Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 7 17.3" Gamer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 7 17.3" Gamer

Rating:
4.655 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
27 out of 28(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Review 1 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best computer I've ever owned

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMarvel111
onJune 7, 2013
from Oakland CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, top-of-the-line graphics, runs very cool, backlight keyboard
Cons: windows 8 has issues with this laptop
This laptop is one of the most amazing, high-end computers i've ever had the pleasure of owning. Simply put. This isn't a laptop, this is a portable desktop replacement. It's a beauty and a beast.
Some back story on my experience, we used these laptops at my employer for demoing an MMO we were working on at the time. The laptops ran beautifully and were able to mee the graphical demands of a private LAN/MMO. We were using these laptops for nearly a year before they were released to the public. I fell in love with it and marked on my calendar it's release date.
I'm so very happy with my purchase nearly a year later. This laptop is able to meet both my work demands and my gaming demands. Movies play flawlessly, new games run with out a hitch, and my old games look so amazing.
The only drawback I've had is running Windows 8. I upgraded from 7 and was foolish enough not to partition the drive incase i wanted to revert. Windows 8 has issues, and slightly more issues with the Power Wheel. The occasional crash isn't major and i can get right back to where i was with in a few seconds.
I really don't mind the size and weight. This isn't a mac book. You can't just toss it in a bag and go. This is a portable desktop replacement, not an on-the-go laptop. if you're afraid of a workout, look elsewhere. That being said, I've received dozens of compliments on this laptop, both when i was at my former employer and with my personal laptop. The laptop's quality and size are conversation starts, apparently :)
Blazing speed, top-of-the-line display and graphics. No overheading issues. This laptop is a gamer's dream.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best computer I have ever owned.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMikeH1823
onFebruary 20, 2013
from Kentucky
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I use mine for computer aided design and I wouldn't trade it for anything.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it from the first day and still!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJoel619
onJanuary 28, 2013
from PR
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, powerfull
Cons: heavy
Its perfect for gaming, for work, watch movies... you name it! I love gaming in this laptop more than my console. 5/5 10/10. Just Perfect!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop. DO NOT install windows 8 YET!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBobyTT
onNovember 30, 2012
from Red Deer, AB
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: lack of support for windows 8
i got this like month and a half ago. great laptop but i had Windows 8 pr 64 bit and decide to install it along with 2 256GB Vertex 3 SSD's Everything went well until i realize that there is something messed up with the boot sector. i changed which is the booting SSD from BIOS to be the same as it has to be regarding the user manual instruction but still i cannot boot properly when i restart or start the computer. I had to go every time in BIOS to set up the primary HDD.. I dont mind it but is a little bothering. The other problem is how slow are Samsung in supplying this TOP end laptop with drivers and software for Windows 8. Its ridicules since 8 its just modified 7 in the most part. And its taking them forever to release their Samsung software for Win 8.Other than that is a great laptop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Laptop I have ever owned

