Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 9 13.3" Laptop

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 9 13.3" Laptop

Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 9 13.3" Laptop
Review 1 for Series 9 13.3" Laptop
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 21, 2012
from CA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, excellent battery life, extremely slim profile slips into any small carry
Cons: wish the mousepad had distinct left/right button
Performance: Boot up time is amazing. I measured about 17 seconds to get to the log-in screen, then about 3 sec to get the the desktop once logged in. Opening the top when it is in sleep mode, is a very quick 2-3 seconds to get the desktop display. Opening websites and viewing videos online are both quick and smooth. (Note-I don't use this laptop for gaming so can't review its performance in that mode). The slim size makes for very satisfying carry when traveling. The display colors are vibrant and screen display brightness is a major plus. Battery life is also long...I never measured it, but I don't worry about running out of power too soon.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 9 13.3" Laptop
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We can call it as a super laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 2, 2012
from rocky mount
"Power Back up in 3 Seconds with Fast Start' newer seen such a fast backup, 256gb drive ... awesome laptop
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 9 13.3" Laptop
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faster than my current desktop!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 15, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: very expensive
This notebook is simply stunning. The performance is snappy and reliable. As for the wi-fi issues I have read so much about, I have not had any. The battery life is very good even when brightness is all the way up ( ~5 hrs). This will probably serve as my primary computer for as long as this laptop lasts.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 9 13.3" Laptop
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In a word, "SWEET"

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 12, 2011
from San Francisco
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I love my new Series 9 with Intel i-7 speed, upgraded to 8GB ram for big Photo Shop files.
Of course it is light and fast with an SSD, but it is also very attractive. It creates some envy when flying.
Had a 5.5 hour flight, still had 41% of battery life showing.
Did I mention fast? Opens Photo Shop in less than 5 seconds.
I love the close it and sleep mode, open and back to work in seconds.
Automatic keyboard lighting when needed is cool too.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 9 13.3" Laptop
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect traveling laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 14, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no usb 3.0
This laptop is perfect for people on the go. All you need is a mouse, your headphones, and an external optical drive if you're a CD/DVD freak. It's so lightweight and sleek that you sometimes forget you're carrying it around. The brushed look of the Duralumin makes this thing look really sexy. When you need to edit documents on the fly, this thing will fly right through them since it has a SSD instead of a HDD. I do wish though that it had at least 1 USB 3.0 port for a USB 3.0 external drive which would make this thing perfect.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 9 13.3" Laptop
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Series 9-Samsung outdid themselves. Simply Amazing

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 3, 2011
from Olympia, WA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: could come with windows 7 professional
This laptop is simply an amazing piece of machinery. I bought this as a gift for my wife who is a teacher and just received her master’s degree. I researched the Series 9 for about 2 months and watched as many reviews as I could find. But it was not until I actually had it in my hands that the sheer quality of both design and material became glaring obvious. It is very light but is more sturdy that laptops that are twice its weight. The Duralumin chassis has a great feel to it.is
The main thing I would point out to other potential customers is that it does not appear that Samsung went cheap in any area. The chassis, keyboard (backlit), screen and the very cool touchpad all are top of the line. I wanted to get my wife something that would last a very long time, so having the i7 CPU working with a 256GB SSD and 6GB’s of RAM makes this something that will never need an update, this makes the price tag make more sense when you could realistically get at least 5 solid years out of this device, and probably longer assuming no components go out.
I do want to say something else about the i7. It took some research since Samsung does not list every feature of the i7, but Intel has what they call “Intel Wireless Display Technology”. This is super cool, and literally takes about 2 minutes to set up. I hope Samsung does not mind me plugging another device, but I was worried that my wife would not like the 13.3” screen coming from a 15.6”. So I purchased NETGEAR Push2TV HD which runs only off of Intel wireless display technology. This throws whatever is on your laptop on your TV in full 1080p if your TV will support it. Now I have a Samsung 40" 1080p LCD as well as a Samsung Blu-ray player which is great of course, but I put a 1080p HD YouTube video through the NETGEAR Push2TV HD and the quality of the image was amazing and better than any blu-ray I’ve played. It was very cool, just plug in a HDMI cord and you are set. And with a wireless mouse my wife can curl up on the couch and do whatever she wants on a 40” HD screen. This is a very stable set up since it is running at the CPU level. I am so impressed with the overall performance, if you are looking for a top of the line machine this is it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 9 13.3" Laptop
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 25, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: expensive
Love the specs and performance. So far so good, premium price, but premium performance!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 9 13.3" Laptop
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding form factor

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 18, 2011
from Oklahoma City, OK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: touch pad quite sensitive to any unintended touch
I travel frequently and was tired of carrying around a heavy laptop. The Series 9 is less than half the weight of my old 13.3 inch laptop, and the power adaptor is also much lighter. The difference in weight of my computer bag is dramatic! I purchased the larger SSD (256 GB) and i7 processor since I edit large picture files at times - the computer has outstanding performance, So far, battery life seems very good. Still looking for a few accessories that I need (e.g., a VGA adapter for presentation projectors).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 9 13.3" Laptop
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 25, 2012
from Los Angeles
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: mouse pad issue
This is a great laptop... but my mouse pad stopped working. But i knew before i've purchased this laptop did some research and the mouse pad was the issue. I'll be sending mine back to samsung to get fixed..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 9 13.3" Laptop
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice netbook but useless without full size HDMI and SD card reader

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onAugust 27, 2011
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Beautifully designed "premium" netbook. Fast SSD, CPU. etc.
My biggest complain is that it does not have full size HDMI and SD card reader. My SLR uses full size SD card and most HDTV and HD projectors have full size HDMI. Also graphics is mediocre to say at least. Also screen resolution can be better, full HD would be nice.
Please Introduce full size HDMI, full size SD reader and NVidia video card this will help you to drive the premium.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 9 13.3" Laptop
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love the look and feel, but has issues for such a premium price

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 24, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight, fast, elegant
Cons: Did not meet expectations, flimsy power plug point
I love the look, weight and feel of this computer. The backlit keyboard is wonderful and was a criterion for me in a travel laptop. This machine is great for traveling when doing minor work (word processing, spreadsheets, PowerPoints, e-mail). The close-to-sleep/open-to-awake is super fast and consistent. As these are aimed at the traveler market, it would sure be nice to have an option to purchase an internal cell phone connection for these similar to what is offered in some tablet pads, rather than having to use an external mobile hotspot.
Drawbacks: As noted by others, the wireless card is quite weak and loses signal frequently. This is true for both internet and Push-to-TV wi-di, which is very annoying. Even worse, and very critical, the power connector they use in the Series 9 is VERY FLIMSY. When it breaks, my vendor told me SAMSUNG considers it "user damage" and won't warranty it. In such a premium-priced computer, one expects higher quality and more robust components. Also, nobody has an adapter for the power plug so universal power supplies with their array of power options (such as for 12V and aircraft power points) will not work on the Series 9 computers - again not what one would expect in a computer for the stated market. The options setup for the mouse pad are difficult to locate but allow many options once you do find it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 9 13.3" Laptop
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great laptop except for WiFi

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 5, 2011
from USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, keyboard
Cons: wifi range, graphics could be better
I love everything about this laptop; the weight, the style; the functionality EXCEPT for the weak WiFi! It's WiFi range is weaker than ANY other WiFi-enabled device that I've compared it to.
I have returned this A05, which I'd purchased because I had heard that the WiFi had been fixed, to replace my older A03.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.