Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 7 17.3" Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 7 17.3" Notebook

Rating:
4.62 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
37 out of 41(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Review 1 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Laptop! Except.....

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBridgeMan
onOctober 12, 2013
from Clarksville, TN
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, super fast, upgradable, stays cool
Cons: service support!, slow hhd, slow wifi
The Good: The Laptop itself equals my son's MacBook Pro in quality and speed and just about everything else after I upped the memory to 12 GB and replaced the HHD (which was super slooow) with a Samsung 256 GB SSD Pro. Now, this is what it should've been in the first place. Awesome!
The Bad: At the time of purchase I opted for the Win 8 upgrade offer and recently did the upgrade to Win 8 Pro. The upgrade went pretty smoothly. But ever since I performed the upgrade I can not find/download any files or updates and drivers for the laptop. I've registered it and still can not get to the download page, for the past 2-3 months now. And I'm still looking for a solution as of today...Is there a download site that I've missed?
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super Fast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMarch 21, 2013
from Pittsburgh, PA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, hd, fast, reliable
This super laptop runs very smooth, with absolutely not hesitations, very pleased with the build quality, and dedication of Samsung's customer service team.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value for 17" laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByUltraFrugalFrank
onJanuary 21, 2013
from Fayettteville, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Very good out of the box quality. Good speed- easy to operate. Looks to be very dependable.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Surprising Computer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMartizzle
onJanuary 19, 2013
from virgina beach
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, powerful
This is simply the fastest laptop i have ever had my hands on. And despite it not being a gaming series laptop i have had no problems with it playing any game i have tried.
Just upgraded the ram to 12gb ddr3 and it blazes.
would recommend to any and all.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything is awesome...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByYasin
onJanuary 13, 2013
from Gulfport, MS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, awesome
Cons: no blu-ray player
Except the missing Blu-Ray player. ZERO complaints besides that, everything is amazing about this laptop. Performance is incredible, quality, weight, you name it. The backlit keyboard is beautiful, the brushed metal look is elegant. Excellent sound quality, JBL speakers will blow you away. Battery life is great, games are fantastic. I could go on forever. I highly recommend this laptop to anyone. Samsung>any other brand.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for work!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBanditoJojo
onJanuary 8, 2013
from Kentucky
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable
This laptop has been a lifesaver for working at home. I run social media/internet marketing for a local small business. I really needed something to run all my editing programs and such. This has performed perfectly for the job.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful & Portable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byradarweaver
onDecember 17, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: only supports 8gb of ram
As a systems engineer and part time gamer I was looking for a solid laptop that offered the best of everything.
Large display for gaming and remote work on servers.
Backlit keyboard for working in poor lighting
Great processor, RAM, storage & video card
This laptop has it all! While it's not a full on gaming rig, it can hold it's own playing Warcraft at about 50+ ftps depending on the area.
I also run vmware workstation and with it's 1TB drive & 8GB of RAM it handles just about everything I throw at it.
Battery life is also great, even with it's 1080p HD screen.
If you're gaming though, be sure to let it breathe! This baby will get a little warm with the GFX card running hard.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very thin and light,Good audio; Quick boot time; Great backlit keyboard

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTONY0266
onDecember 11, 2012
from CLEVELAND, OHIO
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Strongly recommend for serious office purpose users
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best desktop replacement!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDaniel1988
onDecember 9, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: price is high
I love this notebook!! Hd screen and it's latest Intel processors!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByGemmyFay
onDecember 8, 2012
from Racine
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, fast
Cons: needs a stronger graphics card
I needed a computer that could not only keep up with me professionally, but also keep up with me as a gamer. I wanted it to have plenty of memory and plenty of speed. This computer fits all of my needs. I love it. The only thing I plan on changing is the graphics card. However, as a straight out of the box product it is perfect!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent machine!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHustler116
onNovember 24, 2012
from Las Vegas, NV
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
This laptop is undoubtedly the best piece of computer hardware I have ever purchased.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Series 7 Chronos

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byphazmesa
onOctober 25, 2012
from Mesa, Az
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, beautifully designed
Cons: 5400 rpm hard drive
Great laptop...! Pro: Sleek design. Easy to use.
Con: 5400RPM hard drive
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best laptop every