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySamsung12NOV
onNovember 17, 2012
from San Antonio TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: slightly expensive
My review may not be accurate since this is the first High Performance Laptop I have ever owned.
This is fast. Nice to have a numeric keypad on the right side of keyboard on a laptop. Great idea. Huge display, ultra fine resolution, and built in speakers have excellent sound for a laptop.
Overall, very fast, and I highly recommend this machine.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at Sprint (Black)
4.7 out of 5(1,143)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByREFSOCAL
onOctober 13, 2012
from United States
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, fast fast fast
Cons: little on the high side $$
this is a great laptop which blazes the interenet and intranet. It was a little on the high side as far as price but this all the extras it is worth it..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely A Be(a)st!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySWOG
onOctober 9, 2012
from Seattle, WA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Pros: Top of the market Processor (To Date)
Selective Modes for Convenience (Gamer Mode, Balanced Mode, Library Mode, Eco Mode)
Soft Keyboard & Quite.
Awesome Graphics.
Display is vibrant and crystal, can output to 120hz
Touchpad is smooth.
Weight is perfect! It means it isn't extremely light, something to throw around, and not heavy to feel like its dragging your shoulder in a briefcase.
Samsung Logo on top cover lights up (so when your mobile and those that see this, they double take and see a beautiful Samsung. Ha!)
Durable, and casing is solid, doesn't feel like cheap plastic casing in most Notebooks.
While playing games, I've played Starcraft 2 (Graphics Maxed) And performs beautifully. On my bed, and it stays relativity cool, I feel the fans in the back and it is warm but not burning hot.
USB 3.0 is wonderful
Blu-ray is outstanding on it.
Dual HDD (YES! RAID Support)
Sound is Beautiful and Clear, comparable to Beats! (If not better)
Cons: Well, these are so minor it shouldn't be a big deal to anyone.... Seriously.
-Windows 7 Home Premium (BUT!! What's wrong with upgrading like I did to Professional if necessary [as I needed to for work purposes])
Ummm, I'm very satisfied! Can't complain
I'll provide an update in a few months with details and a video.
Other Thoughts: An phenomenal choice for avid gamers: Performs when it requires it, with the provided "Modeshift" its a feature that makes this laptop unique, a mode for playing Starcraft II and Skyrim, a “Balanced” mode, while at work listening to music and running daily processes. A "Library" mode when I'm in a meeting, showing it off. And Eco mode, not much used, but definitely awesome if you have that feeling every once in a while to do something for the environment. Overall I'm impressed. I've worked with different notebooks. This one is defiantly unique with different modes; it’s like having the power for a Gamers notebook, as well as another notebook for work and every day. I’m very happy with the Specs, great for the price. I cannot complain, and wont. Buying the Accidental is a no-brainer, so I’m at peace if I become carless someday (as we all are off and on) I highly recommend this, to avid gamers that multitask between a work Notebook, and a night gaming machine. Thank for reading!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Laptop Ever!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBigBlu2k7
onOctober 8, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, great performance for performance taxing software.
Cons: expensive but you get what you pay for., heavy for a laptop.
Greatest laptop investment ever. This does what I want it to do, out perform the other laptops.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Series 7 17.3" Gamer
4.7 out of 5(29)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great PC Replacement for non-gamer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymhonchomagicman
onOctober 2, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, keyboard is great
Cons: the lights blink with the sound in gamer mode, very heavy, power brick is huge
I don't play games like I used to, but this laptop had everything I wanted with a couple of exceptions. I replaced my desktop PC with this laptop because I wanted something portable and quiet.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This thing rocks!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPasolaminado
onSeptember 21, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, display is awesome!, quiet cooling system, excellent keyboard, excellent graphics
I purchased this laptop for gaming. It has performed like a champ. I set the graphics mode in the games I play to ultra or high graphics mode. I haven't experienced one hiccup or stutter during gameplay. I'm getting 70+ FPS in BF3. I play a couple hours at a time and I haven't experienced the warm keyboard comment other owners have mentioned.
This laptop includes almost all of the features a gamer wants for a fair price. My hats off to Samsung in doing the research and selecting the right components to make this laptop a great product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprisingly Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByCherbear45
onSeptember 20, 2012
from PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display
Ordered and received it within two days. Booted up quickly,
Installed Skyrim on it. Played on ultra high for several hours. Machine gets warm but not excessive. Put a laptop cooler under it and it was nice and toasty but not excessive.
With the 16gigs of ram this thing flies thru everything. Lighted keyboard and the dial modes are awesome.
It is heavy. I don't mind that since it's staying in my home office and I don't intend on using it for anything but my games. and some office work.
Keyboard is an absolute pleasure to type on. I love the touchpad but it's sometimes too sensitive and I end up opening things that I didn't intend to. I am going to look to see if I can tone that down.
The display is beautiful. deep blacks, vibrant colors. It truly is amazing.
I hope it lasts me for years and I consider it well worth the money I spent.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Laptop for price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBerserkFairy
onSeptember 13, 2012
from Riverside,CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
I got this laptop at the end of last month and it runs perfect. i purchased this laptop for gaming and school and it does everything i want it to do. Great laptop, Bright screen, responsive touchpad and keyboard. amazing buy
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Fast, Powerful, Long Battery Life, Easy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydoitfasterbetterlonger
onSeptember 2, 2012
from Alexandria, VA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, very fast, great for linux
I installed a 512GB SSD drive and kept the second drive. I installed Linux - everything works like charm and SUPER FAST. This is a great machine. I own the 3D Samsung TV and it works amazing as well so that is the reason I purchased a Samsung laptop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME LAPTOP

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byacejr
onAugust 14, 2012
from Orlando, FL
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is real a awesome laptop i can play every game i have with out sweat and the display is crystal clear and it not so heavy for a gamer laptop overall exerience with the latop execellent i just love my new laptop
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Buy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onJuly 26, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, great performance with everything!
Cons: Too big
This product was a bit pricy, and this thing will do more then ultra high def on skyrim while plugged in, and still does well with ultra high when on the basic energy settings. Plays minecraft on max settings like nothing, and can run everything I throw at it with no noticeable slow down. I'd give it a perfect 5, but realistically most everyone can do with a cheaper version. If you want to play hardcore games, and have the money to spend, GET THIS PRODUCT!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD Allowance.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByRinji07
onJune 28, 2012
from Columbus, Ohio.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable
Cons: haven't had it all that long to really judge it.
I almost didn't buy this laptop because when talking to the first rep about it they did not know there was a difference between the Series 7, and Series 7 Gamer. If you are a true gamer you will be looking to use a SSD and I was and at first they told me I was not allowed because it would void the warranty for the whole machine, but I called back and got a hold of a rep that seem to know what I was talking about and I even had her confirm it with her supervisor that I was allowed and she explained it was allowed but however should anything go wrong with the notebook due to the SSD samsung will not cover it, That is fine in my books, I put an OCZ vertex 4, 256GB in this and it is FLYING. Now to the driver issues with the Nvidia GTX 675, Yes there are problems with it but that isn't due to Samsung. That is an Nvidia issue and there next driver release will fix all of that and address all of the 600M series GFX chips. So don't let people get you down this laptop is worth the price. I purchased this to play blizzard games, and so far in WoW I get 110-125fps @ 1920x1080 ultra everything, and this laptop on the Nvidia control panel you can change the refresh rate to 120hz. Diablo is a joke to this thing and BF3 runs on ultra just fine 50+ frams 90% of the time dipping into the 40s.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Fast and Powerful Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTerabyte2007
onJune 16, 2012
from Akron, OH
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, fast, useable features
Cons: heavy, hard drives not as fast as i would like, no ssd option
I needed a good large screen laptop for both work and play and this one just stood out as being the one for me, Its fast, its really fast and has good usable features, It does however have a bit of eye candy that I would have rather seen turned into faster hard drives such as an SSD option but its still ok for what the laptop does.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible design

