Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 7 14” Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 7 14” Notebook

Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 10(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 7 14” Notebook
Review 1 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byirysik
onJanuary 11, 2013
from california
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
this laptop is awesome! but i wish it was more lighter, well with today tech Im sure in a couple years it probably will be invisible.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compact and durable!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByClazziquai
onSeptember 2, 2012
from Wichita, KS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, everyday usage
Cons: various versions
I love this laptop! It suits me for my everyday needs and I use it whereever I go.
There's some topics that were on various review websites stating the flaws of this computer, but so far, there is nothing wrong with it at all! (Of course, the manufacturing process varies as the issues get fixed over time.)
I'd recommend this because it is fairly inexpensive and it can do whatever you need to get done.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

goodbye VAIO

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjrhilbur
onJuly 13, 2012
from Garner, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable
This is by far the best computer I've ever owned. Before the Chronos, I was strictly a VAIO consumer.... the Chronos blows the VAIO out of the water.
The only complaint that I have is that the trackpad sometimes gets in the way when I am typing, causing the cursor to jump up a few lines. Other than that, this is a fantastic product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quick and It looks good too

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byelmilmanchas
onJanuary 12, 2013
from Portland,Or
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: ony 2 usb ports
I have owned about about 6 different laptops. The series 7 Notebook is by far one of the better laptops I have had. Not to big but not to small either. Its key-light keyboard awesome! I bought this laptop a few months ago so its past the test drive point and stills runs like the day I purchased this Item. Great value.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty good but there are a few disappointments

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byazmf4132
onJuly 15, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: switchable graphics does not work
I think the laptop is great but the switchable graphics does not work properly and I can not seem to switch from Intel to AMD graphics. Also, I have not been able to access the system BIOS at all lately but that may just be my particular computer. Other than that, great design, great sound, and I love the backlit keyboard. I just wish the screen wasn't in matte because it offers a significant decrease of quality,
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very nice laptop!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByInLoveWithNexus
onJuly 9, 2012
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, express cache/fast boot, sleek design
Cons: Not high def, 8gb maximum ram capacity, d: drive partition too large
I was looking for a laptop that would handle the performance I needed for web design applications and this one has met my needs so far. I like the express cache feature that allows you to boot up much faster. It does still slow down after you start to add more programs that start up on boot though. I really like the backlit keyboard as well. My biggest complaint is about the hard drive partition software included. It wasn't very user friendly in explaining what you were doing as you went along, which caused me to unknowingly allot too much space to the D: drive as it created the partition. In all a very good laptop and I would recommend it to my friends.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Classic Everyday Laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySharonO
onMarch 19, 2012
from San Francisco Bay Area, California
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
It's hard to find a reasonably light 14 inch laptop these days with an optical drive, which is why I selected this Samsung model. ( A Blu-Ray drive would have been even better.)
For my purposes, this is the near-perfect machine. It has enough power to allow me to do photo editing, as well as some video editing, while on the road and yet is light enough to haul around. The only feature which could use serious improvement is the touchpad.... regardless of settings, it's very finicky. In addition, there are no buttons on the touchpad. A hard click is required to activate the virtual right and left mouse buttons.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very good product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByAlex1974
onMarch 12, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no win 7 pro
The laptop is all I looked for. I only wish it came with win 7 Pro.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

could have been a contender

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byjustmeol
onApril 6, 2012
from New Hampshire
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, keyboard
Cons: tn panel, poor contrast + color
I really like this notebook except for one huge problem - the screen. Why put a high res 1660x900 LCD in an otherwise excellent product (all the other specs are great!), but totally cripple it by using the cheapest TN panel you can source. I don't understand why such a new series of notebooks is being marketed with such an inferior screen. The viewing angles are terrible. The contrast and colors are muted, fixed and can not be adjusted.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great feature set, terrible trackpad!!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bygfsound
onMarch 13, 2012
from San Diego
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: horrific trackpad
Ohhhh how I wanted this to be my perfect machine. But alas, for the 8GB of RAM, the great keyboard, it doesn't much matter when the trackpad is so bad that you can barely get work done. Read some reviews. Just Google it- the trackpad is terrible. What a shame, since this laptop had such promise. I'm only hopeful that with people like me writing reviews (along with PC world and others), a new driver will be released. JUST in writing this review it jumped 3 times and I found myself typing on a different line. So bad. Just so bad. I'd be surprised if Samsung even posted this review. :(
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 7 14” Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

nice looking

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByPeterFromNYC
onMarch 17, 2013
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, has mostly everything needed, large hdd
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
* Touchpad is messed up - strokes are misinterpreted; I discovered it is very sensitive to where the laptop stands (lays); it needs flat, solid surface. It works much worse if you have the laptop on your laps, so to speak.
* Only 2 USB ports.
* Battery is built in and can't be disconnected/swapped without opening the whole back cover (which voids warranty
* VGA port requires converter cable; though it is included - it is a separate piece that you need to remember about.
* Nice size hard drive but it failed after 3 months.
* Restore CD does not include all pre-installed software; you will not restore the computer to the state "off the shelf", just clean Windows.
* It does have optical drive.
* Quite heavy to carry around.
* The screen has limited tilting angle.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.