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysosodesi
onOctober 13, 2012
from valdosta, ga
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
all i have every owned are laptop's, i like to take my computer with me everywhere i go. and i must say this is one of the most nicest look, best performance laptops i have every owned.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Laptop i've ever had

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybpasto
onOctober 12, 2012
from Jacksonville,FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, keyboard
Cons: blue-ray
Let me begin by saying that this is definitely the best laptop i've ever had.
Pros:
-AMAZING screen
-Excellente sepakers (music sounds great, even if i play it as loud as it can be)
-Keyboard is amazing
-Absolutely silent (except when running a CD)
-Good touchpad
Cons:
-WIFI this is the only IMPORTANT disadvantage of this fantastic laptop. If i move 1 feet away from where i am right now writing this review i can lost the signal quite easily...
-BLU-RAY this monstruous laptop should have a blue-ray player...
-TOO SENSITIVE TOUCHPAD... maybe i can be writing something and i if by any chance i gently hit the touch pad with any part of my hand it will automatically click and send me somewhere else
Except for these few cons, this laptop would be PERFECT. Although it already is, THE BEST LAPTOP I'VE EVER HAD.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality+Performance+Price=Great buy!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKirkola
onOctober 10, 2012
from Florida, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
I do highly recommend this unit, even though at the time I was not considering a 17", but to obtain the performance and price ratio, I brought this one home. My need was to take multi-gigabyte size film "converted home movie" files, edit them and provide for family. The computers already owned could not do this in a timely manner, if at all. I could build a desktop for similar $$s, but I preferred some portability and purchased this unit.
HIGHS:
+ The screen is dazzling, bright, great contrast, and non reflective. Best I have ever seen, and I have seen many.
+ Keyboard is great, especially backlit... very nice.
+ Battery life... I don't have hours measured here, but long enough.
+ Widi (wireless display) works flawlessly. Can project images or video to external TV with WiDi receiver from the next room 30ft away. For me, just to try, WiDi appeared to work better for internet streaming when the laptop was "physically connected" to the network and using WiDi to broadcast to the TV which is reasonable. I think it has nothing to do with WiDi, but more likely to do with "wired vs wireless" streaming or simply the network feed at the time.
+ Case and construction: very good high quality build, slim and relatively strong, hinges feel fine. Probably would "not" stuff the laptop in a suitcase with all my other stuff, however. Would carry seperately in its own travelbag.
+Wireless connectivity, easy to use and worked well and worked to the perimeter of the home.
+ Audio is magnificent for a laptop!
+ The unit is SILENT, very low or no noise emitted ! (sorry, I don't play games... too addicted)
+ USB3 yay!
LOWS:
None really, Kudos SAMSUNG!
WISHES:
+ Hard drive- I think some people react to the "Experience Index", me too, showing the hard drive as the slowest component listed, in my case 5.9. Upon further internet research, I found the OS gives "mechanical" hard drives this rating, whether or not the drive may be faster. However, having said this, I would have preferred a SSD drive option as well as a blue ray DVD drive, or, at least, a door on the bottom for 'relatively' easy exchange. Or... at least, the website should allow "custom build" options. In any case, the 5400rpm drive was probably a battery life and/or cost consideration. Ok, I can live with that.
+ Track pad needs a little work. Primarily I think it's too big and the left/right pad buttons need some tightening up. It would be nice to plant one's right palm and simply move the fingers to use the trackpad, rather than lift and reposition due to large pad size. Plus, move the pad to the right to the center (although most, granted, if not all other manufacturers with number keypads have theirs left of center too). A wirless mouse is my solution.
Overall, in this price range, this laptop is a TOP CONTENDER among laptops. GREAT JOB, SAMSUNG !!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nearly Perfect...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBMarsden
onSeptember 26, 2012
from Boise ID
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, great graphics
Cons: can't do three monitors
I've owned this laptop for about 3-4 months now, and man am I impressed. This thing can easily take on whatever I throw at it. However this amazing performance is not without it's flaws. The HDD can be annoying at times, nothing noticeable unless you're transferring files to a USB or across partitions.The lack of Blu-Ray is the other flaw, but honestly, almost everything is digital now. Even with these flaws, the machine is well worth the money.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
27" 550 Series LED Monitor
4.6 out of 5(57)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast, light, and awesome!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bytruebluedc
onSeptember 19, 2012
from New London, CT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight, Built-in speakers, Bright display
Excellent layout, practical configuration, great battery life, best and lightest 17.3" 1080p resolution laptop available.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Top-Notch!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byhappynga
onSeptember 14, 2012
from Georgia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: none
After much debate, I am extremely happy with my decision to buy this laptop...Attractive design that is both stylish and slim. Bright and vivid display. Strong performance with long battery life. Top-notch keyboard with numeric pad. Surface never felt hot after prolonged use. (i.e game play) Functions well with several types of games. Especially those requiring NVIDIA.
The only thing Samsung falls short in is price They tend to be much higher than other manufacturers. Which scares away potential buyers.
In short, you want be disappointed purchasing this laptop!
Thanks Samsung!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High Performance Machine

