Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 7 17.3" Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 7 17.3" Notebook

Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Review 1 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

chronos7

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 28, 2013
from nj
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
I love the screen on this one as well as the backlit keyboard.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Suport

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 3, 2013
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no blu ray
Was having issues staying connected to cisco/Linksys router. By just going to website and clicking troubleshooting current known problems. I was able to fix by downloading current firmware for router. Now it works properly and faster than before.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 22, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Love the appearance and flawless performance! The design of the laptop is pure quality. Great sound!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Series 7 Chronos - Bought the Right Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 8, 2013
from Los Angeles
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, clear display easy on the eyes
Cons: super sensitive mouse
I am very pleased with the visuals. Great keyboard, mouse took a little bit of getting used to - much more sensitive than my last laptop, but that was not a negative, just an adjustment. Audio is very good and the matte screen is perfect. I bought this particular model for its memory and the 17" screen. I use Windows 8 in desktop mode, so not really taking advantage of its features as others might. All the apps I want I already have loaded in Google Chrome which I access from the task bar. Might even switch from an iphone to a samsung galaxy this year.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 25, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, quick and easy to navigate
I replaced my 10 yr old desktop with the Samsung Series 7 Notebook. I was looking for a laptop that would incorporate both personal and professional life. This is the laptop. It is quick and has a lot of storage.
It took me a bit of time to get accustomed to the flat mouse pad. Otherwise, I love it.
What I am unhappy about is Windows 8. It seems more focused on personal/entertainment and less on professional/business. Not happy with a no Start button and other features are unsatisfactory.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Amazing appearance and flawless performance! The design of the laptop is pure quality.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Stylish and powerful, this laptop will see me thru work and my personal life.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High Specs-great device

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 10, 2012
from Louisville
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
audio is great, cpu speed is great. lcd sharp, bright awesome
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 4, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
This thing is quite nice! plug in an SSD and thats the best thing you can do!
i knocked off 2 stars because i personallu do not like the placement of the mousepad.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quality hardware, poor software support from Samsung

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 6, 2013
from TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, quiet, fast, easily upgraded
Cons: pre-installed software not available from samsung, expect only drivers samsung desktop web downloads
This laptop is a joy to use. Many people have complained about the touchpad, but I find it comfortable to use. I bought this laptop for multimedia use, word processing, video conversion, and for a lengthy battery for when I do programming.
Overall, it's a great laptop with Windows 8 installed. There are a few quirks in the operating system itself, such as never really knowing if the 3 finger swipe will work in any given Windows 8 app (defaults included). Coming from a Synaptics touchpad on my last laptop, I had to get used to this one (an Elan touchpad). Very large, responsive, and works pretty good with gestures in Win 8.
I like the large 17.3" HD matte screen. I have so much screen real estate on a laptop now! Temperatures hover around 50C typically, and the laptop hardly ever gets warm, even under prolonged use of the battery. I do not ever hear the fan. Ever. Backlit keyboard is a nice touch, the wifi works great, and brushed aluminum frame is nice. Battery is integrated but is easily accessible by removing the back cover, which also gives you access to the hard drive. 8 GB of RAM is extremely sufficient for a Win 8 machine. This laptop has the capability to expand the memory up to 12 GB, which I may upgrade to in order to run virtual machines in the background.
The stock 5400 RPM hard drive is slow, even with express cache enabled. I've removed the DVD drive as well, as I favor an external CD/DVD drive. I moved the stock 1TB 5400 RPM drive to a hard drive caddy and put it in the optical drive's place, and installed a Seagate Momentus XT in place of the original hard drive. Much improved performance! You could also opt for an SSD. My laptop came with Windows 8 pre-installed with Secure Boot enabled. If you want to do a clean install of the machine, this becomes a hassle. You have to format a USB stick for UEFI FAT32 and extract the contents of the Win 8 ISO to the stick. I could not get my external drive to work with UEFI enabled. Also, I could not get a cloned version of the hard drive to work with Secure Boot enabled.
It was disappointing to find out that Samsung does not offer the pre-installed software on their website, including Samsung's own apps for Windows 8. This directly results in less functionality of the laptop. So if you opt for the clean install, just know, these apps aren't coming back (Samsung's Picks, S Camera, S Notes, YouCam software, etc).
I have used this laptop for almost 2 weeks now. There are sharp edges around the wrist rest, but this hasn't bothered me in the least while typing. It's a nice laptop, especially for the price. Much more functionality and features than my wife's MacBook Pro 15", which cost almost $900 more than this one, gets much hotter than this one, and is much slower than this one.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good price, great screen, good for gaming, good for photo editing

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 1, 2012
from California
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, nice style, great screen
Cons: slow hard drive (5400rpm), upgrading is limited, built in camera could have been better
I got this laptop mostly for photo editing it's way cheaper then buying a mac and as far as i can see has a better screen then there IPS panels, plus the screen is matte and it renders over 70% of adobe 1998 color gamut which is nice for a TN panel. (and it does NOT have the issues that the IPS panels do with displaying reds and violets). This laptop plays most games at high settings just fine. I have NOT noticed if it gets really hot while playing games, though I am using a cooler when I do play. Battery life could be a bit longer but it's not bad. The speakers are great for a laptop.The hard drive is slow, If you have issues with the slow hard drive (5400rpm) you could always switch it out for an SSD though it may void the warranty if you do that. The touch pad is a bit sensitive but once you get use to it, it's fine. Nice and Thin for a 17inch does not feel bulky or heavy. Has a great look to the style of the laptop. bulit in camera could be nicer. as for windows 8 it's still a work in progress but i'm not docking the laptop for it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.