Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook

Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
14 out of 18(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Review 1 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymiracem
onNovember 10, 2011
Amongst about a trillion other products and projects announced this week by Samsung from IFA 2011 is this lovely new notebook computer, the Series 7 CHRONOS. This laptop will have an Intel Core i7 Quad Core processor, ExpressCache technology providing you with an extra 8GB of flash memory on your motherboard that you’d not otherwise have – Samsung noting that this means your web browsing will be 2 times as fast (based on tests done with Internet Explorer) and a 2 second wake up time. All this hyperactivity tied with a high quality 15-inch display inside a form factor Samsung lets us know is traditionally associated with a 14-inch model.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-15points
8of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE BUT USE WINDOWS 7

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByMcLean22101
onOctober 14, 2013
from McLean, VA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, long battery life
Cons: relatively long start up time, computer crashes to blue screen about once per wee
I've used the Series 7 Chronos 14" Notebook for about one year now and find it to be a very powerful and versatile computer. It has 1TB of storage and I am no longer concerned about running out of storage. Further the screen color and resolution is excellent. Samsung software and product support is excellent. I would recommend using Windows 7 rather than Windows 8 for a variety of reasons. My main concerns have been: (1) relatively slow start up when the computer has been shut down; (2) computer crashes perhaps once per week to a Blue Screeen.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best value for the price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byasa439
onNovember 6, 2012
from ny
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, good graphics
amazing design. light as an ultra book but functions like some of the biggest and baddest laptops out there. amazing product
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTO1388
onOctober 9, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: small arrow keys, right click on mouse pad
It works great looks good and plays terrific even does great on games. Only down side would have to be small arrow keys and right clicking can be difficult.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awsum

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymamun65
onMarch 28, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Durable
very good laptop. actually nothi nto say about this laptop. if you never use samsung 7 series u will not understand what is it. totally awsum and durable laptop. you can also use it for home entertainment and also for business.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySTANSWOOD
onMarch 1, 2012
Pros: matte screen, luxurious backlit keys, slick look, i7
Cons: needs 1 piece aluminum housing, squirrely touch-pad
FIRST NOTEBOOK, WORKS GREAT, SLICK DESIGN, WOULD BE BETTER WITH ALUMINUM BOTTOM AND MORE REFINED CASEWORK
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best laptop :D

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byjorge503
onFebruary 20, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
its the best laptop ever i love it. its just like the macbook pro but cheaper. i love it
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

just incredible

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytonyjd
onFebruary 7, 2012
from PA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
WOW, this is powerful, fast and has amazing graphics. no need for a desktop anymore when you have this baby.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByChainman
onFebruary 1, 2012
from Eau Claire WI
Pros: Inexpensive
This is a light weight machine with unbelievable horsepower and very durable
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My business / gaming laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByRuliano
onJanuary 25, 2012
from Riga, Latvia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: touchpad
Dear Samsung,
Thank you for almost perfect laptop. I was looking for a laptop "all-in-one" and found Samsung 7 series that suits all my needs and requirements - I work with clients and travel a lot and I use it for reading emails, writing docs, storing files, creating presentations and all is very fast and easy. I am impressed with Speed Boot and Express Cache. I can use it as a Mobile AP. I found it very useful. I watch full HD movies or listen CDs, connect to external monitor / TV and I play games like World of Warcraft. And all this with just one laptop. Amazing. Thank you.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BY FAR ONE OF THE BEST LAPTOPS IN THE MARKET

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjoser714
onJanuary 6, 2012
from Tustin CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I GOT THIS FOR MY SON AN I HAVE USED IT A FEW TIMES AND ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT. NO COMPLAINTS HERE
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very high quality craftsmanship

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDjDubsterTN
onJanuary 5, 2012
from Arizona
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, extremely fast
i have not been dissatisfied in the slightest bit with this pc, I had the fortune of purchasing the one with an i7 processor and i must say it is quite a machine, insanely fast and incredibly powerful, and extremely thin and portable, also has very amazing battery life, this is the first laptop i purchased for myself for college and it has not disappointed me in any way shape or form, Samsung has once again made a very high quality piece of technology and I would gladly recommend this to all my friends, but i wouldn't have to because all of them are already saving up for one of their own now!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So Great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjtkoon1
onNovember 23, 2011
from Asheville, Nc
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
So fast so light so cool so bright and soo many other things!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

MY VIEW

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBLUSPIRIT19
onJune 26, 2012
from TACOMA,WA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
SO FAR SO GOOD, NOT SURE IF THIS IS GOOD GAMING NOTEBOOK OR NOT. WE'LL SEE.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

14" powerhouse

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHoHum
onFebruary 19, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Since there are so many reviews that rave about this machine, I thought I would just share some wishful thinking:
I wish this machine came with Samsung's 830 Series MZ-7PC512N SSD.
I wish the seam between the plasticy bottom and the keyboard wrist rest didn't dig into my wrists (it should have been designed to be virtually seamless).
I wish it came with Intel WiFi not Broadcom.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