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByChoochContrino
onSeptember 13, 2012
from Maryland
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, metal frame
Cons: no blu-ray, expensive
I would highly recommend this laptop. I chose this laptop over all other brands and models because of build, speed, and features that will allow you to complete everything you need. The only thing that is missing is a Blu-ray player. I did have problems with the first Series-7 I purchased, the wireless adapter stopped working a few days after I started using it and nothing would get it to start working again. I didn't want to have to wipe out a brand new computer so a returned it for another. It's been 30 days and no problems with replacement. The metal frame and style of the unit has a great look and feel. Samsung is a very consistent brand as far as quality is concerned. I own several different Samsung products and they all have been very dependable over the years.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMoSchmoe
onSeptember 8, 2012
from Richmond, VA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: mouspad, chiclet style keyboard, 5400 rpm hdd
I don't know why people keep comparing this to the Macbook Pro..that's like comparing Frederic Chopin to Justin Beiber. The flaws it does have are characteristics you'll find on a Mac..other than that, it's in a league of its own.
What I hate: the touchpad. It is very Mac-like, which is a bad thing. It may fit in with the 'simple" design that people seem to favor these days but ergonomically-speaking, it's awful to use and why on earth would you take away discrete mousepad buttons?!?! The keyboard is surprisingly responsive for a chiclet style keyboard, yet it's still a chiclet-style keyboard, which means it looks good but is not very functional. However I do like how Sammy did the backlighting on the keyboard, that I like. Next, the buttons for sound, brightness, and other customization controls are tucked away under the Fn keys. Again it's making the design simple at the expense of functionality. Sound controls should always be dedicated buttons, no discussion. Lastly, the 5400 RPM HDD..I would love an SSD but would have gladly paid the extra bucks for at least a 7200 rpm drive.
What I love: everything else. The express cache is amazing! I can't believe how fast this thing starts up. Sammy is typically the leader in screen quality and again no exception here. The resolution is top HD, the colors are vivid, great contrast, and this is the brightest screen I've ever seen. I can take my laptop outside and in the sun and still see the screen. The graphics card is good - if I was a gamer I'd go for the gamer version of this model, but it's more than enough for Photoshop, After Effects, and the other tools a designer needs. And I haven't run into anything that this processor can't handle. For me, the insides of a computer is what really counts and this machine is a beast. Unless you're going to spend 2-3 grand on a high-end professional machine that's way ahead of its time, this is the best your money can buy! As a side note, it is a very sexy thing, very thin and very light for a 17" laptop. For me a 17"er is a must-have and it's very hard to find something this big that actually looks good, so good job Samsung for making something that is both powerful and attractive. I'm also surprised at how quiet it is, yet how cool it stays. The fans must be very efficient, and the plastic bottom that I hear people complaining about it being 'cheap' actually keeps it from overheating like aluminum tends to do. Very smart, Samsung.
Bottom line: It has some issues where styling overtakes functionality but overall its power, wonderful screen, and great features wins me over any other laptop I could find.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best laptop for price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLCM2
onSeptember 7, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I bought this because I wanted a decent 17.3" laptop. I use this primarily for business but also wanted the convenience of taking it home on the weekends to play with.
I reviewed many laptops. In fact, this is one of top desktop replacement laptops. I was shocked, to say the least, when I called my local store and discovered they ACTUALLY had it in stock. Yeah, go figure. (Try shopping online and finding it in stock in your local store and then you'll know what I mean.)
Anyway, the only (and I would say very minor) "not so great" item is that apparently it doesn't come with SSD hard drive. Perhaps if you are a super PC gamer you'll notice. But, laptop is nonetheless speedy, gorgeous 17.3" display, smooth finish and great sound quality with JBL. Oh, also, Samsung provides it in a nice box and they give you a recovery disc!!!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All that you want , comes in one unit.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJazzyJag
onSeptember 7, 2012
from Chicopee,Ma
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
After reading all the reviews from various websites, it was a very easy decision to make. The biggest asset i was looking for was the dedicated graphics,and of course the processor
and this one had both of them for a very reasonable price. Wished it already came with a SSD HD, well technically it does have a 8GB SSD drive built in the motherboard to give it a spark when booting up,etc... The screen resolution is fantastic, the chicklet style keys on the keyboard are very responsive to the touch. And of course i save the best for last, the sound system rocks. I never heard a laptop with decent sounding speakers,until i listened to this one. I was truly amazed at what i was hearing. I'm glad i purchased this laptop. It's Amazing!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
55" Class (54.6" Diag.) LED 8000 Series Smart TV
4.8 out of 5(590)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymaps
onSeptember 5, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: none that i encountered in a 15 days.
Sleek, Powerful and is definitely a desktop replacement with a sleek from factor.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung 17.3

