Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 7 15.6" Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 7 15.6" Notebook

Rating:
4.227 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
16 out of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Review 1 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 26, 2012
from Bishop, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, backlit keyboard
I wanted a laptop that had a backlit keyboard and good screen contrast (to be able to see it while using it outdoors). I got just what I wanted. Set up was a breeze. So far, no issues, but I'm not a computer whiz kid; it does just what I want it to. I have to get used to the keyboard, since I've only ever used an ergonomic, split keyboard--not flat--but that will come in time. Response time is as advertised; up and running as soon as I lift the screen.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II Skyrocket™ (Black) Android Smartphone
4.5 out of 5(495)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome computer!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 23, 2012
from Cyber Space
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I am pleased with my purchase. Excellent features, great performance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous laptop for college

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 7, 2012
from Long island
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, perfect screen, video lecture reading
The screen is fantastic. Watching video lecture from teacher is just amazing. Especially, when your professor sends you some sort of reading that must be done online, on the web, or PDF file or something like that, instead of thinking "aw darn it, my eyes are gonna hurt later" but you will proudly say "perfect opportunity to read" because the screen is just that good. Plus,the aluminum part is just beautiful and seamlessly integrated with the body, it's like a big rock turned into a computer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 2, 2012
from Philadelphia Pa.
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Too big
very good laptop great picture and incredible speed
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Notenook for the price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 2, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, performance
After one day of use :
Pros :
- Solid feeling, good building quality.
- Keyboard, really nice typing, silent, beautiful backlit.
- Thin and lightweight for a 15.6 notebook.
- Excellent performance, Fast booting time
- Silent in normal internet, office use, HD movie playback.
- Bright screen and 1600x900 resolution
- Correct sound
Cons :
- Touchpad is not as good has expected, but totally usable
- The front edge of the notebook is a little bit sharp. and could be irritating with long time use
- Poor wifi reception (Broadcom card, some models have a better Intel N6230, with widi). But it's possible to change it.
- Screen viewing angles.
In overall, I would totally recommend this product !
I'm a student, occasionnaly gaming, office and multimedia use.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 29, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, fast, 8 gigs of ram!, graphics card, i7
It's amazing, I'm very happy I bought it. It does everything I need/want.. all at the same time! The graphics card is nice, it is a very portable laptop, the sound is good, the battery lasts forever, backlit keyboard is great, its really fast, and the boot time is awesome. All around fantastic laptop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

cooling fan issue

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 22, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, fast, long standing battery
Cons: noisy fan issue, wish for an even more powerful vga card
The overall experience is great.
Light, fast and with back-lit keyboard, that's what I wanted from my notebook. And battery life is amazing. I did a 4 hours (repeated the process several times) in a Norton Ghost backup and when I noticed I was running on the notebook battery I froze. It was still having 40% juice.
One thing happened though, a fan from inside went wrong and started vibrating. I set the fans to run as low as possible, but the noise started to bother. I called service and they said I have to send notebook to them to replace the fan. I ended getting a spare fan myself and replaced it.
When opening the notebook, which BTW voids warranty, so assume this if you open yours, I also upgraded to Samsung SSD 830 512GB drive. Now I have my dream notebook and everyone who sees it has something to say about it's sleek appearance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!!!!!!!!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 14, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This laptop is amazing. I think that this is the best laptop on the market....
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
27” 950 Series 3D LED Monitor and Complete 3D Kit
4.6 out of 5(18)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sleek, speedy, and very sexy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 20, 2012
from Kansas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I've had my Series 7 notebook for a couple weeks now, and It's definitely proving itself as a contender among the ranks of other, much more expensive laptops. For half the cost of my previous laptop, the Series 7 matches or exceeds the its specs. From its sexy brushed metal exterior, to its speedy start-up, this laptop is perfect for anyone who demands both form and function.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Santa's Business Gift...!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 18, 2012
from Mexico
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable
Cons: Too big
My laptop is essential for my business...! I need to be confident that my information is safe, my data wont crash and that when ever I need to access my projects everything is in place and I can access fast and transmit as fast as possible...!
Samsung 7 Series gives me this for half the price of other over rated brands...! I do recommend this equipment to anyone looking for the best of the best in laptops...!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 26, 2011
from Colorado
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, many more
Cons: none
Primary features influencing my decision to purchase the NP700Z5AH were the matte screen, screen size, processor, the Samsung brand, and too many other cool features to list. I've had the laptop for about 2 weeks and couldn't be more pleased as it performs well and is exactly what I needed for work and play.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product but needs work on Mousepad