My experiance!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bychavez83
onJanuary 1, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, bad hard drive
I purchased my laptop in June 2011 after 2 days of purchasing I had to take it back do to some issues it had. The laptop was exchanged, a few months later it suddenly crashed I had lost all my stuff which very upsetting sins it was a new laptop. When taken back to store I purchased it from I was told the hard drive was bad and it was going to be replaced, after it had been fixed a couple of weeks later a blue screen appeared I took it back and was told nothing was wrong but till this day I continue to have issues with it. I contacted Samsung and was told that a blue screen is a sign of a bad hard drive. Besides the hard drive problem it is a good laptop but not worth the headache or the price payed to be having to back up all your info just in case it crashes.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Wi-Fi chronic problems

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bydaryahoo
onApril 20, 2012
from cefalu
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations
The wi-fi don't work at all, very bad power, no good receiver...and it seams all these same models have this unpleasant problem.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Excellent machine held back by some issues

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByJorje
onMarch 19, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, good specification, solid design, hi resolution screen, fast hard disk/flash memory combo, loud speakers
Cons: Not high def, appalling battery life, terrible trackpad, not customizable with better screen/cpu, lack of usb ports, distorted speakers
I have been waiting for this laptop for a while. Design was fantastic and on paper the machine was great.
After a while of using it I have this points to raise:
Really happy with design and build quality, even the plastic base allows for a cool lap, even though it takes away from the appeal. It feels solid, minimum keyboard flex and the screen hinge is perfect - you can open it with one finger.
Specification is all very good - dedicated graphics in this form factor is very rare. Although I would have liked to option to have an i7 in this little guy, I have only felt the machine struggle a few times, but having the option to have upgraded would make me happy.
The express cache is a great solution to speed vs capacity - the machine boots in seconds!!
Excellent to have a 14" Machine with a bright screen with tiny bezel and a 1600x900 resolution. Would be happy to have paid a little more for better viewing angles / quality though.
The machine is not that light, but again the machine is much smaller and lighter than Notebook competition - obviously ultrabooks are there for the lighter option.
My biggest complaint, is sadly the battery life. I get 2 1/2 hours at a push on eco mode. This is just not acceptable, and the reason why this machine did not get 4 stars.
Another aspect that really disappointed me was the lack of USB ports - 2 is not enough for anyone in my opinion.
The other big gripe is the trackpad. I really hope drivers will fix this in the future, I find it absolutely unusable even when turning down sensitivity. It's a nightmare to use, and resulted in me buying an extra travel mouse...
To end on a plus, the speakers were surprisingly loud, albeit distorted. But very nice to hear in a loud room, unlike so many other machines on the market.
Overall I'm happy with the machine - I really hope the improve on the points I've raised, it's good just not perfect...
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Galaxy S® II Skyrocket™ (AT&T)
4.6 out of 5(245)
 
 
 
 
 
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

rogue machine

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bybrassedoff
onNovember 19, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, met my spec, lit keyboard
Cons: too heavy, doesnt work properly, no shiny screen, only 2 usbs, expensive
I have had this computer for 2 weeks and it has steadily detiriorated, I thought it might be me getting used to it but it wont play DVDs the eject button wont work, it has to reboot after every switch on and a host of other problems. I have cross checked everything with another comp so I know it snot me. So sad especially as it was bought to keep me amused while travelling, now I'm stuck. wont even open up itunes, most of the time. if only it worked
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nice design, Annoying flaws...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByBobInGRR
onSeptember 13, 2012
from GRR
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, great styling, powerful
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, track pad issues, usb 3 problems
The Good
* Nice style
* CPU, HDD, and Mem are pretty beefy
* Nice screen
* Full back-lit keyboard
The Bad
* Trackpad causes mouse to jump around while you type... I blame software. Disabling touch to click helps, but not a great device.
* USB3 ports are flakey, with continuous disconnect/reconnect, maybe due to power, though all USB power saving options are disabled. Wanted to use external drives, but not usable as is. Same drive on USB2 port is fine, tho 10x slower.
*
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Series 7 Chronos 14” Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Piece of JUNK

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByCJ3000
onFebruary 4, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I bought this because it had many features for cheap. I was very disappointed. The screen changes when you scroll over text. It seems like a good feature but it just gets annoying. The processor and the memory is great though. The touchpad is too sensitive. Every time i tried typing the cursor went somewhere way off. But what made me get rid of it the most is that I HAD 2 BLUE SCREENS WITHIN 2 WEEKS OF HAVING IT. I had to restore it within the first two weeks. The battery life is not very good for how big it is and the wireless signal is terrible. My old computer could get 4/5 bars from the other side of the house and this got 1/5. My tablet could get better signal. It's a bit heavy too. The ports are nice though. The screen is flimsy. It could bend it about 5 degrees. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
11of 32voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.