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGuardianAngel
onAugust 31, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Affordable price for the quality parts used in the product...
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Fanboi? How can you not be!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySubarudork
onAugust 29, 2012
from Thomasville, GA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
With an awesome machine like this, it's hard not to find yourself becoming a major Samsung fan. I've used many other laptop brands and I have to say, I've never been as satisfied as I am with this one. Extremely fast, bright screen, and plays any game or program I throw at it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykadidle
onAugust 18, 2012
from Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, graphics
Cons: Not high def, Too big, no blue ray player
This laptop is great! The one draw back is not having a blue ray drive and only being able to upgrade one memory card (as the other one is soldered to the mother board). Some people will say the hard drive is slow and it should come with a solid state. I somewhat agree, but I would rather buy a SSD myself of my choice and install it. If it were to come with a SSD it would probably be more expensive of a laptop. Also the reason I went with the 17" is because the 15" Chronos did not come with 2GB of graphics memory and did not come with as good of a resolution screen. I would love to see a new 15" with a better resolution screen (True HD), full upgradable memory and a blue ray player!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybpavlakis
onAugust 11, 2012
from Massachusetts
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, backlit keyboard, everything
This laptop is like the Mercedes of laptops it is just stunning! Definitely recommend over the Macbook Pro!!!!! Don't even hesitate to pick one up today!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at AT&T
4.7 out of 5(750)
 
 
 
Audio Bar Home Theater System (HW-E551)
4.4 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Closet thing to a MacBook Pro!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHouguy
onJuly 26, 2012
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, fast
Cons: wifi issues
Can't say enough good things about my new Series 7 Chronos 17" laptop! I find myself switching back and forth between it and my late 2011 MacBook Pro 17"!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJNS12
onJuly 8, 2012
from Tampa, FL
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, sensitive smooth track pad, express cache, aesthetics, back-lit keyboard, easy settings software
I really wasn't in the market to buy a laptop of this caliber, but once I saw everything that was included, and also saw the beautiful design, I couldn't resist. I think what really appeals to me is the new design. The look and feel and ease of use really separates this laptop from the others. The specs are great, certainly, but its a lot of the little things that really make it a great product. The amazing trackpad, the express cache, the great display, and just the overall aesthetics of it are unique and impressive. I am very happy with my purchase. And after having a Mac for 4 years, I am thoroughly surprised at being this satisfied.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good display, fast speed, the only weakness is the hard disk

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTryMy7
onJune 28, 2012
from Singapore
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Too big
I got it rated and got 7+ on processor, memory and graphics, but the primary hard disk just got 5.9 points, which should be the bottleneck of this product. I recommend SSD if available.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST LAPTOP

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byflashdave
onJune 26, 2012
from Forked River. NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Best laptop for this money. Extremaly fast!!! Awsome design, great sound and bright sharp picture.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Focus™ S, Windows Smartphone
4.5 out of 5(96)
 
 
 
HM3700 Bluetooth Headset Kit, Gray
2.3 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at AT&T
4.7 out of 5(750)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