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byduyxp
onJune 16, 2012
from San Jose, CA
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Too big
Love its feature switch for gaming. The first laptop with power-friendly ever!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Mobile Desktop Replacement

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybirdboy84
onJune 15, 2012
from Oakley, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, quiet and effective cooling, most of the slots are on the left, multi-touch touch pad
This thing is fast. First of all, the dual 750gb HDDs are quick. Windows 7 loads completely in about 20 or so seconds from power off. For gaming this laptop is a beast. Battlefield 3 detected ultra texture settings and it plays 40-70fps(used fraps). The mode select is really nifty feature, I especially like the lit WASD keys in red. Probably the single best feature with this laptop is the screen. By far the best looking screen I have seen for any device. Sure 2000 after tax is a lot, but considering the system specifications and design, its a steal.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great gamer laptop/desktop replacement

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJukes
onMay 10, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, great tools, good design
Cons: loose ac-to-wall connector
Overall, I LOVE this laptop. Lots of power, very nice 17 inch screen, bright as heck. The keyboard is nice a quiet, and the back-lighting is decent. The sound is incredible, sub-woofer underneath!
I was also really surprised at how functional the samsung software was. Usually when you get a computer pre-built, I uninstall the manufacturer software immediately. But the settings tweaker, software updater, power profile manager...They are all great!
The only drawback I'm having right now is that the GeForce 675M graphics card is not supported by some games right now, but that will change.
On par with Samsung products: worth every penny
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thumbs Up

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPMX2012
onMay 4, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Too big, no 3d yet, no optimus
Two Thumbs Up to samsung. Now this is gaming laptop for sure. Though i still would like to have more battery time with nvidia optimus (like Alienware) and a slimmer body...
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the best ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytonyjd
onMay 1, 2012
from PA
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
this is one little laptop that is the best gaming laptop ever
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good gaming laptop.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byilidio626
onMarch 7, 2013
from Santa Clara, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: heavy
I have been using this laptop for work and play games. It can handle pretty much eveything i threw at it.
DIsplay at 120hz is very nice for gaming.
Mode Shift software freezes occasionally after some windows updates, just need to reinstall to fix the problem.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydowclayton
onOctober 23, 2012
from Springfield, MO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: some software issues
This laptop is extremely fast. It takes a little time to set up, but once you do it is awesome. Have had a few issues with the software freezing up and so on, but nothing too dramatic. Do not buy this laptop if you plan on it having awesome battery life. It is a gaming laptop. It is heavy, gets hot quickly under high load, and the battery is mediocre at best. But I wouldn't think anybody would buy it expecting it to have awesome portability. Other than that its the best computer I've owned.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Bang for Bucks

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onJuly 20, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: not well documented., packaging is mediocre
Very good performer for the cost compared to Alienware and Origin products. An amazing screen and good sound combined with good video card and memory makes a nice package which is also attractively finished.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Battleship among laptops

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bydschwa
onMay 25, 2012
from NH
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Too big
This is not only the fastest unit I've ever had, it appears to be the best built. I've had it only one week but I am still amazed at how well put together it is physically. Good work factory folks.
Pros:
The screen is simply awesome
The speed of boot and wake-up is great
Very quiet even with both fans blowing in turbo
Extremely cool. Almost like an AC on my lap
Cons:
Weight, especially the huge power brick on the floor
Top surface is a fingerprint magnet. A texture should be standard on laptops
All in all I love it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amazing Machine

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJChill
onMay 14, 2012
from Aurora, CO
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: expensive, battery life, volume control
This is one of the first laptops that I have bought. I wanted to buy something that I would not have to replace for several years and that I could work and play on. After an extensive search I landed on this cpu. I like the fact that I can change modes, in game mode it blazes. If you're buying this cpu you should expect to be an outlet at all times. The only reason I rated this 4 starts is because the volume control above the keyboard started acting up within 72 hours of purchase. Mine started to increase in volume on its own after I turned the volume down.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Customization options please

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByEscabi
onMay 3, 2012
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Maybe a version two of this laptop with:
option for SSD (instead of spinning drives)
option for processor: such as the i7 3820QM -> 8M L3
option for memory option: DDR3-1866MHz Mem 8Gig stick (using two slots)
option for: 120hz display
option for GTX 675 with 4GB
option for no battery (include cover -> maybe lose some weigth, this is a desktop replacement...)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
14of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

After one day I'm going to return the laptop to the store

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByCienfuegosESP
onMay 29, 2012
from Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
On attempting to resume the first suspended session the screen remains blank.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-95points
2of 99voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.