Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Series 9 Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Series 9 Notebook

Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 out of 7(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Series 9 Notebook
Review 1 for Samsung Series 9 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THIS IS WONDERFUL MACHINE!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 16, 2012
from KOREA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
EVERYTHING IS THE BEST
SAMSUNG IS REALLY GOOD COMPANY
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Series 9 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 20, 2011
from Charlotte, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
I didn't think that a PC could have the cool factor that Apple products are known for. This Samsung Series 9 laptop is by far the thinnest and lightest PC that I've ever seen. This is the Windows equivilant to the Apple Macbook Air.
This is my first laptop with SSD technology. Everything is so much faster, from the time to boot, to loading web pages, to opening applications. Across the board the speed improvement from a typical hard drive is very surprising.
I would highly recommend this laptop for anyone wanting the reliability and security of a Windows computer in a form factor that rivals what Apple has available.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Series 9 Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 11, 2011
from Kansas City
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, solid build, backlit keyboard
Cons: expensive
First of all, this thing is beautiful. Sleek black, but not too flashy. Best of all, it doesn't have an apple anywhere to be seen on it. The screen is great, keyboard is solid. Couldn't ask more for performance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Series 9 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good little laptop with style

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 20, 2012
from California
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I've really grown to love this laptop, but I've already done some fairly major mods. I've upgraded the SSD to 128 GB, I've swapped out the wifi card for an Intel N-6230, and I've upgraded to Windows 8. Beware that when updating to W8, I had to update all the drivers as well (now available on Samsung's site), and Samsung's Easy Display Manager needed some manual tweaking to keep those hot keys working (delete SmartSettings.exe so Easy Display Manager doesn't crash under 8).
I've received many compliments on the laptop's styling, though I do wish it was a full metal chassis like the larger 13" sibling. Keyboard and screen are nice, and the covered ports don't bother me like others have complained. Beware that this thing is a fingerprint magnet, so if you've even slightly OCD, you've find yourself cleaning the metal-clad body daily.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Series 9 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Macbook Air's SLEEK & Luxurious Rival Has Arrived!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 31, 2011
from Miami, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, sleek!
Cons: fingerprint magnet!, only 128 gb ssd
This is the bad boy's/girl's answer to the Apple's Macbook Air! This laptop is really outstanding! It is so light, so sleek, so FAST and so powerful! I could have chosen the Macbook Air but I am so glad that I chose the Samsung Series 9! Apple has been prized because they value form and function with their computers. I was expecting it to be slow because it is so sexy and light that I was sure the performance would suffer, I WAS WRONG! So many PC's have not been able to combine form and function, but Samsung has ACCOMPLISHED THIS! I am amazed by how fast and efficient this laptop is. LOVE IT!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Series 9 Notebook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Series 9 11 inch (NP900X1B-A01US)

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onSeptember 12, 2011
from Oakland, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: battery life
The Good: super lightweight. great keyboard, responsive touchpad, great display, great SSD (Samsung should really consider marketing their SSDs...there is a review on Samsung's SSDs with benchmark stats), modular (wifi, SSD, are able to be swapped out). Battery can be replaced.
The Bad: The wifi card is sub-par for a premium notebook (a 1x2? come on guys). Battery life (3 hours max continuous light use...not even video or audio streaming or anything heavy like AV conversion or gaming)...that's pretty sad.
I went with this laptop because I wanted a Macbook air type laptop to run linux (and had a windows keyboard instead of having to remap all my function keys) and powerful enough to run windows in vmware (and let's face it...at this price I wanted a black laptop...not Apple grey.)
I really like the super-brite display. The mouse and keyboard are great (I haven't had any trouble with the mouse since I adjusted the sensitivity down). Since I'm running Linux, the 2-finger right-click and two-finger scrolling work.
I did notice some posts of other reviews on this laptop. The screen is just as solid as a macbook air (at least the 11 inch)..no flex. The sliding port covers are durable. I keep leaving them open transporting them to and from work and they hold up great. I did try out the Series 3 (Princeton) and that laptop seemed way more fragile than the Series 9.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Series 9 Notebook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Looks great but poor wifi performace

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onSeptember 11, 2011
from NYC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Bought this laptop as an alternative to a macbook air. I always prefer PC but I needed portable performance that was better than a netbook. It is a beautiful machine, but the wifi performance is so poor that it can barely be used unless you are sitting right next to the router. Have tried adding a range expander and a high gain antenna, but the integrated wireless card just performs very poorly. Though I love the design I can't really recommend a laptop that can barely be connected to the internet.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Series 9 Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I hope you don't use the internet...

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 7, 2012
from Ohio
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, powerful
Cons: Poor quality, junky wifi card
As many other people will tell you (feel free to search). This laptop ships with a very poor quality wifi card that won't even work on some networks. Settings tweaks will not fix it. This is unacceptable in such an expensive laptop.
Other than this, the book is powerful, compact, and lightweight. It's a shame. You need internet in this day and age.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Series 9 Notebook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I can't be the only one buying the only bad unit

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 22, 2012
from NYC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
First the wireless card performed erratically -- the technical service was allover the place -- upgrading this driver and that driver to make it worse.
Then the audio port could not work with a surroundsound speaker unit and help is not readily available.
Finally, connecting the laptop using the HDMI cable to the tv knocked the system dead -- completely.
This is the third one I have bought in one month -- the first one came with the charger adaptor bended already. The second froze twice completely. Afterwards, it showed a bad sector message.
Tell me I am the only one to get all the bad units. Or there are known bad units sold nevertheless?
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.