700Z7C is beautiful

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDoctorTyrell
onJune 25, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
The LED screen is simply stunning.
Great Linux support from the community (in kernel, etc).
Keyboard is very nice, and backlit.
Very quiet.
Just a bit warm sometimes.
Did I mention the display, it's gorgeous.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely Happy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTontiger78
onJune 21, 2012
from Rockford, IL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: trackpad
Overall I am extremely happy with this laptop. it has the latest ivy bridge processor, lots of memory, a big hard drive and a nice big 17 inch screen. My only issue with this laptop is that I wish I could setup the track pad like the macbook that I replaced with this.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byheliumrocks
onJune 11, 2012
from California
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: hard drive speed
This laptop is stunning to say the least. Its fast, inexpensive considering what similar laptops cost, and looks great. the only con i have is the hard drive could be faster but it can be changed out after the purchase. I'd recomend a SSD just to boost the already great battery life. The screen is beautiful and the auto adjust works great. Also the JBL sound system on this thing can get load and will sound great doing it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Design

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnimator1701
onJune 4, 2012
from Atlanta
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, slot load dvd excellent
Cons: no blu-ray player
I love the Physical Design. The Aluminum Case Is Beautiful and Strong.The Slot Loading DVD player removes the possibility of damage that an be caused in close quarters to a tray loading DVD. The Large One terabyte drive gives me plenty of room for Digital Copies
of my favorlite movies with plenty of extra storage space
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SLEEK, SEXY & FAST

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRuffdz
onMay 23, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, overall quality
Cons: hdd speed
First I have to state that I am a Mac followeron the other hand I only buy Samsung TVs. This computer is awesome. At first glance I noticed that it is very slim for a 17 in non-netbook or slim whatever they are called compters (I have named them Mac Air Wannabes) its slightlight thicker than my 2011 15 in MBP. The gunmetal grey is definitely appealing. the backlit keytboard, the placement of I/O attachments and the optical drive is well-planned. I was in desperate need of a "PC" in order to function in school. I am overly glad I chose Samsung! My only regret or problem with this laptop is the speed of the HDD for an extra $150 Samsung would have made an outstanding decision. Oh well, studying Computer Science should have easily made my abilities to overcome this minor setback!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SAMMY NEVER LETS YOU DOWN... WOW

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTROSY
onMay 22, 2012
from Louisiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, great sound, terrific performance, express cache
Cons: fairly heavy
i just bought this lap top a couple days ago and it's just incredible.
Battery life is way better than expected. with my old computer i honestly lived next to an outlet im serious. with this series 7 i can use it while charging and with no worries unplug it and use it for HOURS AND HOURS in the bed withouth the stupid chord.
features on the track pad i love although i cant live without a real mouse (which i use; its a must for me) but the page scrolling with two fingers is great which i used for the first day. track pad isn't sensitive which i like b/c i usually bump it a lot and causes misclicks.
haven't put the quad-core to full use but i will in time.
not too much to be said other than a great computer (will have more to say after a few months of use).
a must buy if you like big screens
Doesn't have a blu ray player which i was surprised given the capabilities and the large full HD screen, WHICH I LOVE b/c it kept the cost down on the computer and i don't normally watch movies on my computer. that's what the HDMI port is for :)
WEIGHT: one backdraw. i mean i obviously expected it to have some weight but i was a lil' surprised when i picked it up for the first time. perhaps it's bc its a wide body laptop too though...not a huge drawback but would be nice if it was a bit lighter.
HDD....really surprised that it has a HDD i mean man HDDS are out SSDs are in. i know they're expensive which guess they intentionally left out again to keep cost down which i like. i plan to put a 256G SSD next month or hopefully sooner.
BEST bang for your buck if you ask me!!
oh yeah THE JBL speakers really are terrific. laptops arent supposed to sound like this are they? glad they do thanks sammy :)
EXPRESS cache is also a great feature...some people say they can't tell the difference...thats insane. from sleep to use its SECONDS....crazy!! Definitely going to be a must have feature from now on
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Aye Que WOW

