Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 7 15.6" Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 7 15.6" Notebook

Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Review 1 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 26, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Incredible laptop. Fast, great display and keyboard layout is well designed. Plenty of ports, good amount of RAM and memory.Very good support features from samsung when you upgrade to windows 8
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 17, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I really like this laptop due to the many great features. Fast start up and great storage. Battery life is phenomenal, all day without charging. The images are crisp and bright though they do dim some when viewed at an angle. The wireless card stays connectd no matter where I roam through the house. My only issue is with the touchpad. Sometimes the touchpad stops working for 15-20 seconds and then will start again. Not sure what this is.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ergonomic Design and High Performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 31, 2012
from Austin, Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, ergonomic
After carefully evaluating other manufacturers' laptops in the 15.6" screen size, I selected this Samsung model because it had the primary features that I was seeking including: Intel i7 3rd generation chip, non-glossy screen, excellent picture at 1600x900, backlit keboard, slot loaded CD/DVD R/W drive, sleek construction, great finger feel (albeit a bit too sensitive) on the touch pad, fast boot up, acceptable speaker sound (I mainly use a headset anyway), smooth action on hinges, buttons, keys, and more. So, far, this unit has met my expectations and - as I get proficient with the keyboard and functions - may well exceed my expectations.
Areas of concern include:
1) My unit came with the new "windows 8" logo on the "Windows" keytop. I wonder if this means that the unit incorporates firmware or software that will enable more Windows 8 functions than earlier date codes. I am waiting before I install Windows 8.
2) The touch pad is more sensitive than I might like. I'll have to improve my kinesthetic sense or find the setting menu for adjusting sensitivity. Sometimes, I just graze over a link and it opens a new page.
In closing, I hope I never require service, but I have been pleased with Samsung's rapid email reply when I experienced problems registering the product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A stellar laptop; and a great performer

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 28, 2012
from Newark, DE
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, graphics performance, backlit-keyboard, great design
Cons: screen resolution could be a bit higher
This laptop is everything that I want it to be. I traded in my recently purchased laptop for one and never looked back. And with an upgrade to Windows 8, it's even quicker. The backlit-keyboard is slick and bright, the design of the laptop is great, the screen is beautiful, and the speakers sound pretty good. A well-rounded machine and a very good price.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 6, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Met all my expectations and more! The only thing I would change is the touchpad
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Mix of Ultrabook Styling and Notebook Performance

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 2, 2012
from Chula Vista, CA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, keyboard
Cons: no full ssd
Perfect amount of size and portability. Performance is amazing and the i7 can handle anything you throw at it. The Express Cache helps with the booting of windows and everyday programs.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy Note (AT&T), Carbon Blue
4.7 out of 5(443)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Series 7 Chronos Notebook

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 29, 2012
from Colorado
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: maximum speaker volume could be highter.
This notebook does exactly what I needed it to do.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 11, 2012
from Minnesota
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, energy, bold design
Cons: value
This is a fast and powerfull computer what more can i say
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amazing Battery Life

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 30, 2012
from Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: AMAZING BATTERY LIFE, breathable chiclet keyboard which is back-lit, sleek design, lightweight, lots of I/O, ExpressCache truly made a difference on Win7, epic performance on the i7-3615QM and GT640M, huge multi-touch trackpad, numpad (:D) and a nice matte display
Cons: The biggest problem I have with the laptop is that there are no LEDs for activity when you close the lid, so you can't be sure whether the laptop went to sleep or still running, I have peek through the spaces between the lid and submerged keyboard to try and find the blue LEDs to confirm. The display has very nice colors after a little bit of calibration but the viewing angle is terribly small. Overall, laptop is not very sturdy. I can actually compress the DVD drive by pushing against the keyboard on the left side and it would bend in. The display itself flexes at the terminal points. The bevel of the display is very thin and can easily permanently be deformed by apply subtle force. The backlit keyboard is amazing, but I wish it was brighter with more levels of brightness for choice. The trackpad is great but I have the driver feature which makes all the clicks on the lower left area to be taken as a left click, I wish it was like a MacBook Pros trackpad where only double-tapping would initiate a left click. This feature is present on Linux since there is no actual driver. The ExpressCache SSD was amazing when I had Win7, now I can't really tell if WIn8 is booting fast because that's the way it was supposed to be or whether the iSSD is speeding it up. Tried testing by switching the feature on and off, did not really make a difference. The processor and GPU are amazing, but I would have loved to see 2GB of buffer on the GPU instead of 1. Also would have loved to see 1080p panel on the 15 inch models. Speakers aren't the best, although subwoofer does give off some nice bass. The built-in camera is mediocre, but that's the case with most laptops nowadays. The design is not perfect, I see flaws every now and then but they are minor. The cover for the RAM slots is a very thin plastic piece and can easily be broken (something to keep in mind when swapping DIMM).
Other thoughts: This is the closest to a perfect alternate to a 15-inch MacBook Pro at about less than half the price. The RAM is actually upgradeable to 12GB since only one of the DIMMs are accessible (the other is soldered), which is a 4GB DIMM by default, so adding an 8GB DIMM would give you 12 which actually works. The DVD drive can actually be removed and replaced with a HDD caddy for adding a 2nd HDD/ a new SSD. Who needs optical drives these days? There is no option for RAID0 in the BIOS, so that is something to keep in mind. Overall, its a great laptop, but not one which I will look back at every day and be happy for purchasing it. The only reason I bought this was because of the truly amazing battery life (I was referred to that by one of my friends). I get around 8hrs when reading PDFs or viewing text. 5-6hrs with wifi and 30% brightness @normal browsing. 4-5hrs with video streaming. Around 3hrs for watching 1080p videos. Gaming time on battery is short, which is common to all laptops, but I have never measured it (too busy playing :))
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 7 15.6" Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Crash

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onApril 18, 2013
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Does not charge or keep charge. Graphics are very different on this laptop, so color or design projects will look different. Crashes and loses important data.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.