Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 9 11.6" Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 9 11.6" Notebook

Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Review 1 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sleek & Sexy!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTechnoholic
onJuly 20, 2012
from Pasadena, MD
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, backlit keyboard
While awaiting the arrival of my 2012, 13.3" NP900X3C-A04US, I picked this up this 2011 11.6" model at an incredible price as an "extra" laptop. I can tell already it is going to get some serious use. The design is very sleek & elegant, and everyone who sees it has been quite impressed. Although this model is only equipped with a Core I3 and 2 GB of RAM, its performance is impressive. The screen is very bright with great viewing angles, and I love the auto-illuminating back-lit keyboard. I have Samsung leather sleeve that fits like a glove, and no one would ever guess you had a laptop under your arm. All I can say is, "Samsung you did a great job on this and I love it!"
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stylish, ultra-portable laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykj12345
onJuly 6, 2012
from Tempe, AZ
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, stylish, fast processor, ssd
I've had my series 9 for a year now, and I love it. It's super-light and very portable... after years of lugging around big, heavy laptops, the series 9 is a treat. Processor is fast, and the SSD is a big plus when you're constantly moving around.
Downsides are minor. As another reviewer mentioned, the touchpad is hypersensitive, which can be a pain. I usually disable the touchpad & use a mouse. Also, the sliding covers to the various ports are flimsy.
Overall, this is a fantastic product that attracts attention.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymegustamucho
onMay 26, 2012
Pros: Lightweight
This was a great first laptop for me... It's perfect for getting my homework done!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very thin and portable!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMarch 5, 2012
from California
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
I love the sleek design of this laptop. Very portable!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByBesquared
onMarch 2, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: bad charger setup
Great laptop. the battery lasts all day. Plenty of power.
The only bad thing is the DC jack is so small and the power adapter is small. I have broke two already and have had the laptop for only two months.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySSung12345
onMarch 1, 2012
This computer is worth every penny! I will definitely buy this computer for my kids once they're of age.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBighurk
onFebruary 15, 2012
from Los angeles, CA
Performance on this laptop is excellent. SSD combined with Sandy Bridge cpu is unbelievably fast.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Portable Notebook

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bymarcusw3
onFebruary 7, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: finger print magnet
I was in need of a good reliable light-weight laptop due to an injured shoulder. I was tempted on getting a few other options out there, but since I have had such good experiences with Samsung, I knew this was the answer to my problem.
Sleek, sexy and a power house. This light laptop is exactly what I needed without the sacrifice on performance.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySrk24
onDecember 27, 2011
from Edison, NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is by far best laptop I ever owned. I highly recommend this laptop for those who are looking for durable, stylish, light weight, better screen and performance laptop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKelsJo
onDecember 25, 2011
from Chicago, IL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Best laptop ever made, beats the mac by far. So lightweight and thin. Perfect for college students.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKhayim
onDecember 25, 2011
from Las Vegas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, is like having a macbook air
I have been a Mac user all my life, this will be the first Windows crasher operated system ever, and i purchase this laptop as a dare from my friend so I can compared with my MacBook Aire 2011 and to my surprise ,this laptop Samsung series 9 is better than I honestly expected,
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Series 9 is all that and a bag of chips

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrplummer3
onDecember 25, 2011
from Southern Indiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Been looking for a new laptop for about a month, and honestly went back and forth between Samsung and Asus. Now that I own the Series 9 NP900X3A, I absolutely love it's design and power!
It's been a few years since I purchased a new laptop, I am glad I waited and am glad that Samsung won me over, cheers! to all you Samsung designers and engineers.
Thanks again for making one of the best ultrabooks out there...I know ultrabook is not your trade name.
Bob
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent ultra-portable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byskyline
onOctober 31, 2011
from Kentucky
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is no netbook; it's a full fledged laptop but ultra-portable. Excellent design makes for easy carrying and great internals make it a pleasure to use. I couldn't be happier
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at Sprint (Black)
4.7 out of 5(1,143)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a great product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byluizfeliperj
onAugust 7, 2011
from Arnold, MD
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, built-in camera, built-in mic
Cons: no magsafe like powerplug, rather expensive, no external indicator led
This is a awesome computer, ultra-light, seems to be very durable, fast considering it's weight, but what really bothers me is the power plug, you can unplug it without even noticing and there is no indicating light when the lid is closed, you must open the lid to check if the battery is fully charged on not or to figure out you mistakenly unplugged the power. But, all in all, even with these design issues, it's a great notebook and I do recommend it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Series 9 NP900X1A is excellent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLLBR
onJuly 17, 2011
from Baton Rouge, LA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, fast to boot, thin
I wanted an iPad sized device, quick to turn on/off, but wanted the conveniences of usb ports, and my favorite application software. I was very apprehensive that this or any device could live up to those expectations, but this one did. It really is the best of all these worlds! It's VERY light & thin (who needs an iPad!), boots up FAST, wakes up instantaneously, and even uses the "make it bigger" technology on the mouse touchpad. Great job, Samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sleek and Great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByKBatFLORIDA
onMay 23, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, thin
I went back and forth between this one and the 13" version but this one won my heart. So thin, so small, but they keyboard is the same size as the 13" version. I don't mind giving up the extra ram, hard drive, processing power for the extra portability and lower price tag.
This is a beautful machine, with a nice touchpad, and great backlit keyboard. Having a solid state HD is great and USB 3.0 is nice too. You can even charge devices using the USB port when the machine is on standby or shutdown.
This laptop is definitely a head turner but packs some great features as well.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SeniorWrights

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BySeniorWrights
onMarch 12, 2012
from The Villages, Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: price
This computer is a honey. However, for the price it should have had the i5 or i7 processor for improved speed and multitasking capabilities.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product with few shortcomings

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByDanKW
onJanuary 22, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Lightweight, great for on-the-go computing. Other than the minor complaints below, love the product. Great they fixed all these issues with the new version, wish it wasn't so expensive, otherwise I would upgrade...
Poorly thought out latches for USB/headphone/micro-HDMI/etc. ports. Once the laptop is set down, very little space to open them up.
Who uses microHDMI cables? Had to purchase an adapter to use with other display products.
Palmrests are fingerprint magnets.
Trackpad too sensitive to slight touches by palm during typing.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast, Light, & Elegant - But Not Quite Perfect

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysmoldyr
onDecember 24, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, lightning-fast ssd, back-lit keyboard, looks amazing
Cons: proprietary drivers & software, buggy touchpad, no numeric keypad
This laptop is ultra-portable, which is a good thing since you'll want to take it everywhere and show it off! It comes with an SSD, which allows it to boot in less than 30 seconds. The only thing I really don't like about this laptop is the touchpad; it's hardly even usable (blame Synaptics).
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Series 9 11.6" Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Problems when using accessories

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byzamot
onJanuary 24, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor service support
I have had this for about 10 months and up until the past week I had only used the USB 2.0 port for my mouse. I now am trying to use the HDMI, USB3.0 and the Network adapter. When all 3 are in use the computer starts randomly turning ports off. So if you need to use all ports at the same time this might not be the computer for you.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.