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKazdoom
onMay 17, 2012
from Texas, Ya'll
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight, great for gaming, powerful fast
I rarely write reviews online, but I enjoy this product so much i just had to.
So... I had to buy a laptop for work and for playing games. (It just so happen to work for a company in the PC gaming industry.) I can safely say that it excels in both categories.
For me, i had to have the balance of power and style. I looked at a ton of powerful PCs and found them plastic-y, clumsy looking and cheap. The Samsung Series 7 15" caught my eye. Online research found this 17" PC with Ivy Bridge, powerful GFX, plenty of memory, backlit keyboard - my perfect PC for gaming and work. I was floored.
Using the PC is a dream. The installed OS is NOT cluttered; it boots quickly and cleanly, the Samsung software is intelligent and USEFUL. The audio quality is pretty darn good and the screen is SO nice. The keyboard is very nice, smooth and clicky.Multi-touch on a track pad is kinda new to me and works well here. I think this PC has a bit of the same issues as others where the left vs. right click detection is either tricky or just something of a learner curve for me (again this is my first PC without discrete buttons). Honestly i just use a mouse more often than not.
ID wise it's lighter than you'd think, fits well in your hand when carrying it around and feels solid. I did notice a few small gaps in the seams, but nothing worth pitching a fit about.
Finally, gaming on it works VERY well. Default settings in BF3 with 40+ FPS consistently, Diablo III. L4D, and more all played well at default settings. I have yet to benchmark but sure you can find those online.
At the end of the day, this is all one man's opinion and not a professional review, but this PC has met and exceeded all my expectations and is highly, highly recommended to anyone looking for a powerful, useful PC in a sleek, compact, sexy package - at at a very reasonable price.
Extremely satisfied.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MUST HAVE LAPTOP

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySamsungFan2012
onMay 2, 2012
from Chicago, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
This laptop is powerful. I am amazed a laptop can start in three seconds. The aluminum makes the laptop feel durable, and you can actually pick this up one handed and not feel like the laptop is going to crack in two. The back lit keyboard is a must have and the superbright screen that adjusts to the lighting is awesome. The inputs and outputs are great on this laptop, and the new Intel processor with the Nvidia graphics will take your breathe away. Thin, lightweight, fast. And still 17.3" screen. Its the laptop of laptops.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good so far

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onDecember 26, 2012
I bought this PC just few weeks ago and overall very happy with its performance. It is very lightweight and nicely designed. I did call for technical support as I had an initial problem with backlight of keyboard and customer service was excellent, they did few setting corrections and the problem is resolved now. I recomment this product.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

WiFi less than desied

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrhadagast
onOctober 21, 2012
from Pooler GA USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: wifi performance poor
This is a great laptop with one exception. The performance of the WiFi is extremely poor. I am very close to my dual-band router and cannot obtain and maintain a stable connection. My wife's netbook, which is further away, has a better connection. This needs to be addressed by Samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Shape, Slow Hardisk

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByGastos
onAugust 26, 2012
Very beautiful design, but the hardisk s performing slow.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

VERY NICE

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bygsxraddct
onJune 13, 2012
The laptop trackpad is TERRIBLE, I have the most updated driver and left clicks and right clicks, stays clicked when released. It's just bad.
Harddrive could be better.
Overall, I love this laptop, nothing a 20 minute upgrade and wireless mouse can't fix.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I wrote this

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByDieselDan
onJune 10, 2012
from TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Good computer, kinda glitchy. Does not produce the blazing fast speeds I expected, considering the specs and how much it cost. It does well with online gameing.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great built laptop except the HDD is slow

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytaklwu
onMay 20, 2012
from Bloomington, IN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: 5400 rpm hdd is way slower than normal
I'd love to say all good words for this beautiful samsung new 17" laptop, fast CPU, large HDD, big screen, good price.
however, if we have a choice of the HDD speed as 7200 rpm, it will be much better!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

dissappointment

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byahmetselim
onJanuary 7, 2013
design is awesome but it is the worst laptop for internet I have used until now. that is a big big problem. the internet connections in my lap top always disconects. I have a very cheap laptop When I use it for internet that is very good but samsung this model is very very bad
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice looking and fast but small things make for big irritations

