Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 7 14” Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 7 14” Notebook

Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 7 14” Notebook
Review 1 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THIS SAMSUNG HAS GREAT EVERYTHING

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByCADE06
onJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
GREAT PRICE NOTHING COMPARES
COLLEGE STUDENT WORKS PERFECTLIGHT WEIGHT ETC
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great design in a small package

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By97COBRA
onOctober 18, 2012
from Roswell, NM
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, great design, amd radeon graphics
I really like the finish design of the 7-series laptops. I bought this to replace my larger laptop and have been very pleased with it. It has great features and performance in a small package. The slot-load DVD drive is unique and works very well. I only wish that it had Blu-ray. The start-up times are very fast and welcome addition. I appreciated the option to partition the hard drive as well.
It would have been nice to have an additional USB, but not a big problem. Having the AMD graphics along with the Intel processor is a bonus. Overall, a great laptop.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung does it again for me!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLeCreole
onOctober 4, 2012
from Saint Paul, MN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is another Samsung device that does not disappoint at all! I own 2 other Samsung electronic devices and love them all!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybcitom
onJuly 21, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Great screen an features from a reputable company,
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what I expected, and then some

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCollegeStudent101
onApril 26, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, beautiful backlit keyboard, price/performance ratio
Cons: irreplaceable battery, only 2 usb ports
This is the first Samsung laptop I have ever owned, and I am extremely impressed with most everything about it. I was a bit worried the 14" screen wouldn't be enough, but it has proven to be just the right size. Also, I was pleased to see a keyboard backlit the same way as the larger 15.6" laptops; the pictures they have of this laptop seem to be a bit misleading, in regard to the keyboard. The aluminum/plastic build is solid and obviously of high quality. Many people complain about the "edge" created by the plastic bottom and aluminum palm rest; it is there, but doesn't contribute to any pain while typing for extended periods. My only complaints would be the irreplaceable battery and measly 2 USB ports (1 USB 3.0 and 1 USB 2.0).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional Laptop for any level of Expertise

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySeniorWrights
onMarch 12, 2012
from The Villages, Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This laptop has the capability for satisfying anyone but the die-hard extreme/extreme gamer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

DON'T LET THE 14" SCARE YOU

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bycompudok
onOctober 8, 2012
from Philly
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
This is one powerful laptop,it has all the features and power to run todays programs, yet small enough to carry with you. If you can find one, this is the perfect size for everything.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, but not perfect

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByWebSnake
onJune 3, 2012
from Brooklyn, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, really fast core i5, stays cool
Cons: usb 3.0 works bad, some unnecessary progs, tachpad crookedly glued, no switch beetwen graphics like nvidia optimus, awful display view angles
It is difficult to choose right notebook right now.
I was going to buy 15 inch model, but finally bought this one, because I don't need extra digits block on keyboard.
After deleting some unnecessary programs laptop works fine.
Only one problem - when I'm connecting my USB 3.0 portable, wireless mouse starts freezing (receiver in second USB)
Only one main poor thing - awful angles of display, it is strange to wait from Samsung (best TV, Amoled in smartphones....)
If Samsung change matrix quality, and put NVidia card, or optimized switch of AMD card I'll buy it again.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice laptop, excellent build quality.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BySR3000
onApril 22, 2012
from S.W Michigan
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, solid build and feel., fast
Cons: could use more usb ports, only has a 5400rpm hdd, difficult to replace battery
I like it so far with a couple minor exceptions. Overall this unit runs well and is very fast to boot and to respond.
On the positive side:
It seems to have an excellent build quality. Much of that could be due to the aluminum casing. The keys feel good and everything about this unit seems high end. The display is beautiful. The design is simple and elegant. Love the CD/DVD "slot" rather than tray, and the backlit keyboard. Love the aluminum housing. Can't wait to try out the USB 3.0 port. Battery life so far has been very good. I'm into photography and am using this unit to handle large picture and movie files from my DSLR camera. So far this unit has done an outstanding job of working with RAW 18mp images and 1080p video.
On the negative side:
A couple more USB ports would be nice. The fact that the battery apparently can only be removed by disassembling the lower cover (about 10 screws) is kind of strange. Not that I expect to replace the battery anytime soon, but having many years of computer experience has taught me that occasionally a laptop battery needs to be removed in order to reset a problematic issue. At just under 5 lbs, this little laptop is deceptively heavy. Probably due to the 8 cell battery more than anything else. That's really not a negative for me personally since I rarely transport my laptop, but I felt it was worth mentioning for those who are considering this unit. The auto dimming display would be a lot nicer if there were some sort of delay to the input of the ambient light sensor. It sometimes gets anoying if you have the unit on your lap and you switch positions. Depending on the light source and the angle from that source to the light sensor, the shadow from your hand can and will block the light causing the display to dim or brighten. The nice thing is that if you get tired of the auto screen brightness feature swithcing the screen brightness, you can disable that feature. Although I couldn't actually locate the specs on the hard drive, I did read on a forum post that the hard drive speed is only 5400rpm instead of 7200rpm. There in lies the weak link. This unit only comes in at a 5.9 rating on the "Windows Experience Index". Too bad, for the price of this unit and scant bells & whistles, a 7200rpm sata drive should have been used instead of the status quo 5400rpm drive.
I do offer one piece of advice though, uninstall the Samsung "Kies" software. It was sucking the life out of the processor. Even though this is a four core processor, Kies was running two of the four processors at nearly full capacity. The fan got a little annoying trying to keep the processor cool. After uninstalling Kies, all was well. Kind of a bummer though considering that I have a Samsung phone that I wanted to sync-up with but no big deal really.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Unbelivably bad screen

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bytrefork
onMarch 11, 2012
Cons: Did not meet expectations, viewing angles
This is quite an attractive laptop, spec wise. Unfortunately it has one of the worst screens I have seen in a decade. The screen technology must be literally more than 10 years old, it's that bad.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This one is going back to the store! Only ratings that count are features and design. Had to mark something just to publish.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByKinpatch
onMay 22, 2012
from CA
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Thought this was the laptop I was looking for because I needed one with a matte screen (because of my 64 year old eyes) and a bluetooth for my printer. It said it had 3 usb ports so I thought I was set to go. Upon opening the box, I found it only had 1 3.0 usb port and NONE on the right side to connect to a mouse. Looks like the 15.6 notebook might have everything I need and hope a matte screen, but will also weigh more. How hard is it to put a usb on the right side for a mouse? First laptop I had that didn't have one. This one is going back to the store...darn!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
1of 16voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.