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 13, 2011
from Phoenix Arizona
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, performance, great keyboard, screen bezel is small, matte screen, several usb ports including usb while computer off, features such as easy settings with battery saver
Cons: Not high def, mousepad
Overall extremely happy with the product. Great bang for your buck compared to Apple Products. Ive had 2 apple laptops before this computer and although they were good they were expensive!
This has a very good quality keyboard with quality performance for the price.
The mousepads is what really bugs me the most. It's not as responsive as my previous mouse pads from apple. It's a struggle moving it around but I guess Ill get used to it. Sometimes it does not click or work properly.
But other than that...I love the numeric pad on the right and I love the expresscache fast bootups.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Had Been Looking For Years!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 8, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: mouse pad
I came from Samsung Vio VGN-FZ140E. Needless to say I was in need of an upgrade. I had it narrowed down between a few and then the Series 7 came out. Done deal! Love it! Start up is amazing, backlight key is terriftic. The only thing I'm not crazy about is the mouse pad. It needs to be a few inches away from the keys and is super sensitive. I'm sure there is a way to change that. However, for the money I would totally recommend this Laptop!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Notebook

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onSeptember 23, 2012
from GT
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: a bit slow for i7
Thin, light and an elegant design makes this pc one of the best I've ever had.
Samsung software includes easy manager and easy support center... Believe me, it's easy to keep your pc up to date.
I'm giving a 4 star because when you format your Samsung, the drivers are not included so you need a wifi/LAN driver to download the software from the internet.
I had to go to another pc to get the wifi/LAN driver into an USB and then install it into my Samsung PC.
Always keep a driver Backup.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop for the Price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 13, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, quad core
Cons: battery life not as advertise
Do most things well. Good build quality. Packaged well, has all the features most will need. Bright display, not hi-def but is good for my applications. I don't watch movies with this. I use my Samsung TV. OK battery life, 4-5 hrs, not 8hrs, not even close. Have to keep a 2nd charger in my truck wherever I go. Runs hot but its a quad core. Good keyboard & bright back lite. Mouse pad is a waste of time, use a cordless mouse however the zoom in & out is useful but difficult to control. Built-in speakers are not very good. Good performance in most applications. I use it for my business so I don't use it for gaming. Same size as a MacPro so most of the accessories will fit this laptop. I got a form fitting semi-rigid case for traveling.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost Great

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 6, 2012
from central Pennsylvania
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, performance
Cons: Did not meet expectations, terrible touchpad
I spent countless hours shopping around between the different manufactures prior to settling on the Samsung NP700. This laptop had the majority of the features I was looking for, most importantly being a higher screen resolution than most 15.6" laptops.
I have owned this laptop since December of 2011. My job requires me to have a machine that is multifaceted. In a single day I can be doing anything from RDP sessions, to .NET programming, to running multiple virtual machines. This laptop certainly fits the bill.
Pros:
Compared to other matte screens I have seen/used the Samsung's is both sharp and bright.
Battery life is better than average.
I never realized what I had been missing before by not having a backlit keyboard.
Overall aesthetics of the laptop are sleek.
Feels balanced when carrying it with the screen open [not that I would do that]. ;)
Indifferent:
The Samsung bundled management software is ok when it's works as expected; has some bugs. I'm not sure you can access some of the laptops features without having some of it installed; it's not that terrible that I felt I had to uninstall it and find out.
The chiclet key board isn't very tactile. They feel very stiff/plastic.
Cons:
As mentioned by nearly every other owner the touchpad is horrific. It's not consistent in registering single or double-click taps. It's very difficult to right click using the lower right depression corner of the touchpad. The driver software doesn't give you a whole lot of customization options either. Despite having nearly all options except for scroll and click disabled I still find the touchpad causing a "click and drag" event intermittently.
The top edge of the laptop (where your palms/wrists rest) has a raised placed edge that is annoying when moving around. My wrists are constantly getting caught on the edge and it feels almost sharp enough to cut should you move the right way.
I would have really liked to have seen a higher resolution offered than 1600x900. Even at an upgrade premium.
Summary:
I really do love the performance and look of this laptop. I really don't have too many negatives to say about it, but unfortunately the touchpad ruins the functionality/joy of using the laptop.
I'm often cramped on a spare table, step ladder, scissors lift, etc., where using the touchpad is the only option and it quickly becomes a frustrating/tiresome endeavor.
If Samsung replaces these touchpads in future models they'll have a real winner. If anyone wants a good deal on a used one, let me know. :)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 8.9 (AT&T)
4.6 out of 5(30)
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Series 7 15.6"