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByblackSphere
onAugust 18, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight, fast
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no sd slot, no access to battery, expensive
I purchased this laptop in store at the recommendation of the clerk, and because it had the main features I was looking for (video card, processor, hdd, Blu-ray). I enjoyed it at first, but I've not been thrilled with the 'easy-software manager', and especially the track pad. I only realized today that its missing an SD card slot that I honestly thought had become standard equipment on most laptops.
The computer is sleek, light for its size, fast, and the screen is great, but small things make for an irritating user experience.
Easy Software Manager
This piece of software, which seems like it's a pretty front-end for Windows Update, so I'm not sure why it's included, has a dramatic drawback that it fails on installation frequently if you have more than one user logged into the machine. My wife and I each have a log-in, so this is a pretty irritating behavior.
TrackPad
Most of the track pads I've had in the past have had a 'palm sensor' so that if you're typing and your hand brushes the pad, you’re not clicking all over the screen. I had to turn off tap-to-click so that I wasn't getting erratic behavior. My wife just deals with it but complains that it's a mess.
No Battery Access
I ran into a glitch this morning. The computer turned itself off and then wouldn't power up. I've resolved this through some hackery on other laptops before (pull the battery being part of the hackery), but I just realized, I don't have access to the battery! There's no access for it on the case.
Default Profile Settings
I have a user log-on by default. One of the things I'm used to is closing the case and having it lock the computer so that I have to enter my password when I open it again. That feature is off by default - which anyone who is remotely security minded would not like. Also, if you use the basic windows power settings, there's an option to turn on that behavior, but it doesn't work properly because there's a deep buried setting that Samsung has put in that you have to turn off. It took me the better part of half an hour to figure out how to fix this 'feature'. I suppose its okay now, but be prepared for that when you buy the computer.
Wifi range
I'm not sure if it's a side effect of the case, or a poor antena, but the range on my wifi using this laptop is signficanlty smaller than when I use my other devices. I can't move to certain rooms in my house with this machine because it gets no signal. My other machines get full bars.
On that note, the network adapter keeps locking up, so I have to tell it to change networks for it to reset. I don't know why. I don't have that issue on my other devices. It takes not time at all to do, but when you're streaming a movie, or music and it cuts out for no reason, it's irritating.
That seems to be the theme with this machine. Everything seems okay, fast, pretty, responsive, but once you start really using it, you get irritated very quickly. This will probably be my only foray into Samsung laptop-dom.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This product has good features but several drawback

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byitalians
onJune 16, 2012
from Troy
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations
frequently unstable and crashed several times once used intesively (gaming, huge data transfer). Very poor cooling.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
46" Class (45.9" Diag.) 530 Series 1080p LCD HDTV (2010 model)
4.7 out of 5(80)
 
 
 
 
 
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

NP700Z7CH Samsung - 17.3" Series 7 Laptop

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bytomasartz
onMay 21, 2012
from Seattle, WA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: powerful
Cons: Did not meet expectations, simple features are hard to adjust
About two weeks ago I purchased this powerful Samsung laptop (NP70027 CH). Although it handled just about any project I threw at it, including a 3D animation rendering, it's extra little gadgets (software and hardware) made it hard to make it a keeper. First of all, the mouse pad was very very annoying, even after I deactivated most of its feature (zoom,scroll) it still wasn't easy to control. At times I clicked the right side but the left will come on instead bringing me unnecessary menus from various software. I let it pass. Then the LCD glowing on and off became a problem, and the techs couldn't even help me with deactivating it. I was told it was sensitive to the ambient lighting, and it couldn't be changed. Later on I connected it to my ethernet cable on my desk and it wasn't getting an internet connection. Upon a closer look I noticed it was loose, I had to fiddle with it before it connected well. At times I literally had to hold it in place. When I returned to the store with the problem I was told it needed adjustment and it will take a few days. With such headaches from these problems I decided to just return it. If it had given me that much trouble early on, there's no telling what it may bring when I need it the most. It's powerful, great design, but poor quality on basic items which just need simplicity. If these simple items were fixed, I would get this powerful laptop in a heartbeat. Right now I can't afford to take chances with it, and lose productivity time over small technical issues.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
14of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Series 7 17.3" Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Great computer, cheap manufacture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByDisappointed7777
onOctober 24, 2012
from Montgomery, AL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
I love my laptop, but Samsung has failed me 3 out of 4 times in quality manufacture. The current product (my laptop) has a faulty cord or connections, causing it to charge erratically. I purchased 3 other products from Samsung. Two of those have poor manufacturing issues. One is useless and the other works, but is very sub-par.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.