Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 7 17.3" Gamer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 7 17.3" Gamer

Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Review 1 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Np700g7c

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySilviu
onNovember 17, 2013
from Wien
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
Cons: Too big
I like this laptop, the design and performance are good, and the materials are of high quality. The only thing that i don't like ist that it doesn't have a Displayoff button because the display is big, and if i don't use it, it's disturbing.Instead of 2 ways to change the volume (volume on the Left (like the On/off button) and the FN+ F6/F7 option ) was better a Displayoff button. Anyway, good work.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best laptop I have ever used

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysgs3tab2101
onJuly 26, 2013
from California
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Great laptop for anyone looking to upgrade an older legacy device, be it laptop or desktop PC.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Desktop Replacement

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAzDayton
onJune 11, 2013
from W. USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, powerful, good keyboard
Cons: mic placement, old-style power connector
I got this to replace my nearly-new laptop, which broke twice within the first four months, and which they did a terrible job of fixing (three tries so far).
So anyway, I got this because I need a Desktop class machine that's highly portable. I'm also fussy about keyboards (I hate the "chicklet" style that's so dominant these days because they double-strike all the time).
It met all my requirements and has performed flawlessly. However, everything can be improved, and this one has two design flaws I don't care for:
1. The mic is on the keyboard bevel under your left hand, not up by the camera, where one would expect.
2. The power plug is an old-style 4-pin connecter, which means it has an "up" position (most laptops can be plugged in any direction because the connectors are circular). Additionally, it's on the side, which makes it far more likely to be banged about than it would on the back.
As always, the first thing I did was clone the hard drive to a SSD, then move the included drive to the secondary drive position. If you do this on a Win8 machine, make sure you also turn off Fast Boot. I forgot, and got errors about every 4th or 5th boot-up till I remembered to turn it off.
I would also prefer a button over the touchpad to turn it on/off like some other laptops have, since I use a Bluetooth mouse.
It doesn't have a dedicated "windows menu" key, which threw me. You can get there with FN+(NumberPad 0). And it DOES have in INSERT key, kudos for that.
All-in-all, it's a great machine, even if you don't use it for gaming!
(The editor for writing reviews on this site FAILS!)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByPhysicsAndParkour
onMay 6, 2013
from South Jersey
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, fast
Cons: price, windows 8
The laptop runs wicked fast, and it has impressive power for gaming. Samsung hasn't worked out all the bugs with Windows 8 yet, and the modeshift has a little trouble, but otherwise it's a great laptop. Just expect a bit of a workout when carrying it, especially if you're like me and carrying it with several college textbooks.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A REAL WORK HORSE...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCyberianCreative
onApril 7, 2013
from Westchester NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, powerful, great value for features
Cons: heavy (but expected), no touchscreen
This is one amazing machine compare the specs on this machine for the price to a MacPro and you will see the $1000 difference in price of a 15" with limited drive space. This machine does everything you could ask with out fail. It is a heavy laptop, just under 9lbs - but it is what was require for a virtual classroom software that we a running on the machine. This laptop allows us to have a mobile avatar classroom for professional development. Simply an amazing work horse. Thank you Samsung I am sold.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pretty amazing

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKwade
onApril 3, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
This laptop has blown away all the other laptops I have seen here at a college designed around gaming. The display is amazing and its really fast.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

so far so good

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bycoffeebuzz
onJanuary 15, 2013
from United States
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
I bought this because I wanted something that is relatively future proof and will hopefully last me a long time. I like the old school keyboard, and the display is beautiful. It is also quite fast in tubo mode. Setup in Windows 8 went great, and so far no crashes or error messages. at 8.4 pounds and the powerbrick an additional 1 or 2 pounds, I get a workout evertime I put it in my backpack and walk to work - and that is a good thing!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Machine

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTofi25
onDecember 18, 2012
from Santa Monica
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable
Cons: Not high def
Love the fast performance of my new lap top
I showed it tow few of my friend and they like the design and the speed. It is good for business and for fun and games.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great gaming laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAKJagMan
onNovember 3, 2012
from Aurora, CO
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I have had this laptop for about 6 months, and have been extremely pleased with it. This was a direct replacement for a Clevo gaming laptop, and is by far superior to that brand in almost every way. The video is crisp and sharp, the machine is nice and fast, have had zero issues with any games. I upgraded this from Windows 7 to Windows 8 recently, and the only issue I have so far is that I think a 'clean' build using JUST Windows 8 might be more efficient, but I have no real complaints. Thinking of getting one for my wife for Christmas!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 7 17.3" Gamer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Typical Samsung Quality

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byub40
onMay 4, 2013
from Fremont. CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, responsive
Cons: windows 8
Love the laptop but windows 8 is causing me problems with the wireless dropping the signal to the internet I have to diagnose the problem to fix it, but it doesn't last long...But that's not Samsung's problem I hope...
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.