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 16, 2012
from Woodinville, Wa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, long battery light
Cons: Not high def, touch pad on left hand/ no responding sometimes., plastic back
Overall, this is a laptop with the right idea, Light weight, longer battery light compare to MAC Pro. Fast booting up but a few of the features were poorly executed and they can potentially take away all the luster of this laptop.
con is the mouse touchpad. This laptop's mouse touchpad is not in the center of the laptop. The actual material of this mouse touchpad is not smooth like many other touchpads. It is prone to more friction and becomes harder to use as time goes by. I like to effortlessly glide my finger across a mouse touchpad. However, this touchpad causes unintended taps/double-taps and palm clicks. There is no option for palm-detection. Furthermore, the entire touchpad presses down like a button, yet it also functions for touch so the cursor jumps/moves if you're trying to click on a particular area because it will recognize your finger moving slightly when pressing down. FAIL.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall great laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2011
from Harrisburg, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
The pros: fast, sleek/thin, not a lot of bloatware, light, decent screen, backlit keyboard, (2) USB 3.0 slots, HDMI slot, fantastic video card...and did I mention FAST!
The cons: sharp edge where you rest your wrists; pop-in SD memory card seems finicky and cheap; keyboard is nice, but layout takes some getting use too (esp. delete button which I use a lot); USB slot for mouse is too low that it gets in the way, speakers are not great for music.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Terrible trackpad!!!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 11, 2014
from Arkansas
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, bad trackpad
I had high expectations when I chose this computer. It looks great, but is not as fast as I expect an I7 to be, and the trackpad is TERRIBLE. It does not work properly. I had read the same in a review, but hoped it was not true. Samsung needs to fix this!!! I am not happy with this computer at all......
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great Laptop, But...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onFebruary 12, 2012
from Charlotte, NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, matte screen, hardware specs, back-lit keyboard
Cons: Did not meet expectations, open gl issue, battery life, keyboard
I was really excited to get this laptop and held off months waiting for them to become available. Its specs are very impressive and I was fine with the price because of them. I own lots of Samsung products (phones, tv's, other laptops, etc..) and was really looking forward to this high end machine.
I love the matte screen and the thin bezel around it. Love the metal feel and lots of other features it has. but 2 problems ruin this laptop for me. First one could just be my unit but the other is a Samsung issue.
1) the space bar doesn't always "click" I often have to go back and add spaces to my paragraphs because it simply didn't work when it was pressed. All the buttons are easily depressed but the space bar some time just doesn't work, super annoying.
2) The is a hardware issue that prevents the awesome AMD graphics card from using OpenGL which is used in many programs that I purchased the computer for, After Effects, Photoshop, SketchUp, and many other graphics intensive programs. This seems to be an issue that can not be resolved with a fix, its in the hardware. THIS IS A GAME CHANGER AND RENDERS THIS LAPTOP USE LESS FOR ME! I'm so bummed about this, I really want this to work as I love the look and feel of it. I'm going to try and return it if possible. Major bummer.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Sharp Wrist Rest Ruins This Laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 16, 2012
from South Hero, VT
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, sharp wrist rest
Unfortunately the super-sharp wrist rest edge ruins what is otherwise a very nice laptop. Samsung didn't bevel or round off the lip of the wrist rest, & the square edge is sharp enough to leave white scrape marks. It is a serious usability design flaw that Samsung overlooked.
Otherwise the Series 7 Chronos is a nice thin laptop with a sleek metal case. The boot time & speed loading programs is outstanding. The only other flaws are the ELAN touchpad which is jumpy even with the latest drivers, & the wifi range is terrible. These two are flaws I can live with, but the sharp wrist rest is particularly awful.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Switchable Graphics Issues Break an Otherwise Great Computer

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 31, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Initially I was very impressed with this laptop, the specifications seemed great for the price and it had great battery life. The matte screen looks great and with an i7, 8GB of memory, and a decent dedicated graphics card it seemed like it could handle almost everything I would want to use it for.
However, within the first few days of owning this laptop I have found several unexpected performance issues. Several programs which this computer should be more than capable of handling perform worse than on my three and a half year old laptop whih I planned on replacing with the Samsung Series 7 Chronos. I have found that the automated switching between the discrete graphics card and the integrated graphics card is less than ideal. Several programs I use which should take advantage of the dedicated AMD graphics card do not. Upon doing some research on the internet I found that it is a known problem that any program utilizing openGL will get stuck using the Intel HD integrated graphics. There aren't many programs that use openGL but some that do that I had planned on using include Photoshop, a few video games, and Solid Works. This occurs even when setting that program to high performance in the switchable graphics options. This is unfortunate because I purchased a laptop with a dedicated graphics card only to get the performance of integrated graphics. Some other laptop manufactures have had the same problem with this combination of Intel processor and AMD graphics. These other manufacturers have released a BIOS update that corrects the issue. I hope that Samsung will do the same.
I'm planning on returning this product if this issue is not fixed and I would not recommend that anyone who plans on using programs that utilize openGL purchase this until it is fixed.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
20of 24voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.