Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 7 17.3” Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 7 17.3” Notebook

Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 7 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 7 17.3” Notebook
Review 1 for Series 7 17.3” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good P/C

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2013
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I like this Compute quite a bit. It is much faster than any othe notebook that I have owned. I did have a couple of issues with the A/C adaptor. I sent to the shop 2X . 1st time was told batery came loose (WTH). Then 2 months later had same issue again of screen dimming and battery light flickering. Had to fight with samsung to get covered under warranty being it was a continuing problem. Finally after 2 days of calling and fighting they agreed to cover. It turned out it was the A/C Adaptor the whole time.
ALL in ALL I have been pleased with this notebook.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 7 17.3” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love love my new laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2012
from Peoria, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
Cons: Too big
I usually always buy Sony Vaios when it comes to my laptops, but seeing that my tablet and my phone are both Samsung I decided to try a Samsung laptop. I am not disappointed in it at all. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. Now if only my keyboard light would work.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 (T-Mobile)
4.7 out of 5(54)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 7 17.3” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for VMWare Workstation and is Compatible With Windows 8.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 28, 2012
from Highland, UT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
I really like this computer. After looking at hundreds of models, I finally settled on this one because of its large screen and long battery life. When the package arrived in the mail, I was very satisfied about several things.
After starting it up for the first time I noticed that the 750 GB hard drive had a single partition on it. Preferring to keep the data separate from the operating system, I went ahead and used a third party tool to split the single partition into two: A 160 GB partition for the operating system, and everything else for the data. During this process a couple of restarts were required. It was then that I noticed how quickly it was booting up. It is obvious that the 8 GB of SSD memory attached to the motherboard (aka Fast Cache) makes a very big difference in boot speed. Regarding the hard drive, I did notice that it is using a SATA II drive, while the computer is equipped with a SATA 6 GB/sec controller. Today, I decided to install Windows 8 on it.
I panicked soon after installing Windows 8. The reason for this is I went to the “Support” section of the Samsung website and found that there were no Windows 8 drivers available for download. I was on the verge of doing a factory restore to Windows 7 when I decided to do one last-minute Google search. It was then that I found the Windows 8 Upgrade guide on the Samsung website. It turns out that in order to obtain the latest drivers for Windows 8, it is necessary to install the “SW Update” tool after the Windows 8 upgrade completes. Then, use that tool to install the latest drivers.
Now, my copy of Windows 8 is running perfectly. I have installed VMWare Workstation on the computer. I am able to run several virtual machines simultaneously thanks to the I7 processor. And it puts out very little heat thanks to the third generation 22 nanometer version of the processor. All-in-all, I am very happy with this purchase. I am impressed at how easy Samsung made the driver installation process. This really is a nice computer.
Oh yeah, I forgot to mention, the sound is awesome! I have never owned a laptop played the sound loud enough to hear across the room. This one can be used to watch television across the room.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 7 17.3” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 26, 2012
from North Carolina
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I've thoroughly enjoyed my new Samsung laptop. It has worked well.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 7 17.3” Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Series 7 Chronos

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 4, 2012
from Shreveport, LA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I have own many laptops in the past few years. So far this laptop had to be the best of all.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 7 17.3” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

User look

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 10, 2012
from Mvd
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I have bought this great Computer a week ago.
It has a good design is lightweight (4 a 17" Laptop) the battery last almost the 6 promoted hours, bright is ok and multitouch pad works fine. But...
For this kind of high rang computer, I really do not understand why max RAM was designet to 8Gb.
Battery is not removable (not even a switch to turn it off).
Not Blue ray reader.
Several features are software dependent, like for example, keyboard backlite, controlled by Fn + F9 F10, so u have to wait till complete windows + drv log, to have ths feature available.
A lot of samsung propoietary softwares must be loaded to get this machine working,
I would prefer my windows 7 working at full range just with my appliacations instead to waste resorces with all the samsung resident softs that degrades my machine's performance.
But what I really hate, (and this seems not only belongs to Samsumng laptos, but for most of suppliers) is all the garbage software pre istalled on a new machine.
I buy a new laptop every year, and all I whish is a CLEAN computer installed just with SO + DRV. Takes almost a day clean it up to get it working without all these pre installed softwares.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 7 17.3” Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lightweight, lovely design

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 11, 2012
from west coast
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color, Lightweight, built-in mic
Cons: back-lit keyboard issues
First time I have purchased a Samsung computer. It has attractive design, loads quickly (so far, not everything is loaded) as I am having difficulties with the back lighting of the keyboard. I find it overly sensitive (must be quite a quite dark environment, and it is inconsistent. I use a wireless mouse so do not have the touch pad issues that some have noted.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.