range chipset. Not to mention the speakers on this thing are pure awesome sauce! They look loud, and they are. The only performance issue I have is Windows 8... :-P
If you are in the market for a relatively low price laptop that packs a high price punch, look no further. Buy this beast!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Galaxy Nexus™ (Verizon) Android Smartphone
4.4 out of 5(650)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.